Ariel Atom spotted on a trailer in Cheras!

ARIEL-ATOM-CHERAS

Our very own Harvinder Sidhu was strolling down the main road in Taman Lenseng Cheras yesterday when he suddenly did a double take at this durian stall just opposite the Petronas station. There was a very interesting car there on a trailer being towed by a Volvo XC90. It was none other than an Ariel Atom, with the classic black and orange paint job.

There must be something about this durian stall, the last time we saw a Ferrari 430 parked there while the owner was buying durians as well. Or maybe who knows. the same guy owns this Ariel Atom, the Ferrari, and the durian stall itself! Apparently there was even some durians in the “cockpit” of the Atom, I suppose better to keep them there in the open air cockpit rather than in the Volvo XC90 and have the smell trapped in the Volvo. One of the funkiest uses of an Ariel Atom ever!

But this rare baby has definitely been driven – the tyre threads show some use although they are still very new. Wonder where the lucky owner bought this baby from, either he imported it in here himself or he bought it in Singapore where there’s an official dealer.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill on Aug 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

probably for some hardcore track use….nice to see those race cars here…

• satako on Aug 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

it was spotted on SIC.. some track events..

• Rassan on Aug 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Damm!….

• Limahpek on Aug 15, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Atomic car !!!

Will police stop this car and say kereta ni or go kart?

• Good for you to get a chance to see a real one… will it be on sales ??? hahaha

• transformer on Aug 15, 2010 at 11:56 pm

wow….. just wonder how much he paid for this baby? i mean include AP…. or maybe this one owned by some AP kings descendant ?

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:22 am

Such car maybe just for track use which owners will not use it on the road,which mean NO TAX.

• bien335 on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:00 am

Oh My God.

I would sell my kidney just to have an Atom. The supercharged version, please. Stick that into your sports exhaust, Mr Kawasaki.

600hp/ton. demmm

• RadzLee on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:00 am

u can sell ur kidney to me. my uncle needs it. but i x promise any atoms. proton mau? a component of atom jugak!

• A Kawasaki ZX-10 has 200hp at 208kg: 961hp/ton

You better buy a Atom with two superchargers (may cost you both kindys)… ;)

• bien335 on Aug 16, 2010 at 7:40 pm

But you can’t go to the market and buy fish with a ZX-10. I can buy fish with the Atom, because it has a ‘boot’ – Clarkson.

LOL

I’m keeping my kidneys

• LOL.. your kidney won’t fetch that price.. better give it to those need it :-)

• Cidu Man on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:23 am

My girlfriend not like this car… maybe she jelous! this baby so sexy you know!!

• It was brought up for our VAG track day. :)

• anoymous on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:37 am

looking at the 60km/h sign at the trailer, it should be from singapore.

• Douche Hunter on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:06 am

The great yet humble Harvinder strolls the streets of Len Seng when he just as easily could be driving a souped up sorts car and hamming it up?

Remarkable.

Long live Kazakhstan Wind.

• meane on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:27 am

i can’t wait for this owner drive in our tropical country, during tengkujuh. damn good..

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:35 am

don’t think it would be as expensive as everyone would think. If it’s only for track use then it should be tax free.

• wow, i know where that durian stall is! should stake out that place more!

• i wonder if u even needed an AP to get this… its not registered for the road anyways rite ?
    Track-only…

someone correct me if i am wrong here.

also i wonder why there are so few trailers piggybacking behind suvs/cars on the roads bringing it to SIC for trackdays etc… its such a rare sight.. towing ur track car to the track.. instead of using on towtrucks..

• nice car……i tot Ariel tutt………….

• blo0d on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:03 am

usage of ariel atom in UK – track car
    ariel atom in KL – putting durian xD xD

• buy that thing just to put durians? LOL

• Naz@AE111 on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:45 am

ui na… on of the badass car that i ever wanted to have..

• Stoner on Aug 16, 2010 at 7:39 am

The Atom already been trailed back to singapore.

It was really nice to see the Atom in the flesh.

• Walauwehhh..

I thought it is Ariel Luna..HAHAHA

• donno on Aug 16, 2010 at 7:59 am

The trailer that the ariel atom is on is definately a singaporean one (the singaporean-spec speed limit sticker gives it away). So it is probably a singaporean-owned car, with its owner taking it to the sepang track day.

• I saw it too yesterday around 5pm, on the ns highway , they are heading back to Singapore , there’s another dark land rover accompanying it . I guess they do not have a proper space to test it so have to bring to sic

• Wats the fun having an atom u cannot drive and show off on the road , and when it rains ….. It wil be a water a Tom

• Eyesore on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:19 am

ouh…. I saw this too yesterday…. busy driving so didnt have time to take pictures..

• Ariel Atom… in durian odour.

• akupunya on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:22 am

this atomic is not safe on Malaysain road la.
    our roads very hybrid where evertything can be there including rubbish, stone and rain.
    i’m thinking how many star for accident testing for this kind of car, especially when it hit the trailer at the back.

• u drove this car just to hit a lorry eh?..aiyooo..go buy tank la..

• Treg3379 on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:20 am

I wonder how many would you rate for motorcycle bike?

And if a bike is legal to be driven on the road, why not an atom?

• Johnny on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:29 am

The trailer speed limit logo looks like its from singapore. btw, is it road legal?

• ntah.. on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:34 am

Rich guy loves durians..

• BeemerFreak on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:40 am

definitely he bought it from SIngapore. Maybe the XC90 it self is Singaporean registered. Look out at the speed limit sign behind the trailer writting “60” in a black circle, thats the Singaporean speed limit sign.

• can you drive this car legally on the road of malaysia?

• Lovely~

• creator mind on Aug 16, 2010 at 8:54 am

cool… let’s see this baby go in KL roads from 7am to 9am, hehe… tortoise even faster. then again, perhaps the owner is big kaki of durians, to be enjoyed will taking corners at 250kmh …. or straight at 350kmh? can this atom match bugatti vernon 415kmh?

• The xc 90 is singapore registered

• meteoraniac on Aug 16, 2010 at 9:41 am

the durian is probably one of the defense mechanism, if he sees any rempits or potential car hijacker, just throw the durian at the them lol

• matjoe on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:30 pm

terbaik aaa meteoraniac. mekanisma pertahanan. Thumps up 4 u bro

• 112bz on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:02 am

bugatti vernon hihi.. funny LoL..

• With a title like “XXX spotted on a trailer in XXX”, you would think it’s a spyshot for a new car soon to be launched, but no….

• tokmoh on Aug 16, 2010 at 10:38 am

There’s F1-like front wings n rear spoilers, like the one Darth Vader drove. Cool.

http://paultan.org/2009/02/16/if-darth-vader-had-a-sports-car/

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:15 am

If it was a trailered track car…why the road tyres?? If not mistaken, those are Potenza RE-11s. Odd he didn;t slap on some slicks or semi slicks..

Maybe the owner actually drives the car in SG. Has the optional Windscreen afterall….

• leonardo on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:48 am

I wonder if the owner is trying to evade ‘durian tax’ by putting it in the Atom?

• FLIZZARDO on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Oh that was mine, dad bought for me from Singapore.

• Indonesian also have their own one seater “Ariel” as well..30 chics used to ride him..hehe

• cslee on Aug 16, 2010 at 12:53 pm

If without goverment tax, it cost abt RM180k only….cheap…lol

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Aug 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

It’s owned by durian seller for fast delivery usage…

• marsox on Aug 16, 2010 at 2:32 pm

yesterday been driving in highway to JB from Bangi….
    also spotted this XC90 with Atom been towed..
    the owner maybe singaporean bcoz the XC90 reg is singapore…
    very fast woo XC90 tow this atom…

• KitKat on Aug 16, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Paul isn’t that your Beemer?

• gonna see’em running around sepang now!

• Shiny Morning on Aug 16, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Not bad.. for malaysian.., ;) knowing abt the Atom Car..
    The Ariel Atom.. very impressive car, hope somebody also know abt the Caterham.. ;)

• That’s cool! I just can’t wait to see this baby on Malaysia road!

• leonardo on Aug 16, 2010 at 5:20 pm

The Ariel Atom was one of the cars used during the “Race of Champions 2009”, if i am not mistaken, again won by Vettel and Schumi of Germany.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Aug 16, 2010 at 5:33 pm

don’t dreams..this is illegal on the malaysia road.

• 388900wow on Aug 16, 2010 at 6:42 pm

this car so lame

• Normac on Aug 16, 2010 at 7:02 pm

i’d spotted this owner when i was on the way from JB-KL on friday morning..
    my bro had taken some photos or video..
    the owner drove quite fast as we drove 160km/h only catch up to take it’s photo/video..

• suresh on Aug 16, 2010 at 7:31 pm

spotted the car being driven or being towed on a trailer? the former would mean it’d registered.

• Anti Proton on Aug 16, 2010 at 11:20 pm

i think he bought it for cheap

• Muddy on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:01 am

…. And Harbinder/ the photographer was in a VW car. The side mirror shows that. Maybe a Passat CC….

• tokmoh on Aug 17, 2010 at 11:24 am

I’m guessing it’s the new Sonata. I think Passat CC’s side mirror different a bit…

• omara86 on Aug 17, 2010 at 8:33 am

dang~ only if i own 1… my dream car…

• Norman on Aug 17, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Its awaiting approval to be on the road by Singapore Govt.The owner is just the 4 who purchase the Honda S2000 powered engine car.2 is Chinese Towkays,1 Caucasian and 1 a Malay bussinessman

• not the engine from the s2000..itst civic type-r dude.. totally different.

• dickybird on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm

too chilly with the wind blowing thru the spaceframe and and your testes! LOL! think i would prefer a Caterham 7 to run down to the shops and get my morning milk and go do some shopping at tesco! LOL! durians, er maybe have to think twice or 3 times! LOL!
    atom ariel, still a fun track day special!

• nighttrain on Aug 17, 2010 at 9:34 pm

naah.. given a choice, my streetlegal open tyre cart would be a KTM Crossbow..

• Jonest on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:14 am

Paul,

Met this car + trailer from JB – KL highway….. guess what, the XC90 was doing 160kmh!!! while towing the Atom…. managed to shoot video….if you want, can email it to you.

Thanks.

• charles on Sep 19, 2010 at 5:15 pm

singapore got dealer for many car. its really easier to get sport car.
    for KL market, i did try to contact NAZA for this ariel atom… no feedback at all.
    owning one is really impossible…. but… i got see orange ariel atom fly by on bukit damansara…. where did they get this anyway. yup.. on public road… i was stunt.

• Treg3379 on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:28 am

I wonder How many star would rate a motorcycle?

If bikes are street legal, then why not an atom?