Malaysia all set to be Peugeot regional hub

peugeot logoPeugeot today announced its intentions to make Malaysia its regional hub through its relationship with the Naza Group. Peugoet is currently distributed in Malaysia by Nasim Sdn Bhd, which took over the franchise from Cycle & Carriage.

Since Nasim took over, a nice European marque has been made an affordable choice for many Malaysians, undercutting its competitors both in terms of price and specifications. Turbocharging and direct injection technology in a petrol engine for the masses! Naza sold 3,766 Peugeot cars in 2009, comprising of 2,347 units of the 206 Bestari, 885 units of the 308, 491 units of the 407 and 43 units of the 207 CC. For 2010, the group is targeting to sell 2,930 Peugeots in Malaysia, which will include the “T33” entry-level model, to be produced at Naza’s Gurun plant.

Peugeot themselves are expanding its ASEAN Regional Office in PJ, which will manage operations for the Asia-Pacific region (excluding China). Peugeot’s ASEAN Regional Office in Malaysia currently runs an ASEAN training centre and technical help desk for after-sales technicians in the Asia-Pacific region and the Middle East.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:39 am

good news?

• viosman on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:43 am

1st.

• m4xspeed on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:48 am

love to see more lions on the road

• the bastard on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:49 am

Good move for a Malaysian company.

Cheaper and great deals on Pugs – the 308 turbo/406 are already loaded with features…

• yes!!..then it should be easier to find the spare parts..and should be cheaper of course..

• Tiadaid on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:53 am

I love them Lions. The 308 is a worthy alternative to Japanese cars currently awash on our roads.

• KCivic on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:54 am

Go Peugeot and Naza! Bring back the glory of Peugeot in Malaysia. It is with my hopes that Naza will be able to continue to bring in European marques with very good local quality built for the enjoyment of Malaysians. And I hope the government could also reflect on what Naza has been doing all this while and focus on our local brand in terms of R&D, design (especially the Perdana's design which I strongly believe can be improved much much much further as you already have the V6 engine and its time if not too late, to capitalize on what you have) I test-drove the 308 Turbo, good handling with enough ooomph to get anyone around, and also the build is not too bad. Spacious and it looks good especially the white one, sweet! Cheers to Naza. This is a company to reckon with and I believe with the right management, business direction, think-out-of-the-box mentality, it will go very far, as long the price of cars are reasonable and with enough engine capacity, looks, and all else which Malaysians love, you will sell!

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:58 am

Good news Naza. I just wish that our diesel quality is at least Euro 3 so that we could have those green frugal HDI engines.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:07 am

Lets see how the government can goof up this time resulting in Peugeout making a base somewhere else.

• Alan Wong on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:08 am

I still think that Nasim is not ready to support the users… With so little PUGS on the road, to service the car, we also need to do a booking of more than 2 weeks in Bluebox Glenmarie…. As a user, I must say that they are definitely NOT ready…

• peYno on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:41 am

bad news for Ah beng japanese wannabe

• theanswer on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:52 am

so p1..wake up!. Those T badge car also can start improving their lame vios in msia.

• Gajen on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:59 am

peugeot is coming up…i see more of them now….in fact my current favourite is 308 turbo…way better than any japanese rival…

• adioss on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:06 am

Lion vs Tiger

• trav_da_man on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:41 am

So finally a success story for the NAP for Mysia? Since Naza brings Peugeot, i hope they can bring Citroen to Malaysia since both marques belongs to the PSA group.

• fliedlice on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:45 am

the 308 is a very good car, and really good value as well. miles better overall than the japanese cars. the city is ok, but the vios deserves special mention for being really cheaply built and generally rubbish.

• blabla on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:53 am

viosman said,

January 7, 2010 @ 9:43 pm

1st.

——————–

stop trying to be first. get a life. we want productive comments. 1st isn't a comment for God sake.

anyways, will this mean peugeot cars will be priced cheaper?

anyone care to enlighten me. hehe.

planning to get my 1st car!! ;D

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:39 am

I love the 407 as the 308 is a bit too small for me. Maybe I'll buy the 308 turbo as 2nd car.

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:59 am

my experience of being a 308 driver.

1."hey, you forgot to turn off your headlamp.."

– auto headlamp function, plus follow me home feature (headlamp will turn off only after 30 seconds after u lock ur car)

2. and 40+- aunty ask her husband, " wat car is that? look so nice, never see that b4…"

uncle look carefully for the badge logo, "oh..its a peugeot, my dear.."

3."eh…I guess you must be doing good or making a fortune now, if not how can you change to this car? how much it cost? need RM200k not?….."

4."wow… i like the glass roof! its awesome!!! "

5. comes with 6 air bags (this i like)

6. auto close windows with remote.. ….

7…

who wanna add more comment?

and you all know the 308THP cost only 113k, around 15k cheaper than a civic 2.0

Its cheaper but with packed with MORE features.. I guess it never happen b4~

• Alan Wong on Jan 08, 2010 at 9:49 am

There is no doubt that the Peugeot cars are excellent in every way…. Question is… Can Nasim deliver good service?? For now, I am not convinced…. (BTW, I drive a Peugeot 308, user for 1 year now)

• azrai on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:05 pm

Now NAZA has its payback time to the Malaysian. create more jobs please.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:09 pm

em.. mayb i not up-to-date..

so many foreign car brand will under Naza to sell in Malaysia.. how Naza deal with them since these all are competitors to each other?

However, more cars mean more choice for us, and the Naza must focus on the service center at the first place.

• Pumbaah on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:26 pm

It's a good thing but I tend to agree that they need to buck up on the after sales side, if they at present cannot cater to the service requirements of present volume, how can they manage the future volumes unless concrete plans are in place??

New models also mean training of technicians to manage the different cars…training is important, however, the attitude of the employees are crucial!

• carlocaraddict on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:36 pm

does this mean that the brand will be present again in our country, the philippines? it was pulled out again a few years back and it was handled by the company who handles volvo here (and chevrolet)

• Wak Kreta on Jan 08, 2010 at 4:41 pm

terkenang peugeot 204 plat number JN 4606

• NAZA got the business model right. Flood the market with the product so can sustain from after sales service. Now they need to accelerate their service center to be more efficient.

It is also good news for 3rd party service center, now they are more confident to invest manpower training to service Peugeot. More of them on the road, balik model to invest. Then better choice for the consumer.

• Beef up after sales service, then I will convert. :)

• i want another car.. on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:27 pm

alan, i'm not sure what your intent is in repeating how crap the service of nasim is. i drive the pug too, and yes, i've read of ur warranty woes, and yes i feel for you and, btw great job for keeping them on their toes. but give it time lo. as a pug owner you should be an evangelist for the brand, not a naysayer. ur comments don't bode well for anyone here who is considering buying this car. to me, without the critical mass sorely needed, nasim won't need to buck up. so this article is fantastic news.

i believe that with anything one or purchases, it's caveat emptor. malaysia ain't exactly the bastion for what service standard is supposed to be, so anything i buy, i do it with pinch of salt lo.

i'm happy with how pug is expanding in malaysia and am very excited for it. i've converted 3 people to buy and they're all having the time of their lives. we love it, and we love that more lions are prancing on malaysian roads.

pug-lion: haha yesterday uncle by the tennis courts kept on looking, when i got out of the car… he had a broad grin… "hey, fantastic looking car ya?"…. my response… it's brilliant! (and this wasn't the first time that happened either)

• tikus on Jan 08, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Nazim Marketing Staff done a good job to make that brand so happening in bolehland. I think those credit belong to them. Not like T brand Vios, marketing just sit there and those Ah Beng and The Fans boy just blindly buying it. "Toyota woh" feel like driving a Merc but it is a junk.

• What about the new Chevrolet…… teh commitment?? to Peug or Chevy??

• chekusan on Jan 08, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Jimmy Dean said,

January 8, 2010 @ 12:39 am

I love the 407 as the 308 is a bit too small for me. Maybe I’ll buy the 308 turbo as 2nd car.

——————————–

308 as a second car? then what's your first car?

maserati quatropotte? aston martin dbs?

lucky guy, can't envy you enough.

• barca on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:01 pm

oh yeah!!!!!……cheaper spare parts and longer car lifespan in the horizon!

une décision fantastique par peugeot!!!!!!!!!

• odi862 on Jan 08, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Bring it on…..

• intermilan on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Heureux d'entendre ceci. (Glad to hear this).

Bienvenue and wishing them success!

• rs4wd on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:35 pm

time to plan another lion ride!!….any experience driver on 308THP?how good is the car?handling/ speed/ umphh??

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 08, 2010 at 8:41 pm

yes Alan, and u drive a 308GT :)

sorry about ur few claim cases.. but then u r having fun driving ur lion~

in fact, who are the car dealer with good service in here? how many of them?

i wanna know

• p4k4bu on Jan 08, 2010 at 10:49 pm

I'm dreaming of a "cheap" 5008 ….

Zzzzzzz…….

• Bryant on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:08 pm

Good one Naza, please bring in the 3008 Peugeot also. I am looking at the car selling in Malaysia with reasonable price!

• sparrow on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:34 pm

i am waiting for RCZ OTR!!!!!!!!!!!!

• azrai on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:45 pm

Time for Naza to payback to Malaysian. Create more jobs for Malaysian please. Export more.

• squawk on Jan 08, 2010 at 11:47 pm

And PSA is planning to buy half of Mitsu. Maybe Naza badged Lancers in the future.

• The 308 is one lovely car.

• This is what all conti cars need … more commitment…by the principal.

For conti cars to survive in Malaysia there needs to be a long term commitment…. Only then the consumers have confidence.

• PUG LION-PUG LION-PU on Jan 09, 2010 at 1:39 am

soon we will see 308RCZ on the road here! as I think PUG will be be doing good here!! by that time.. we dun have to drive cheap cake T & H !!

btw, I need better Gear BOX better powe from you PUG!!

HAS anyone rechip his 308THP ecu yet?? thinking of rechip it~ and where can I do in malaysia??

btw, for 308 owners, have you guys notice the 308CC (also the 308RCZ) the front bumper is more fierce compare to normal 308, i wonder can we change to that? how do we get that part too??

• Jimmy Dean on Jan 09, 2010 at 2:12 am

chekusan said,

January 8, 2010 @ 10:05 am

308 as a second car? then what’s your first car?

maserati quatropotte? aston martin dbs?

lucky guy, can’t envy you enough.

—————————————-

407 is my first car and I'm not selling this car. Second car is an SUV, which I no longer have any need for it (selling soon in a few months time) and thinking about downsizing to the smaller 308 Turbo.

• x nasim staff on Jan 09, 2010 at 3:07 am

well done and good job Nasim.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 10, 2010 at 1:22 am

things are good so far. until they launch the disaster china designed 207