Renault Mégane III spotted in KLIA – and it’s an RS, no less!

renault megane rs

Are we to expect a French-flavoured car launch season early next year? No sooner than photos were snapped of the Peugeot RCZ and 308 CC at JPJ Putrajaya – possibly going through type approval – do we have a snap of another French offering.

Reader Prem took this photo of a yellow Renault Mégane III running on trade plates near the KLIA, and the photo indicates that it’s an RS variant. Which would imply that the 250hp 2.0 litre turbocharged, six-speed manual hatchback is presumably the next item of Gallic flair slated for these shores. Sounds delectable if it is.

Renault Mégane III spotted in KLIA – and it’s an RS, no less!

UPDATE: Reader Salleh also sent in this photo above of a Megane III RS parked next to a Subaru Impreza at the Dengkil R&R – considering Tan Chong brings in both Subaru and Nissan, were they Tan Chong employees on a twin test session?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ex_live3 on Oct 29, 2010 at 12:56 pm

with a spare tyre???…LoLz~~~

the back left tyre looks like a spare, dont u think???…

still, this megane is a great car, it is replacing the R26 rite???…

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:12 pm

with so many potholes around, and with such performance (and low profile tyres) from the megane RS, not surprise if the spare tyre have to come out so soon….

• HirumaKecil on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Eh.. Baru masuk Malaysia ke keta ni??? Sebab saya selalu nampak kat bdr baru bangi.. Ade la nampak 5-6 kali masa on the way nak gi Uniten… Ingatkan dah lama kat malaysia… Yang saya nampak tu pon kaler kuning gak…

• kaiser on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:03 pm

Saw a couple of those with trade plates at KESAS (or was it NKVE can’t really remember) yesterday. They look really good!

• Unforgiven on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:16 pm

I’ll take Renault and become Perotiga in Msia. It’s gonna be a win-win for Renault and Perotiga, Renault gets the volumes in sales and Perotiga gets the free money.

The poor rakyat will still think Perotiga is the best (Lancer vs Passo vs Forte vs Megane). LOL!

• Ash Menon on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:01 pm

And then all the performance versions will be marketed under a sub-brand catering for performance rebadging = Pergila.

• nEuRo.PsYcHo on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:17 pm

Sweet..
    Love the car..

• Anti Proton on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:27 pm

the gti slayer

• mitlanevo on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:33 pm

bring it on!!! this awesome car is a YES!!!

• sixtythree on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:35 pm

yeahh keep those exciting conti models coming!!! Hit those boring japs models hard!! I reckon that Japs is going down if they continue not to produce exciting models.

• naissssss

• Any idea how much it will be going for? Reference the VW GTi Mk6, cheaper or dearer?

• Mancini on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:57 pm

magane is awesome due. i agee with unforginve, lets make them perotiga

• muhian on Oct 29, 2010 at 1:57 pm

i saw this renault megane last monday at jalan raja laut..very nice car and look big.like scirocco.

• saw a trailer carrying them in section 15 shah alam. Red, white and yellow. They are beign stored at the old AMIM plant there.

• torque on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Anyone interested better go and booked now…my inside source said TC Euro bringing in not more than 12 units, 8 have been taken for. Not bad for one of the best hatch in the world! :-)

• Marcel on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:14 pm

I saw this car near my office at Sek 13 last week. Didn’t manage to take photo

• superman on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:32 pm

That’s coz TC Eurokars are just around the corner next to Jaya 33. a preview for prospective buyers was done last month, where most of the allocated cars were booked.

Price wise, think midway GTI MkVI and Scirocco

• BlitzAce on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:15 pm

The Frenchies are going up against Germans, I see! It’s been a while since the last Megane.

• tat is really a cool car to drive ……

price tag shd be lower than VW Scirocco 2.0TSI……

• 908HY4 on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:03 pm

why must VW be priced higher than the french? are they really such a big deal or is it the ‘halo’ effect of the GTi rubbing off on everybody making even the mundane polo seem like a giant slayer?

i think this model has the goods to be priced higher than the scirocco as it is probably more performance oriented than the scirocco anyway.

• cool,,, competition for the hot vw scirocco, wonder what would be pricing be

• Wira Tua on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:30 pm

saw it few times in europe, diesel version though….but nevertheless….supernice….
    i’ll take 1…even if it is a 1.5….car that nice doesnt need to be fast…:P

• few time only?…i tot in europe car is cheap!…n there is bajet car in europe! isnt that useless since car in euro r already cheap…out of topic..just thumb me down

• chuakz on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:41 pm

heard it would be launching next month 23rd

• chuakz on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:42 pm

sry…forgot to mention the price…approximately 223k

• super white on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Somehow it reminded me of Scirocco. If this cost 223K, might as well get Golf GTI.

• JohnDeep on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:47 pm

This baby is 250bhp & 340Nm bro, smokes Golf GTI easily. Golf GTI is uncle’s car, this one is “rempit” kind of tool..

• Someone on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:03 pm

Golf Gti, uncle’s car? LOL!

If anything, it should be the mat rempit car, with all the red stripes and anything. Both(Golf/Megane) are good cars though.

• Philip J. Fry on Nov 01, 2010 at 6:54 pm

As a GTI driving uncle, I totally agree with you.

GTI is a softer more practical car (5 door) compared to the more performance focused Megane RS (3 door).

• autojohndoe on Oct 29, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Mr Anthony Lim,

Is it supposed to be ‘AN’ RS instead of A RS?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:06 pm

*salutes!* Sir! You are indeed correct. An RS, an hour, that sort of thing. Must remember not to be distracted by a Wendy’s three-quarter pounder as I type. Corrected.

• 908HY4 on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:00 pm

saw a truck load of them heading to shah alam! in yellow and white. looks way better than the scirocco and it believe it’s looks say the car means business!!

wonder how they will price it.

• drMpower on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:11 pm

thats a …. butt

a big one.

hehehehehe

• tak ikut on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:16 pm

in australia only 138K, malaysia 223K almost 100k (tax plus bla.. bla..)

• lchan on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:26 pm

i am so confident that TC Euro will screw the price up as usual.

• paul, tadi aku nampak ada 6prototype proton hantar ke sirim, cantik2 wo!!!!

• Fantastic…scirocco beware

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Renault should make a special Megane RS hybrid edition for Malaysia… only then will we be able to enjoy 0% excise and import duties…

only pay sales tax of 10% and the hybrid is not meant to save fuel (assuming we only save a few litres every 100km)…. but in reality, this will save the buyer a lot more in taxes and duties (>>>RM100k!!!)… and that will be really coooolll…

• midnite on Nov 01, 2010 at 9:48 am

Its easy to say “they should” when you along with others can’t even afford it…

• nighttrain on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:03 pm

still waiting for these white boys to beat Mitsu’s 2.0 turbo, why la so slow.. pretty looking car, though.

• Maserati on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:04 pm

How nice it is,how powerful,how good handling it has ,99% of the commenters in here cant afford this car.

• seen tis sexy in london town… awesome!

• nighttrain on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:12 pm

here’s a better picture of the car.. http://www.larevueautomobile.com/images/Renault/Megane-III-RS/Exterieur/Renault_Megane_III_RS_003.jpg

• Protong Owner on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Citroen should make a come back also. They have good cars.

• Maserati on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Hey guys,stop saying TC Euro will screw up the price lah.Even if they price it at a reasonable price of RM 200k,not many of you can afford it lah.

So I dont understand why you keep saying TC Euro will screw up the price.Its not like you are gonna buy it oso.

=.=”

• Drift Master on Oct 30, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Well said, Maserati !!

I’m not in the league to afford the Megane RS but I will be very envious of those who can. That’s one sweet ride.

• shawal on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Somebody got good taste~!

• i dah oder…. hahaha

• familyman on Oct 29, 2010 at 4:59 pm

YES…finally it’s here!

alamak!.. the price oh my dear…..!!!!

if the laguna 2.0-litre turbocharged 170 bhp and 270 Nm torque is RM260k

cannot begin to fathom the price of this 250 hp hot hatch French “muscle + testosterone” car will be.

for my money (if i had any) it will be this over GTi everytime :)

• likehondanotsomuch on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:08 pm

u were right bro,,,,all the sudden we are bless with choice,,,,,really tempting this megane huh,,,,but i still bet on vw golf

• Need4SpeedUnderground2 on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:07 pm

seems a cool car …

• taboogen on Oct 29, 2010 at 5:36 pm

hermmm… no complaint the rear window is too small.. opss lupa.. malaysian people lebih proud with org putih cars

• vios dugong n city transformer rules!

• luffykewl on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm

Renault Megane RS or Ford Focus RS…
    which 1 is better in performance?

• hetfield on Oct 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm

We need more of these European makes as sweetener for our eyes. I’m too bored with crap load of Japanese cars flooding our roads.

• FLIZZARDO on Oct 29, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Dad bought me one for my sweet 16.

• i saw this car in Phileo Damansara 2 weeks ago..damn gorgeous

• this is a very sexy car!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Oct 29, 2010 at 9:35 pm

i just wet me pants

• Melvin on Oct 29, 2010 at 10:59 pm

The cup chassis feels really good. At that time I was told only 1 unit left of the first batch. Excellent deep Recaro seats only found in one other car, the Lotus Evora. The slotted discs and four pot front brakes bite pretty hard even with soft pedal pressure, almost came to a standstill first time doing heel and toe on this car. LOL! The suspension of the Cup version felt almost comfortable at low speeds. Was expecting a jarring ride. Very well balanced for handling and comfort, IMHO. Rear occupant space looks quite decent too.

• enjoy the video,,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voY2Eu4JzWw

• luckyboy on Oct 29, 2010 at 11:19 pm

rear looks good, but front sucks.
    price, if it;s between the GTi and Scirocco, I would get the GTi too. 4 door, practicality. I have always wanted a 4 door, turbocharged machine that I can drive to work everyday, RM100 tank that goes for 480km-500km. A GTi can achieved that. The German’s cabin materials are top notch. A French can nv beat! Too plastic, just like the Japanese. I dont really mind the cheap plastics, but after been driving Germans for couple of years, just don’ t plan to switch to others anymore. They’re just good.

• Drift Master on Oct 30, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Have you driven a Megane RS before??

• luckyboy on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:29 pm

yepp. tested it ages ago, before I decided on another German. more focused than the GTi. but that’s not everything :)

• emine on Oct 30, 2010 at 2:42 am

YUP, I saw this car in Karak and later Karak Highway going back to KL last week 23rd Oct…….. escorting the car was some Nissans…..

• if uv never seen the new megane 250 RS, dont be so quick to dismiss it along with the older meganes. this car is completely different in terms of build quality and materials compared to the older renaults. go look at one.

performance wise, i trounces both the Focus RS and the Scirocco R. yes, the ‘R’. normal GTI and scirocco are nowhere near. on average, the RS 250 laptimes are lower than Focus RS and Scirocco/Golf R around the world.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voY2Eu4JzWw

as for price, 230K is not cheap but still cheaper than the Scirocco, still below the average RM1000/hp price tag and consider what u get as standard – Cup chassis, 4-pot Brembos, slotted discs front & rear, 18″ rims, tire pressure monitoring system, 3-yr warranty, HID dynamic headlights, keyless entry, keycard, cruise control, Recaro seats, headunit with integrated USB & aux port, integrated phone Bluetooth support, auto headlights, dual-zone climate control, RS Monitor onboard performance data monitor with g-force meter (like the Nissan GTR), integrated laptimer, integrated quartermile and 0-100 timers, 3-stage traction control with complete off, 5-stage selectable throttle map with ‘Extreme’ mode, etc.

you get damn a lot of car for the money. :)

• u forgot..this malaysia..u know malaysian think

• Drift Master on Oct 30, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Great video…now I really want something that I cannot afford….the Megane RS!!

• faizulamin on Oct 30, 2010 at 10:45 am

1 clearer picture.
    snap it someehere at bangi, toward kajang’s exit
    http://tiny.cc/8nw1h

• I hope satria neo was like this…please la proton.

• RockersUnited on Oct 30, 2010 at 12:50 pm

i saw this car along with other brand like exora, etc convoyed via kuantan bypass last week. on the cars, there are stickers ” aoutomative award’ or something

they go really fast… my ke30 cant catch up…

• torque on Oct 30, 2010 at 11:32 pm

Paul, the red Subaru beside the yellow Megane is owned by Renault’s sales manager at Seksyen 14 PJ. It’s a souped up ride, version 8 and it’s an auto Scooby!!

• blur_blur9999 on Oct 31, 2010 at 12:10 am

Official launch on 11 Nov 2010.

Superb car and sat-on one of it. :p

• taboo on Nov 01, 2010 at 1:28 am

Overpriced French junk made to kill people !!!!!