Renault Laguna Coupe launched – 2.0T, 6sp auto, RM260k

TC Euro Cars, official distributor of Renault cars in Malaysia, has launched the Laguna Coupe. This sleek D-segment coupe is an offshoot of the third-generation Laguna, which will not be brought in as there’s little demand here for large French saloons/hatchbacks at CBU from Europe prices.

With a coupe, some might be seduced, especially when the Laguna Coupe looks like a baby Aston from the rear three quarters. The proportions and profile are sleek as well, but I personally don’t dig the front end, which has one of the biggest grilles around, matched by equally large headlamps. It’s definately bold and arresting, though. In fact, there’s nothing like the Laguna Coupe in our market (big non premium badged Conti coupe); the Peugeot 407 Coupe is one rival that isn’t sold here.

This Renault powered by a 2.0-litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine producing 170 bhp and 270 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm, which is a bit higher than the latest direct injection turbo units. Paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox with manual mode, 0-100 km/h is done in 9.2 seconds and top speed is 220 km/h. Kerb weight is 1,480 kg.

Underpinned by the Renault-Nissan Alliance’s D platform, the Laguna Coupe’s suspension consists of MacPherson struts up front and a rear torsion beam. The steering is hydraulic while the disc brakes are ventilated up front. This car is a full four seater coupe – a big sized 6ft tall journo managed to fit in the rear quarters, as you can see in the gallery. The boot is a useful 423 litres with the seats up; they fold down easily via a conveniently located lever.

Equipment wise, the Laguna Coupe has all you need and more. Six airbags (5-star Euro NCAP), ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, ESP, auto handbrake, bi-xenons with washers, electric seats, climate control, cruise control, 10 speaker (inc one subwoofer) BOSE stereo with Bluetooth/USB/AUX, leather and 18-inch wheels are standard. For colours, choose between grey, silver and black for the outer skin and camel brown or black for the cabin.

The Laguna Coupe is priced at RM259,868.89 OTR excluding insurance; not cheap but not unexpected from a well specced French import. Warranty coverage is 3 years of 100,000 km inclusive of 24/7 breakdown assistance. Live images from the event and official pics after the jump.

Renault Laguna Coupe live images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1100]
Renault Laguna Coupe official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1099]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the front feel like fiat coupe….

• it really does looks like aston martin..my first impression “aston martin” ??and its front wanna be like aston martin which astons have big grilles!

• NK Lee on May 07, 2010 at 2:10 am

too expensive for an under-spec car, performance wise.

Hyundai coupe over this anytime, or VW EOS……….

• Alpha on May 07, 2010 at 11:36 am

under specced???UNDER SPECCED??and u compared it with a Hyundai Coupe.how laughable,man!!and VW Eos?/both of those cars are not even in the same segment as the Laguna Coupe.

• consider low spec lar
        a sport coupe with torsion beam ? are you kidding me
        some more alot of electonic device have been cut of by tc

this spec is way low … renault offer another 2.0T in other country which have 205hp and 0-100 in 7.8s
        it also equip with all wheel steering which obviously we dun get it for 260k for a D segment coupe
        which is not even a E segment car

• NK Lee on May 07, 2010 at 2:12 am

oh, BTW those eastern-European chicks r much tastier than the car itself :)

• shawal on May 07, 2010 at 2:20 am

mmmm….10 speaker bose sound system
    18-inch wheels
    6-speed automatic
    Gorgeous coupe’ body
    full-specced….

If you don’t mind the badge , its a good buy , but don’t think or treat it like a sports car.

Can sum1 ask TC eurocars to bring in the Megane renaultsport also?, i saw 1 in d flesh in czech, it wuz OSOM!

• Tiadaid on May 07, 2010 at 7:25 am

What’s wrong with the badge? It’s Renault! They were F1 champions for god sake!

• tokmoh on May 07, 2010 at 10:48 am

And they might be this year, if Red Bull Racing (they’re using Renault engine) wins it ;)

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 07, 2010 at 12:55 pm

It’s in the pipeline

• shawal on May 07, 2010 at 1:24 pm

renault iz not a premium badge (unlike beemers n mercs), dats y, for 260k, ppl (who dunno bout cars) mite question y u bought it… (even if you know its a good car)
      y not buy a full sedan like an accord….
      cuz in malaysia, majority of renault cars sold ere is d kangoo

• Tiadaid on May 08, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Y not buy an Accord? Because those who buys are followers, not leaders. Those who buy this car are leaders who dare to go against the pack.

• staff on May 07, 2010 at 2:25 pm

I thought Megane sport already sold here because i saw one at Fraser Hill… But

• teelim on May 07, 2010 at 2:28 am

Bah! Its too expensive for a “not that good looking car”. I would rather got for a Mini Cooper S for that money

• Something wrong with these 2 gals as well. I guess they tried to hire someone that is about the same as the car so to not let them steal the spotlight..

Still bleh… ugly car.. yuck..

• Gajen on May 07, 2010 at 2:44 am

i prefer a scirocco…..better looking,cheaper,better interior….

• samkhairul on May 07, 2010 at 3:10 am

eye catcher and head turning car…

• droll on May 07, 2010 at 3:13 am

holy cow, that’s expensive!

• khaix19a on May 07, 2010 at 3:18 am

rear light looks light aston martin……still it is a nice car though….

• zack zakri on May 07, 2010 at 3:21 am

1st…nice car…

• niuhje on May 07, 2010 at 3:26 am

is dat u, paulie? 6-ft eh?

• Choon on May 07, 2010 at 3:37 am

I’m sorry to say this, but – classic no sense for market…

It’s a Renault, means a better, refine Nissan, that price is too much even for a coupe.

• Didn’t see any of this in UK..

• looks like mini aston, but nicer.

• City_Driver on May 07, 2010 at 6:10 am

1st? wow..nice chicks…car is ok but pricey..

• pelams on May 07, 2010 at 7:15 am

no lcd screen??

• Go check out Alpha Romeo Mito. That’s a better deal than this. But of cos that’s a smaller car which only comes with manual

• too expensive…somemore not handsome enough….hmmm…wordless…..

• HirumaKecil on May 07, 2010 at 7:49 am

Tunggu dulu… Nanti kita tengok Satria Neo Turbo…. hehehehe….

• azrai on May 07, 2010 at 7:55 am

The rear remind me to something familiar…aaa..the Youngman L5 rear.

• Paul Tan on May 07, 2010 at 7:58 am

It’s actually not as pricey as I expected tho still pricey. Around same price as a Passat CC which is also an European D segment “coupe”.

• Maserati on May 07, 2010 at 8:28 am

Nah too expensive..

• superman on May 07, 2010 at 8:35 am

Danny,

Couldn’t you get a better looking person to model the rear seat space?
    That fella is seriously ugly

• Danny Tan (Member) on May 07, 2010 at 12:57 pm

Don’t be so mean la :)
      He’s perfect as a “model” because he’s big and tall

• freeze on May 07, 2010 at 8:40 am

Is that Paul sitting at the back? Looks as if he just had…

• moha3774 on May 07, 2010 at 8:50 am

24/7 breakdown assistance, now that is what all car maker should offer…

• subhero on May 07, 2010 at 8:55 am

rubbish car, no 2nd value.
    buy 260k after 5 years only rm 26k

• theanswer on May 07, 2010 at 9:18 am

if u can afford 260k car..why worry abt 2nd hand value..especially tot hose who wanna use it for a long time. bored of this kind of 2nd value statement.

nway for 2.0 turbo with 170bhp..torsion beam setup..fixed roof…i’ll go for vw eos anytime.

• Woo really? Then I’ll wait for another 5 years to get myself a pre-owned Laguna Coupe.

• >subhero says:
      >7/5/2010 at 8:55 am

>rubbish car, no 2nd value.
      >buy 260k after 5 years only rm 26k

=> Buy potong loo….. much resale value!!!! hihihihi….

p/s: How much imported merz E270 cdi in Yr 2003 = RM580K , now 2nd price? hardly RM145K……… also no 2nd value maaa!!!!

• Fangs on May 07, 2010 at 9:35 am

Won’t buy that for sure,, too expensive for a not some expensive looking car…LOL, Chicks dont dig that for sure….

• “MacPherson struts up front and a rear torsion beam.”

torsion beam … this is a big let down.

• Alifz on May 07, 2010 at 11:44 am

Yeah..i agree with you. Such this kinda car should comes with multi-link..

• Squawk on May 07, 2010 at 8:37 pm

What’s wrong with torsion beam? Citroen ZX has torsion beam and it was one of the best handling cars for a long time.

• Peter on May 07, 2010 at 9:51 am

Its not really expensive….

Specs….okok….

Kinda average european car….

• i want another car... on May 07, 2010 at 9:52 am

love the car, hate the price!

• who is that mamat bproi muka stim in that picture?

• The Euro should be trending down as the EU debt debacle continues. A quick fix to this is to deflate the Euro and hence the value of its products. Therefore, it may be a good idea to hold back from buying any continental cars for the moment. Just my 2 sen….

• Tiadaid on May 07, 2010 at 10:56 am

Won’t have a bearing on car prices actually. You have to remember that even though the Euro’s value may go down, the distributor paid for the stock at the old prices. Do you really think they would allow themselves to lose money? Not really.

• This must be the most expensive sedan that is equped with a Torsion Beam rear suspension.

Seriously, TC Euro Cars must be on some kind of drugs to think that such a car will sell well for RM260K. For that price, I might as well get a BMW.

Also, with such limited models, will the SC be keeping adequate spares

• lchan on May 07, 2010 at 10:37 am

As usually…..tan Chong farks up again with rediculous price. The damn car at most is worth 220 – 230k max and with this price, they should still be making about 20k per car sold. Renault needs to find another importer.

• The price….what a joke…..only joker will buy such car……

• torque (Member) on May 08, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Yes! Joker which has more money than u or me…frankly speaking…sometimes Ferrari owners I c as a joker too…driving around KL heavy traffic with all that marvelous hp at snail pace…what a joke right?!

• 260K big range of car u can select lor…….

• Hdriver on May 07, 2010 at 10:42 am

It’s either the price is too high or our ringgit is too weak. :p

• Seriously on May 07, 2010 at 11:27 am

this will not sell. 2.0T and it only pulls 0-100 in 9.2secs!? Very very sad for a coupe and expensive!

Scirocco FTW hands down.

• V50 T5 Heico Sportiv on May 07, 2010 at 12:48 pm

not as oomph as the 320d… but lovely design though…

the ladies are even mmmmmmmmm ngehngehngeh

• bslee on May 07, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Price too expensive for a Renault. TC Euro always got it wrong…but they just dont care as there will some guy with easy money will still buy it and with CBU any no. of car sold means profit to company….

• Squawk on May 07, 2010 at 8:42 pm

If TC don’t bring in volume sellers at reasonable prices, they might as well just bungkus the marque. They wanna be niche with a mass (Euro) market brand?

• Wow…what a looker!…i mean, the ladies

• nabill on May 07, 2010 at 3:56 pm

not car problem , its badge problem,even if it was sold for 200k,it stil wdnt be able to sell in a meanigful numbers…..unless badge becomes known and popular,only thn u can command a premium price n be able to sell……anyway,actually it looks very nice and original ..like noting else on the road,u can never mistaken this car for any other,and thats the good thing abt this car…

• kecy82afr on May 07, 2010 at 4:34 pm

I just checked renault website. Clio RS price has been reduced to RM194k. That OTR price with insurance.Used to be RM230k Since more new model coming in, more prices reduction on most of the models are expected. Do you know is there anymore discount/promotion on Renault model? I’ve been eyeing on this rocket pocket clio RS for quite sometimes.

• techart touch on May 07, 2010 at 10:31 pm

it look like similiar to hyundai coupe 2.0…with tag price 260 k it would be plenty various model to be chose…i would prefer japanese n germany with some kind that lot of money…it not value for money…

• tHe^CuLpRit on May 08, 2010 at 1:10 am

too much money for such a “slow” car… obviously for show…. imagine even a 320d will smoke yer arse…

• Chris on May 08, 2010 at 2:27 am

when is megane coming?

• Colin Chapman on May 08, 2010 at 12:43 pm

I dont know what the issue people are making about the torsion beam, The Megane RS has a torsion beam so does the Clio RS. Arent these cars known for their handling prowess? Besides in terms of packaging a multilink arrangement at the rear will not leave you witih much boot space or rear passenger space. If they had fitted a multilink set up in the rear then people will be complaining about the rear space and boot space. Besides its a Luxury GT, not a super sports car. Dont think the drivers will be pushing the car on track to really benefit from a multilink setup.

• borabora on May 08, 2010 at 8:22 pm

agree with u 1 trilion percent!!!only french car aficionados will appreciate their handling prowess,no matter what the suspension setup is

• intermilan on May 10, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Some quarter who don’t know much about suspension setup and setting will always though multi-link is always better than torsion beam.

multi-link give better handling than torsion beam?

go try and out-manoeuvre any ‘equivalent’ French car with torsion beam setup in corners with your multi-link equipped car. You will find the answer.

Clue: its not about the technology. its about how its been use / setup.

• Squawk on May 11, 2010 at 1:05 pm

LOL! Yea, and your car will be on UHP wide tires while the Frenchie will only have stock 14″s. :-)

• Rassan on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Saw in parking at @ KL Sentral. Same color as shown above. Nice but RM260k???? Boleh beli 2 Mitsubushi Lancer GT (includes road tax n insurance!!!!).

• Azman on Aug 25, 2010 at 9:12 am

I bought the car and I am the first proud owner in Malaysia.

It is superb.. comfortable and good handling… Flatten cornes easily and good traction control…. better handling and more spacious and comfortable than BMW 3 Coupe whose price 30% more expensive. A lot of features and it is come with the high class interior which have a luxury touch and feel.

This car is for person who admires esthatic beauty , who likes comfort with sporty punch…
    For people who love full sports car features, get Sirocco or Megane RS or even Nissan 370Z instead.

The price tag of RM260K … Worth it…. This is a car that you buy with your heart,

Never stop Loving this car… for now….