‘Supra’ trademark renewed – new Toyota Supra on the way?

There are hints of the possible production of a new Toyota Supra as Toyota have recently filed with the US Patent and Trademark Office for that model name on the 16th of July 2010. The trademark previously expired in 2006 and will you believe it – the company hasn’t done anything till recently.

Adding to that, Toyota CEO Akio Toyoda told journalists in Japan, four days before, that he wants “to see the next Supra tested in the near future” but later went on to say “even if one president [Toyoda himself] says that we want to have a Supra again, the whole company is not going to be responding to that request.”

According to certain sources, the trademark system is designed around its use and a company is said to have three years to use the name until it’s considered abandoned. As we already know, Toyota hasn’t given the FT86 concept its official name, thus there is an already available model to take on the legendary moniker, although the new FR-86 seems more like a new Toyota Celica than a fire-breathing twin-turbocharged Supra.

Only time will tell but if Mr Toyoda’s words are anything to go on, we could see a Supra very soon, if the board decides it is financially viable.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• wonder how much it cost…rm700k?? =P..

• Terry on Aug 03, 2010 at 8:42 pm

WOOOOOWW!!!

• Wan Muz on Aug 03, 2010 at 8:51 pm

wow!!!

• mata katak on Aug 03, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Personally, i think its ugly. Just plain ugly.

I think Brother car assesories shop’s body kit design can do better than Toyota….hahaha

• Icecold on Aug 04, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Another worthless comment! Shame to be Malaysian reading such comment just showing how shallow the Malaysian car lovers minded are. Do you expect a car design to be just a box on wheel!!! Car design evolve mind you as technology progressed.

• jumbsuckuras$ on Aug 03, 2010 at 11:01 pm

alamak dugong mata sepet hihi

• Kington on Aug 04, 2010 at 12:15 am

This is of course, a prototype and usually, no less than 30% of what you see won’t make it for production.

Kudos to Toyota actually, for re-igniting its sporty side, with the LFA, the upcoming FT86 and hopefully this Supra which has been heavily rumored to be a hybrid.

And if you check out Autocar this month, you’ll see hybrid versions of the Camry, GT3 RS and a full electric SLS…

• Hope they will come out with the awesome Supra again!

• The design is superb!

• Jaybond on Aug 04, 2010 at 9:02 am

Toyota has been sleeping in the mid-range performance segment for far too long. The next Toyota Supra must have explosive performance (powerful engine, RWD) and affordability a la Nissan GT-R.

As for the production version of FT86, hopefully it will be named Trueno, it’s more connected I think. Celica will always be remembered as 4WD, turbocharged rally monster.

• probably detune LFA and rebadge as supra ^^

• it reminds me one of the “chop shop” creation. ha…ha…

• pomen_gtr on Aug 04, 2010 at 10:25 am

that bangla guy handmade body panel…. :)

• Peter on Aug 04, 2010 at 10:30 am

FT-86 Concept! Kudos!

This will be my dream car…

• i thought the LF-A is already a supra replacement?

• Jaybond on Aug 05, 2010 at 8:48 am

The LF-A, is bit of an outcast, as Japanese road going supercars were more known to offer more bang for the bucks, but not this one. So IMO, the new Supra should be more accessible for the masses.

• torque on Aug 04, 2010 at 2:03 pm

A Supra? What can I say…just bring it, make it or watever!! Too much already our road is flooded with 350Z, GTR35, RX8, Evo 8 & 9 (Sorry Version 10..too much poser OTR), Scooby 8 & 9, CTR Sedan, Integra Type R…we need more variety here especially from Toyota! I mean what I see is OLD Supra, SOFT Celica, SEMPUT Mrs, LONG LOST Starlet and the Legendary DYING for replacement AE86. Wake up Toyota!

• loollool on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:04 am

toyota is busy with become and maintaining the world’s biggest title~

• sranua on Aug 04, 2010 at 4:18 pm

Mr Torque..my hats off for introducing the Toyota range in which I know only Vios, Camry and Altis…a real petrolhead…

• torque on Aug 05, 2010 at 9:05 am

What can I say sranua…it ain’t anyone fault if they never knew Toyota legendary range of cars. It’s Toyota OWN fault by neglecting their passionate roots and focusing just making a hefty bucks! I welcome the new AE86 replacement and this Supra project…even I felt sad hearing that even Honda gonna’s hold their NSX replacement project n the worse news I heard is the production of the CTR is gonna end…my personal opinion, the CRZ still fail to capture the essance of the old CRX but let’s not judge first, let us all wait Honda pocket rocket replacement when it hit our shore. Happy Motoring everyone!

• Bob_B78 on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:54 pm

In the meantime, hope that Honda will roll out the production version of HSV (NSX replacement)
    Then, we can have the slugfest we used to see between GT-R, Supra, NSX(HSV) from the old days!!!!!!

• loollool on Aug 05, 2010 at 3:14 am

Not necessary only Japs nowadays~ you may expect the Korean come up with something GTR like version too~~

in fact, the korean are almost there!!! soon ..! i know real soon!!

• lucas leiva on Sep 08, 2010 at 1:40 pm

hangpa dok kutuk2 ni pasai hangpa x dak duit nak beli..ingat la skit..dok buat belagak dok komplen mcm kaya..tgk2 pakai keta proton ja hahaha..