GM finally decides to make right hand drive Camaro!

Will this be the first step for a genuine American muscle car to make its way to our South East Asian continent, no matter through official channels or grey importers? This is in relation to the news that Chevrolet will finally be offering a right hand drive variant of their Camaro muscle car in the UK next year.

A Camaro (complete with Transformers Bumblebee decoration) was previewed to UK folk at the Goodwood Festival of Speed and the Camaro model in question uses the 6.2-litre V8, which produces 426hp and 569Nm of torque.

Even if Naza’s Chevrolet distributorship doesn’t bring this right hand drive Camaro in, but there will always be supply for where there is demand, and amusingly enough one of the first likely to bring a right hand drive Camaro in would likely be Naza’s very own Naza World. And I’m pretty sure there are enough deep pocketed people who were smitten by the Camaro’s portrayal of Bumblebee in the new Transformers franchise.

Here’s to 6.2 litre yellow monsters with the steering wheel on the correct side of the car on our roads soon! Previously, the only way to get a right hand drive Camaro was to buy a converted car from companies such as Performax International.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• kamal76 on Jul 05, 2010 at 10:51 pm

cool, hope to get to drive one these “autobot” in Malaysia soon…

• mitlanevo on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:00 pm

adoi, use lower cc engine lah…

then we can import, sure got many fans will buy :-)

• WOO HOO!!!!
    16.5K ROAD TAX/ANNUM.

• sh** man.. so expensive
      =.=

• Dr. Kervokian on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:53 pm

it’s ok, the folks who can afford the camero can afford the road tax.

• ummmm0 on Jul 06, 2010 at 12:08 am

the road tax will make our JPJ rich and the petrol will make Petronas rich

• abidbest on Jul 06, 2010 at 8:39 pm

how sure u ppl buy supercar fuel up using petronas? i guess they more incline towards v-power racing

• that’s why we can’t have muscle cars in Malaysia except for the super rich. my uncle in the states pays less than US 100 road tax per year for his V10 8.0 liter Viper!
      He recently visited me and asked me why I bought the 2.4 litre camry instead of 3.5L.Told him that 2.4 is high specs here.he’s shocked that we have 2.0L camry and 2.0L 3 series BMW’s.smallest displacement for BMW in US is the 328!

• hahahaha..wait until the price of gas goes up like in the 70s and we’ll see who’s laughing :)

• squawk on Jul 06, 2010 at 11:57 am

As much as I admire classic muscle cars, it also drives the American greed of consumption. Small cc super efficient powerful engines are running all over Europe but the Americans are still stuck in post-war 50s.

• Tiadaid on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Euro’s BMW 3 series have a 1.6L engine….

• i think johor has one on the road… owned by the royalties… was seen numerous times in spore n also johor bharu.. =)

• bryan.jones on Jul 06, 2010 at 9:12 am

yes prem, owned by the Royal family. Nice one. Spotted as well last month.

• saw it too in changkat bukit bintang a few weeks ago, i was with a JB friend, confirmed belongs to Johor Royalty. it’s a red camaro if i recall correctly.

• The Loner on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:29 pm

If taxes are the issue, bring the 3.6L V6 that produces 304hp and 370Nm of torque will satisfy most of the fans.

• ezmil75 on Jul 06, 2010 at 8:04 am

Yup! If you wanted more oomph from the engine, I think a supercharger will do the trick

• paparadzi on Jul 05, 2010 at 11:38 pm

This will work in countries where taxation is not based on engine capacity.

• Neonda on Jul 06, 2010 at 8:50 am

yah…jz like in Abardeen..their road tax is totally based on Emission measurement (Just like equiment have in Puspakom) and not Engine Capacity…our Country, measure the Emmision based on the Engine Capacity..it is sooo not relevant…

• shawal on Jul 06, 2010 at 12:03 am

Awesome car! , surely they’ll be one loitering around in Naza’s showroom soon

• Make a small and powerful engine please, GM, like what the Audi and VW did!

• ericten on Jul 06, 2010 at 12:40 am

if they can afford a camaro..16.5k is like water to them

• also cannot transform wan..better stick to my myvi..lol

• PakAbu on Jul 06, 2010 at 9:24 am

Ron Witwicky: [drives past a Porsche dealer] I’ve got a little surprise for you, son.
      Sam Witwicky: No, no, no, no! Dad! Oh, you’ve got to be kidding me!
      Ron Witwicky: Yeah, I am. You’re not getting a Porsche!

LOL

• VW_fans on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:47 am

RoadTax enuf for me to put down payment llooorrr……….. If Chevy M’sia rEAlly decided to bring it official then Ford will also follow by their Mustang or Cobra!!!!!

• ali38hak on Jul 06, 2010 at 2:26 am

and what about Satria-Neo left hand drive????
    we want it.. proton do it, please!

• kraven on Jul 06, 2010 at 5:24 am

There is already one silver camaro on malaysia soil, right in the heart of KL too if u must know..

With the number plate TMJ.. Tengku mahkota johor if you must know.. Seen it a couple of times.. Brat.

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:13 am

i wonder how life would be if the camaro came with a turbodiesel…haha…

• MUHD.MUZNIE on Jul 06, 2010 at 7:47 am

FEEL THE SOUND – ENGINE…NICE CAR…

• albag on Jul 06, 2010 at 7:50 am

sweet i wonder do they have tropical spec version… UK weather is dry and cold, the Camaro will sure get ‘fever’ easily when driving on Malaysian roads…

• littlefire on Jul 06, 2010 at 8:12 am

I tot they have v6 camaro in the states.. Maybe that make more sense in Malaysia here..

• blackJKX on Jul 06, 2010 at 10:01 am

u can make this replica one from datsun car.
    99.5% the same.10 cylinders also.4 working, 6 in back seat.
    i know one workshop in johor.
    what u say?

• any speculations about prices? as far as I know the camaro is about 30k usd otr.

• wan_knox on Jul 06, 2010 at 10:21 am

too dangerous if the camaro is on road. Im afraid suddengly the car transform to bumblebee.. surely jamm punya especially jalan tun razak :p

• Tiadaid on Jul 06, 2010 at 11:02 am

The 6.2 2010 Chevy Camaro has a fuel mileage of 14.7 l/100 km, a fuel capacity of 72l and fuel costs of RM 150 every time you fill up. That’s just too much!

• DenFire on Jul 06, 2010 at 11:06 am

Turbo engine please… Small displacement, high output…
    Hahahah :D

• 1kereta on Jul 06, 2010 at 11:17 am

too late! i forgot about bumblebee already. the right hand drive should be launched before the movie!

• That’s the reason why american generally doesn’t care about FC… they’re consuming most oil in the world with all their ‘toy’…

those that fly in the sky… dive in the water… roar on the roads… speed at salt lake… launched to the space…

• PakAbu on Jul 06, 2010 at 1:43 pm

A bit of statictics on oil consumption (include all usage though, not just vehicles):

USA consumes (20,680,000 bbl/day) more oil than the next four countries combined (China, Japan, Russia & India: ~ 18,200,000 bbl/day). You have to add Germany’s to that to make it closer to USA’s.

Source: http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/ene_oil_con-energy-oil-consumption

And that’s not taking into account population of the countries.

Niiice!

• Seriously on Jul 06, 2010 at 11:37 am

*slurp*

• kamal on Jul 06, 2010 at 11:48 am

Change gov. laaa… then ask new Gov to reduce tax and removed all nonsense tax that burden us. Then we all can have cheap and good cars equivalent to our salary. hahahhaha

• Tiadaid on Jul 06, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Yeah, then ask them to continue subsidies on fuel etc etc….sure Malaysians will live in heaven, oh for a year or two!

• and then our country bankrupt.

lowering tax is possible. removing tax is a damn big NO NO.

• Tiadaid on Jul 06, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Exactly. Lower taxes should also be followed by lower subsidies. Only than will it be balanced. But truth be told, I don’t think changing gov will see lower taxes. Maybe for a year, then it’s back to the same old story…

• wakawaka on Jul 07, 2010 at 2:03 pm

lower tax will lower price.. lower the loan tenure as well max 5 years only then we’ll know what kind of car we Malaysian can afford ..

• steve on Jul 06, 2010 at 3:54 pm

Hmmmm … if Naza launching it….how are they going to promote it….bring a bumblebee model to Plaza TTDI and maybe ask Megan to post with the car? ya I know many people hate her but still she’s the one on the ride….errrrr opssss is it her or the other dude…what’s his name :P

• Peter on Jul 06, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Look at how much is the torque…569Nm???

Wow, its a very toquey car….

• Peter says:
      6/7/2010 at 4:27 pm
      Look at how much is the torque…569Nm???

Wow, its a very toquey car….

————————————————————————————————————————-

Beemer, 3 liter diesel have more or less about 500++NM of torque with less road tax ; )

• Camaro price will be almost same with Mitsubishi Evolution X. At least it is almost the same here in USA.

• Jaas torre on Jul 08, 2010 at 5:37 am

It’s a muscle car, it has to have a big engine, hence the word ‘muscle’, get it?

I guess when u drive around in a 650 or 850 cc car, this 6,200cc must be pretty mind blowing. Quit whining and go back to your fuel sipping 3-cylinder cars. Or go ride a bicycle; no petrol or road tax required.

More importantly, will it transform? My drinking buddies would surely be impressed. I hope Bumblebee likes teh tarik…

• shiro on Jul 09, 2010 at 12:48 pm

imagine NAZA rebadge this car like what they did to FORTE…
    and this Camaro becomes NAZA Camano NI.. hehe