Skirt wearing Richard Branson to work on AirAsia X Kuala Lumpur-London route, seat bidding proceeds go to charity

Any publicity is good publicity, something perhaps both Richard Branson of Virgin and Tony Fernandes of AirAsia subscribe to. We all know about the battle of the newcomers between the two airline cum Formula 1 team chiefs, where the loser will don a stewardess outfit of the rival airline and serve passengers onboard. Lotus Racing has finished ahead of Virgin in the 2010 season, which means the Englishman will have the honour.

In the midst of celebrations last night in Abu Dhabi, Lotus Racing chief Fernandes passed Branson an AirAsia uniform and pinned a stewardess’ badge on the Virgin Racing boss. The two men then agreed how the bet would be settled.

“There has been a fantastic spirit of competition between us and Virgin Racing all season and one of the first people to come and congratulate us on the pitwall was Richard. We have had this great bet running all season and now it’s time for Richard to start preparing himself for some hard work and the likely pain of a pair of high heels!

“We agreed last night that we will run an online charity auction for the seats on our Kuala Lumpur – London route to raise money for a charity of Richard’s choice and give fans of both teams the chance to be on the flight. The date of the flight will be announced very soon and the aim is to raise as much money as we can for a good cause so the discomfort Richard will go through is worth as much as it possibly can be!” revealed Fernandes.

More details on the date of the flight and how to enter the charity auction to bid for a seat will be announced soon. Stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• banko on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:43 pm

this two guy are really smart in busineess… they really enjoy their job ….

• hang hanep on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:57 pm

definitely will b d event of d year!!WOHA

• KOREAN on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm

yes! LOTUS TEAM owner is way smarter than the LOTUS owner.

• campro on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:50 am

i understand your meaning….Proton unable to achieve this kind of honour…not even they cars…but Air Asia can….it only the matter of management issue…proton boss don’t hv great business brain…that all…

• haitt on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:44 pm

hahaha.. nice one

• Oww… That hurts my eyes… But still funny and charity is good!

• mystvearn on Nov 15, 2010 at 6:54 pm

This flight going to be expansive:P

• hahaha ! great job !

• rally_fan on Nov 15, 2010 at 7:23 pm

good sportsmanship, great publicity for them both, and best of all, a charity will benefit from this.

• Very smart marketing from these two guys for both their airlines and Formula 1… On top of that, they are doing it for charity! Amazing guys…

• Charity is good. Can also claim tax release later. :P

PS: Better channeled that money to charity than to “big somebody” who will mismanage it later. Kudos to Tony and Richard!

• RH PumpkinKing on Nov 15, 2010 at 7:55 pm

just like what SIA did for the inaugural A380 flight to Sydney. let people bid it on eBay and goes to charity. nice community move.

• LoL. Awesome!

• oh well Tony Fernandes already did it on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:05 pm

anyway will Richard Branson do eurodance while wearing the skirt in AirAsia flight also??

how much the price of ticket rr??

• Jarum on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Of course. That is the sole objective of having such a bet. A publicity stint that will benefit both Tony and Richard in all of their endeavours.

• Tiadaid on Nov 15, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Those who managed to get on the flight will be the only ones in the world who can brag that they have been served by a true British knight. Lucky

• Z kenny on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:34 pm

doesn’t really matter, virgin own airasia shares …

good chaps , good sportsmanship

• Katak on Nov 15, 2010 at 9:46 pm

This is going to be great^^

• riswan rahman on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:20 pm

Good one. I like it……

• rageaccel2 on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:39 pm

hehhe… guess the passenger could spank richard’s arse! hahha..

• Excellent Marketing ! Good for Airasia and Malaysia ! Well done !

• My View on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:04 am

Its certainly good marketing. The media attention will be great for Malaysia and I am glad that they have turned it into a charity otherwise I am not that keen on the team “flying the Malaysian flag” and yet associating betting with it. Not exactly a positive attribute we want to be proud of, we have enough publicity with illegal bookies as it is :)

• Everyone likes this.

5 minutes ago via iPhone.

• Great Sprit …. hope to see in more in our country, specially in the Parliment :o)

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2010 at 2:26 am

those 2 are close friends…
      in parliament, everybody could turn from friends into enemies in split second.

• Ayam Tambatan on Nov 16, 2010 at 9:20 am

Its because they’re as successful as they are that they’re NOT in parliement

• hahah! very sporting! good show! :)

• Brilliant advertisement to the whole world…

• Bronx on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:29 am

I hope people on the flight take videos and post it in YouTube.

• trav_da_man on Nov 16, 2010 at 1:41 am

Regardless this is a publicity stint or not, at least it generates fun in the F1 world. Moreover this is a charity event so in the end, no one loses, well apart of Sir Richard in his short red skirt!

• thebugbud on Nov 16, 2010 at 6:26 am

this is a classic example of working and playing hard. Wonderful gentlement bet and with good cause. More biz leaders should do more and give more back to the ppl. Ytl, taiko are the namely few that quietly giving back to society too. Great job!

• Jehjeh on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:16 am

Hahaha, crazy people.

• apexg2 on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:38 am

wut we are waitin for a year!…haha!next seoson, bet for half nak*d branson or tony…sure the ticket price will be double2!

• Fifteen on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:39 am

Urrggh…PUI !!! *vomits*

Oops, sorry. If that was disgusting, it was an involuntary action.

Anyway, I will fly SQ anytime.

Thanks but no thanks.

• Armchair critiquer.. on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:00 am

Next year, Tony should do similar stunt with his new nemesis, Proton. The two ‘lotuses’ fight together and whoever lose should don a sexy outfit and sweep the whole KLCC park!

• raven on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:08 am

i totally disagree with you..
      this two person is Malaysian..there is no need to do the same thing with what Tony have done to Richard..
      We are Malaysian..this is not good a very good culture to practise among Malaysian..

• bobdbilder on Nov 16, 2010 at 12:09 pm

If Richard Branson wears a mini for Air Asia it will be tarnishing our Asian image. Winning must come with humility. Potraying our business peers in a bad situation is soo unkewl. We do not want to demean anybody. It is against our culture to do so. We gain nothing except for strange(r) looks from others. We would only gain admiration if we treat everybody fairly and justly.

• Armchair critiquer.. on Nov 16, 2010 at 5:34 pm

Ouucch! There are many cultural saviors and moral policemen in this thread! This is just a jest – there’s nothing to be upset about. Syed Zainal is just not that type of person anyway. Just not his character to do such a thing.

In any case, there is no uniqueness or originality to this publicity stunt anymore.

• joeMalaysian on Jan 12, 2011 at 12:48 pm

However I think Armchair Critiquer is on the right track. We should have more “friendly competition” between Lotus and Proton (on and off the track) Air Asia and MAS bosses. This will promote healthy spirit of making sure everyone is on their A game all the time.

• S.Roma on Nov 16, 2010 at 8:23 am

Positive thinking + Positive competition between them !

I like !

• Nice we still have fun characters in f1

• harry on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:35 am

he is forever gay..haha

• drMpower on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:56 am

this is nothing to be honest.

we got porn stars doing charities. charliez theron/ eva mendes/ all those grade A actresses gone nude or do something in the name of charity.

i am carrying my anti-tony sentiments across the whole internet. lolz

• Mr. why dude? on Nov 16, 2010 at 7:38 pm

why dude?

• ezracopters on Nov 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

SK says:
    16/11/2010 at 3:05 am

I prefer TF’s arse!

….. WTF?? R u gay???? urgghhh

• Nothing better to do on Nov 17, 2010 at 1:44 am

Because he AA flight got delayed once and probably his dog or cat got run over by Tony perhaps.

Some people just like to carry baggage and remain miserable

• Outdoor Person on Nov 18, 2010 at 12:17 pm

Well guys..wat can i say abt proton..It is like da whole rakyat owes them..Jus sit around, point here n there, go for teh tarik here n there and jus make sure every month they have gaji buta masuk..semuanya ok watt!!!

• https://www.airasiago.com/service/static_page.cfm?nav=enMALAYSIA&PAGE=richardbranson