Renault Samsung SM7 Concept – 2nd-gen on the cards

The unveiling of the Renault Samsung SM7 Concept at the Seoul Motor Show means only one thing – the replacement for the first-generation SM7, which was introduced in 2004 in the Korean market, is due.

The upcoming replacement is set to be introduced in the latter half of 2011. The original sat on a Nissan Teana/Maxima FF-L platform, and the second-generation offering will be no different, underpinned by a D platform meant for the Teana/Maxima.

No specifications have yet been announced for the vehicle, which features a design concept called “Man in Tuxedo,” but engine options won’t run far from that offered for the Nissans wearing the same legs, undoubtedly – the current SM7, built in Busan, comes in 3.5 V6 and 2.3 Neo VQ versions.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• firefox4 on Apr 04, 2011 at 6:31 pm

wow the front windshield looks like bmw’s..

• Iskandar on Apr 05, 2011 at 8:35 am

If this is a Nissan, Toyota, Honda or Mazda, I’ll definitely put it in my wishlist. The car look damn hot!

But Renault & Samsung? Aiyoo …

• Ronaldo on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:32 pm

dont be katak bawah tempurung………..This is a very good car from korea. infact this car has been on the road for 1-2 years exclusively for korean market only.

And korean always keep the best stuff for own use.

• infinity on Apr 04, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Nice car!
    It will be great if this car is taken by Proton to replace its Perdana…Its looks is more suitable for a Proton compared to the Nisan Fuga.

• Monday on Apr 04, 2011 at 6:45 pm

the rear lights look very similar to the new saab 9-5.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=2010-Saab-9-5&image=12.jpg

• omaha on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Now, this is a beauty

• alfredweinberg on Apr 04, 2011 at 7:22 pm

i like the rear part so much !!!!

• Jack of all trades master of none. Whenever I purchase a product, I’ll go for a company that specialize in that particular industry. What is Samsung?

Can you image a Microsoft car? or Panasonic Table? or Ikea boat?

A company that tries to be everything ends up being nothing. Samsung is like a student in Malaysia trying his/her best to score 18 A in SPM, just for the sake of grabbing as many A as possible.

I did go for the student that score the best result in maths and flunk everything else.

• I agree to your statement.

But it’s a synergy between Renault and Samsung. If samsung put in high computer technology. An unexpected outstanding car may appear.

But regarding the reliability, I dont really trust Renault as well as Samsung device. Samsung hardware is full of plastic that make you feel like their stuff can never last more than 5 years.

• Ya rite…lot’s of european & american car manufacturer are so called specialist as what u mentioned but look at what happened to them. Many filing for bankruptcy already..open up your mind and see things from another angle. Koreans are here to stay!

• Kiddo on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Samsung doesn’t only specialise in electronics, it’s also a big player in constructions etc. If we would to agree with what you said, the KLCC (one of the towers) is a worry too.

• platini on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:23 pm

there is nothing wrong for the company to do diversification. one of the advantage is it may spread the business risk. mitsubishi car and mitusbishi electrical product are quite good in term of reliability.

• samsung is one of the biggest corp in korea…
      study first before comment…

• Yupe, is clear that reader “cal” is totally ignorant about Samsung and just simply comment..
        Samsung brand including:
        Samsung Electronics, the world’s largest technology company by sales
        Samsung Heavy Industries, the world’s second largest shipbuilder
        Samsung C&T , the global construction firms compiled
        Samsung Life Insurance and many many more…

• Ronaldo on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:39 pm

seems like there are alot katak bawah tempurung in malaysia. doesnt seems to know about anything but shoot at anything.

Information from bankers
          Im sure u guys know how big is sime darby rite? FYI sime darby size and business revenue is equivelant to only a division in Samsung group altogether.

aha…….Go think again..

• Kiddo on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:56 pm

forgive him for his ignorance. I suppose he doesn’t read CNN financial news and doesn’t know that Samsung contributes more than 50% of Korea’s overall income.

• clutch basah on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:23 am

Check your facts dude.. don’t look like an idiot. Samsung has the second biggest shipyard in the world and aside from Hyundai they are the second steel fabricator in the world. They also very good at building battleships!! Samsung Electronics is the world’s largest electronics company with a 2009 revenue of $117.4 billion.

Maybe they’re not specialized in automotive but their partners are.. remember Renault-Nissan.. Not sure about you but that is quite a specialist if you ask me.

• Peter on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:37 am

Samsung is like their Perodua in their country due to the protection like Malaysia like that…

Last time Samsung Motor used to partner Nissan …..

However as Renault own Nissan and Nissan whom used to owned some shares in Samsung…..

So it seem like Renault is the big boys now…

For your Info…

Renault Fluence aka one of the version of Samsung cars are assembled in South Korea.

Chevrolet Cruze sedan is also assembled in South Korea…

• Its a conglomerate company, like IOI and sime darby. Similar name with different entities.

• autojohndoe on Apr 05, 2011 at 1:42 pm

you better read about samsung first before commenting… your comment is like put shame on yourself…

• Seriously on Apr 05, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Dude, Samsung cars have been around for quite some time, just that they never made their way globally. But they do cross platform with other known car makers (if im not mistaken). You can literally see bunches of them in Korea.

• guys, do u read my comments? I never mention anything about financial? Did I? READ MY COMMENTS BEFORE U BANG! am commenting on the idea of over-diversification.

I knew samsung manufacture lots of goods, even ships.

The question is, why go for a company that only cares about profit. Look at Samsung, where is the passion? They venture into every single business just for the sake of making $, nothing but $. Their aim is $$$ and more $$$.

I prefer a company that focus on quality and not $. This means Honda, Huawei, Petronas, BMW, Sony, Apple, Microsoft, Google, etc…

A company must be driven by passion, to be the best in what they excel in, not to venture into every single industry just for the sake of making $$$$$$$$$.

• jaybond on Apr 07, 2011 at 12:50 pm

This car looks 100% better than the Teana, on which it shares the mechanicals/platform. I don’t think the Koreans has much input into this model, other the the styling? Which turns out to be exceptionally good. Shame Nissan…

• Ha Gnih on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Next target. Hahaha. Wonder whether is it going to be a production reality or just another concept. Hmmmmmm

• RedLine on Apr 04, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Wow, that is one nice looking car. Beautiful, unique, sporty, yet classy.

• shawal on Apr 04, 2011 at 9:07 pm

rear is a combination of SAAB’s 9-5 and a JJJAAAGGG XJ….

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Apr 04, 2011 at 11:23 pm

rebadge it as a renault and bring it to india to kill the corrolla , civic , jetta and octavia

• clutch basah on Apr 05, 2011 at 7:30 am

What do you mean pit it against Corolla, Civic etc.. dude, SM7 is a huge car, even bigger that Camry and Accord. Picture it in E-segment category like S80, E-class, 5-series.. in term of size that is.

• SoMeOnE on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:09 am

i wonder if it ever fly here..i mean…with that badge….well some malaysians are an exclusive lot ( the people who go for mitsouka’s,citroen”s,subaru’s)..i reckon withsome snazzy marketing..a samsung badged car would have its takers..( i.e. tech geeks)

• slyvester on Apr 05, 2011 at 5:04 am

Yes… like Malaysia…. Proton is more trusted s than Mistubsihi… so Lancer become Inspira can sell more cars…

Actually.. SM7 is like that too… first SM7 is Malaysia 1st generation Teana…. second generation use back Teana platform.. but new body design…

‘Samsung Car’ technology also widely accepted in Malaysia(many Samsung Car aka Cefiro aorund) lor soon to be used in Proton Emas….

• Colin Macintosh on Apr 05, 2011 at 4:16 am

Renault Samsung Motors is owned at 80% by Renault, Samsung owns the remaining 20%.
    The plant was built by Nissan.
    The first models were derived from Nissan.
    Now they are based on Renault platforms (not very different…).
    In Europe Renault Samsung SM3 is called Renault Fluence and SM5 is called Renault Lattitude (with a different front).

http://www.renault.com/en/Groupe/renault-dans-le-monde/Pages/renault-en-coree-du-sud.aspx

• Peter on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:31 am

Go do some research…

Renault own Nissan…

Nissan own Samsung…

So who is the big boy of Samsung now?

Go figure out

• blue ocean on Apr 05, 2011 at 9:12 am

a little bit looks like camry from the side.. but i don’t care! this car is a beauty!

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 05, 2011 at 10:54 am

off topic but….

I really wonder why they brought in the Teana instead of the +1/2 sized Maxima consistent with Nissan’s normal strategy of bringing in 1/2 sized larger cars in every category.

(while I do realize the Maxima only comes with the 3.5L, I’m sure Nissan can put in a smaller engine….. rented one previously…man oh man….that one is sure a quick car)

• redboy on Apr 05, 2011 at 12:01 pm

wow!