Saudi GAZAL1 Concept based on the G-Wagen

The GAZAL1 Concept is named after the Gazelle, which is a species of antelope associated with the desert lands that make up most of Saudi Arabia. The English name Gazelle itself was derived from the Arabic word ghazal. But given such a name you’d probably expect a very light and fast sports car but the Gazelle is in fact a concept SUV which is the work of 50 students from Saudi Arabia’s King Saud University, supervised by Australian designer Peter Arcadipane.

Studiotorino provided mentorship in the styling department while Magna Steyr took care of the engineering and construction details. Although it looks completely different, the GAZAL1 concept’s underpinnings are taken from the long wheelbase version of the Mercedes-Benz G-Wagen. After all, the G-Wagen is built by Magna Steyr.

I suppose with Hummer going down (GM rejected 8 separate offers as of today) they need a new vehicle to replace the void that the Hummer brand will leave behind, why not something with a Saudi badge? It’s not the best looking truck around though…

Look after the jump for a few more pix.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=939]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 09, 2010 at 11:58 pm

MACAM PERODUA

• umno juara tipu raky on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:06 am

the sketch looks much better than the green concept..overall not bad

• odi862 on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:10 am

Saudi wanna make cars now???? Why not.

• No way on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

hahaha gilak

• nick chan on Mar 10, 2010 at 12:52 am

HIDEOUS AND HORRENDOUS !!

• Stupid arabs do it again! no waste money on stupid designs? go an bulid your manufacturing capability before u can produce cars…anyway…saudi is known for pumping oil…nothing significant….!!1 gundoo arabs!

• Hdriver on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:00 am

Remind me of USSR era made boring, cheap, ugly car

• wuttaheck on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:07 am

GAZAL1 = gazali…sounds like arabic name :p

• LightsStar on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:11 am

cool….

• Nerddy on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:23 am

ingatkan gazal tu alat macam main gazal/ alat muzik…. rusa rupanyer…

• sujak on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:27 am

LOOK LIKE AMERICAN OLD WAGON

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 10, 2010 at 1:51 am

Oh my god ! ghoulish looking front will scare the daylights out of the camels.

Better stick drilling oil and hareems parties.

• farghmee on Mar 10, 2010 at 2:32 am

err…weird looking…

nice try anyway :)

• Gajen on Mar 10, 2010 at 3:17 am

ok only…looks like mahindra

• i find this vehicle ugly…BUT, at the same time, i also admire the looks of it…weird…

• ford_ton on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:25 am

This is what you get from watching too many Pimp My Ride. Wonder what is offered inside. A bedouin tent themed decorations?

• just me on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:35 am

hummer wannabe…

ugly…

• SUVlover on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:38 am

I like it…..

TRULY GANGSTAMOBILE

• Peter on Mar 10, 2010 at 8:09 am

MACAM PERODUA

————————————————–

Errr……Perodua rebadge Daihatsu vehicles………

Daithatsu is specialized in dealing with K-cars…….From what i see, i dont see it as K -cars……..Furthermore, the styling is also very different from Perodua and Daihatsu…….

In my opinion, this car is very squarish………Not much styling and design…….Simple lining and not many curves…….Very dated and fugly design……..

Very "BMW" front styling and very "mini cooper" sides……..Not much originality….

• Nerddy on Mar 10, 2010 at 9:14 pm

actually it's not that ugly…just diffrence..

I thinks its look better than land rover…(eerrr the oldsssss one)

• please gov decrease on Mar 11, 2010 at 1:53 am

Mahinda Scorpio ( India ) + Hummer ( China + USA )

• Leonardo on Mar 11, 2010 at 7:25 am

Not too bad for a first attempt at doing 4×4 but the front is a little too busy – like trying to combine the Mona Lisa with vincent Van Gogh.

And why green? It's a hybrid or trying to hide that the engine smokes more than a shisha?

• moriz on Mar 16, 2010 at 7:34 pm

looks like a LADA to me…muahahaha

• stiggy25 on Dec 27, 2010 at 5:14 pm

why not?hummer itself is not a looker