All systems go for 207 Sedan production in Gurun

Nasim Sdn Bhd reports that all systems are go for the ASEAN production of the Peugeot 207 Sedan, manufactured in Naza Automotive Manufacturing’s plant in Gurun. PSA Peugeot Citroen Asian sales director Jean-Yves Dossal and PSA Group Asian operations CEO Gregoire Olivier visited the NAM plant and gave their seal of approval.

“We are happy to report that all systems are ‘Go’ for the 207. It is a first step towards an increased Peugeot presence in Asean, using Malaysia as its base. PSA Group’s support is a sign of determination to further improve the efficiency of its global production system,” said Nasim CEO SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin.

The Gurun plant will churn out 5,000 units of the 207 annually for the domestic and ASEAN market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 5000 units anually which is about 400 units per month for the domestic and ASEAN market. It’s another good start for Naza as a Malaysian CKD company. and slowly (perhaps rather speeding…) we will have even more choice of CKD version from worldwide especially continental car as well as Korean cars. I guess we are lucky to have Naza to provide lower cost of car from all around the world. Naza we put hope on you for global car.

• Saiful on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:21 pm

Lucky to have NAZA provide lower cost of car?????!!! I also can do laa like dat….implement tax framework that inflates ‘non-national car’ vehicles, makes lots of profit from corresponding AP system until can progress from second hand car dealer to outsourced car assembler (whoaa!) – and then take credit from grateful masses when you provide car for less than RM100k which in other markets would be equivalent of sub RM50k.

• chaos on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:31 am

if u say so saiful…then do it

• Rubery Owen on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:21 am

What do you mean outsourced? NAM belongs to Naza. 3 or more Peugeot staff are permanently based there to ensure quality. If its that easy to secure distribution rights, set up a nationwide network, sales, marketing and aftersales HQ, product introduction schedule, website, type approval, DOE certification, toll-free line, customer service team, etc. then I suggest you go to a bank with your business plan and get cracking on one of the weak Euro brands like Fiat, Lancia, Citroen, Opel, etc. I’m sure they will back you financially and you can do a better job than Nasim because it is SO easy like you said.

• alldisc on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Rubery, i must agree with you. forget about the weak ones, try selling one of the most success brands of the 90s from Europe in Malaysia – SEAT in Malaysia and let us know whether it is easy or not.

to some people talk is cheap. to me its pathetic.

• please do it…

• Tok Janggut on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:01 am

Then why don’t you Sigh Fool? Bagi desktop kritik memangla sedap. Try getting your hands dirty tengok, kalau tahan.

• Vincent on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:59 am

The idea of CKD car instead of having our own brand is the right move and should be the way even 25 years old ago. P1 should not be exist.

Good that Naza bring car to CKD and make car ore afford table…

But then, if you look at the history, there are the alibaba company who sell AP get rich.

Too bad, they are just sucking a lot of our blood in years ago and now sucking less…

Some still happy and appreciate that they suck less…hehhehe

• Nakal on Oct 06, 2010 at 1:34 pm

then…we are thailand No.2
          CKD, CKD & CKD again…plus rebadging
          good

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:24 am

It’s time you changed the AP tune. It’s getting boring real quick.

• evoskylancer on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Yes Mr. Saiful, please provide low cost cars like NAZA and put the emblem “SiGH_FOOL” in the front of the car…I’m sure fools alike will flock to buy your cars…Talk the talk, will you…

• Saiful on Oct 06, 2010 at 3:41 pm

Ok la, kalau lu org mau support system that made u poor and give u some crumbs so u can say alhamduliah, then be my guest.

• WTF man?

I agree with you the system sucks but can we do anything much to change the system? No right? Many years already we’ve been talking and talking and complaining but no change also right?

So if you can’t change the system then u better start accepting it already la. Just move on. Life goes on man. At least NAZA is helping us tasting something sweet amidst this situation we better give them credit la rather than bashing.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:06 am

Why not look at the positive side of things? Shall we only drink from the Thai CKD Japanese cup? Why not have different options? We are not being forced to buy. If they can offer a European make for around Japanese prices and with higher specs, EURO NCAP and all that, good for us! At least it keeps the Japs on their toes and they can’t afford to be too complacent.

Or, we can just bash them up as usual. That’s getting to be a boring old song to me.

• Paul Tan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:09 am

Agreed. Having more options is good. Can’t have Nippon brand ‘blinders’ on all the time. In the end, the customer isn’t forced to buy, but the consumer wins in a way that it will help push the market leaders not to be complacent.

• Ah Fook on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Agreed with Rynn.
      Naza shd setup more 3S center.
      It will not sell well without good after sales service.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:27 am

You’re absolutely right. Aftersales service is the only way to make a difference. It cannot be done overnight of course but the superhuman effort and fighting spirit has got to be there.

• Tiadaid on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:33 pm

The writing’s on the wall for their AP cash cow business, which is why NAZA is aggressively expanding its CKD portfolio. With Chevrolet introducing 3 new models next year, with plans to open up assembly in the country, Peugeot going from strength to strength, and the ever improving Kia, the only thing they need is for typical Malaysians to open up their eyes and realise there’s more to motoring than a certain carmaker duo from the land of the rising sun.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:12 am

Dude you’re right. AP biz writing on the wall was a long time ago. Non-tariff barriers are against the spirit of AFTA and that’s why Nasimuddin saw the future and set up his 50,000/annum capacity plant in 2003 without a ‘wait and see’ attitude.

• nabill on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:13 pm

hope on u for global car???
      its a french car for godness sake , how can it be global car ??

anyway hate this car, its not gonna do well , so far 2 cars that hve the same concepts , ie sedans based on their hatchback brothers , like the aveo sedan and the suzuki dedan(forgot the name) which was based on the sx4…

• cynical on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Yeah man, Naza rules!

• fried tape play on Oct 05, 2010 at 11:40 pm

malaysian wud enjoy better option starts next year..nice

• Ranjit on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:46 pm

The price should be not more than RM85,000…

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:21 am

My thoughts too. It’s competing with Vios and City. Even thought it’s European and with Euro features like auto wiper, auto headlights, service reminder, legendary handling, etc. they still need to compete at a rational price point to win over would-be Japanese make customers.

• michelin on Oct 07, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Despite price competetiveness, NAZA should always refine their after-sales services. Lots of good brand vehicles in the market, but with bad after-sales service I don’t think anyone would buy.

• totally agree. most cars are good – both oriental and continental. what sets them apart is the aftersales. in fact, those who buy a conti brand are already automatically ready to spend a bit more on maintaining it. the aftersales quality will tell them whether it was worth buying or not.

• laluan sehala on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:18 am

RM85k? Wow, isn’t that too close to their own 308VTi?

• takeo1070 on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:47 pm

way to go NAZA…..u have proof the skeptical wrong

• Lim Kopi on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:10 pm

well, if u have all the political connections …. of course la

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Let’s leave the coffee shop talk out. The Japanese have better exemptions.

• anti-first on Oct 05, 2010 at 7:57 pm

yayyyyyyyyyy……peugeot’s making a comeback!!!!!

come on Les Lions, roar them Japanese makes away from our shores!!!!

• Neutral on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:12 pm

keep improving ur after sales services and spare parts !!!!!!!!!!!! We deserve alternative cheap and better cars than the other current car players in the market !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

• dino omar on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:14 pm

dubious!!!!!!! enuf said

• dragster on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:26 pm

y NAZA can provide Lower cost car but othe local brand cannot???anybody think of this question???

• Lim Kopi on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:51 pm

errr….like i mentioned, did u not know these guys are politically connected?

• cIT.... on Oct 06, 2010 at 2:32 pm

i think tat other company such as Japs sell their car a little bit expensive BUT cheaper spareparts… NAZA sell cheaper car so that people afford to buy but they cover back by expensive spareparts?

• alldisc on Oct 06, 2010 at 4:13 pm

y naza can provide lower cost car?

in malaysia there are 3 main ingredients

1. the cars must be a cheap product.
      2. must CKD, never CBU
      3. want to make it cheaper? re-badge as national car.

naza became successful not in an easy way when they began with Kia. you know how much is Kia Spectra CBU, factory price? it was less than RM10K.

after 300% tax apply, naza wanted to sell at 40K+ but govt didnt give because people will not buy Kelisa anymore. naza increase to 50K still the G refused, saying the proton wira will die. 60K also cannot because proton will die. and G pushed the Spectra’s price to well over 80K.

that was how naza group suddently became wealthy, but pls do not envy them. the late tan sri has worked so hard to what naza group is now today. success did not come all of a sudden but only after 15 years or so.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:09 am

Dude, the Japanese can lower their car prices ANYTIME after 2006. They are being given the MOST favourable import duty rates ever. ZERO for ASEAN origin CKD. Why don’t you go ask them?

• elite on Oct 05, 2010 at 8:42 pm

this one is harder to CKD…need to ship out from China…not just drive down from Thailand

• KEN LOH on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:18 pm

yeah they only build 207 that why my car 308 turbo (white) cant even delivery on time… how could this happen …. i have been book my car on 25th july until today i still dont hav any news…. 5000 unit per year is that true …. can anyone explain to me why??? the salesman told me is take 4 to 5 week but is been already more than 10 week…. even i call to careline centre a week ago but there is still no feedback from them.. the system in the company was too bad… how can i still trusted the salesman manager told me i can get my car on 8th by this month and they still didnt collect the balance from me yet so disappointed…. by this week if i still didnt receive any news yet then i going to cancel it seem like they dun want to make business not i dun wan to buy they dun have car for me i need a car urgent now coz my wife going to born my son…. hope i can get my car soon coz i love peugeot car….. please dont let me change my mind thank

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 06, 2010 at 8:29 am

Biasalah Msian attitude, the salesman only go for the sales commission, after the booking fee is paid, the salesman hilang for a while & will not answer your phone calls until the shipment of your car arrive port klang. Once it here, he will call you and blame the manufacturer for late shipping bla bla bla…..Then they will threaten you for no refund if the booking is cancelled, so beside the cursing, you still have to take delivery of the car. 1 week after taken delivery, the car broke down. u tried to call the salesman again, no way he gonna answer your call bcoz he knows this will lead him into more trouble.

Does this sounds familiar??? Well this is typical Msian customer service at its best. I’d been wondering which part of Msian is considered “lemah lembut, berbudi bahasa, bersopan santun”.

• alldisc on Oct 06, 2010 at 4:19 pm

actually, an assembly plant like NAM, DRB or Oriental they produce cars on rotation. maybe assemble one model for about 500 units. then they assemble other model. mainly because the jig equipment differs from one car to another.

• Time to change, bro.

• Tok Janggut on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:07 am

This is normal la Ken. You see, when the sales dept was asked to forecast, they’ll always forecast ‘low’ figure. This figure was then used by factory to plan their production. But suddenly when the model is a hit and the sales ORDER soared above the forecasted figure, the plant cannot just re-program their production line. So kalau mau jugak kena tunggu la bro. You can always change your order to Naza Chitra. I dengar ada ‘beratus’ kat pool area. Cheers man.

• mujahid on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:20 am

bro, i heard from my fren that 308 is actually direct from France, the only thing they assemble here is the bumper…. so i guess the French carmaker cannot cope with the demand I think…. just my 2 cents….

and he added, if I wanna buy, just go for 308t…. it worth the value and performance…. I hv to trust him bcos he actually drive VW Golf….

• sama lo on Oct 06, 2010 at 4:10 pm

I booked a Proton Blm On August 2008…..6 months baru sampe…( that time …that car tgh hot and spicy )

• Not-Soul-Uncle on Oct 06, 2010 at 5:01 pm

why not 3008? is a more family oriented car than the 308 since you will have a baby soon

• The Loner on Oct 05, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Assembly hub for ASEAN market?

Please provide manual transmission for the 207 here instead exporting it to other ASEAN countries.

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:40 am

No you are not a loner. I want to give it a bit of stick too! It would be fast, responsive AND economical.

• The Loner on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:04 am

Thanks. Manual transmission is better at my home state, Sabah due to bad road condition and especially mountain roads.

• Not if I commute in KL to and back from work.

• Tok Janggut on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:10 am

Bro, how many people nowdays wanted a stick? Mana boleh buat utk a few only. Mau bayar extra ka? Kalau dah not available, order lain model la. It’s an open market man.

• The Loner on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:51 am

I don’t think the car market is a full open market. If the car market is completely opened, the OTR for every single vehicle is drastically lower than current pricing.

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:41 pm

I’ve always had a manual. From my first car to now. I’ve driven autos including E46s with shitronics and its simply no fun. To each his own, yes. But when the day they stop making manual boxes, is the day I’ll stop buying cars and save all that money for Italian carbon frame bikes with Dura Ace Dis. If they won’t build it, I won’t buy it.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 8:44 am

They tried to produce 206 manual but very few stepped forward to buy. Cars ended up being unsold for months and months. Why repeat the nightmare? If you want a manual there are a few models strategically equipped with a 6-speed M/T, like the 308 GT.

• kenny_lim on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:25 am

well, after a few months…..the qa and qc will surely goes down the drain like other naza CKD’s……..

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:13 am

Not with 3 dedicated French staff at the plant they won’t. They’ve been making Peugeots there since 2006 dude! Why do you bashers always talk as if it’s run by retards or something? How good are Japanese make QCs? Haven’t heard of their problems?

Oh yes, they are perfect eh? Everything they make is flawless. There are NO QA and QC problems whatsoever. Whoo-hoo! ;)

• E Bear on Oct 07, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Japanese or even German’s also have problems, if not can close the QC dept.

Besides, another area of problem comes from parts reliability which no QC can detect.

The best way to really know is to buy one.

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:36 am

I had a genuine interest in getting a Pug. But the thought of sending to PJ/Chan Sow Lin/Glenmarie for regular warranty service is a little bit daunting. I stay around Putrajaya. Do SC locations play a part determining your purchasing?

• u only service once in range of 2-6 months…depending on ur usage..
      dont let because of 30 mins drive from putra to pj be an issue la..
      why dont u concern about other things instead of location of sc..

• The Loner on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:06 am

Agree. In my home state, Sabah, sometimes people will travel over 30 kilometres to go to the service centres to service their vehicles.

• E Bear on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:03 am

Depends on how flex your working hrs are n whether family can help out.

If you feel the sacrifice is worth it in the long-term and u really like it so much.

Would be nice if the SC opens on Sundays.

• Yea, you shld take it into consideration with all the other Pro’s and Con’s.
        However like E Bear sez, if you’re really a big fan then this will pretty much over-ride the at least this Con.

• tikus on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:53 am

Bro..I heard they r opening a SC in Puchong lar.Maybe u can check with the showroom.

• retro on Oct 08, 2010 at 9:28 am

yup, puchong is open (it looks open anyway). i mean the service centre but i think they have not launched it yet cos no news. but there were a few cars there when i passed by.

• happy father's day on Oct 06, 2010 at 11:22 am

what la u…………..i prefer sc as far as possible…….easy to get away fom missus and good excuse for anything……..

• i still service my car in seremban while staying in kl. i have this trusted mech who is a friend of my dad so, the distance is almost about 60km – 70km? did not really influence the purchase of my car. i know many mechs can handle my car in kl but the trust is built up over a long time so, the distance is oklah. afterall, i only service car every 10,000km.

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:17 pm

The thing is, I used to own an imported 1.6l manual 405GL. I used to send to MBf Service (they used to do Cherokee Jeeps too) in Chan Sow Lin AND the people who left MBf Service to open their own ops (but still in Chan Sow Lin). I was staying at Bdr Tasek Selatan which was no biggie. I know you can swap an ignition module off a Tiara to replace the one on the 405. So I know what to expect from a Pug. And I know the true value of a trained mechanic.

• Hi bobdbilder,

Yup, I know the place you mentioned. Sent my previous Tiara there a few times. My ex-colleague also sent his Citroen ZX there. Pretty good.

• azrai on Oct 06, 2010 at 7:53 am

Just concentrate on export market. Which is better. Congratulation to NAZA for bring in FDI to Kedah. They really did a good job convincing PSA Peugeot to make malaysia its ASEAN hub. Hopefully in near future it will become the right hand drive hub to cater bigger export market.

• Nakal on Oct 06, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Naza on export? Nope!
      it was peugeot using Naza for their Export!
      Congratulation peugeot

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:32 am

Oh yeah dude you’re so right! The French are doing ALL the work. Locals just sit around sipping teh tarik and posting on Facebook and paultan.org. HAHAHA!!!

• Jaybond on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:01 am

More interested in the upcoming Pug 408, The looks is better-proportioned.

• nighttrain on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:33 am

This car doesn’t deserve to leave China. Will the real 207 please stand up..

• looks like SM nasimudin have been spending some time in the gym…preparing himself before his marriage to the lovely marion caunter i presume….

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:18 am

He helps out at the parts warehouse doing stock checks and lifting V6 engine shortblocks once a week. Every other week he does an hour on the welding line and one more on the trim line. Better than a gym plus he gets his hands dirty and shows the staff he’s working shoulder to shoulder.

• Anti Proton on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:03 pm

a 206 sedan with a 207 nose. overseas ppl got new facelift for 207….when will we get the real 207?

• sarenbad on Oct 06, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Way to go NAZA, & thanks for bringing choices in local car industries. At the same time NAZA seems to be more active and interested in promoting PEUGEOT nowdays…… What happens to all the “hoohaa” for their KIA brands especially FORTE?

• Ya lor..Hope Forte owner share their experience/comment here. I heard Forte kuat minyak? True? If true,seem like never change..only extrior dsgn..same to previous model..minyak kuat lor

• sarenbad on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:04 am

Kuat minyak? Nope, not realy…….It depends on how your driving pattern is.. whether you are heavy or light footer…… And to be honest, its far better than the previous models…..

• alldisc on Oct 06, 2010 at 5:33 pm

critics must have toned down since the car sales figures for Forte was not good. not even top 10 national. cannot beat sales of so-called bad looking Altis, even Dugong also lose out.

• rossi46 on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:29 am

its not because of lacking in sales….but the slow supply coming in to msia due to huge demand world wide…same goes to the new Tucson & Sonata, 4-6 mths waiting period …(the Korean give priority to important mkt …ie US/Europe/Oz first)

• sarenbad on Oct 07, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Yup I believe thats the reason 2 Rossi46,…cos when I checked most of the show rooms in Malaysia there is not many Forte available.. and the waiting period is more than 2 months……. KIA’s biggest market is the US & China, and they r all left hand drive…… same like Korea….. so in this case maybe they are giving priority to these countries compare to right hand drive countries……

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:34 am

hello rossi, the forte is assembled locally. there is no issue about lack of supply. and with south korea’s standard of industrialisation – i dont think the factories there are producing only 100 dashboard or 100 door panels a day.

malaysians now fear Kia cars – no thanx to Naza poor after sales service.

• bobdbilder on Oct 06, 2010 at 9:45 pm

See also Chevrolet Cruze. Launched by the PM 6 Months ago and not a sight to behold. Save maybe the one with Singapore plates. Go see the Chevrolet website and be amazed by the 2 cars on offer; Cruze and Captiva. What do you expect, money’s gone to F1.

• Tiadaid on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:37 am

I’ve seen several Cruze on the road, but it’s unfair to blame Naza for Chevrolet’s lot, because they’ve only just gotten their hands on the brand. It doesn’t help that the old franchise holder for Chevrolet (DRB-HICOM) effed up the brand with their noncommittal business plan.

As for the cars on offer, didn’t they announce that they’re going to bring another 3 cars next year, and they’re focusing on improving the aftersales service by opening more 3S centers in the coming years.

• bobdbilder on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Taken off the report at the launch in June this year;

“At the event, Martin Apfel, President of GM South East Asia, was full of praise for its new partner Naza, which aims to have over 20 Chevrolet dealers by the end of 2010. A three to four year network expansion plan will see 40 outlets across Malaysia, all 3S centres.”

Plus if you do a search, you’ll get some reports of quality problems around the world (incl Romania for goodness sake). But the problem here seems compounded by the fact that Naza as co-owner of Lotus Racing is embroiled in a legal battle with Proton in UK courts. To me, that sounds expensive and will be long drawn.

Jan to Aug 2010 they sold a grand total of 302 cars, In August they sold 66 units. If Martin Apfel is still around as the Prez, then I’d be worried. Coz he shouldn’t be.

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 07, 2010 at 12:34 am

Ex-Perodua head honcho Syed Hafiz is whipping asses, busy preparing to launch some torpedos. Prepare for rapid succession gatling gun effect.

• jules on Oct 06, 2010 at 5:17 pm

With being a hub for RHD Peugeots … cheaper spare parts ..

• Naza the AP King rules..huhu

• zimba on Oct 07, 2010 at 3:38 am

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/bargains-and-rip-offs/motoring/article.html?in_article_id=507837&in_page_id=53949&ct=5

from this link it show that Pug is ranked at lowest 10 reliable manufacturer brand at England.

now u can imagine how good it will be when it’s CKD by Naza. worst in england and now even worsen at Malaysia by Naza’ quality.

• mizzuddin on Oct 07, 2010 at 9:10 pm

maybe because peugeot closed their factory there and caused thousands jobless..? 206 enjoy good sales there…

• bobdbilder on Oct 07, 2010 at 10:54 pm

At least its better than the Bimmer (why am I surprised?). But I’m not really sure if this is the latest, coz MG is still there. Hmmm…is this another case of numbers out of thin air? Was this survey done by BBC? More questions than answers really.

• mizzuddin on Oct 08, 2010 at 8:14 pm

and u should check the sales of 406 there too…

• Chuck Jordan on Oct 10, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Honda & Toyota quality is better. You should buy one of those. Peugeot is not suitable for you.

• kennytan on Oct 07, 2010 at 1:10 pm

naza product cannot used one………..

• “They are some ppl who buy Peugeots, but most human are clever”
    – Jeremy Clarkson

• i want the hatch