Safety car rule infringements have led to nine drivers slapped with post-race penalties from the stewards at the European GP. They are Jenson Button, Rubens Barrichello, Nico Hulkenberg, Robert Kubica, Vitaly Petrov, Adrian Sutil, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Sebastien Buemi and Pedro de la Rosa.

The abovementioned drivers will have five seconds added to their final race time for speeding under the safety car during their in-laps prior to pitting. The Mercedes SLS AMG was called into action following Mark Webber’s dramatic crash in the early stages of the Valencia race. In a separate incident, Virgin’s Timo Glock has had 20 seconds added to his race time for ignoring blue flags.

As a result of this, home favourite Fernando Alonso moves up a place to eighth, with Sebastian Buemi of Toro Rosso dropping to ninth, while Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg picks up a point for tenth at the expense of De la Rosa of Sauber.