Export plans confirmed for China-designed Chevrolet Sail compact sedan

Not too long ago, we reported on a new compact Chevrolet sedan called Sail; it has just been officially introduced in China by Shanghai GM. The Sail differs from previous Chevys sold in China (and the Aveo Sedan/Lova) in that it’s the first passenger car created in China from scratch by a Sino-foreign joint venture. The Sail was developed by Shanghai GM and the Pan Asia Technical Automotive Center (PATAC), both GM-SAIC joint ventures. GM also announced that the Sail will be exported to other emerging markets.

Five variants are available, with the base model priced around RMB 60,000 (US$8,800). This marks a breakthrough in the under-RMB 70,000 (US$10,300) small car segment, where Chinese brands have traditionally been dominant. Dual air bags, a retractable steering column and ABS with EBD are standard. The higher spec models come with a sunroof and power retractable side mirrors.

For more technical info, click here to read our previous post. Official images after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=750]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Black Dog on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Not only looks like a Vios but will be a very good contender too!

I forsee many more of these China-made with foreign-branded products coming out…

Good..it'll keep prices down, though quality will slowly improve.

• 4G63tDSM on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:37 pm

I wonder what would happen if Naza CKDs this in to replace its low end Sutera/Suria and price it about 60ish, right where the Hyundai Accent and the old Kia Rio wagon started….

• rs4wd on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm

waahh front portion really saga look alike…

• Front looks like Toyota Altis and rear looks like Gen2 facelift, copycat!

• Anonymous on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:48 pm

Did I see Proton Persona somewhere?

• Gajen on Jan 12, 2010 at 8:58 pm

is this to compete with vios and city?because it doesnt look good enough…this car looks more like saga segment

• cardreamer on Jan 12, 2010 at 9:16 pm

its a facelifted saga+persona combined! but anyway it turns out quite good looking…especially at the back..

• Never like Chevys…Chevy owners = kolot (my opinion)..Pls dun be offended owners there.

• afkar (Member) on Jan 12, 2010 at 9:34 pm

nice la..china proves it can make a nice one,w/out having to be a copycat..haha

• gey2718 on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:02 pm

rs4wd said,

January 12, 2010 @ 12:40 pm

———————————————————

U sure or not? ur eyes sure have problem!

• squawk on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:04 pm

I think it looks like a better looking Vios and if priced at the Saga range, many will suffer. But then it's a China product right (even though GM has a role in the project)?

• balloon on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:07 pm

i think china made cars are going to expand in near future and it looks promising ! hope P1 can do better this year

• mynuszero on Jan 12, 2010 at 10:35 pm

there you go…..head of BMW design just commented that the front looks like Altis and the rear like Gen2 FL……damn sharp la this guy!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:06 pm

can anybody tell GM to wake up? they are not toyota, they can't sell people crap

• Peter on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:08 pm

This car is marketed in the range of 1.4l engine capacity. So this car is actually in same car segment as Proton Saga. But i feel our own SAGA is better than this crap. If you compare the side of this crap with SAGA, SAGA would look much better. For engine wise, i am not very about how this crap will work out. But if we use the Chevrolet Aveo 5, 1.4l engine to use on this crap, i think the performance would just be average. Overall, if NAZA rebadge this crap and sell it very cheaply, maybe this might be a selling point for NAZA….

• theanswer on Jan 12, 2010 at 11:26 pm

hahah thats what i thot b4 i look carefully. maybe it's because of the rims..looks like saga blm rim cover..

• mystvearn on Jan 13, 2010 at 12:13 am

I agree. I still feel our Saga is better than this car.

• Front look like saga+city..

• 1malaysia on Jan 13, 2010 at 12:19 am

Peter said: "But i feel our own SAGA is better than this crap. If you compare the side of this crap with SAGA, SAGA would look much better."

with Dual Airbags, ABS, & EDB as standard features, just selling at RM30k+ in China. Peter, u say it is crap???

• JULIAN_LEE on Jan 13, 2010 at 12:35 am

BMW better

• veloce argentum on Jan 13, 2010 at 1:06 am

Paul,

"RMB" is not China currency code!

official China currency code should be: "CNY" (Chinese Yuan)

• lovesaga on Jan 13, 2010 at 1:17 am

aiyoh so nice..cantik man! why lah when they design SAGA BLM not using this fliud lines..id say man…PROTON DESIGN TEAM ?

• Front = Saga, rear = Persona

• SashiRao on Jan 13, 2010 at 1:38 am

Maybe it will priced as 10x cheaper than the original product. Made in China mah…

• ynnad on Jan 13, 2010 at 1:43 am

Guys.

For the price of SAGA you get "Dual air bags, a retractable steering column and ABS with EBD are standard "

Ever wondered which new car (in that category) can you get today at that price with such safety equipment?

It show that the lives of the Chinese are worth a lot more than us malaysians, doesn't it?

• putra_rider on Jan 13, 2010 at 1:52 am

Front saga + persona rear

waaa…chevy copy proton design…

bravo!!

• theanswer on Jan 13, 2010 at 2:57 am

It show that the lives of the Chinese are worth a lot more than us malaysians, doesn’t it?

yeah..chinese ppl appreciate their lives more than us. my fren used to sed that his mom sed this when he want to choose savvy with abs or no abs.."alaa..nak eksiden kat mane2 pon boleh." no wonder our car can still sell without abs as standard equipment.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 13, 2010 at 4:12 am

eventhough this rubbish, is still more good than proton

• Abzaja on Jan 13, 2010 at 8:41 am

Okay…

So this car is perfect for proton's basher…please support China's car everyone, the basher comment above already said its good than proton…huzzah!

• S.Roma on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:42 am

Dear All,

OMG it so cheap !

US 8800 = RM 30 000 ? (EBD + ABS)

Saga BLM = RM 35 000

• S.Roma on Jan 13, 2010 at 9:43 am

gey2718 said,

January 12, 2010 @ 2:02 pm

rs4wd said,

January 12, 2010 @ 12:40 pm

———————————————————

U sure or not? ur eyes sure have problem!

—————————————-

Not only him, i also thk the same !

• nazri on Jan 13, 2010 at 2:05 pm

good more safety features..

ncap rating??

• dejavu on Jan 13, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Looks n brand aside, I'd say a rather gd effort. My opinion, front has mini Cruze's looks, like wat Toyota did wit d Camry-Altis n Honda's Legend-Accord.

But 2 those who swear on Saga's value, ask urself tis:

Does it or does P1 hv plans4 dual air bags, a retractable steering column, ABS, EBD as standard wit option of sunroof and power retractable side mirrors? Also remember our jaguh kampung has 2do wit do-it-urself wnid down windows at d back, while d so-called 'tissue-box-compartment' on d dashboard is really for d passanger airbag.

D only questionable issue surrounding it is quality issue n reliability.

• mkrafz on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:28 pm

with Dual Airbags, ABS, & EDB as standard features, just selling at RM30k+ in China

ya its does sound very promising with those stuff

but bare in ur mind..

this is CHINA CLAIM of standard safety feature..

if it not properly assamble..

it going to be a death trap..

• Nicheadison on Jan 13, 2010 at 5:29 pm

I think China more concern about their safety.

In Malaysia? Don't ever mention about safety features.

If not, those brilliant man will say that:

"Got safety features also no use, if you drive recklessly!"

• Peter on Jan 13, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Though this car is equipped qif advanced safety features….How sure would you think this car will get for the ENCAP star rating? Our Exora got 4 star, Alza also havent sent…..This crap? I also not sure, i dont think it will pass, chinese cars usually done badly for this test…..

• mynuszero on Jan 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm

wah many folks here havent seen the actual physical car or driven it yet but can tell that its pure crap……u guys must be damn great la…..i;ve heard all this talk before…..in mamak shop……kids with P bagde stuck to their ahbeng style Myvis saying only their favourite cars are the best while the rest are crap.

• ncap rating? A quarter of a star perhaps

• MADBOY on Jan 13, 2010 at 10:56 pm

nazri said,

January 13, 2010 @ 6:05 am

good more safety features..

ncap rating??

———–

There will not be any NCAP rating as this car is for China only & not Europe.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:27 am

this has sunroof. proton saga got or not. lmao.

• Abzaja on Jan 14, 2010 at 8:39 am

hope that they don't use balloon for the airbag

• saya tengok macam proton saga

• zanggief (Member) on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:07 am

Is NAZA going to bring in this model?

I believe this could be a strong competitor to SAGA and MYVI..

• huiyoo on Jan 27, 2010 at 2:28 am

ugly side mirror..

• front..it looks like saga…

rear..it looks like persona…