Team Lotus reverts to green colour scheme for 2011

It looks like the new Lotus Renault GP team will be the only team running around the track in black and gold livery next season, as Team Lotus have decided to continue using their green and yellow livery.

“Whether they copied us or we copied them that’s beside the point now. The point is what makes sense. Having two Lotus brands on the grid I think is no issue. having four black cars looking the same I think is silly and one has to relent. We’re not childish and emotional and saying ‘Oh no, we’ve got to be black and gold’. We’re pragmatic,” said Team Principal Tony Fernandes.

In his Twitter account he also revealed that the winner for the black and gold livery competition announced earlier would have his or her winning design painted on a showcar, and that they would launch a new competition based on a green and yellow design.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I like this color instead of black and gold! Thank God! :D

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Kah kah kah, finally the LOSER prevails…..

A new duel emerged, Toni Vs Said Zainal, loser of the bet to use Lotus name will paint their body with Black and Gold livery…….hehehe…..

Typical macha….Typical budu….dua2 kasi lingkup….

who benefits??? Riat Asmad pendek itu………

• seriusSAM on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:03 pm

mike gascoyne said in his twitter that the winner of black and gold livery contest will somehow see lotus racing F1 car in that black and gold livery

maybe they will somehow paint T127 with black and gold livery as show car

• JamalPakTongko on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Sudah lah Tony, you raise pakai Team Naza laa pulak. Tak pun Team Air Asia… kapal terbang lagi laju dari kereta F1. Tak payah sentimentol sangat.

• RH PumpkinKing on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Wise move from Team Lotus..
    No point to waste time in this pointless “coloring” topic

• bryan jones on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:46 pm

well, sometimes i just hope Team Lotus could be more positive.. look at Dany Bahar statement, positive elements.. tht’s what we need. no some sarcastic typical malaysian type.

• akupunya on Dec 12, 2010 at 2:53 pm

ENCIK TONY FERNANDEZ THE PRINCIPLE,

You are the pioneer,
    the rest woke up after you have did it first.

You made a biznes that the biznes can be done by everyone, but they did not start it.
    After looking you have made it, the other will do it.

Nanti lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama. But, u are the achor.

• Eyesore on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:00 pm

He wouldn’t have an f1 team if they was not backed by proton n lotus tho….so…

• theking on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:45 pm

And without Pak Lah support, TF and AirAsia wont be successfull either!!!!!!

• planet-green on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:29 pm

gud choice tony

• ProProton on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:30 pm

go green common lotus..

• jengong on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:42 pm

just bring the victory…

• The Dentist on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:32 pm

haha. yeah, that is more important. at least, better achievement.

• thats the way, Tony!!!

• autojohndoe on Dec 12, 2010 at 3:51 pm

and the battle begins…

name issue – Done
    colour issue – Done
    position in race? yet to be seen…

Hopefully… both teams perform well…

and, Paul,
    Is the Proton name on Team Lotus car will be remain?

• Retaurant Lotus on Dec 12, 2010 at 4:05 pm

once you go black.. you can never turn back.

• haha.. but they did. at least virtually. Also for the historic Team Lotus they did turn back to green/yellow livery in ’90 before pulled out.

• ‘british racing green ‘
    it associated with british brand, the mg, aston martin, rover, jaguar. and lotus, and as well as lotus badge as well as lotus merchandise.
    how emotional, evocative and prestigous the green colors as it directly in association with the spirit of sport and racing. ,how precious it is

lucky tony. but group lotus loosing color, team lotus loosing without lotus badge.
    what a confusion,
    and so ironically, proton badge is on tony’s car.

never mind i support both.

• stupid tony. big time liar.

• osh_kosh on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:50 pm

yeah.. what pissed me off was the fact that he even lied about the livery hanky panky.. konon Group Lotus want to ‘hijack’ his idea of using black-gold livery in 2011.. while in fact this livery has been on the drawing board of GL for over two months, to bring back the glory when Lotus & Renault last joined forces in the 1980s… yo Tony.. buhuu… that’s low macha, very LOW…

• keep your racist sentiment away from this blog. will you?

• osh_kosh on Dec 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm

can you pin-point where was the ‘racist’ remark? i’m just curious…

• i think this is just the cover up comment from tony. For sure he wants the black and gold livery but later the real lotus have claimed their rights on their honoured colours upon venturing into F1.

• Like more on gold n green livery…colour may make your car look fast but dosen’t make your car move faster tony…

• gd decision tony! Go ahead and show Proton who’s gonna be your cabin crew next year!

• tokpaya on Dec 12, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Good!

In the end, its Fernandes that has to back off. I’m sure he is wise enough to think what Dany is doing now will only benefit the ‘Lotus’ brand.

Go for team Naza, Airasia or what ever you like Fernandes. No point using the ‘Lotus’ name anymore. It was Fernandes who wanted to bring back Lotus into sport, ‘stealing’ past glory as a stepping stone to prove they could. Why don’t you start off with AirAsia team instead?

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss2 on Dec 12, 2010 at 6:04 pm

malaysia is the richest, 3 team in F1… another world 1st

• I love Air Asia, I love Tune Hotel, I Love Tony, I love Team Lotus.
    As much as I love Proton, Group Lotus and my country.
    Settle it on the track and we, the people will support both equally much but cheer for the winning team louder.

• eVilsin on Dec 12, 2010 at 7:36 pm

Tony oh Tony big f**king liar first flyasianxpress, lcct and now whers the promise to build the operation complex in sepang…. huh original lotus konon. u just bought TLV recently… not even 1 year. how bout proton who force to tanggung GL for bloody 14 years of lost not authentic enough isit?? if not lotus will be long dead like triumph, nak harapkan david hunt punye kertas simpan jelah masuk dalam vault buat perkasam.

• Commenter on Dec 12, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Bro I like your words.

• eVilsin on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:34 am

See Fauzy pun kena kencing…. Initially suppose to be 5 year contract and now terminated. To much greed & lies would just make you more enemy Tony.
      source http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/88671

• najibest on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:09 am

hahaha….it seems more and more that this venture is all about the money and self glory….

• osh_kosh on Dec 12, 2010 at 7:49 pm

good point… some of us here… easy to forget… LOL

• it life,
    this turmoil will make racing more exciting,
    and controversial makes more money actually.

im more eager to watch F1 now.
    i guess the opening season will be a sold out.

• bryan jones on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:07 pm

1 Malaysia F1 Team.. where is it now??? become british-wannabe outift??

• british ricing green
      french racing blue
      silver arrow (silver mercedes)

come on proton, whats the proton racing color?

• Najibest on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:11 pm

well i’ll say it again, the main reason using the “Lotus” name in the 1st place is for profit reasons from merchandizing of the brand…and the name 1 Malaysia F1 Team really is to attract Malaysian based sponsors such as Maxis……else they would have named it Team Airasia like in GP2 where the team was entered with the AirAsia name…

not to mention the current Lotus Racing team is ripping off the Lotus name by entering a team in association with Litespeed in World Series by Renault lower formulae with a team named Junior Lotus Racing Team…..i’m sure their agreement with Proton does not include this so called Junior Racing Team…now that’s what I call classic businessman..

• Diablo on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:59 pm

Errmmm.. I think Litespeed is involved in F3. You probably meant Mofaz Racing who are running in WSbR as Junior Lotus Racing

• najibest on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:07 am

yup my bad, what i mean was really the Mofaz team rebranded as Junior Lotus Racing team which i doubt have any blessings from Proton as Lotus brand owner

• “1malaysia” and f1 car with ‘jalur gemilang’ color on its body was just used to ‘pujuk’ malaysian to support this peoples business la..then people strt to dreaming,high…suddenly came with lotus f1 team and british racing green…com’on..u think lotus stupid eh?they got reputation maa…imagine if najib sais we gonna support f1 team and named it lotus f1 with british racing green color…every1 gonna mad lorr..y da heell spend money for this brit?n we here got oil price,sugar,bla,bla…. XD

• Peter on Dec 12, 2010 at 8:40 pm

So this is what we meant by One Malaysia?

Do they really mean 1Malaysia or its just a saying?

This saga already says it all…

One Lotus…

Two different team

• anand mat pian on Dec 12, 2010 at 9:43 pm

lotus racing promote air asia/tune group only not cars
    lotus renault promote cars,manufacturer go f1 to promote their cars

• now not only we have 1Malaysia… we have 2Malaysia now!! yay!!

• ayamxxx on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:21 pm

tony, you just have to shut up, just fully concentrate on improving the car (Team Lotus) reliability n performance.

The package of Renault Engine as well as gearbox is sound promising, but F1 does not depend 90% on the engine.

we want our Malaysian related team on scoring chart, rather than follows other car with 1-3 laps behind!

• Tiadaid on Dec 12, 2010 at 10:37 pm

Team Lotus don’t own the black & gold colors, nor does Lotus Racing.

It’s owned by Imperial Tobacco/British American Tobacco. John Player Specials.

• osh_kosh on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:54 pm

yo macha.. Team Lotus & Lotus Racing is the same la… but i agree with your point

• tonimaniam on Dec 12, 2010 at 11:51 pm

TF—mulut wangi hati kepam..

• mirror mirror on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:23 am

Black and gold, great colour scheme.

• haitt on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:46 am

Fauzy released by Tony’s Lotus. Poor fauzy.. what he can do? maybe Lotus-renault would give him a chance?? who knows

http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/88671

• thank god

• frossonice on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:17 am

This is an interesting contradiction. While we Malaysian (at least on this thread) hates Team Lotus (Tony Fernandes) and support Lotus-Renault (a.k.a the so called real Lotus), people all around the world gives more support to Team Lotus (TF) as the real Team Lotus and really hates Group Lotus especially Dany Bahar. Most Lotus fanatics also in support of Team Lotus as it received blessing from the Chapman family and Classic Team Lotus.

I hope both teams have a blast next year. We can really give a good comparison between this two team as they will be using the same engine.

• najibest on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:05 am

err i thought clive chapman recently endorsed group lotus participation in f1….

• frossonice on Dec 13, 2010 at 2:56 pm

then I would assume that Hazel and Clive Chapman will request the famous Colin Chapman’s cap back from Tony Fernandes as Team Lotus is no longer the one they supported?

I get the logic with people supporting Lotus-Renault. Ideally, a car manufacturing company should be the one that will do racing. That will promote their brand better, hopefully.

But you guys have to understand that at this very moment, Group Lotus involvement in F1 is merely a title sponsor although they will definitely give a big help to Lotus-Renault. If they succeed in requesting from other teams to acknowledge them as the real team Lotus that will enable them to use ‘Lotus’ in the constructor name as oppose to Renault currently, they will still be known as Renault when listed in races.

There is no point arguing that TF have no right over Lotus name as it is clearly stated in 2011 constructors list that they are the current real Lotus in F1. Hopefully Dany Bahar’s Lotus Renault will be much successful than Team Lotus coming 2011 season. They will then have more leverage on the name. If not, it will be shameful to lose to a puny team like Team Lotus.

• najibest on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:23 am

and about support to TF team…well mostly the support are from British people since they always have fond memories on the Lotus team…not to mention they’re always biased on anything British….i still remember when Jenson Button won his race with Honda back in 2006 if I’m not mistaken and the announcer was so excited as if Jenson Button has won the world championship…..

the new Lotus Renault GP team is mainly French (they’re still classified as Renault in the constructors championship), based in UK with Luxembourg and Malaysian owners……oh well….

• dickybird on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:31 am

who are you to say malaysians hate TF, he is malaysian also. malaysians would not care about either f1 team since it is a blatant show of profligacy at a time where the malaysian man in the street is being forced to suck up fuel price increases.
      the rest of world loves an underdog and that is why they support TF because they perceive as one.

• trav_da_man on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:34 am

Are you telling that Malaysian are a bunch of glory hunters? If say team Lotus wins will u suddenly say I proud to be Malaysian?

Issshh hypocrities….although I admit TF is a hypocrite at times.

• osh_kosh on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:16 pm

yeah.. only ‘blind’ ppl support Tony…

• yuppie on Dec 13, 2010 at 8:18 am

Heard about Fairuz Fauzy gonna be released. Not sure it is confirmed or what.. It’s good to see if he goes to the other Lotus team, became a driver and do some damage to the old team cause not believing on him… heheheh… that would then adding salt to the injury. But wow! 3 home team in F1.. who would guess that…

Also Bruno Senna will join the ‘Black’ Lotus team is it?… talking about dejavu…

• realist on Dec 13, 2010 at 1:27 pm

Do some ‘damage’? LOL. He is probably doing Tony a favour. Now Heikki and Jarno will have a fighting chance at beating one of the Lotus Renault GP cars. :)

• Awang on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:48 am

Mathematically, having four cars will increase probability of winning. But technically, if all four just have average performances, better think about the probability of losing…

• ismazri on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:29 am

I tought TF released Jarno trulli which always brings bad luck.

• trav_da_man on Dec 13, 2010 at 11:35 am

Regardless what, with 3 teams which has connections from Malaysia, F1 in Malaysia is here to stay beyond 2015!!!!!!

Thanks TF, Petronas and Dany Bahar!!!!!!

• Riad Asmat on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:01 pm

such a fuss and probably the new Lotus Renault team will smoke Team Lotus on track! What a true race sportsmen eh? Tony? just a color scheme gold,black n green what ever la bro.

• jay8393 on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:44 pm

Proton used the black and gold livery on purpose, so that Team Lotus can’t use it. Proton hijacked the idea from Fernandes and claimed they thought of it first.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 13, 2010 at 12:30 pm

I never understood what the problem was with 2 teams running the same colours.
    Its going to be like Torro Rosso and Red Bull.

Regardless, let the best team win.

Sad to say but racing nowadays is a business. You don’t go racing unless you’d make some money out of it. Whether it eventually leads to selling more cars (ie Ferrari or the rest of the works team), or services, its just plainly a business endeavour. Long gone are the likes of Ken Tyrrel, Jack Brabham and Eddie Jordan… even Jackie Stewart didn’t manage to get everything to work. Passion is good, but what pays the bills is money (and a lot of it).

• it is good that in time like this ..1 man prevailed: Tun Dr M

Long live the Grand Ole Man of Malaysia

• Shaufique on Dec 13, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Apa boleh buat, Tony Fernandez itu no matter how successful pun, dia masih bukan Bumiputera. Jikalau diatu Bumi, dah lama dah Kerajaan Malaysia beri dia tu pangkat “Tun”. Tidakpun jadi Perdana Menteri Malaysia.

• Eyesore on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:18 pm

he might be successful (in conning ppl mostly)… but may I ask…. what exactly was his contribution to our country that is so big making him deserving the ‘Tun’ title??? Nuthing, nada, yilek……

if ppl like him getting the ‘Tun’ title it would be disrespectful to the rightful reciepients such as TDM….

• Ferruccio on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:12 am

As far as I know, ‘Tun’ is only awarded after the person retires from service.

Also if you wish to imply that only bumis receive ‘Tun’ think again. Neither Sambanthan or Tan Cheng Lock were bumis

• jay8393 on Dec 13, 2010 at 7:37 pm

I think Lotus Racing could use the Lotus Type 49’s red and gold colour instead for next year.

• squawk on Dec 13, 2010 at 9:11 pm

Black, green, pink, purple… whatever, it doesn’t matter. Results matter.

• osh_kosh on Dec 13, 2010 at 10:56 pm

A famous quote from Leonardo da Vinci to some ppl here…. “There are three classes of people: Those who see. Those who see when they are shown. Those who do not see.”

• rosak2 on Dec 14, 2010 at 12:03 am

Sadly speaking, all this while only Malaysians bash on Proton, mainly because of value-for-money and bad services. But now, with this recent fracas, people outside Malaysia now start to see Proton as big bully, government-spoiled company. Maybe this is the most likely way that Proton goes global after all — by spreading its bad reputation worldwide. 1Malaysia concept what happen? Who is the PM now, Dr M still or Najib?

• tongkai on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:46 am

if the team still representing England, then the race colour is Green. If it representing Malaysia, it wl b Yellow. No Black!

• SoMeOnE on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:18 pm

hmm..if i really had to pick which team is actually gonna be relevant to the sport and most importantly to ITSELF ..my money would be on the Lotus that is backed by Proton and subsequently the awesomely named GROUP LOTUS …( it tends to make u feel like they are a huge company doesnt it???) they Tony Backed team may have had a head start and the necessary personnel but on sheer funding and backing (which is all the sport is about these days) the former is better equipped in the long run….or maybe both will just suck..lol.

i think many are hoping to repeat the ‘miracles’ that were done by Brawn GP 2 seasons back and hoping for a magic debut seaso which explains why a bunch of people with a little or no backin are knockin on f1 this past few seasons (usf1, manor motorsport,that russian team..wth???) i gues many forget that the chassis those Brawn’s were using were actually made by honda who burnt through serious ammount of cash as expertise b4 deciding to jump ship..it was the best chassis on the grid by a mile! and with a strong engine from Merc…it was history!….here’s hoping the whole thing does not end up a joke for these lotuses….

• najibest on Dec 14, 2010 at 1:58 pm

i was reading these 2 proceedings from the UK trade mark office….

http://www.ipo.gov.uk/types/tm/t-os/t-find/t-challenge-decision-results/o02610.pdf

http://www.ipo.gov.uk/types/tm/t-os/t-find/t-challenge-decision-results/o14703.pdf

in the first 1, Team Lotus ventures rights to the Team Lotus name in motorsports activities had been revoked, however, in the 2nd proceeding, they have the rights to keep it for F1 related activities despite non use of the Trade name due to the fact that Mr Hunt has clearly shown that he has been working to get the Team Lotus name back in F1 again……

however, it would be interesting to see the result of the upcoming proceeding since TF first entered F1 using Lotus Racing name with license from Proton, acknowledging Proton’s rights to the Lotus name in F1. 2nd, it was revealed that TF has been a director of a companies which had shares in Team Lotus Ventures for a while. so it think Proton would be challenging that despite an opportunity to reactivate the Team Lotus name in F1 with the entry of the 1MalaysiaF1 team, TF actually licensed the brand from Proton rather than collaborating with David Hunt to do so….let’s just see how it goes….

an interesting thing to read is also about the fact that David Hunt has no plans to enter any lower formulae of motorsports and the rights of Team Lotus Ventures for the reason has been revoked and granted to Group Lotus….so i wonder if Group Lotus would then tell the court that TF’s GP2 Junior Lotus Racing team is definitely not within TF’s rights for using the Lotus brand name and initiate legal action…..