Special Alfa MiTo courtesy cars for Maserati owners

Courtesy cars are nice to have when you send in your car for dealer attention, but when you own an Italian exotic, not any courtesy car will do, as you still need to look stylish without your mega bucks ride. It’ll be perfect if your temporary car is also Italian, and also exotic.

Well, here is it. The Alfa Romeo MiTo is also Italian and also exotic, albeit on a different level. European Maserati owners will now get MiTo courtesy cars produced exclusively by Alfa Romeo for sister company Maserati. 100 units of these special purpose cars will be made, painted in Maserati Blu Oceano and with a limited edition plaque on the dashboard. The little car’s kick plates will also bear the words “Alfa Romeo for Maserati”.

Based on the range topping MiTo, it will be powered by a 1.4-litre MultiAir turbo engine with 170 bhp. Creature comforts include Pelle Frau leather and a radio navigator covering the whole of Europe. Maser’s MiTo will also get 18-inch alloys and Dynamic Suspension electronic shock absorber control system.

Designer casual wear when you’re not in the usual designer suit. Same concept as Aston Martin’s Cygnet, but this one is not for sale! More pictures after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=805]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• so this means that whoever that buys a maserati will get a free alfa romeo mito?

wow then who wants to buy 1 maserati? just give me the alfa is enough already. you can keep the maserati. hehe

• azrai on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:26 pm

They have this idea. Quite interesting. Anyway, the Mito is actually sharing platform with panda right.

• rookie on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:37 pm

courtesy cars meant..

if ur maserati needs to masuk bengkel for quite some time..

then they will give u the mito instead of other lame car for u to drive until ur maserati is ok..

• pulge on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:51 pm

What is courtesy car?

• what about one free myvi for one modenas kriss.. sounds good

• Mr Ali on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm

I think I see what they are doing here. People at alfas are trying to entice maserati owners to buy Alfa (all alfas generally, mito specifically) by providing them with an alfa when their maserati is maintained(or etc).

this way the owners can feel what the little car can do, and if they love it, they might buy it. can buy maserati sure can buy one alfa for second car.

maserati wins as their customers wont be car-less

alfa wins by providing an implicit test drive to maserati owners

maserati owners wins by getting a free test drive and having a temporary car.

just my 2 cents anyway.

• AquilaTE on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Nope. What it meant was if you send in your Maserati for service or repairs and you in need to use a car, they provide a temporary car for you to use.

• I am amazed how many have no idea what a courtesy car is….

• dzulx on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Ivan said,

January 29, 2010 @ 1:57 pm

I am amazed how many have no idea what a courtesy car is….

————————————————-

Bcoz we never got 1 here…

If you sent your car to bengkel… they wouldnt care you need a car or not…

• alpha0201 on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Some workshop got this service but mosly kancil or iswara.

• Buy and drive a MiTo and everybody will think you have a Maserati waiting to be serviced.. Yeah Rite!

• MADBOY on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:37 am

S9E said,

January 29, 2010 @ 12:57 pm

what about one free myvi for one modenas kriss.. sounds good

———-

should be the other way around

• Geoff on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:02 am

Actually if you have a top end Beemer or Merc, you'll normally get a courtesy car here if your car will be in the workshop for servicing for more than a day or two.

It helps to take your car back to the place you bought it from like Autobaveria, and demonstrate your a good long term customer….

• haze said,

January 29, 2010 @ 12:15 pm

"so this means that whoever that buys a maserati will get a free alfa romeo mito?"

Brabus was the first who did this in Europe.

People who bought a 'ultra expensive' Brabus-Mercedes, got a Brabus-Smart in the same colours for free.

The funny thing: Most Brabus customers used their Smart car more often than their Brabus-Mercedes… ;)

• courtesy car is when your car go in for service need long term repair, the workshop loan you another car to use in that time.

like honda with their CRV. old one ah, not new.

maybe this will go on sale when the mito gets replaced in future.

• Lambori on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:14 am

is it just me or does it vaguely resemble the Satria Neo from proton?

• Gajen on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:03 am

azrai said,

January 29, 2010 @ 12:26 pm

They have this idea. Quite interesting. Anyway, the Mito is actually sharing platform with panda right.

i believe it shares the same platform as fiat punto

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:29 am

Very stylish….and those seats are to die for

• I really like this Meserati Blu Oceno colour, very nice and eye pleasing.

• Alfista on Jan 31, 2010 at 3:31 am

azrai said,

January 29, 2010 @ 12:26 pm

—————————————————————-

Alfa Mito shares same platform as Fiat Grande Punto with some tweaking and modification done.

• wow! buy 1 free 1 . great deal!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 31, 2010 at 7:17 am

i wish they have this color for mazda 3 mps

• carguy on Feb 01, 2010 at 1:23 am

Courtesy car is a normal practices in UK and US. When you send in your car for services and it requires to be in the "garage" for more than a day, they'll offer you a 'replacement car'. Its quite pathetic that Malaysia doesn't offer this service especially looking at the kind of car prices you pay nowadays. Maybe when the number of new car being bought dramatically comes down, only then the dealers will start thinking.

The last time (in 2006) I had a courtesy car was from Volvo when they gave me their S40 for 2 days since it was near Raya Puasa nd my car needed major repair works. Hlp me to get all the last minutes shopping done. Otherwise I will be getting an earful from the missus : )

• MiTo is baed on the Grande Punto platform.