Nissan Teana launched – 2.0, 2.5/3.5 V6, from RM138K!

UPDATE: Live gallery from the launch and official images added!

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has launched the Teana, its long awaited D-segment challenger earlier today. The Camry/Accord battler is locally assembled (at the Serendah plant) and competitively priced, unlike the previous generation CBU Teana which wasn’t a big seller because it was so much more expensive than its peers. Three engine variants are available: a 2.0L, 2.5L and 3.5L, the latter two are V6 engines.

The entry level 2.0L is powered by the MR20DE engine as found in the Sylphy. As with the C-segment car, the four-cylinder engine with 136 PS and 190 Nm is paired to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT gearbox, which has proven itself to be a smooth operator.

For extra motivation, the mid level model is powered by a 2.5-litre V6 engine from the famous VQ series. This 182 PS/228 Nm six-pot engine differs itself from rivals by having two extra cylinders and slightly better power/torque figures. It also comes with the same CVT gearbox as the 2.0L, which has an extra oil cooler with vents next to the fog lamps.

Those who want the ultimate Teana can opt for the 3.5L V6 engined variant (VQ35DE) with 252 PS and 326 Nm of torque. It also comes with Xtronic, but with six virtual ratios in a manual mode and without the above-mentioned oil cooler. Unlike the other two variants, the 3.5L is imported CBU from Japan.

The Teana looks huge from the outside but is actually slightly smaller in footprint than the Accord. The Nissan measures 4,850 mm long and 1,795 mm wide, which is smaller than the Honda’s 4,945/1,845 mm. Wheelbase is 2,775 mm long, just 25 mm less than the Accord’s. Boot volume is 506 litres.

The suspension setup is the conventional front strut, multi link rear combo, while brakes are all discs, with the front ones ventilated. The CKD cars wear 16-inch rubber while the 3.5L gets 17-inch rims with 215/55 tyres.

Equipment wise, the RM138,000 2.0L Comfort comes with ABS/EBD/Brake Assist, dual airbags, auto headlamps, push button ignition, dual-zone air con, 6CD changer with MP3/AUX input and multi-info display as standard. Add RM4,000 for the 2.0L Luxury, which adds on front parking sensors, leather upholstery and V-Kool tint.

Kit wise, the 2.5L V6 is where it really starts. On top of the above, you’ll also enjoy auto levelling xenons, keyless entry and start (Nissan calls it Intelligent Key), front powered seats (8-way adjustable with memory for driver, 4-way for passenger), powered rear sunshade, steering wheel audio controls, side airbags and Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) with Traction Control. The price is RM168,000.

Finally, the 3.5L V6 sets itself apart by having perforated and ventilated leather seats (beige coloured, as with other variants) plus an ottoman seat for the front passenger. There are also curtain airbags and a panaromic sunroof on this RM248,500 car. These introductory prices are OTR including insurance and are from now till the end of the year. ETCM has received over 1,000 bookings for the Teana.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tycoon88 on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:52 pm

why d steering wheel is “senget”. Is there something wrong with my eyes? Can drive properly in this kind of position meh?

But got very nice “business class” seats for our dear “TOWKAY”

• MoFaz on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:04 pm

i believe it looks ‘senget’ because of the wide angle camera lens.

• RON97 on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:24 pm

no. somebody play w/ the steering…but inspira everything is senget.LOL

• Armeng on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

Inspira senget or your brain is senget? not related to discussion topic at all!

• mkrafz on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:09 pm

u got that right!
            typically proton basher.
            good thing=wrong, bad thing also wrong.
            Darn!

• MoFaz on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:07 pm

i believe that’s not the ‘senget’ that tycoon88 meant.
          observe the picture properly, you would notice that the steering doesn’t align straight with the driver seat. It’s just the camera lens effect.

• jtiongwl on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

I agree is due to camera lens problem. You need to sit into the car and at the drive seat and start judge yourself. I dont think this thing happen.

I was oversea before and I use the older version teana, the version before this and I dont feel it.

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Membangkang just for the sake of membangkang. Not every year is 308. Can you please open your eyes and take actions!

• HirumaKecil on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:52 pm

Basher2… Always like this… Post about Teana, Inpira kena hentam… So desperate…

• jtiongwl on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Let say if you’re the emperor, and Teana is your minister who is under you in a Dynasty system, Inspira is not even qualify to be your slave….

• The Loner on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:57 am

Don’t mention Inspira in this post then bashers won’t bash it.

• pompeaeau on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:58 pm

RON97…..please la.kalau ye pun ko nak kutuk Proton,aku sikit pun xmarah.itu lu punya hal.tapi bila kau merepek kat sini,kau nampak macam “not clever”….kau faham x? kau xperlu marah.kau yang sendiri bikin.

• mitlanevo on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:49 pm

should consult a doc asap…

• JohnDeep on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Yes, distortion due to wide angle lens (sorry to say normally caused by cheap lens)

• learner on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:23 am

is there any possibility that the driver who parked the car didn’t strighted the s/wheel? senget thing is not an issue at all.

• lolypop on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:46 pm

not really wide enough lar.. Lens focal length: 18mm with DX format sensor.. hope paultan will upgrade to full frame soon…

• 4x4Fan on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Bro MoFaz..What do you think hah..?too many Saloon car like this “Cantik2”..mcm mana nak pilih..Toyota, Nissan, etc…Semua best..hahaha..

• memang senget

• obviously it’s senget because somebody turned the wheel, no?

• the first nissan with rear disc brake in malaysia??

THIS IS A BREAKTHROUGH!!!

• X-trail has 4 disc brakes!

• oh wow…..so that rm150k xtrail also has 4 disc brake? wow…..

that is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think the next car in nissan malaysia that has 4 discbrake is fairlady or GTR? lol.

• 1 Malaysia on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:52 am

Nissan cefiro from the first modal already disc break that was in 1990 bro

• independence on Nov 24, 2010 at 6:15 pm

no lah – remember the previous – nissan sentra 1.8 ?? got brake disc mah … hehe

i though of buying the sylphy last time, but coz no rear disc ….

nissan car somehow got the more luxurious feeling … will consider this one in future …. though the power is a bit less than accord/camry …. 2.0cc

• DonkeyKong on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:40 pm

Looks like you’ve never driven a car before

• Michael on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:10 pm

what a disgrace, Singapore launched this car (cefiro) like 6 years ago and now only Malaysia launching?

I drove this Cefiro in Singapore 6 years ago lah.

Come on lah, Edaran, if you cannot do a better job, give the franchise to someone else.

How come Toyota and Honda can launch globally launched cars in Malaysia on time?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm

That’s impossible. This J32 Teana was first introduced in 2008

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Wonder why doesnt Tan Chong plan a launch together with Singapore. SInce they are also the ditributor for nissan cars n singapore. ………… excuses given are always because of cbu. However Mazda 6 here is cbu too and also fetch a similar price to T and H.

• waa so many feedback comments here about TC & teana :-)

• michael on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:09 pm

My mistake but I drove the Teana (in Singapore called Cefiro) in 2006 or 2007, the model did not come to Malaysia. We were still given the old Brougham trash.

Then in 2008, another new Cefiro was launched, as you said

Anyway if you say its 2008, its end 2010 now lah. Its still nearly 3 years late

• HirumaKecil on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Better late than never….

• Midleage on Dec 14, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Not all car model go to Singapore first.Some high end European models come simultenously.Malaysian Japanese cars dealer have to wait to ensure their stock minimum before importing new/latest models.Otherwise they have to give good discount.Singapore has a policy whereby the older the car you keep,the more expansive the maintenance will be…So do not compare card mah….the newly launched Teana is 2008 model introduced outside Japan in late 2008 or early 2009.It is still considered ‘new’.
            Agreed that Teana is an Uncle Yamashita car….silent,slow but steady.Good for people like me.I used to owned Volvo,Merz and BMW..which were/are excellent to drive and similarly excellent to maintain….When you are a salary earner and nearing your retirement…..Teana is one of the descent model to drive so it wont eat up your meagre saving…..

• Kwing on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:29 pm

teana launch in sg 2 or 3 yrs ago only!!

• _xXx_ on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:37 am

Since 2005.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=138064&DL=1000

• Kwing on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:03 am

cefiro is diff fro teana! malaysia have cefiro too, infact malaysia have teana way back in 2009 but selling at ridiculous price of 200+k. Get your facts right dude!

• Steven Tan on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Only someone very ignorant will say Cefiro and Teana are different. You need to get your facts right too.

• Kwing on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm

so u saying 1990’s civic is the same car as 2010 civic?

• _xXx_ on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Mr Kwing, where do u live? Gua Musang?

• some people like to lie

• michelle on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Some are so stupid that they think others are lying based on their limited narrow knowledge.

• orgbiasa on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:46 pm

stop talk cock dude. pathetic singaporean

• michelle on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Only an idiot would assume Michael is a Singaporean.

• this is a very good website to get review on cars….but somehow the people commenting here are the opposite….1Stupid…

• korek on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:01 pm

its true.. this car is very2 old… i seen it in singapore everyday!!! its totally outdated bros… haha again, its a con job to buyers? jeng jeng jeng..

• Nismonian on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:54 am

The Teana in S’pore been lunched as Cefiro 5 years back. that model was in m’sian market as Teana cost 230k++ with 2.3L v6 engine. And now this is the latest model but its 2 years old in s’pore itself. Atleast Tan chong had bring this EARLY to m’sian market. Its still earlier compare to Nissan March by Tan Chong. Just pray HARD so Mr.Tan Chong wake up and comply the nissan’s famous slogan, ..”SHIFT_to Future”

• Steven Tan on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm

The people posting here are mostly KL people and quite ignorant as they don’t see latest cars. If you live in JB, you would have seen this SIngapore car often. It is true, the original Teana was launched 5 years ago. People here like to comment but don’t know their facts well. They like to hantam unnecessary without investigating.

Remember again, you live in KL. All you see is old cars. JB people get to see the best of the best from SIngapore. Btw, even the Selphy is an old car.

• kubuddy on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:42 pm

maybe our gov want to protect our P, otherwise macam macam boleh masuk

• jtiongwl on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Dont forget that Malaysia is a low class third world country… Only good in purchasing other people rubbish….

• Alpha on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm

come on~!!obviously this guy hav a time machine.he went to the future to test drive this car.it’s all common sense la..sheeesh!!

p/s-say hello to Doraemon for me.

• stiggy on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm

in your face!

• pompeaeau on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:54 pm

I believe what Michael and korek means are the previous gen. Teana, “Cefiro in Singapore”,and it’s already on the road for more than 5 to 6 years I guess.Normally seen in Johor and seldomly in other state.
        Frankly,this Teana looks like the old version.For those who always see this species,will not bother.

Anyway , to Michael.No need to be so arrogant…

• Rustynails on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:11 am

Tan Chong Motors has been in the automotive business long before most of you guys were born & they are still in business. Looks like they are selling cars for fun. If you look at the top 5 namely – Perodua, Proton ,Toyota , Honda & Nissan, Tan Chong’s Nissan is the only company that is family controlled & without any govt. support whatsoever. DRB-Hicom is a major shareholder in Honda Malaysia whereas PNB own a large chunk of UMW Toyota Motors Sdn Bhd. DRB & PNB are you see govt. investment link companies. Naza(Peugeot/Kia/Chevrolet) of course & for those who are in the dark, has full govt. backing & Bermaz(mazda distributor) seems like an Ali baba co.
        So you see, I think Tan Chong has done well the safe way. One man’s meat is another man’s poison. Tan Chong doesn’t care whether you like their cars or not.

• bro, like you said it… TC just does not care if their customer will be happy with their purchase or not… people change.. i own a nissan… well, NO MORE NISSAN FOR ME.

• Nismonian on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:59 am

bro.. if you had feel the nissan once, then non any any brand will satisfy you. Dont value nissan by our Tan Chong. There are hundred of fantastic models not even heard “MALAYSIA” before.

• nissan got hundreds of model? wat? they selling screw drivers too?

• BadBET on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:10 am

every company in malaysia had G support. Its either directly or not directly. And G action will still ‘disturb’ their decision.

• I support you..For those not really have any deep knowledge about our malaysia car industry history please go back to standard 1 class..LEARN THE TRUE MALAYSIAN CAR BUSINESS.

• jtiongwl on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:08 pm

TC doesnt have good ” connection ” with the G. You see each time when they apply for permission to bring in New Models, it takes very long time…

I am sure they apply to Bring in Teana at least more than one year ago….

• alldisc on Nov 25, 2010 at 3:33 pm

that was the 1st gen Teana aka 4th gen Cefiro.

this model is 2nd gen Teana.

• Undefined on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:24 pm

If I am not mistaken, most of the imported cars in Malaysia are a little bit outdated..

• shoon on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:38 pm

tow kay don’t sit in the front passenger seat. should be sitting at the rear chaffeured by a driver

• interior dont look nice.
    exterior dont look nice.

• Apernie on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:51 pm

Ok maa… exterior lookin sportier than sylphy what…its just that they should bring it in earlier against Camrys and Accordos…slap in bigger wheels than youll see :-)

• Protong Owner on Nov 23, 2010 at 1:57 pm

saw 1 blue/green unit on the way to office at Damansara way to KL..does not look big like Accord or Camry from the back view…

• looks decent on paper …. price wise not that attractive at 138k ….. would be better if pricing at 130k

let’s see how it fares against the Camry/Accord and Sonata or perhaps 407

• HirumaKecil on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:03 pm

407 is the best… Feels diff when compared to japanese and korean car… Dah pernah drive camry ngan accord.. memang rasa lain compare ngan 407… Even 406 feel better than camry… Serious.. U all should cuba sendiri… then baru tau… Bukan nak cakap camry x bagus.. just rasa lain.. tu je.. Accord, camry and 407 is a good buy… Sonata and Optima is a good car, but not a good buy… coz its resale value… U can go to used car company and ask for sonata and optima price.. Very bad resale value…

• Rhys Millen on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Strange people keep on looking at resale value… no one says anything about using a CVT Gearbox in such a large car without talking about warranty from Nissan….

When the 1 rubber band snaps no problem ….. when thousands of rubber band snaps it snaps with your resale value too…

• HirumaKecil on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:10 am

nothing strange.. coz at klang valley area, many people will change thier car in 5 years… even 2-3 years also.. for example, you buy kia optima for rm120k(example) then after 3 yrs, u want to trade in that car.. and u can only get rm60k.. that is rm60k loss.. If u buy 407 for rm130k, after 3 yr, u can still get 80k -90k for that peugeot.. That is rm30k diff… rm30k is not an amount that we can just ‘pandang sebelah mata’ u know… About problem in a car, that is not about BUY.. its about Maintenance..

• openmind on Dec 03, 2010 at 11:30 pm

get your fact right……from where you get the fact that most (many) klang valley people change car every 5 years……..

• gohck on Dec 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

optima rm120k , after 3 years rm60k
            407 rm130k, after 3 years rm90k

after 3 years also can know one wor! mind telling me why you don’t buy any toto or 4d, after kena then don’t care it is rm30k or even rm300k!!

• kereta untuk org tua yg dah tak boleh nak pikir buat decision..

what a boring car!!

• mohsin on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm

Hello! takat tgk gambar, komen macam bagus! Test drive dulu la bro!
      this is a good bargain! the more, the merrier!
      Good job TC

• intermilan on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:07 pm

nissan no need to test drive lah.. all same ‘bawak sampan di tengah laut’ handling.. hehehe..

as for the price.. the lowest spec 2.0L comfort is same price as the highest spec 407 2.0L premium…

• 908HY4 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:40 am

the 407 is smaller for sure. the teana is more suited for bigger families (or just bigger sized people) or to be chauffer driven whereas, the 407 is better as an owner/driver choice due to its more compact size. still, in malaysia, many perceive big is better. so for almost the same price, the teana and 407 cater to slightly different targets.

• You have obviously not driven the GTR or even the Fairlady Z.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Or even Nissan Sunny… Nissan Sunny and Bluebird U12 is a good car… not to mention that many drifter(even T.Djan use Nissan)…. Nad for sure Nissan Diesel for Bus and Lorry… Very polpular.. hahaha…

• 908HY4 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:41 am

i agree with you, more competition means more choices for the consumer.

• klguy on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:11 pm

at last. the bear woke up form a long hibernation :P

• littlefire on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Yup. It been a long time for NTCM to replace the aging cefiro with this… By the way, thanks for bring down the price for 2.0 ~ 2.5L varient. If not mistaken the previos Teana is expensive (200k) for 2.3L as it is also direct imported..

• joe_public on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:13 pm

nice car.looks posh at a glance. and wow, they got 1000 orders in hand eventhough its launched today. probably did some marketing on the quiet earlier. on paper doing better than inspira at only 100 orders/day.

will be a challenge to T&H market share.

• someone on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:14 pm

I really don’t know what TC is thinking about? Its a real ugly car. Really can’t fight the new sonata. Also the horse power is the worse compare to camry, accord and sonata. TC did a very good work with the Renault Megane RS 250, but this one, it is totally no point.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Not all who shop in the D-segment want avantgarde design and compare power till the last bhp. Comfort, space and smoothness matter too.

Different strokes for different folks la :)

• pacifictuna on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:05 am

agreed…. i always think honda accord looks good buy i’m not the one who is buying. my uncle did, and he always bought a camry. i guess they (actually buyer) goes for stuff i don’t value much as a ‘kid’….

• someone 2 on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:36 pm

the sonata sucks even worst….the shape f the car is so ugly…teana is much more beautiful than all nissan’s previous models. Bravo Nissan! morever, nissan has always looked into safety features seriously.

• Sonata is design is really fucked up especially the front grill. The design of Sonata won’t last long one. The more you look at it the more you dun like it.

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:35 am

You both sounds ‘too salesman’ since both Sonata & Teana is in the same price bracket.

• toooootto on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Then, if you dont like it, please shut up, you are not buying the car also.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Yeah if u dont like please shut up…. The Teana is a very good car indeed and quite imposing. Very very comfortable, even outshines the Camry in comfort.
      FYI this is from someone who has a VW Scirocco 2.0TSi in green…………

And great value for money too. Try looking around our region for the Teana’s price. Only in Malaysia it is cheaper than T and H. Thai, Indo, SG, and Viet the Teana is sold as a higher end car than Camry and Accord. Kudos to Tan Chong, this makes most sense. Now do the CKD for Qashqai too.

• Mancini on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:23 am

if your ride is scirocco, change ur name to sciroccofreak then…

• John C. Keller on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Very childish comment, bro. Grow up. We don’t know if he has 325i Sports or may be 740iL also under his garage which share the same dimension as your living room? Be matured.

• gangully on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

Someone is not very smart… TC does not design the cars lah doink!

• jflee169 on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:15 pm

i wonder what is the real price after the introductory price. Increase by 3k?
    It seems a trend in m’sia automotive industry, happened to Hyundai and Peugeot.

• albag on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:16 pm

nissan is all bout love and hate… love their GTRs but hate their Sylphys and other road cars

• bboyahman on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Congrats TCM…… Finally they bring It in to Malaysia….

Very competitive price to T/H/P…….. Shld help TCM gain more profit …

• nighttrain on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Best ever effort by ETCM.. although they lost quite a bit of market share by introducing the model too late. That was a really, really bad decision. They need to think faster after this.
    Excellent pricing policy, beautiful car and slightly more powerful than the competitors…

• nofour on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:34 pm

to say it is beautiful is a far fetch… Sonata win by 100 miles on this aspect..

• nighttrain on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm

Like Paul said, diff’rent strokes for different folks. The number of first day bookings proves it. After all, this IS the uncle’s segment. If you’re not ‘uncle’ category, will you buy a D segment car or some hot hatch for the same price range? Me, always hot hatch even if I’m uncle category, which I’m not hehe..

• nofour on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:33 pm

again, give me back the old Cefiro!! This uncle’s junk just doesn’t cut it!

• tikus on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:43 pm

Nice car… So when is Nissan Juke coming in?

• Dream On on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Better buy Honda Accord 2.0 at RM141,000 which is just RM3,000 more than Nissan Teana. Accord is bigger and more powerful.

• orgbiasa on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:00 pm

as from my experience Honda Accord soundproof isn’t as gd as Camry, don even mention Teana. da i-VTEC engine getting loud from day to day. da new car comfort disappear after 5-7 mths. it does offer u some “huge racing car” feel after tat if u r heavy footed perrson. Camry is so much better, mayb bcos thy build Camry based on Lexus basic requirement – Library quiet.

if u r da targeted customer group, i thk u wont buy da 2.0 version, U wil wan to have a 2.4 V6 version. better torque, stable power transmission, better handling n agile n so on. honda only gd wif its overprice HONDA CIVIC n tats all. in other class, it is stil have years to get improved. as i know nissan having da best knowledge chasis building in Jap (as i dono much about american n european).

but if u love accord so much, buy accord den. n obviously, im too young to have this car. im gonna sold off my accord 2008. DREAM ON, if u r interested, tell me, u can have my “oversized racing car” at 100k.

• bboyahman on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Support what u say……

U go simply ask those own new h.accord…… do they recommend u buy h.accord..!!!!

This gen Accord only got style not reliable …..SUCK..!!

• Commoner on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Agreed. I’ve driven my father’s current generation Accord 2.4, comfort wise, Camry wins hands down. But after all, Honda was built by racers and Toyota by engineers. Will be interesting to know how Teana would perform between these two.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:18 am

Who built 407??? Just curious.. hehehe..

• pacifictuna on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:10 am

french! originally built so that it would throw fireball across the english channel…

just joking…

• HirumaKecil on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:52 am

Oh.. i thought it was built by TAXI driver.. hahaha…

• stiggy on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:51 pm

the current accord generation is worse than the previous one.fact

• Gavin on Nov 23, 2010 at 2:52 pm

The look of the car is just not convincing enough, doesn’t have that executive looks. Looks heavy and clumsy.

• orgbiasa on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:33 am

it is heavy like all Nissan, but it is not clumsy. VQ+CVT engine will offer u sumthg out of ur expectation. efficient n smooth driving. =)

• No models (girls) at the launch? All uncles and pak cik only. But then I guess that’s the target segment. Hahahaha!

• why not you go roadshow if you want to see models,
      FYI – those uncles & pak cik is the Dato-Dato, one of them is the TC owner..

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:24 pm

Because they know uncles like to bargain a lot. Give them the car they bargain for the girl as well. LOLS

• everything is good with the car until i saw the gear..from P,R,N,D then straight to L..

• viosUser on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Nissan produce reliable product…look at their old Sunny and 25 year old Datsun, still running like a mad dog on the street !!

Just wondering why their engine (1.6 liters and 2 litres) is always less in hoursepower compared to their rivals like Toyota and Honda ??!! Correct me if I am wrong.

• orgbiasa on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:11 pm

i have a Datsun 240Z weekend car. i rebuild it n put sr20 in it. da chasis pretty sustainable til now (i do add sum strengthening bars in tis baby). Nissan has better chasis building tech i agree. da engine mayb not as sustainable as Toyota i thk bcos nissan have da heaviest body, usually da engine will be tuned at higher bhp, higher torque to stay competitive. so da engine has lesser lifetime.

• reader on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Yes, on paper it’s HP is always lower than T & H. But do take a look at it’s torque, it’s almost the same with T & H, & some model are even greater than T & H. Greater torque helps a lot in acceleration. If read the car test comparison, u will find Teana & Camry is ahead of Accord in 0-100km/h sprint. But Accord is overtaking them in high speed. So if u prefer city driving, u will find Teana & Camry more suitable for u. If u like highway cruising, then select Accord.

• jimteecm on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:27 am

i used nissan sentra 2002 and camry 2007 and now G.Livina 1.8 2010. trust me, T brand is always more floating than nissan. many people said T is good in car leg but frm wat i experienced, nissan is better than T in term of handling. no shaking as T. Honda i don own b4, cant comment. But T is good in resell value, only this i found her advantage.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:54 pm

People keep saying that Honda and Toyota for fuel saving.. But the fact is, Nissan alway the best in fuel saving… Handling no comment, but many pro drifter used nissan(even T. Djan) cars.. Cefiro, bluebird, datsun 120y, sylvia, 180sx, fairlady, GTR,GTS… and even Nissan AD Resort is very popular for tuning… In term luxurious also Nissan is one step ahead… Even Sylphy interior looking more luxurious than Camry(2.0) and Accord(2.0)…

• The old standard Cefiro 3.0L can cruise all day at 240kmh.

• izhar on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:43 am

teringat lak zaman pakai datsun 120Y engine vanette C22…..hehehehe….

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 12:47 pm

But for navara nad frontier they won… Navara 2.5 is more powerfull than hilux 3.0(3.2?) and triton 3.0….

• Maserati on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:07 pm

This teana is so much better than the lousy accord. This Teana will kill off Sonata and take a huge share from accord and camry.

Will buy this 2.5 version over accord anytime!
    Accord 2.4 but doesnt feel like a 2.4. Rough and noisy engine.

But can say Byebye to sonata already. Trust me, in a couple months time, hyundai will be giving discounts and freebies!

• Agreed the 2.5 ones is a good buy compare to Camry, Accord and Sonata. It is different class of the V6 engine.

• That’s probably why the Sonata is sold out already and the wait list is about 9 months. Yup. That’s exactly why.

• DonkeyKong on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:26 am

Well, for those who don’t want to wait for the Sonata because it’s selling far better than the distributor can cope, perhaps the Teana can be an option instead of the usual boring and overpriced T & H.

• handsome*dude on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:42 pm

but one thing for sure, u can never ever afford a meserati~

• David on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:38 am

Discounts and freebies? Man, sounds like you’ve got quite a hating for the Koreans. It’s not easy to get a YF Sonata you know, especially with the long waiting list. I was quoted at least 6 months wait for a 2.0 Hi-Spec, and the 2.4 is worse, which i was quoted about 8 months!!

Still want to talk about discounts, especially with the long waiting list?

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:45 am

Dont mind him… he have his own ‘world’

• orgbiasa on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:39 am

my frends quoted to wait for his P.persona for 2 mths, is tat means P.persona is a vv gd car compare to other? no… its da most reasonable car in tat value range, not da best car (at da moment). so waiting list doesn’t speak all.

• blackjkx on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Lets take a look at centre gear console,the stick,the numbering,the innert,the fake wood..click pic dsc-0702b. Horrible..horrible..horrible..
    what on earth..yes, this is for already E.D uncles.

• ahpek on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:18 pm

woww!!! kereta longkang

i’m gonna buy this car….

• wanna wait for the test drive n how ‘silky’ it will feel……. rm139k plus the 4k is not bad. considering the camry is everywhere n abit old now, accord waiting to be new face lifted.

• Lim Kopi on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:36 pm

EAT THIS T&H …… HAHAHAH

• well done tan chong!! this teana will eat up accord n camry sales,

• Nismonian on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:11 am

Hopeful Impul or Nismo kit will available for Teana soon. but Pls dont mess up like impul sentra.

• Ah Chong on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:40 pm

VQ lump is pokey and yet buttery smoooth :P

• alldisc on Nov 25, 2010 at 3:42 pm

dont forget, VQ engines won top 10 best engines award for many, many years.

• Seriously the fake wood thing is crap, styling not great (too old fashioned), nice steering wheel design… Nothing to shout about.. Just good engine and reasonable price.

• Actually, the wood trim is quite classy. Coz its not like those crappy shiny woodtrims u get on a freaking vios, but its not too show off like or mercs. Ive driven the previous generation (look alike) teana (mine was Cefiro) in Brunei and had the same trim, honestly, people loved it, it looks natural and original.

Its not the luxury car like Beamers and Benzs and not entry level student car, cheap luxury Vios to be having shiny panels, the matt-like, smooth trim is an eye catcher. Similarly used on Volvos, its beautiful, especially when its curved.

• Haha.. I find the wood trim quite old skool, the interior is neat but too conventional/ uncle type.. I believe this car won’t attract many middle aged/young executives. The Accord/Camry/Sonata has sportier interior and exterior. Perhaps only meant for uncles..

• TallPan on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:06 am

careful not to use that ‘u-word’ here. a lot of them and/or TC salesmen will vote your comment thumbs down :-) in denial

• niamafufu on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:17 pm

i am 21 y/o, but i love this car…lol

• TallPan on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

@niamafufu teehee, be careful… for u may already be an uncle. albeit a very young uncle heheheh jk… cheers to individuality

• korek on Nov 23, 2010 at 3:58 pm

lama gila punya model ni, skang baru masuk Malaysia?? Seen this everyday in singapore… bored oredy.. huahua even current accord are newer than this if i’m not mistaken..it just new in malaysia.. anyway i like the tail lights, the front is like typical nissan. the same very boring outdated design…

• Grandisan on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Who’s that guy on the left …aiyoo dressing mcm slum dog millionaire …where’s your fashion sense …pants too long , top too big … you look like a person with kidney failure …

• hukaka on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm

finally my dream car have arrive.
    i drive Nissan many years ago from Nissan sunny 130 until Nissan 1st generation sentra.they proof me the reliability and build quality.(fuel saver).
    Nissan wait me i will order one unit 2.5V6 pearl white.(please give good discount).and 1.98% for 7 years loan.

• wallstreet on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:53 pm

wahh Uncle, how old are you arr?

• DonkeyKong on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:29 am

Wait him he will tell you and proof you he not uncle because he asking the 7-year loan. If uncle sure buy cash liao.

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

Nowadays uncle also have no money liao.

• Your English really suits this Teana…….

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:04 am

Tats why. I leally like tis ti-a-na. best in sngapore and jey bee. some say in batam and key-el oso.

come all my unker fren. lets buy tis.

• Nismonian on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:15 am

Not supposed to be “uncle ” . my 22 years old cousin own datsun 120y year 1980.. with gorgeous SR18 Neo.

• mkrafz on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:16 pm

the interior doesn’t look up-market enough.
    the exterior for those who want a different D segment with resemblance of lexus GS body-flow!

• orgbiasa on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:20 pm

i thk usually Teana is to stay in btw Camry, accord class n Lexus class. (Acura? no way!) but for tis time, i can c how thirsty is Nissan to position emselves in Msia market to be da real contender wif H n T. Both offers gd cars but in diff way. Im lucky to have both brands cars parkin in my family car porch. i can feel n really understand thy r meant to diff thgs. i did sum web search for sum BADASS Teana aka heavy mod to VIP or anythg else. thy actually quite popular in VIP class, much more den Camry n Accord.

But anyway, diff nature, diff target group. u like it, u have millions reasons to speak ur love; u have it, u have millions excuse to argue. for me, 2.5 V6 (wif VQ engine block man!! +CVT sum more) is really a gd deal. VQ is goin to live for another 20years at least. Gd car in his own style!

• TallPan on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:24 pm

hehe i like how the tan chong and nissan supporters aka uncles are skewing the votes on this page.

oh well, to each his own! :-)

• TallPan on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:01 am

haha see? they just proved my point.

or could be the TC sales force voting thumbs down too. lame!

• carfan on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:29 pm

I think the teana looks better in real life than on pictures.

The interior looks more modern than the business and efficient looking ones of
    Accourd and Camry. Teana I believe is doing quite well in Spore. Lets just hope this is not like sentra – where we are stuck with this same model for the next 10years.

• xavier lert on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:11 pm

it looks hhuge!!!…but surprise its actually smaller….

• keluangman on Nov 23, 2010 at 4:31 pm

future KLIA & LCCT airport limo…just like with every nissan sedan sold here

Not that it’s a bad thing, in Europe Mercedes are practically used as taxi, even the S class. Maybe turnoff to some.

My favourite nissan is still the C22 vanette, built tough!

• DonkeyKong on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:31 am

C22 is not tough at all. In a collision it will crumple like a slice of goreng pisang.

• HAHAHa… C22… that’s a C-class man!

• Came back fr a test drive, just giving some of my general observation. Tried the 2.5V6.

1. behind side profile looks abit like the new E-class.
    2. boot looks abit like the accord one generation older.
    3. car feels heavy but solid kinda way. Nice steering.
    4. not that quiet. loud noise during pickup.
    5. powerful pickup for low gears, once you hit higher speed at rpm ~5-6krpm, gear change lack response.

Maybe some of you had experienced the same thing?

• handsome*dude on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:45 pm

i dun think u like Nissan… u test the car with bias mind first….

• 908HY4 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:27 am

it is the same for every brand fan. so, it is completely alright. just don’t bash for the sake of bashing. there are some people who just love to instigate issues in forums and blogs.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:01 am

i think he is not bias… Compare to Camry,Accord and 407, this car look more matured, while Camry more sporty, Accord feel diff, 407 also diff… yes they are in the same class, but they are built for diff people.. This Teana for who love solid looking car and luxury driving style, 407 and camry for who love sporty looking and driving style… Just like BMW 5 ang E-CLASS… same class but feel diff when drive…

• handsome dude,

My comments were not meant to be bias. Given any chance to test drive any cars, i will do it because i can’t afford to own any just yet. and also just providing some observation during my 15 mins allowed for test drive. Go test drive, it’s quite fun trying different cars! :)

• V6 engine dude.. drivers car.. like those people who stick with bimmer double vanos, alfa super 3.0 v6.. just don’t compare it with perdana v6 laa… its a pleasure to drive.

• orgbiasa on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:55 am

wat on earth make a luxury sedan owner step da throttle to 5-6krpm? it is a high torque car, not high bhp car. hahaha. anyway gd job man. ur comments r pretty gd guides for ppl who is looking for a luxury sedan. every cars gd wif their own characteristics. after pick n choose u guys wil have 1 whic u prefer most.

• orgbiasa,

test drive ma, of course step on it, salesman wasn’t too happy :)

of coz under normal driving condition by the car owner, maybe once a bluemoon he/she will step on it.

• Hazary on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Better see at show room lah…You can see the stering “senget” or not.

• 112bz on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:44 pm

hi Paul, does XTRONIC CVT-M6 available only for 3.5L only?

• stiggy on Nov 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm

what you waiting for nissan.bring on the GTR!

• Finally Teanna sits at the right position (price range) to replace Cefiro. Good job TC

• sutheshkumar on Nov 23, 2010 at 6:27 pm

and the smaller Slyphy has navigation as part of the option but not for this?

• Probabaly TCM will offer it as some optional package later… $$$ mah.

• Gajen on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:09 pm

this car’s interior looks outdated..exterior is ok..overall this is much better than the previous model

• If i’m correct this is the second generation Cefiro/Teana or is it facelifted? care to enlighten us Paul??? Yeahhh Teana looks bigger than Accord mayb the design of the car. But I prefer H. Accord design language. Teana or nissan in general is more of classic whereas Accord design is more dynamic, younger and modern. Hate when people talk trash in this forum be civil la. Comments are welcome but dont simply bash away……… Anyway i’m not working for TC motors.

Happy Motoring …

• Paul Tan on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:50 pm

This is an all new model, not facelifted from the previous overpriced Teana sold here.

• seancorr on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:34 pm

We’ll see some of these on the roads all right…but will not be as many as the Camrys and Accords if u ask me. How many of us said the same thing when the new Sonata came out and its gonna eat up the T&H sales and look what happened? I barely can find 1 Sonata on the road to admire it! Look left Accorrd, look right Accord, look down from my condo Accord! Gosh!

• Paul or Dany,

Is 2.0 i4 is too weak to pull a heavy-look Teana as opposed to Camry? I’m thinking of 2.0 V6 instead of 2.0 from Sylphy.

By the way, if Nissan opt Skyline over Teana, it will increase their customer base, especially from younger generation. In Japan the Skyline 2.5XV cheaper than Teana 2.5XV though other variant XL and XE of 2.5 versions cheaper than more masculine and sportier SKYLINE.

Perhaps, this is due to Asian market preference of bigger saloon although with small engine.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:54 pm

We’ll need to drive it first of course, but I’m guessing that it won’t feel unbearably slow.

While Teana 2.0 is of course bigger and heavier (by 215 kg), the Sylphy with the same engine has smooth and rather effortless acceleration.

• Alkk6628 on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:44 pm

I have checked out this car and the 2.5ltr is impressive with the price at 168k and even 2 ltr fetching at 138k. Apart from the interior which is a little serious in which this car was meant for Towkay. Comparing to Sonata/Camry/Accord, I would say Sonata is definitely the last choices as in Malaysia, 2nd value comes first. I have tested the 2.5 version and I’m impressed with the VQ engine performance. Finally Nissan has woke up but this car can be even better or launch earlier to capture this market segment. Anyway Tan Chong may sell this Model again in long decades. Happy Motoring!

• alex tye on Nov 23, 2010 at 7:44 pm

sad!! back from showroom….the steering of the car dont have volume control,auto cruise,usb ….a bit outdate!RM 142K force people install v-kool…..smart tag cant scan through la….TAN CHONG really stupid la….

• bukapintubayartol on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:10 pm

I wonder how the fuel consumption figures of the 2.5L V6 will compare to those of the 2.4L Toyota and Honda

• niamafufu on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:26 pm

according to a 100km FC test i watched on youtube, it is bttr den T but H is the best

• hukaka on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:10 pm

i am not uncle just 29 y old.
    but i think i need this instead of sport sedan?Inspira?
    and Potong never rebage this Nissan i guess so.
    will try out and see how.
    i need v6+cvt comfort and quiet.
    because every day work tired and stuck at traffic,so will be enjoy the ride.
    in high way balik kampung also feel much more comfort.
    look ok to me and i like the interior.
    P/S:see nissan i do write lot of positive command to promote your new car.
    so please give me better offer ok.don’t rise the price and keep in this price.
    muahahaha…….(BTW i am not nissan sales man).muahahahahah……..

• just buy it lah bro.. or uncle bro. support nissan la since you like it so much.

• squawk on Nov 23, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Exterior looks fine. It actually looks like a proper executive car. But I’m just not ‘uncle’ enough to appreciate the light interior or faux wood.

• squawk on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:42 pm

I didn’t know younger people also like light interiors and fake wood trim. :P

• mata katak on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Doesnt appeal to me………The design looks sooooo old.

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Does this Teana come with telescopic steering?
    Any leather seats in 2.5L one (RM168k) ?
    Nissan cars are mostly LEPER! Sylphy is <1700mm in width, shame to Nissan. This one is not even 1800mm in width, worse than Sonata!
    It looks like Accord is a better buy, with all the above, plus LARGEST size compared to the rest and good resale value (compared to this). And Nissan still want to increase the price after introductory period. My god, this is like Sonata's pricing.
    Why does Nissan improve so slowly?

• every time a new car is launched you talk about ‘telescopic steering’.

I think you must have really, really short hands.

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:38 am

Right on DK!

Jimmy like slightly bigger car.
        Jimmy like Accord so that can carry more people all the time.
        Jimmy only decide based on quantitative method.
        Jimmy knows nuts about qualitative method.
        Jimmy, fetch me when you don’t have enough passenger.

• LEPER is not the right word lah
      it is SEMPIT, with the tag price people think it should be more LAPANG (roomier)
      if you want more space, or space is your priority, this is not the car you might buy
      the Accord is wider (LEBAR) so it is more LAPANG (roomier)
      for record Accord is 1845mm and Camry is 1825mm width

• Automan on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:26 am

you blinded me with numbers. 1845 – 1825 = 20mm only. which is less than 1 inch
        so what the big hu hah

• E Bear on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Nice senior mgt or director car.

Imposing enuf.

Good for chaufeur driven.

2 lit CVT may not be strong enuf but for 1 or 2 passengers, ok i guess.

• alot of nissan sales man around… hahaha..

• TallPan on Nov 26, 2010 at 4:29 pm

@cat yeah la. u see ALL the ‘below avg’ comments being voted Thumbs Down too fast too furious. hmmm good tactic, so that hidden due to low comment rating. but not very professional ler :-)

takkan nissan so many fanboys, oops i mean fan-uncles? xD

• japfan on Nov 23, 2010 at 10:34 pm

I just tested the car V6 2.5, it is really impressive. The drive is so quite and comfortable and surprisingly powerfull. The VQ engine felt so smooth even reaching 5500rpm which totally beat the Accord and Camry I-4 2.4 flat. For those who don’t believe, you should go and test it yourself.
    The V6 2.5 is fully equipped with many features and the price of RM168k is cheaper than the Accord/Camry.
    I would really consider to buy the V6 2.5 instead of a used 2006 BMW 523i (RM180k) that I have been looking at. (all this while, I have never considered Accord/Camry, because of their quality and stupid price)
    BTW, forget the I-4 2.0 at RM142,000, Tan Chong has put a wrong engine in this car with this weight.

• jtiongwl on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:00 pm

This is Malaysian culture! You should put your blaim to the government. As you see, the same category of body, such as E- Class, also have E200CGI, BMW 5 series also have 520; Audi A6 also have Audi A6 2.0; Camry and Accord also have 2.0L version.

This happens due to the tax structure as well as the fuel price in the country. In country such as Brunei only have 2 version, the 2.5L V6 and 3.5L V6. This is done as most of the car supplier are doing so and TC is force to follow the market trend. All the blame, problems, issues is due to protecting the national car. Sorry to say that….

• Go to Saigon, Vietnam yo’ll surprise since most of their newest E-klasse is E300! No Camry 2.0 but 2.4 or 3.5, Merc GL55, Toyota Sienna for MPV (hot and fresh latest variant from USA l guess while Innova merely as taxi).

I don’t mind 2.0 or smaller like in E200 and E250 case BUT inadequate torque will make any car inefficient.

SO good quality diesel is INEVITABLE. SO why government very much reluctant to offer Euro V quality like our neighbors or at least Euro IV without subsidy BUT the car also judged based on FC rate (so cheaper road tax) and cheaper import tax because their diesel is based on market price.

• SaddenMYS on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:38 pm

You don’t have to feel sorry for pointing out a fact. We are indeed feeling sorry that our govt’s ridiculous NAP resulted us driving overpriced and under-powered cars.

But Brunei does not have much highways to enjoy those comparatively cheap and adequately powered rides either, plus a lot lesser happening places to show off those shinny makes either. And when so many people are driving nice cars, it takes something really special to stand out also.

Guess we have to give and take lor!

• The Loner on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:03 am

Traces can be find why executive cars has 2.0L engines inside, besides the larger engines that can be found overseas.

JPJ (PDF File)
      http://portal.jpj.gov.my/index.php?option=com_docman&task=doc_download&gid=13&Itemid=3

MAA
      http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• this Teana will eat into camry sales…accord and sonata is different character as they are more sporty.

interior design is too “uncle” for my liking. but then again i guess tan chong is targeting buyers above age 40 anyway.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:11 pm

For me, camry and 407 is looking sporty than Accord.. Accord looking good for 40s driver… But 407 and camry is better for 20s or 30s…

• joejeff77 on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:07 pm

From your pictures..the car overall looks impresive…but in terms of long term reliability and quality….im not too sure unless i own one….I’m currently owns both Nissan(Sentra) and Toyota(Camry)….in terms of quality and reliability the difference is a lot…..

• kennytan on Nov 23, 2010 at 11:27 pm

like s-class…………………good………………

• losantara on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:00 am

Hi Danny, these series of photos are not as clear as your previous work, maybe the exhibition room is too dark right !?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:19 am

Yup, I’m not too proud of today’s pics. It was dark and the annoying spotlights didn’t help as well.

• Ah Tee on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:08 am

Proton Inspira i heard not repond well, many ppl after booking all regret!!IT prove that Inspira another fail legen of Proton Tiara!!

• jtiongwl on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:18 am

This is good. So that government knows that it is a failure and it wont be doing things to protect it again…

Let it face some failure so that it will be more down, to eliminate its egoism..

• hi paul/danny how come teana column have inspira comments???
      any idea when will u do a test drive review for this teana? :-)

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Dont lie la.. Almost 5000 people booking already.. Proton only tar get 2000 inspira per month, so the booking amount is on target.. nothing fail… it was a success…

• Despite of all these negative comments, I still like this car. it actually depends on what you want to drive. Love it or Hate it, is very subjectives. No one will never has the same reason for it. Cheers!!

ps ; Wonder how much is the resale value?

• 908HY4 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:22 am

you won’t know the resale value for a brand new car unless you can travel into the future… or you have the power to predict the future.

• local car on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:18 am

Hyundai i45 2.0 has 164 bhp, and this car’s 2.0 has only 135 bhp… errrrr… same price, u decide which one to choose.

• choo choo car on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:21 am

I heard i45 also won 5 stars rating as safe car to drive.

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:50 am

Yes, you heard it.
      But have you experience it?

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:52 am

It’s the torque that makes the car to move.
      bhp is to make it run faster only.
      how fast you need to go all the time?
      it’s the ownership value and the trusted name that help me to choose…NISSAN.

• 908HY4 on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:20 am

looking at the figures (which is what almost every armchair researcher does) and driving the car are 2 distinctly different things. a car with higher power may not be as exciting to drive as one with lower power. so test it first then comment… you’ll need a driving license to do that though.

remember this, it is not always about the figures, those are for statisticians. if you are a true driver, it is all about the drive.

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Ewmer othis Teana will not used this car as a traxk car… But if we see the older cefiro… In paper, it was underpowered, but when u drive it, the power is more than what you need..

• comment on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:22 am

The rims and tyre size does not seem to complement the car. Personally i like bigger headlamps so i feel slyphy headlamps would look great on this car.

• infinity on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:27 am

what’s the “Set” “1” “2” buttons on the driver’s inner door??

• Kenny on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:36 am

Nice car but why name after a popular adult’s diapers brand name?

• Lol, i cant help but say this then “Same target Market I guess” sorry N :)

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:02 am

I owned a Slyphy and don’t regret it now.
    It’s perceived as a Lady’s car.
    But the whole 2 years of ownership change it.
    I travelled to JB from KL within 3 hours each way with 1 full tank only & with enough gas to go for another trip to work the next day. Clocked 695km before refuelling at RM83 to full again with RON95.
    I beat a Lancer 2.0GT anytime on the highway. I think b’cos of weight diff.
    I tease and toy with a BMW 320 along the way.
    Nice acceleration with true confidence always.
    Think about it. NISSAN may look Uncle but full of experience. BTW I’m only 30.

• mlay1968 on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:30 am

dashboard design old type..similar to old camry..no so attractive such as new accord n camry…

• JonLing on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:25 am

Agree. Test driven Sylphy and Latio Sports before, though I didn’t end up buying any of them, I can say that those 2 cars were definitely 2 of the most impressive cars I have test driven, especially Sylphy. Not a super fan of CVT myself, but Nissan’s XTRONIC CVT is definitely the one that I don’t mind to have in any car. It’s so smooth and responsive!

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:58 am

What is Sylphy’s top speed?

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:01 pm

Tested many times along MEX to Putrajaya/LCCT. Past 190kmph and holding at 4800rpm and there still plenty of power to push further. Very responsive acceleration – 130-180 is so effortless.

• Wisdom on Nov 25, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Yeah its only 180-190 km/h….. after 190, its heavy.

• SaneMind on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Speedo only up to 180+10. Typical JDM specs. Surprise, no cut off at 170. Proven that Sylphy is 100% CKD from Japan. even original tires are Yokohama.

• 3hrs? polis saman……… :-)

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 10:56 pm

Manage to slowdown at regular speedtrap areas. Sales people like me familiar with speedtrap areas.

• you sure lancer and 320 wanna play with you?

a lot of myvi tapau a lot of cars also, not that ppl wanna race with them, they siok sendiri, lol.

• wallstreet on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:57 am

320 also wanna entertain you arr? I think its because of sympathy la. Just entertain this uncle (car) la…must respect the elderly uncle a bit maah..

• HirumaKecil on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm

Interior also more superior than bmw 3 series.. I love Sylphy interior…

• Alifz on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:32 am

At last the “REAL” Multi-Link suspension is back AGAIN..the last one is since 1999 Cefiro..

• hey you on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:14 am

I just open the nissan website & get the spec & pricelist..its show 3.5L(Fully imported),then how about 2.0L & 2.5L??izzit 2.0L & 2.5L CKD?

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:41 am

Dude…This is true story. One beautiful day a father give one special present give to his child name Hassan. “take nie son” said father. A toy with 4 wheels. His son plays with happy then when his reach 25 years and father gives a Nissan fairlady. He very proud and drive fast. Unfortunately he died in accident. A last present by his father to him on funeral day is batu nisan

• Hukaka on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:48 am

i do a research in taiwan the 2.5 v6 version are selling Almost RM 100k with same spec as Malaysia version plus panorama sun roof.(a bit over price in Malaysia)maybe tan chong always have over trade.
    but they compare camry,accord 2.0 0-100 KM the teena it’s faster then all.
    even 2.5 v6 also win the camry and accord 2.4.but the fuel consumption are the worse due to v6.

• jtiongwl on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:21 am

The overprice is being force. You should go to see maa.org.my then you will be able to understand. After that you may see Nissan Brunei website regarding the pricing and convert it back to ringgit.

For your information, Brunei still have 20% tax on car…..

• SaddenMYS on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:53 pm

It only makes you feel more “imbalance” when you compare car prices of same model sold in Bolehland. That’s all because of our govt NAP.

But do you also take into consideration that Taiwan Ron95 sold at RM3.20 per little? And most people drive at speed around 110km/h on highway because so many speed cameras on the highway?

Feeling a little “balanced” now?

• jtiongwl on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Well, if you look at it this way, I agree, But to me, I rather choose the other way. Let me tell you why..

We make it straight away, let say RON 95 sell at RM3.2 per liter. and in Malaysia selling at RM1.85 currently. The difference is RM1.35 per liter.As in RM3.2 it still have some tax, so, all over we say that government subsidise RM1 per liter.

We dont talk about such big car, talk about our national car. I got the data from EON, say Inspira 2.0L. The OTR price is RM91900. But the price without any execise duty is only RM45000. This means you pay a sum of RM46900 for your duty.

In order to gain this back, you need to use up to 46900 liter of RON95. Imagine how much road you need to drive just to take that back??? It will be very much more if you use Nissan Teana, the main car which we discuss here.

Let say for Inspira the Fuel consumption combine cycle is 8.0L/100km, this means 1L of fuel can move 12km. for 46900 liter of fuel, that means your mileage have to be 562800km. How long you need to achieve this? Let say for normal office people.

I let all of you compare yourself….

• SaddenMYS on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Hey bro, don’t get me wrong. I was just telling facts about Taiwan and Bolehland and sort like looking at the bright side of present situation. Trust me, I stayed in US before for a few years and I had enjoyed quite a few “great cars with cheap prices”!

Given the choice, I prefer higher fuel prices with much lower car prices. However you calculate, the bottom line is that you pay for how much (petrol) you use. Right now, the poor Malaysian are paying ridiculous taxes for cars even if they leave them idle in their garages.

If our Ron97 is priced at RM4.00, and even cars are taxed 20% like in Brunei, I will buy a used Alfa Romeo Mito for office-to-home routines, and a sport car say a M3 for weekend…

• jtiongwl on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Hello Bro, I agree with your style. To me, perhaps we need to use foreign registered car here in Malaysia. Then perhaps can help us to save some on taxes but still enjoy fuel subsidy.

As what you mentioned there, if you use Alfa Romeo Mito ( if the car taxes are 20% like in Brunei ), I believe the cost of operating it shall be almost the same as using a Kancil, as the fuel is very economy.

I say something like that as someone above mentioned something very ” irrational ” and dont really understand the situation. They even put a blaim on why TCM make the car so expansive as well as putting a very small engine in a Class D car. I mean 2.0L engine inside Teana as the engine is the same as the one inside Sylphy.

It is very sad to hear that someone still do praise the government for subsidizing the fuel and take a very high tax on the car. …..

• SaddenMYS on Nov 26, 2010 at 2:07 am

They are many people in this country buy a 10YO used car for a RM15K or much less, drive it everyday with the same RON95 that you also use for your brand new above RM100K car. Obviously they will praise the govt for the fuel subsidies even though you and me don’t really mind paying higher fuel prices to exchange lower taxes on new cars.

I had long stopped the whining, fed up with the ridiculous NAP, got used to the crazily unjustified car prices, stopped the curiosity why APs only issued to certain individuals and just look for the best option for whatever amount of monthly installment I could afford.

Hell, I dun even have high hopes all these will change if the opposition become the new government!

• jtiongwl on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm

I dont know which part of Malaysia you’re in. But you can choose to use forein vehicle to avoid this….

• Hyundai Fan on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:27 am

I test drive the 2.0L yesterday and surprisingly the drive is smoother than Sylphy especially the steering even though I thought it would be underpower due to its kerb weight is heavier than Sylphy by 215 kg. Interior & exterior look better than Slyphy especially the tail light but it is still looks similar to Sylphy. Paying extra 25K to get bigger size of this car which has the same engine as Slyphy is not very worth it. Still prefer Sonata to Teana cos Sonata has totally different look from Sylphy when upgrading from Sylphy to Sonata.

• Faiti on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Hmmmm i tot 2 lit 138k only less 118k, 20k premium for a much bigger car. A whole class of difference. n solidity.

Nothing wrong with modern tech looking Sonata but when it comes to parking at the lobby of a hotel, Teana a bit more impressive….personal view.

• basher on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:59 am

Nice one Nissan but pricing is about 5% too high for what it is seriously (CKD on top of that). Test drove the original CBU Teana one time when TCM brought it in a few years ago and was so impressed with the car, hopefully this one is better. If you like relaxed drives and typical American wallowy ride, this car rocks!. This is probably going to be a common company or fleet car. So far I have not heard much complaints from friends who are Nissan owners (especially Sentra) and my regular KLIA taxi guy swears by the reliability of his 2.0 Cefiro.

• SaneMind on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:59 pm

I once went to a used dealer looking for 2nd hand Cefiro. I asked a very silly question “How realible is the engine?”. Salesman looked me and commended “If this engine still give you problem then you better take a bus”.

• 1 Malaysia on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Nissan cefiro was a signature modal for Tan Chong even the cefiro A33 2.0G will out beat the honda and camry 2.0 interms of spec, power and comfort.

Teana now looks good among the rest of the japanese make in it’s range.

• Mayonaise on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:54 pm

It’s finally here! Well, better late than never. This is a great looking car, both inside and out… But geez, what’s with the all-beige interior?! Can’t Tan Chong at the very least give the 2.5L V6 spec a darker interior?

• I don’t see you complaining about the Camry’s interior……..

• Faiti on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Went to see it just now……cool, keyless starting!

The 2.5 got nice soft seats.

Got so many Camry’s on the road, this one make a good alternative especially the 2.0 lit.

Sonata…..also ok but this depends on personal preference.

Definitely not for below 30s.

Got the towkay look.

Worthy corporate ride……….got the bulky size.

• jflee169 on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:30 pm

first of all, car overpriced in m’sia is well known fact which consumer can’t do anything about it, due to our so called NAP. By looking at the pricing of this Teana, it “looks” reasonable among other brands. This car is launched in year end, therefore it has to price lower to so call introductory price, which relates to the depreciation of the car value.

as for the car itself, it is the 2nd generation of teana and same time it’s the same as facelift in China which also recently launched. However, the spec in m’sia is kind of mix and match of pre-facelift and facelift in china. Exterior wise, it is same to China facelift.

Interior wise, we are getting the pre-facelift china model i.e. audio panel and cluster meter. I wonder ETC are getting the parts from China plant. Most pathetic part is the 2.0 l steering, this is worse part in this car.

some of you may think why i am using the china model to compare. this is because it’s a global product and ETC may argue that they have to follow the local taste. Did you really ask the m’sia consumer????

• jflee169 on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:31 pm

just for the comparison, http://www.autohome.com.cn/advice/201011/155512-2.html

• crving on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Ugly and stupid car……..

• 908HY4 on Nov 24, 2010 at 7:07 pm

ugly and stupid comment as well. please contribute positively or else, stay away till you get your driving license.

• hukaka on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:14 pm

tested the 2.0 low spec i think it’s more then enough for me.
    power are good if you don’t look at the spec sheet.
    will test the v6 2.5 by few more days.
    actually the 2.0 are also very quite in driving condition,
    2000 RPM on speed 100.so it will be fuel saver.

• SaddenMYS on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Finally TCM offers affording consumers a Japanese model with V6 engine, smooth and comfortable ride at competitive pricing to compete with Camry, Accord, Mazda6, 407 and even Citroen C5 2.0, and yet so many simply put up negative comments without even thinking twice!

Not all of us want a car that “the back looks bigger than Accord”. That’s a typical chinaman thinking that a good product must be “cheap and big”. These people should buy big pick-ups for around RM100K or wait for the bigger replacement model from Honda, which I had seen countless times their owners had difficulties parking them neatly at shopping malls.

And all those people who like this car are labelled as “uncles” or “Nissan salesman”? Come on, again, not all of us need noisy hot-wheel fitted with tin rubbers and giant wheel! And putting praising comments does not necessarily means they carry commercial motives behind. I think it was really pathetic that one must state his/her age and declare he or she is not Nissan-related in order not to be bashed!

Sadly, I have to agree that it is our government’s automobile tax structure that “forced” the manufacturers to introduced underpowered models such as E200K, 520i, and other 2.0 NA D-segment models. Surely, cars of such size and weight fitted with a 2.0 naturally aspirated engine can still move around but the drivers are not really enjoying the car they spend 5-7 years paying installments for.

Teana’s 2.5 probably is the only decent brand new executive saloon with V6 engine for RM170K in the peninsular. Please do not take aged Perdana V6 into the equation cause it is simply not in the same league to even compare with. Ok, the V6 routine maintenance might cost a little more compare to its competitors’ 2.4 I4 but the smoothness of two extra cylinders worth every extra ringgit spent. Anyone who drive a 6-cylinder, be it inline or V formation, should know and appreciate the difference.

Buying this car or not, we all should be happy that TCM is taking the effort to introduce another model for us to choose from. Go ahead and buy the usual suspects but don’t complain they are “boring, ridiculously priced and too many on the road”. Or you can buy those with different personalities and fun to drive but again don’t complain “expansive to maintain, low resell value and does not look big enough”. There’s simply not one car that tick all the boxes. Not in this country and elsewhere.

At the end of the day, this blog is meant to provide updated automotive info and news, keeping us informed and allowing us to make wiser decision in new car purchases. Don’t simply bash and pin-point meaningless topic like “steering wheel look senget”!

• Icecold on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Spot on comment, every now and then when a new review on product launch came up I feel like surrounded by moron reading the feed back. Especially those katak bawah tempurung bashers.

I always thought that this site would educate the so called Malaysian car lovers to have a better educated and positive mentality to contribute a better discussion, but then again only few comments that I think deserve to be here.

I hope Paul could just delete those stupid meaningless one line sentence comment. It’s just a waste of bandwidth, just cluttering the page for unnecessary reason.

• John Deep on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:59 pm

I can’t imagine those you so called “moron” geng up and come out with their model, it must be a real moron’s car. How can a closed 100 years old car maker can make “a senget steering wheel”? (became a comment here by looking at the picture). The Jap is so stupid ha?

• jtiongwl on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:21 pm

I agree, some of the people really making irrational comment. It really sounds like comment from uneducated person…

They are not suppose to be here.

• Spot on!

• Wisdom on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:40 pm

I accept your reason in regards of G policies pushing big car-small engine market in Malaysia. However, its not only the G to be blame. We also have to admit that the max-profit policies of car manufacturers/ assemblers and traders also contribute to our current automotive scene.

For this particular model (2.0), the lack of HID, only 2 airbags, lack of traction control, the absents of cruise control, no manual override for CVT, and ZERO steering control button can be considered as not acceptable for a car in 140K price range.

Yes you might say that 2.0 model from other brand also dont have those. But why follow others? If TCM really sincere and seriously wants to penetrate the market, they have to give more than just matching model.

For example: Kia Forte. At merely 90K price range; 6 airbags, TCS, Full steering control, cruise control, also auto climate and 20 more horses. We can argue ‘they use cheap airbags’ and all but cheap can airbags be? skip those EPA/ crash test?

And we can see the Forte is now very popular. Some say those idiot will regret when it come to resale value but what matters for manufacturers is ‘more unit’ sold.

TCM was successful on the Grand Livina but that era has just passed since now we have Exora and what not. To sustain, TCM could consider more feature on the car which is less damaging the profit.

• SaddenMYS on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:57 am

If any of my friends insist buying a D-segment saloon, I would suggest him to go for the Peugeot 407 Premium. I think that’s the best value for money all rounder (good mix of power, comfort, handling, safety and styling) presently available in the peninsular. Certainly, you might argue other points of consideration such the resell value and maintenance, or you can argue Forte is a better choice for RM50K cheaper. But we are here talking about D-segment saloon, remember?

Back to Teana, instead of talking about how raw and unreasonable it is selling for RM138K, I tend to look at it from a different angle. If I would to pay extra RM30K over a 60-month installment (plus higher insurance and road tax), I will get a V6 (extra 2 cylinders, 46 BHP, 38Nm), auto leveling Xenon (better than HID), more airbags, powered seats, keyless entry and start, VDC and traction control, plus all the buttons you can imagine on the steering wheel.

In short, I will get a more powerful and better handling car (smoother and effortless driving), equipped with more luxurious toys and safety features. On top of that, I believe it tend to be a longer period that I would not flipping through the pages of MotorTrader issues desperately looking for an upgrade due to the rewarding and satisfying ownership with the Teana 2.5 V6. I think you will agree with me that a more settling peace of mind is equally important in car ownership as well.

Personally, I think Teana 2.5 V6 represents a truly value-for-money choice among the competitors in its class (RM160-180K, D-segment saloon). It’s not stunningly beautiful, not the most refined, and probably one of the least sporty, But hell, it is undeniably a well-balanced car for that price!

• Wisdom on Nov 25, 2010 at 3:57 pm

That was the point. Even a Forte which is a class below manage to kit their car with so much features and equipments.

And to push the envelope through for 2.5 is another story. We know that most D segment buyer still sticks to 2.0.

What TCM can do is add more feature. We are living in a hi-tech, gadget-hungry era where not only teenagers keep up with latest handphone. The selling point for Forte and Sonata is mainly feature vs price. And currently all Japanese marque in Malaysia still stingy on feature and equipments. Still have 2 airbags?

Can TCM lead the way?

• SaneMind on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:41 pm

2.0 is meant to basic yet practical and comfortable. Uncles would love this 2.0 as it’ll provide the best in operational, functional and image. Why put more when there is no use for them.

Nissan is so realible in this sense as what needs to be there is there.

However if you want more pay more for the 2.5 and I’m sure it has the little edge over T & H with much better bargain.

• I think this car will have a mountain to climb as it is placed directly with Camry and Accord. Look and name wise itself already a big disadvantage compare to a Camry and not mentioning about resale value. Those who wants to be different and think Camry is boring will go for a Mazda 6 as Teana itself already looks boring even before it hits the road.

• japfan on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:53 pm

Teana 2.5 V6, well build quality loaded with features and 6 star safety test at RM168k would certainly beat the more expensive mediocre 4 cylinders local/thailand made Accord/camry totally flat.

• reader on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:21 pm

What? A luxurious 2.0 Family Sedan but without Steering Audio Controls?

• alex tye on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:52 am

agree!nothing at the steering luxurious family sedan Teana!the price near accord and camry!teana abit high price!i go for accord and camry!

• nolan on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:10 pm

My gosh….another Retired Uncle car from Nissan…….

• casey-c on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:09 pm

We uncles must thanks Nissan because Nissan produce good cars for us. Other makes just don’t care about uncle need. They just crazy about RAW horsepower, very futuristic design that will go very outdated after 3 years and make uncles yawn every time we stare at the cars when caught in the jam

Keep up the good work Nissan. clap clap clap for you

• nolan on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:43 am

yeah…thanks to Nissan again for an Uncle car called Sylphy and Sentra……actually uncle cannot drive big cars because of their eyes problem…..so Nissan to make sure to install cameras all round the car…..and sleepy alarm too…..

• jtiongwl on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Not every body want to lap.. Some people prefer a better interior. For those who loves sporty thing, this place may not be suitable for him.

We never make such comment whereas no respect to others. Please, behave yourselves and if you dont like the place, please leave…

On the other hand, your own concept and application, please do apply it to your own community and as we dont belongs to your community, it shouldnt be make on us….

• SaneMind on Nov 28, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Totally agreed. Seem like bashers & morons only talk about power and size. As if without max power, the car will shame the owner or 50mm narrower or 100mm shorter really make a lot of difference to the image. No brainer for praticality. I think all bashers and moron are at least 6 footer and 200Kg.

• farhan on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:31 pm

if im not wrong, the frnt design is quite similar 2 the s-class merc…ehh wait, the whole car look like tht..:D

• jordan on Nov 24, 2010 at 9:06 pm

i believe that the 2011 NISSAN TEANA 350XV/3.5 V6 IS THE BEST LUXURY CAR TO MY THOUGHT

• SaneMind on Nov 28, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Right! at least with the amount of money is our pocket today.

• I don’t know for others, but for myself I’m definitely a person that preferred the cars that are more sporty and with better engine performance. Therefore I have been driving honda cars and quite interested in the Mazda as well among the Japs models. I don’t usually appreciated any Cefiro or Camry.

However, recently when I saw this Teana in China, surprising I like the look very much, there are many chances to see the car stop side by side with another current Camry or Accord at the traffic lights and to me the Cefiro looks better than the other 2. If our Teana is the same as the one in China then I think it is quite a nice car.

Many years ago I have test driven the Teana 2.3 when it was first introduced to us and I must say it was a wonderful experience even though I don’t really accept the so called executive look that time. But I think it is different case for this model, to me it is better.

• Look for good value car on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:31 am

It does means that your taste of choice has changed unknowingly. Ha Ha!

• nolan on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:41 pm

from day to day you have became older bro…….thats normal for an uncle….

• Well, definitely not bcoz of becoming uncle. My next car will most probably be the Hyundai Avante 2011 :)

To me it is the executive look and comfort that matter, not like the Honda that is bad in NVH, I know cause I’m driving 1 now.

• casey-c on Nov 25, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Many people in this Blog simply hentam nissan cars. You are right on the Cefiro looks not bad as years goes by compare with Camry and Honda. I personally think the sonata 4th Generation and Kia Selphia are terribly sculptured. The list includes the Jazz and Hyundai Atoz headlight (Lampu depan)

• I had a test drive of the 2.5 model yesterday. It was ok. Better than my 2.0 Excimo.

The suspension is very soft. 5 people and luggage will cause it to scratch its undersides if driving onto low kerbs or over speed bumps.

It’s a big car so even 228NM of torque is barely sufficient for brisk acceleration.

However, I kinda like it. It looks better in the flesh, so to speak, than in pictures.

Btw, I don’t think the 2.5 model has memory seats. Only the 3.5 has it.

• japfan on Nov 25, 2010 at 12:51 am

I don’t understand how you tested the car, you seemed to get everything wrong or you just trying to put down this Teana.
      I quite like the suspension as its very neutral for comfort and handling. what you mentioned (The suspension is very soft. 5 people and luggage will cause it to scratch its undersides if driving onto low kerbs or over speed bumps.) I don’t it would happened.
      The engine is powerful enough for a quick acceleration, at least better than the duo Accord/camry.
      Last but not least, driver side seat has memory function for 2.5V6.
      I suggested you check everything clearly before making any comment.

• Wisdom on Nov 25, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Actually i agree that the suspension is on the too soft side. And the pick up for 2.0 was so-so. What can we expect since the engine is the same unit in Sylphy.

• jtiongwl on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:26 pm

I think in my opinion, Tan Chong should give people an option, as it is available in Japan. A choice for people to opt for Bose Sound System. This product is available for Teana 3.5 V6 in Taiwan, Australia and Japan.

• RYLLLLLL on Nov 25, 2010 at 8:35 am

Mazda 6 still has the best looking in it’s class ;P

• John Deep on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:49 am

Yes, please buy one. Within one year you will realise its undercarriage poor reliability and less refine than camry and accord.

• Impossible, No way as describe by Johnny Deep.

Please do not bullshit if you never owned nissan before. I owned a nissan Sentra for 6 years before bought the Waja, Waja handling is far better than the Nissan and you feel very safe in highway and byway during highspeed (around 140KM/H or higher)

But I do agree that there are some noise come out from Sentra dashboard after 2 years ++ while my 7 years Waja did not have.

• Jimmy on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm

I think what he refers to is Mazda 6, not Nissan. I don’t know that the undercarriage of Mazda 6 is so poor, but less refined(the interior) is a truth.
          BTW the interior of Camry is also not very refined compared to Teana.
          Having said the weakness of Mazda 6, I must say that currently the most sporty D segment car in Malaysia is this Mazda 6; it is the most cantiq one(especially in white) and comes with sunroof and it is a MAT SALLEH(CBU)! The buyers are probably looking at its exterior aesthetics, just like you choose a beautiful(face and shape) English wife who is garang.

• Jimmy on Nov 25, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Sorry to Korean supporters ya, it is Mazda 6, not Sonata (which some may even comment as ugly especially the front).

• Duncare on Nov 26, 2010 at 1:47 am

I agree that Mazda6 is the most sporty and youthful looking D-segment Japanese saloon presently available in our market.

I test driven both the 2.0 and 2.5 model when they were launched and see if any of them would be the worthwhile replacement for my aged yet still running strong Alfa Romeo 156. The 159 2.2JTS seemed to be the natural choice and was about RM10K more expansive than the Mazda 2.5 back then. But I prefer the 6-speed manual 1750TBTi which regrettably was not brought in by AR local distributor.

Having owned several conti cars before, naturally I place high priorities on handling and engine performance on my next ride. To me, other than driving safely from point A to B, I got to have fun with a car I spend couple of years paying installments and maintenance. Mazda6’s design looks great, priced within my reach and, unlike its popular Japanese counterparts, its chassis is pretty sportily-tuned, firm and assuring.

After a short spin with the Mazda6 2.0 around the showroom, I couldn’t wait to lay my finger on the 2.5 model. The 2,0 simply not to my liking and I thought it would be pretty “sayang” to under utilize such solid chassis with a merely adequately-powered engine.

The 2.5 model is a completely different breed altogether. In fact, the chassis seemed to designed and tuned to purposely match up with the engine. I tested the car pretty thoroughly, taking hard corners and raved it up to speed I usually do with my 156, which of course panicked the salesman sitting next to me.
            I eventually return the car unscratched and left without placing an order.

I like almost everything about Mazda6 2.5 (design, chassis, equipment, comfort and space) except for
            one thing: its 2.5 little in-line 4 engine. The power (172PS) is there and the torque (228Nm) is adequate. But squeezing all that out from a inline 4 (2500cc) simply doesn’t “sound” right and indeed feeling quite harsh. Compare with other 2.5L saloon available such as AR 156 2.5, BMW 325i and 525i, Merce C and E230, plus Toyota Mark-X, I think Mazda6 is the only one not using 6-cylinder engine.

If it is a V6, which I personally prefer as the right engine formation of that size, I would have taken the Mazda6 2.5L. I am just thrilled that TCM offers Teana in such configuration and shall take my turn to sample it for further evaluation.

• I don’t think you have even laid a finger on a Mazda 6. Stop bullshitting here…

• Justgothere on Nov 25, 2010 at 1:40 pm

Saw this car with trade plates on the east coast highway last thursday. Black i think. worth to have a look at if you’re planning to get a D-segment car.

• nasurudin on Nov 25, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Problem with Nissan is that the produce very good reliable car. My 8 year old sentra hardly gave me any problem, feels like new car, so no reason to buy a new car. hopefully it will last me for another 5 years or more. untung la like this

• keluangman on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:54 am

that is indeed the nissan I know. C22 vanette 15 years and still going strong!

• sammy on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:57 am

I compared the interior with the YF Sonata and found the Teana 2.0 lacking, from sunroof to the 6-speed gearbox, but when I test drove the 2.0 and 2.5, immediately I found that it was much more refined than the Korean. Since Nissan has been in the game for a while now, they would know how to make engines..and also soundproofed the car to luxury (but not E-class) levels..I still think Camry has better feel for luxury and refinement…eventhough the mood lightings in the Teana is so much inviting.

This has got to cater for different people as no one will have the same opinion or choice but deffinately the looks are more of an Uncle car :)..however, the Teana does ooze with luxury, so anyone emerging from the cabin will still look like a million bucks..

• rain rain on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Just tested the Teana 2,5XV few hrs back…fell in love with this Nissan babe…Like it jerkless transmission, superb comfort seats, quiet ride (for me..almost same standard to C-class), suspension is very nice for malaysia road condition where have so many manhole covers road..

one thing i am not too sure is..I found the car has very little torsion despite of soft suspension..is it due to high rigidity of the chassis?..Also, not too sure on the CO2 emmision and Fuel consumption figure? ..perhaps Paul/Danny could throw me some lights on this..

After tested this car..If leave me in more headache situation in choosing my next car …Prius, Teana 2.5, new Insight or used V50 T5? ^_^..

• Petrol on Nov 29, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Used previous new cefiro 2L V6, petrol consumption is suck. Suspension is APM (TC brand), too soft to ride.

• veryweak on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Used previous cefiro 2L in year 2002 at 159k with leatherseat, sold it in 2005 at RM90k. Extremely dissapointed with its services quality at section 13. Have a tick tick sound at dash board, sent the car for at least 6 times during warranty, unable to resolve it for me. Every time they said problem solved, but in actual fact they did not do it, I guess they afraid to open up the dash board. Finally, I asked a workshop outside to open up the dash board to tight the cable properly , problem solved.

Since then, have bought other brand of Japanese and German car. Service was so much better. One reason for not continuing with TC was its services. It may have improvement now but it had scared potential customers away last time.

Furthermore, previous Teana was over priced. Plenty of previous cefiro buyers changed their car to other brand. Now if they got to come back to his market sector, TC really got to be very sincere to the consumer, dont take advantage and improve on services.

As for resales value… I am still doubtful. It is still not as good as other brand of Japanese car. I would say its second value is really bad.

• Duncare on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Visited TCM Seremban yesterday with the intention of finding out if they are as good as expected. Noticed quite a bit of interested buyers there with wives and kids, including a few Camry owners to check out the new car.

Only a unit 2.5XV was provided for test drive and 3-4 anticipating buyers queued up impatiently for their turns. Singed up, I ran through a detailed scan on both the 2.0XE and 2.5XV (V stands for V6?) while waiting for our turn (4 of us). The 350XV was not there for viewing (not many people will buy, anyway), I will share what I saw on these two prime models.

Both cars look almost identical from outside. The rims and other noticeable exterior accessories are exactly the same, except maybe bi-xenon (hardly noticeable from outlook and during day time), the model labels at the back and the additional exhaust pipe hidden beneath the 250XV. But the interior is quite different.

For the 2.0XE, other than already-mentioned zero buttons on steering wheel, it is not leather wrapped also, which is a big let down. I have no problem with the soft and supportive seats with fabric, but the creamy tan-colored means it will get dirty pretty easily. Thumbs up to the “curvy” headrests at the back seats. Very ergonomic, comfortable and provide better visibility too. The 2.0XE also has zero electrical-powered seats on both front seats, the driver’s seat manual lumber support, and the rear power sunshade. Safety wise, the entry-level Teana short of two side airbags. Finally, there’s no keyless-entry on the 2.0XE also, that means you will have to insert the key into the slot and press the “Start” button for ignition.

Good thing is that the two models’ “wood trim” are matted and beautifully fitted. Personally, I hate those shinny and cheap-looking plastic fake wood trim. Don’t be fooled by the “big screen” at the center console. It is not for negation nor for visual entertainment. They are indeed two screens jointly put together – one for climate control and the other is for audio. Maybe TCM will provide the full screen nevi-entertainment for future facelift. Nevertheless, the trip computer with multiple info display (average fuel consumption, trip’s distance and time, outside temperature and estimated mileage for remaining fuel) are quite useful.

It was raining when it came to our turn to test the car. Due to long queue behind us, the salesman only allow us for 10 minutes of short trip testing. Doesn’t really matter, at least we can check two things out: 1) how this car behaves in the wet and 2) is the suspension is too soft when seated with 5 adults (4 of us plus the salesman).

The 2.5XV is equipped with keyless entry, so I just need to put the key in the pocket, push the “start” button and it came to life. Engine is very quite and we could hardly notice it’s running when the car is idle. Released the foot press “handbrake”, smooth sifting the gear to “D”, we rolled the beauty out to the main road towards Mantin direction (hilly roads ahead). The traffic was pretty heavy and most drivers were cruising slowly at speed around 60km/h. Took a look at the RPM meter and the engine was revving at 1500RPM! When there was an opened road ahead, I alerted my passengers and started to floor the accelerator. The engine responded to my command, not instantaneously torquey but quick enough to call it “fun and responsive”. The grip of those new 16″ Continental plus solid chassis provide the confidence to push the car harder while taking stiff uphill corners. Soon, we reached the traffic light turning towards LEKAS highway but the salesman reminded us to take a u-turn back to the showroom for other waiting customers to sample the car. It was still green light, I pressed the assuring brake (still new and not sure if it was assisted by VDC with traction control) and made the rather surprisingly agile u-turn for car at this size!

The 5 minutes trip back to the showroom was driven with smooth and relaxing mode. We concentrated on the car’s original audio as well as the sound insulation. We were pleased with the result. I purposely drove the car into a residential areas to find out if this car’s suspension is too soft to ride over speed bump as suspected by one of the forumers. No need to worry. Our Teana went through couple of those bumps rigidly without any problems.

Before driving into TCM showroom parking, we went through some poorly maintained patch-holes, again, firmly and comfortably. We noticed some eagerly waiting customers couldn’t keep their eyes off our Teana in motion when we approached the parking lot. Pushed the gear to “P”, pressed the “start/stop” button, returned the smart key to the salesman, we had a vivid impression on the lovely Teana.

The 2.0XE makes the RM30K more expansive 2.5XV sibling looks a lot more worth while with additional cylinder, power, accessories and safety features. The salesman told me the car’s prices are on promotion till year end. An increment of “RM5-10K” on both models. Many units are assembled in TC factory now, if bookings are placed now, the car will be registered as 2011 model and ready for collection before CNY. One of my friends wondered if it is possible to arrange a longer night drive next time to check out the Xenon and also the soothing LED ambiance cabin light before he seriously consider buying this beauty.

• Rimaz on Dec 01, 2010 at 2:58 am

Just want to ask a simple question.. i already buy a 2.0 i-vtec Honda Accord last week… so, i wouldn’t dare to test drive or read all of the details about Nissan Teana 2.0.

simple question. which one is better overall.

Nissan Teana 2.0 or Honda Accord 2.0?

thx for any info…

• Eyephone on Dec 01, 2010 at 10:45 am

I ordered an accord 2.0 vti in the end of october,suppose to take the car by 25th of november.But on the 23rd of nov,the official launching of Teana,I went for a test drive.fall in love with the quietness,smoothiness and comfortness of teana compare with the accord.On the spot,booked the teana,cancel the accord on the next day.Anyway,going to get my teana tomorrow..

• japfan on Dec 02, 2010 at 1:44 am

I have adored this VQ series engine since many years ago, this engine series has been rated 10 best engine in the USA for consecutively of 13 years. This is definitely the right engine to put on a D-segment car compare to the mediocle 4 cylinders in Accord/camry.
    Test drive the 3 cars at the same time, you will understand why I highly rated this VQ V6.
    For those who really appreciate about joy of driving with power and comfort, Teana should be the right choice and you can totally forget the over priced duo with I-4.
    BTW, I m neither a nissan saleman nor the staff. I m in the mist to either buy a used BMW 5 series or Teana now. To be honest, Accord/camry or Mazda 6 have never come into my consideration at all.
    Anyone can help me to decide…….I really can not make up my mind……..

• Duncare on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:10 am

If you are budgeting RM170K+ for a used BMW 525i like I once did, I think the most you get will be a ’05 or ’06 model (before facelift). Sure, it is a still a good looking car, powerful and solid too. After all, it is a BMW!

My friend who owns a ’04 525i told me the face lifted (I think ’07 onwards) model is so much better than the pre-facelift’s, especially the i-drive control unit. Regardless, a ’05 and ’06 model should had clocked around 80,000km and major parts such as air cond and gear box are about time for replacement or overhaul. But that’s still not the major concern. The new 5 is already on the road and 5 years down the road, your ’05 525i will worth less than RM70K, and not forgetting expansive maintenance and frequent breakdowns along the way.

I had given up the idea of paying RM2K+ 60-month installments for a 4-5 year old BMW 525i. For that commitment, I can get either the new, smooth and silky saloon Teana 2.5 or the midsize SUV Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2R Diesel with 197HP/442Nm Torque. Both around RM170K and quite a tough call to decide which one! Both any time better than the aged and going to be problematic used 5.

P/S: Me never give a shit about the I4 Camry/Accord also -> ridiculously expansive and uncharacteristically common! Yak!

• mercSLR on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:47 pm

It is more on affordability. It is not an apple to apple comparision at all. This is out of topic.

• Turborally on Dec 05, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Camry and Accord are good car, All this while TC cant capture this market and it was the choice of consumers, the result tells. Used Cefiro when it first launched since Camry and Accord was common and cheaper at that time too, however, the services and resales value were really dissapointed.

• proton cendana on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:42 pm

dun worry, proton will re-badge it to replace perdana V6.. wait n see…

• this is a very good site to review cars… but somehow people commenting here are the opposite….1Stupid
    out of topic, arguing, wrong info etc etc … typical malaysian

• megpan on Jan 07, 2011 at 2:50 pm

test drove 2.5 this morning, god it blew me away, blew accord,camry & sonata too! XD 180kph no prob, cud hav gone faster but thr’s a chicken in me saying dont :P too bad i cant afford it now

• Gavin Chong on Jan 09, 2011 at 3:11 pm

The Teana 2.0 version comes without electronic controlled seat, for that matter I think it’s losing out to Accord and Camry.

• Honestly i do not like this car at first. But then it grows on me after seeing a few. Then i started to amazed to see how nice it looks at night. And went to the showroom a few weeks back. Damn…. it is one nice car no doubt.

• Have been driving my Teana 2.0 for exactly 2 months and one day, Below are some of the cons :
    1) The alarm/lock system is connected to the horn and the loud sound is a nuisance.
    2) The car is over price (no GPS, Bluetooth) a waste for the big centre screen.
    3) The seat belt always gets stuck on the seat.
    4) The Continental tyres are a bit noisy.
    5) The audio system not so great.
    6) Complained about the air-con during first service but problem still persist. Report state rectified but didn’t see any work done. TC service sub-standard.

Should have done my maths and chose the 2.5l.

• sekhon on Jun 03, 2011 at 4:54 pm

i have driven the Nissan Teana. to start off there is much more needed from this car. no parking sensor, bad music system. no auto dimmer rear view mirror. although the motor is good but still outdated. and the engine noise creeps inside the cabin. not so quite inside

• Mathi69 on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Currently I’m driving Recondition Toyota Wish for the past 5 years, decided to test drive the new Nissan Teana 2.0 L which I found very comfortable compared to my test drive Accord & Camry.

I have decided to move on with All new Nissan Teana & expected to get delivery of the car on the first week of 2012. I feel the car is very comfortable either in town drive or on the trunk road since I have tested from seremban to mantin old road.

Bravo Teana..looking forward to get delivery of the car soon.