Toyota USA recalls 2.3 million cars, halts production

Toyota USA has instructed all its dealers to temporarily suspend sales of eight models involved in the recall for “sticking accelerator pedal” problems announced a week ago. About 2.3 million vehicles are in the list.

Toyota has investigated reports of sticking accelerator pedal mechanisms in certain vehicles without the presence of floor mats. There is a possibility that the accelerator pedal may, in rare instances, mechanically stick in a partially depressed position or return slowly to the idle position. This unintended acceleration could prove to be dangerous.

“Helping ensure the safety of our customers and restoring confidence in Toyota are very important to our company,” said Group Vice President and Toyota Division General Manager Bob Carter. “This action is necessary until a remedy is finalized. We’re making every effort to address this situation for our customers as quickly as possible.”

The following models are involved: 2009-2010 RAV4, 2009-2010 Corolla, 2009-2010 Matrix, 2005-2010 Avalon, Certain 2007-2010 Camry, 2010 Highlander, 2007-2010 Tundra and 2008-2010 Sequoia. No Lexus or Scion vehicles are affected by the recall.

Due to the sales suspension, Toyota will temporary stop producing vehicles on selected production lines for a week in February. Toyota’s Indiana, Kentucky, Texas, Canada and Subaru’s Indiana plant are involved.

Last year, the Japanese automaker recalled nearly four million vehicles. The problem? Floor mats that could trap accelerator pedals, also causing unintended acceleration. The two issues are unrelated, says Toyota, although 1.7 million vehicles are affected by both recalls.

This recall only involves the abovementioned models in North America, and does not include right-hand drive Toyotas sold elsewhere in the world.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• It shows that the Big T is not always pinpoint reliable.. definitely customers will lose some confidence…

• Alifz on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:49 pm

CAMRY owners..be careful when flooring..ahahaha

At last T badge is not immune to defects..

• B33MER on Jan 27, 2010 at 7:52 pm

There was a case that involves the the death of four family that died in a Toyota …

"The recall involving the accelerators was Toyota's largest in the U.S. It was prompted by a high-speed crash in August involving a 2009 Lexus ES350 that killed a California Highway Patrol officer and three members of his family near San Diego. The Lexus hit speeds exceeding 120 mph, struck a sport utility vehicle, launched off an embankment, rolled several times and burst into flames.

A family member in the runaway Lexus made a frantic 911 call moments before the crash, telling emergency responders that the accelerator was stuck and the driver couldn't stop the car. The call ended as someone was overheard urging others to hold on and pray, followed by a woman's scream."

• vampireangel1984 on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:00 pm

and yet the people in malaysia think the world of toy-ota….

• Its usual for car makers to do recalls to improve their product line. i personally dont see a problem with it. Its shows that Toyota always concern about this type of problems. Where else other car maker which i dont like to mention..use their service schedule to make retification work quitely without letting the owners know about the problem. Worst still, they wait till the owners make complaints and then do something about..Still sick of their' tak apa'attitude.

• Tiadaid on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:20 pm

vnoz said,

January 27, 2010 @ 12:00 pm

Its usual for car makers to do recalls to improve their product line. i personally dont see a problem with it. Its shows that Toyota always concern about this type of problems. Where else other car maker which i dont like to mention..use their service schedule to make retification work quitely without letting the owners know about the problem. Worst still, they wait till the owners make complaints and then do something about..Still sick of their’ tak apa’attitude.

———————-

Americans are a litigious society. If they aren't, would Toyota have conducted the recall? Just take a look at Mitsubishi in Japan. They kept quiet the problems of their cars and buses until the news came out when people died in their vehicles

• istvan on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm

when toyota / honda / any japanese maker have this problem, people will say that "biasala…mana ada yg perfect". "still can be improve". "show toyota care and concern" …bla bla bla….wonder if P1 car have recall……sampai planet marikh kecohnya!!!!

• Perghhhh.. on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:26 pm

luckily im using NHC…. get ready to Die for Toyota users..hhaha..

• kimi_ on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:34 pm

It is very normal to have defects in toyota car. What the big fuss over it???

I am glad with the toyota quick actions, they care for the customer!!!…..LOL

• yup..agreed with istvan. If B33MER statement was true, then this is much worse. People died due to technical defect. But Paul said no Lexus involve…hurmm.

• ops..not paul.

• This is what is called responsibilty. Toyota is not 100% perfect but they geniunely try. Other makes will not recall cos name, arrogance. Some even will not fix after warranty. In the world no car is perfect not even Lexus.

Other make make substandard cars which requires heavy maintainance.

This make business sense for them cos they earn revenue for after sale repairs. More problematic more revenue they can record in their books. And if the public keeps supporting them for some stupid excuse as image then these makers will continue to churn out sub standard cars. They will wack you both ways. Once during sale of the car then after sale by selling parts.

There is no reason for them to improve as long as people continue to support them. This is what I call living in denial….

• shokubeni on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:52 pm

its better to have power window problem than stucked accelerator pedal

• Eyesore on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:53 pm

lol Toyota make recall for stuck acceleration pedal (really dangerous)… the comments "They concern, they improving etc…"

When P1 recall Savvy for fixing wheel bearing problem (less dangerous) you ppl comment n bashing like there's no tomorrow… lol

• Cross Polo on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:55 pm

kimi_ said,

January 27, 2010 @ 1:47 pm

This is less dangerous than the power windows problems, imagine you cant

exit from the car through wndows if the door stuck in accident. TOYOTA still

the best…LOL
    ————————————————————
    Buduh… Yang kuar berita 3 mati dalam Lexus ES350 apsal diaorang tak kuar je ikut tingkap kereta tu…. kalau accident kecik tu bleh le pecahkan tingkap…. kalau dah teruk cam tu mayat je kuar ikut tingkap…. tingkap kereta tak leh turun sebab power window rosak bleh pecahkan kalau kemalangan… pedal minyak tak naik balik waktu tengah slowkan kereta tu bahaya, tak kira le hang tekan brek sampai cecah lantai kereta pun kalau enjin kereta tak slow jawapnya bebawak mengucap yea…. tambah plak kemalangan yang teruk kat malaysian nie banyak ke yang tak leh kuar ikut tingkap yang pecah kalau terselamat ?…

• Cross Polo on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:57 pm

zack said,

January 27, 2010 @ 7:33 pm

that show toyota is caring. Not like proton, poor quality product…
    ———————————————————
    Tu bukan nak carring… tu nak cover…. dah macan nie pun marketing nak power gak….. heran sungguh aku….

• Ordinary Joe on Jan 27, 2010 at 8:59 pm

istvan said,

January 27, 2010 @ 12:22 pm

when toyota / honda / any japanese maker have this problem, people will say that “biasala…mana ada yg perfect”. “still can be improve”. “show toyota care and concern” …bla bla bla….wonder if P1 car have recall……sampai planet marikh kecohnya!!!!

————————————————————-

Not to mention that when u mention P1 they'll go on and on about politics, race, religion, education system, tax regime, crime rate, the economy, FDIs, brain drain, politics again, how cheap it is in the UK, migration, not having enuff doctors, education system again, politics again, etc…

• lek la on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:05 pm

when toyota / honda / any japanese maker have this problem, people will say that “biasala…mana ada yg perfect”. “still can be improve”. “show toyota care and concern” …bla bla bla….wonder if P1 car have recall……sampai planet marikh kecohnya!!!!

—————————————————————-

biasala, typical malaysian.

• toy-auta on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:23 pm

one of proof that toy-auta very concerning to their customers:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1307427

• shawal on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:34 pm

The problem is P1 rarely gets it right… Toyota has a HUGE recall cuz they sell a Huge amount of car, P1 couldnt afford to make a recall tho…

• Ordinary Joe said,

January 27, 2010 @ 12:59 pm

istvan said,

————————————————————-

Not to mention that when u mention P1 they’ll go on and on about politics, race, religion, education system, tax regime, crime rate, the economy, FDIs, brain drain, politics again, how cheap it is in the UK, migration, not having enuff doctors, education system again, politics again, etc…

————————————-

Yeah!! power window punyer hal sampai sentuh hal politik, padahal defect toyota nih lagi bahaya~

• La Vecchia Signora on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:41 pm

This is malaysia after all….must everythg revolve around P1 or P2.

cmon la.bosan.

• B33MER said,

January 27, 2010 @ 11:52 am

There was a case that involves the the death of four family that died in a Toyota …

“The recall involving the accelerators was Toyota’s largest in the U.S. It was prompted by a high-speed crash in August involving a 2009 Lexus ES350 that killed a California Highway Patrol officer and three members of his family near San Diego…..

———————————————————

According to other source (usatoday) this recall not related to the fatal accident last year where the pedal get stuck under the floor mat. That last recall involved 4.2 mill toyota and lexus. This recall bacause the throttle pedals, supplied by a Canadian facility of CTS Automotive, can wear prematurely and stick open. but the news also reported that toyota still have no solution for this yet.

so guys, better check your pedal, just in case.

• japanesecarsucks on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:46 pm

told you

• kimi_ on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:47 pm

the best…LOL

• Accord on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:48 pm

istvan said,

Ha… Ha… Ha….

Bukan sampai planet Marikh jer, tapi sampai mahkluk asing kat Planet Pluto nun jauh di sana.

What i can comment here is only the owner of Japanese car know what we miss with Proton Cars. I mean new model not the Wira or Waja 4G16 / Campro era. Cheers…

• Ordinary Joe said,

istvan said,

————————————————————-

Not to mention that when u mention P1 they’ll go on and on about politics, race, religion, education system, tax regime, crime rate, the economy, FDIs, brain drain, politics again, how cheap it is in the UK, migration, not having enuff doctors, education system again, politics again, etc…

—————————————-

n oso…crony., politic, umno, politic, G dog, 1.8-2.0 engine, macc, politic, petrol, new G, gen election, politic, stupid p1 owner..etc

• kimi_ on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Please dont compare toyota and proton dude, it is like compare heaven and

hell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• RedLine on Jan 27, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Some of the affected models are 5 years old…from 2005! That means for 5 years this potentially life-threatening problem was not detected! What was toyota doing all this time? This is not a small car accesory QC problem (like power window), this is a serious defect which people could DIE…! And yet I still see people defending toyota. Sheesh….

• zman said,

January 27, 2010 @ 1:50 pm

Ordinary Joe said,

istvan said,

————————————————————-

—————————————-

n oso…crony., politic, umno, politic, G dog, 1.8-2.0 engine, macc, politic, petrol, new G, gen election, politic, stupid p1 owner..etc

————————————–

don forget……auto policy, copycat, politic, mahathir, kuku besi, 1malaysia, politic, tax money, jet engine, singapore, agusta, politic, conspiracy, t** b** Ho*k, mongol model, coruption, politic…etc

• adijb on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Wow! What a dangerous defect! Hope my avanza continue to be good and not have such as problem. Wonder what one should do when faced with such a situation..? Swith off the engine and pray hard I guess… :(

• wakaka on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:07 pm

shokubeni said,

January 27, 2010 @ 12:52 pm

its better to have power window problem than stucked accelerator pedal

———————————————————

betol betol betol

• madimat on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:09 pm

A product recall by Big T = preventive measure, concern about customers' safety, corporate responsibility, bla bla bla

A product recall by our P2 = same as above.

A product recall by our P1 = oh noo..it is the end of the world.!!!! yaaargghhhhhhhhh we're ALL gonna die….!!!!! need oxygen etc etc.

By the way, as usual, a recall news or any news which happened thousands of miles away will never fail to start a chain of arguments mentioning Proton right here in this forum. Why lah.

• mr_3m on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Ordinary Joe said,

istvan said,

————————————————————-

————————————————————

ordinary joe, kau memang pandai… you've summed up everything in one paragraph… mmg kau tererr… you've just break the world record for summarising P1 problems in one paragraph….

anyhow, dah memang itu pun problem P1, P1 exists not because it was set up by a bunch of engineers try to prove what they can do…. it was created for political reasons, to prove Malaysia can do, 'boleh' in everything… it will die because of politics too….. hahahahhahah… what an irony…

• papa radzi on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:10 pm

see BIG BRAND AS TOYOTA also huv problem with their car… so why malaysian is always think only PROTON can be bashed, only proton made mistake and careless… come on la… how can proton move foward if malaysian they self not support national product…. hate to say this.. actually malaysian they self is moron.. supporting outsiders brand like god but national product like hells.

• mr_3m on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:10 pm

well, back to the topic,

the recalls just shows that even if you are the biggest in the world, kalau dah nak jatuh 'empire' tu… jatuh jugak laa… and it can happen due to a 'simple' mistake on the engineers part… in this case Toyota may survive, but its reputation do suffer, how big don't know yet lah… only time will tell…. and another things is… you can't be at the top forever & ever… there's no such thing…

• Michael Ammot on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:24 pm

differ from P1 issue….that is a reliability issue… in this case it is a engineering/design issue…it is not an apple to apple comparison…admit that P1 owner!!

Toyota admit n willing to replaced it for free even though it is out of warranty ….what about dashboard goyang in P1 does P1 willing to change it for free even still under warranty? hope it will tell the differences.

• yuberg on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Haha..Toyota also got defect mah..how long they have been in automotive industry ?? 25 years ? 30 years ? 70 years ? No..actually they have been in automotive industry for more than 80 years…and the defect was very dangerous actually..but no matter how dangerous it will be, as long as it is Toyota, people will accept it especially japanese wanabe..i can't imagine if it was proton..sure people will condemn it like hell…pity all you guys..

• Cross Polo on Jan 27, 2010 at 11:53 pm

lol… toyota pedal minyak rosak boleh mati semua penumpang, proton plak power window aje rosak sampai nak mati kutuk proton tak improve, tu tak kira sebut P1 merangkumi semua hal ehwal negara… rasanya nie le malaysian kot…. suka menjulang yang lain….. kera dihutan disusukan, anak kat umah mati kelaparan…

• slimershine on Jan 28, 2010 at 12:20 am

differ from P1 issue….that is a reliability issue… in this case it is a engineering/design issue…it is not an apple to apple comparison…admit that P1 owner!!

Toyota admit n willing to replaced it for free even though it is out of warranty ….what about dashboard goyang in P1 does P1 willing to change it for free even still under warranty? hope it will tell the differences.

———————————————–

owh.. you are dying because of vibrating dashboard? what a joke..

• LOL @Toyota.

After 80 years making car still cannot resolve this problem. Furthermore, proved to be killing people with their products.Better sue them for their carelessness. All those engineering and technologically advanced safety system still cant save 1 of the dead. What a pity, all because of a pedal.

Even P1 can do better at making pedal. Reliability, my foot….

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 12:40 am

not so reliable anymore?

• kimi_ on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:01 am

Dear Proton supporter,

Do you all feel proud with Proton now because of the defects on toyota, GET

A LIFE. No matter what, Proton still sucks, and HOPELESS. Better close shop

and dont hide behind the G and getting protection for 25 years!!!!!!!!!!!

Dont ever compare toyota and proton please!

• kenso on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:02 am

Reminds me of the time when the Vios I was using was involved in an exercise that saw "some" owners needing to bring their cars to a service centre to check on the immobilizer.

The screwed up thing about this exercise was …. I only found out about it when I had 2 near death experiences with the car! There were 3 incidences where the engine became unstable and rev counter started to go up and down, even when I was just cruising steadily or just moving slowly. There was simply no pattern to how and when it would occur …. all 3 times, the engine eventually died. What was dangerous was, one time it happened along the fast lane of Federal Highway, the other at a corner of a heavily used road in a heavy downpour.

When I called the SC, they instantly knew what was the problem when I described the situation. When I asked how come I didn't know about this, "they said they have sent out mails via post". I was so schocked that such an alarming situation is only notified just by mail (which incidentally was lost in transit). I completely lost trust in Toyota since that day, even though the problem was the immobiliser supplier. Had anything happened to me and my family that day, I would sue them till kingdom come!

• its a chain reaction like nuclear bomb….salute….

• funny the ppl here making comments….

When there are no ppl making comments or bashing about Proton, then someone here "provoke" others and wanted to see proton being bashed…

When there are ppl making comment and bashing about proton, there are someone here would ask them NOT to bash proton…

Damn stupid these ppl.

• Tiadaid on Jan 28, 2010 at 1:30 am

kimi_ said,

January 27, 2010 @ 5:01 pm

Dear Proton supporter,

—————————

The people who are defending Proton here are doing so because of the double standards practiced by people like you. They're just highlighting the point that when Toyota have things like this, the Toyota fan boys come out in defence of Toyota, but when Proton does a thing like this they will bash to no end…just pisses me (and many others) off that these Toyota fan boys can't be objective in their comments. Just blindly support Toyota and bash Proton.

zain said,

January 27, 2010 @ 5:15 pm

funny the ppl here making comments….

When there are no ppl making comments or bashing about Proton, then someone here “provoke” others and wanted to see proton being bashed…

When there are ppl making comment and bashing about proton, there are someone here would ask them NOT to bash proton…

Damn stupid these ppl.

————–

You'll find that it's the bashers who often started the provocation.

• It's just a safety precaution taken by a huge car company that cares for its customers..i don see any problem with that..at least Toyota has a serious attitude towards this problem, isn't this something very good?..Somemore it's FOC.. :)

Look at Perodua,did they ever respond to complaints of theis deforming brakes of the mighty MyVi?..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:03 am

This is the downside of sharing car platforms right? Or I like to think it is.When one thing goes wrong, everything goes wrong

• Perghhhh.. on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:10 am

Toyota sux… QC like hell ..2.3 million cars u think small value?

From now… Toyota will be well known as “sticking accelerator pedal” problems…

damn.. The Car of The Death…

• Perghhhh.. on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:12 am

Tim said,

January 27, 2010 @ 5:55 pm

It’s just a safety precaution taken by a huge car company that cares for its customers..i don see any problem with that..at least Toyota has a serious attitude towards this problem, isn’t this something very good?..Somemore it’s FOC.. :)

Look at Perodua,did they ever respond to complaints of theis deforming brakes of the mighty MyVi?..

—–

Perodua very good strategy.. they hire a lot of basher to condemn Proton… so no matter problem arise in produa model, the basher will cover.. simple..

• istvan on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:31 am

hell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

we are not comparing a car man..we comparing "big''"branded""always right" Toyota lover=P1 basher react

• whatever on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:01 am

WOW after decades then only they publish this? TOYOTA vehicle are crap

• that show toyota is caring. Not like proton, poor quality product…

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:48 am

kimi_ said,

January 27, 2010 @ 1:47 pm

the best…LOL

——————————–

Kimi,

You looks stupid with that words..

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:50 am

kimi_ said,

January 27, 2010 @ 1:53 pm

hell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

———————-

Oh, awak penah masuk syurga rupanya..stupid comment

• papa radzi said:

see BIG BRAND AS TOYOTA also huv problem with their car… so why malaysian is always think only PROTON can be bashed, only proton made mistake and careless… come on la… how can proton move foward if malaysian they self not support national product…. hate to say this.. actually malaysian they self is moron.. supporting outsiders brand like god but national product like hells.

—————————————————————-

For your info.. i supported proton by drving 2 of its models.. the Wira and Persona, both bought brand new. Since i got them, i been visiting thier SC like it was my second home. Both cars gave me HELL on my second buy. i even wrote to them each time i send in my car and the SC guys can tell me" We are stilling solving the problem, come again next month".So tell me now should i support them? i dont think so anymore. I hope others will too. Im now happy with a Toyota. No problems and i get fantastic service from those guys near my place.

i guess you should open your mind and look around before calling plp such names.

• Gajen on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:01 am

almost every car maker had recalls…and its good that they found out and recalled rather than to wait for something bad to happen…be responsible

• Vnoz said,

January 27, 2010 @ 9:33 pm

papa radzi said:

—————————————————————-

For your info.. i supported proton by drving 2 of its models.. the Wira and Persona, both bought brand new. Since i got them, i been visiting thier SC like it was my second home. Both cars gave me HELL on my second buy. i even wrote to them each time i send in my car and the SC guys can tell me” We are stilling solving the problem, come again next month”.So tell me now should i support them? i dont think so anymore. I hope others will too. Im now happy with a Toyota. No problems and i get fantastic service from those guys near my place.

i guess you should open your mind and look around before calling plp such names.

——————————————–

u r very unlucky owner bro…i seldom go SC..nak anta service pun malas..last time went to SC when i patah my side mirror due to my stupid error..heher

• Vnoz said,

January 27, 2010 @ 9:33 pm

to add some more…those basher calling people such name first

• First bash-bash about cars….then bash-bash among ppl.

so funny…….

• S.Roma on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:01 am

Guys,

See urself la, even the T also need to recall their product. Why when P1 make recall wanna be big issue?

• techboy_88 on Jan 28, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Previously, Toyota were be so narcissistic and arrogant with their reliability, they were dare enough to say that in their TV commercials. Now, look what's happening…

Moral of the story: Be humble about your reliability, not showing it off to your customers.

• Toyota did not recall the cars voluntarily.

Read this
    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/28/business/28toky…

Draw your own conclusion.

• BRAZBUZ on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:16 pm

ape kene mengena p1 dlm hal nie. nie yg aku pelik… weyh kimi ko pkai kete ape ha skrg??mrah sgt ko ngan p1.asal bashing p1 je mesti ko ade…

• Eyesore on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Manufacturer only make recall when the problem is very dangerous could cause death to consumer, in this case stuck acceleration pedal which is very very dangerous… this issue might be due to serious design flaw or durability issue.

for small issue like some accessories changes or updates on suspension etc… manufacturer only did it when customer send their car for service and most of the time they did not even tell the customer about that….

• The Royal Academy of on Jan 28, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Why buy Toyota when u can buy KIA

• ganz (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 6:08 pm

hahahaha,,, i love this thread.. love it so much… i'm not bashing neither supportt any brand here.. but it show that nobody perfect.. so why bashing TOO much on one product… over a small issue.. and deny everything when the same happen to the other product..

• tokmoh on Jan 28, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Vnoz : Let's see if u can still say the same thing if u're of the 2.3m owners affected, or like kenso with his Vios immobilizer problem…

Hmm… I wonder if this recall news will spark a traffic in twitter n birth of new internet meme like what happened to #yorais

This is slightly off-topic, but Sony also has a reputation of failing right after their products' warranty is over. It has become a famous urban legend called "Sony timer".

Japanese eh… high quality eh… or it's all in the mind?

• top_gunkits (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:12 pm

aiyoyo,toyota pedal minyak rosak???haha

nasib baik tak berlaku kat malaysia

,orang jepun memang kejam, nak bunuh orang pakai cara macam ni,orang jepun memang benci orang us.sebab perang dunia kedua us boom dia kao kao,haha toyota the best,good idea,best kan kalau berlakukan kat jepun,haha

• alldisc on Jan 28, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Perghhhh.. said,

January 27, 2010 @ 6:10 pm

Toyota sux… QC like hell ..2.3 million cars u think small value?

From now… Toyota will be well known as “sticking accelerator pedal” problems…

damn.. The Car of The Death…

2.3 million car recall does not mean 2.3 million defective cars or all poor QC. maybe the number of complaints were high (example 300 complaints) and as a proactive measures Toyota decided to check on all similar models. such a statement can only come from a person who is either stupid or simply retarded.

anyway, if u dont want to buy a Toyota no one can stop you. you can buy a Nissan or a Honda.

• top_gunkits (Member) on Jan 28, 2010 at 8:04 pm

those hardcore toyota fans out there,pls make toyota you official religion,hahahahahahaha

• MBX Boy on Jan 28, 2010 at 9:15 pm

“The recall involving the accelerators was Toyota’s largest in the U.S. It was prompted by a high-speed crash in August involving a 2009 Lexus ES350 that killed a California Highway Patrol officer and three members of his family near San Diego. The Lexus hit speeds exceeding 120 mph, struck a sport utility vehicle, launched off an embankment, rolled several times and burst into flames.

A family member in the runaway Lexus made a frantic 911 call moments before the crash, telling emergency responders that the accelerator was stuck and the driver couldn’t stop the car. The call ended as someone was overheard urging others to hold on and pray, followed by a woman’s scream.”

——————–

err.. why they don't just change gear to Neutral, or turn off the ignition key, instead of calling 911?

• Mysticmind on Jan 28, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Toyota is bad.

Dahaitsu worst.

P2 the more scariest!

lol.

• Yeahhh it's time to bash the T, what a lucky day :)

C'mon T fan boy, shows how clever you can defend your T. Let's see what point you want to use.

C'mon P1 fan boy it's time to bash bash bash.

Hehehe (firestone)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 9:42 pm

good. the japanese are remaking the kamikaze stunts again… with the fat yanks inside….

• WeeeWieee on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Toyota will be well known as “sticking accelerator pedal”

———

I LIKE THAT…. Toyota SAP (sticking acc pedal)

• Tiadaid on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:37 pm

MBX Boy said,

January 28, 2010 @ 1:15 pm

“The recall involving the accelerators was Toyota’s largest in the U.S. It was prompted by a high-speed crash in August involving a 2009 Lexus ES350 that killed a California Highway Patrol officer and three members of his family near San Diego. The Lexus hit speeds exceeding 120 mph, struck a sport utility vehicle, launched off an embankment, rolled several times and burst into flames.

A family member in the runaway Lexus made a frantic 911 call moments before the crash, telling emergency responders that the accelerator was stuck and the driver couldn’t stop the car. The call ended as someone was overheard urging others to hold on and pray, followed by a woman’s scream.”

——————–

err.. why they don’t just change gear to Neutral, or turn off the ignition key, instead of calling 911?

———–

Panic. Panicked people can't think rationally.

• staff on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:40 pm

the Famous Accelerator Pedal….

• 6 deaths and over 2000 reports of faulty pedal.

http://wcbstv.com/local/toyota.recall.dealerships…

Really a coffin car.

• me too on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:43 pm

MBX Boy said,

January 28, 2010 @ 1:15 pm

——————–

err.. why they don’t just change gear to Neutral, or turn off the ignition key, instead of calling 911?

——————————

i was thinking he was panic, but if he has time to call for 911, i guess he must have time to do those things above….

or can also ram the car to anything beside the road to slow it down… like they always did in movies…

• Guys prepare… below is on US of the full list of affected vehicles includes:

2009-2010 RAV4,

2009-2010 Corolla,

2009-2010 Matrix,

2005-2010 Avalon,

2007-2010 Camry (excluding hybrid models)

2010 Highlander (excluding hybrid models)

2007-2010 Tundra,

2008-2010 Sequoia

• slimershine on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:51 pm

so can i buy a proton now? hahahahaha..

80 years making car but still dunno how to design a accelerator pedal? wanna copy paste again from henry ford aa? stuuupid japanese..

• Tiadaid on Jan 28, 2010 at 10:52 pm

Just to add to my panic comment. Apparently the Lexus ES350 don't have an ignition key, just the start-stop button. You have to press down for 3 seconds to turn it off. For the people in that runaway car, 3 seconds meant traveling 528 feet, plus it was a loaner car, so they're not that familiar with it.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 28, 2010 at 11:20 pm

this is stupid.

• knoxx on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:32 am

not to compare between T & P1 car, but to show about how malaysian people accept the news/situation..

• initial R on Jan 29, 2010 at 12:57 am

For P1 bashier they have power window to bash… but for rest of us can bash Toyota for death trap accelerator pedal (will became lagendary)… so yang mana bahaya… power window or accelerator pedal….. even P1 power window just a few only & not effect much on your safety… accelerator pedal stuck can say "please pray to God to safe us"….

• yuberg on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:08 am

Haha..Toyata SAP (sticking acceleration pedal)..haha..

• Toyota PMT on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:24 am

yuberg said,

January 28, 2010 @ 5:08 pm

Haha..Toyata SAP (sticking acceleration pedal)..haha..

————–

translate to malay =

Toyota PMT = Pedal Minyak Terlekat..

Rakan kongsi Toyota di malaysia ni dah cuak dah… Myvi ni produk toyota..haha

• Casta on Jan 29, 2010 at 1:32 am

Kimi,

Who say Japan don't protect their market? get your fact right..in fact all countries practice it..just the way they implement it are different…otherwise we already can see dongfeng, anyuan & etc over there..

• kenny on Jan 29, 2010 at 2:15 am

how about toyota car in malaysia?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:35 am

kenny, as mentioned in the article, the recall only involves certain models in North America

• whatever on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:37 am

TOYOTA cheap plastic interior are just the same as proton. So both cars sucks big time…….

• hanny on Jan 29, 2010 at 5:34 am

Toyota may expand the recall to Europe and China too.

refer here
    http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/toyota-recall-ne…

• squawk on Jan 29, 2010 at 6:59 am

Recalls now spread to Europe & China. Ouch.

• jalan kaki sure tiada masalah

• Aiyoh on Jan 29, 2010 at 7:51 am

In malaysia, even their Toyota pedal stucks and they accident, they wont blame the stucked toyota paddle!.

But they do blame the road, the cow, the gov, the proton the everything. ! lol.

they are ready to die for their toyota! lol.

what a malaysian T lover.

• Toyot Sux on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:18 am

Video that show Toyota Sux….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49gj9OcJ-p0

• nazri on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:54 am

guys its like toyota sharing same part the accelerator pedal… i think not platform sharing..

• Power of Dream on Jan 29, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Recession of Toyota… Now, its time to Perodua to buy Toyota..

or maybe Proton buy Toyota, so Perodua no chance, need to rebadge proton model for their sales…

• ganz (Member) on Jan 29, 2010 at 4:25 pm

eheheh good one aiyoh.. they totally blame proton for being a lousy car.. low quality of power window and everything.. and government impose higher tax etc.. ekekekek

• Leonardo on Jan 29, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Why buy a Toyota when you can buy Honda or Kia in Msia?

'The Toyota Way' book written by Morgan and Liker is on my table. It tells how meticulous Toyota is when it comes to development and quality. I guess i have to thow it out now and call up the Honda sales advisor.

• Accord on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:05 pm

kimi_ said,

January 27, 2010 @ 5:01 pm

Dear Proton supporter,

—————————————————————-

Frenz..

If you dont want people to compare Proton & Toy auta why you also compare.

What a Big Shame for Toyota.. Not after 25 years but after 80 YEARS still suck Human Life. Thats really big SUcker compare with Proton. You know what.. No matter what you want to say I wouldnt buy TOy Auta even the price lower than Proton Cars because i will buy Honda.

• squawk on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:09 am

The fall of Toyota, the rise of Hyundai/Kia?

• 80 years of making car going kaboom for such a simple,childish and backdated mistake.

Sticking Accelerator Pedal.

So NOT milenia.

What a LAUGH.

Haha.

• y2ggy on Feb 05, 2010 at 5:43 am

The sticker "BEWARE OF STUCK ACCELERATOR PEDAL" is now available, special for all TOYOTA car all over the world. Hurry up while stock last.

• RUPEEDOFF on Feb 05, 2010 at 2:19 pm

I hope this is the end of toyota and honda and nissan too

• B33MER said,

January 27, 2010 @ 11:52 am

I wonder why they didn't think of shifting it to N if the pedal is stuck..