Lamborghini Aventador production limited to 4,000 units

The Geneva superstar that is the Lamborghini Aventador will have a production run of maximum 4,000 units, according to Autocar UK. This figure is quite near to that of its predecessor; Lambo made 4,099 examples of the Murcielago.

The Aventador has a full monocoque made from carbon fibre, and according to factory sources, the CF moulds that are used to construct the monocoque can be used up to 500 times before they have to be replaced. Sant’Agata has set aside eight sets of monocoque moulds for the Aventador project which adds up to 4,000 units.

The carbon monocoque saves weight, helping the new supercar tip the scales at only 1,575 kg. It is powered by a new 6.5-litre V12 has 700 hp and 690 Nm. 0-100 km/h is done in 2.9 seconds while top speed is 350 km/h. It looks every inch the poster king too, click here to revisit our story on the Aventador.

Billionaires, catch the bull while you can!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• khaix19a on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:42 am

sold out already :(

• lkf0512 on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:56 am

Then get one of the car models lor…

• ignoramus on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:15 am

Eh? Sold out?? Where did you hear that?

The 4099 Murcielago production was spread over 10 years. Why would 4000 Aventador all be sold out right after unveiling? Facelifts and variants not even announced yet?

• Arthur on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Haha, yeah. Sold out already. All 4000 already spoken for, right after it Geneva showcasing/revealing. So does the Ferrari FF.

• nebula87 on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:12 pm

NFS, GranTurismo or watever racing games, please include this car into your upcoming games…i want to drive this to RACE~!!!

• Ferruccio on Mar 10, 2011 at 12:13 pm

The car has it’s own official website http://www.aventador.com/

• sproc45 on Mar 10, 2011 at 1:31 pm

CF moulds has lifespan … so have to change the whole monocoque body once expired … what a nice car to have! …

• Ferruccio on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm

sproc, I think you tada paham itu bahasa England lah..

You need to know what ‘mould’ means. A mould is the ‘acuan’ (mould in malay) they use to make the moncoque. The monocoque is the chassis in the car. The mould stays at the factory. :)

• sproc45 on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:41 am

haha, I must have reading it too fast and obsessed with CF bicycle body that has lifespan. Thanks for correcting. Cheers!

• Tak suka BN on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:22 pm

I want to own one!!Must have

• looks like an updated Raventon in red. awesome tech~

• BeemerFreak on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:53 pm

BTW has the official dealer of Lamborghini in malaysia gone bust???? I think Naza should be handling it.

• Ferruccio on Mar 13, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Lamborghini KL is still open. Business as usual as far as I know. It’s in Sunway. Doing just fine as far as I know

• mirror mirror on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:04 pm

I think I must be getting old, all these new lambo can no longer excite me like they used to with the Countach and Diablo. In fact all these frequent limited editions are getting a bit annoying.

• Ferruccio on Mar 13, 2011 at 8:27 pm

It is the Gallardo that seem to have been a little ‘bastardized’ with various limited editions.

The flagship model (Murcielago) didn’t have that many variants but did receive significant facelift upgrade like the LP640. While the LP670 SV truly was a special piece of kit.