Black Beast – Chevrolet Corvette Z06 Centennial Edition

Chevrolet is 100 years old this year, and its legendary model, the Corvette, will get a Centennial Edition to celebrate the milestone. This edition, which features a black colour scheme and unique design elements, will be available on all Corvette models including Grand Sport, Z06 and ZR1 versions.

The CE comes exclusively in Carbon Flash Metallic with satin-black graphics and unique Centennial Satin Black wheels and red brake calipers. The wheels are of lightweight cast-spun aluminium and include a thin red outline on the Z06. A logo featuring the image of founder Louis Chevrolet appears on the B-pillars, wheel centre caps and steering wheel. The seat headrests also carry an embossed centennial logo.

There’s one other small detail. The regular crossed flags badge contains a small adaptation, with “100” in place of the traditional fleur-de-lis symbol in the Centennial Edition.

The Z06 is powered by a 7.0 litre LS7 V8 with 505 hp and 637 Nm of torque. Power goes to the rear wheels via a manual gearbox, so this is a “real man’s car” we’re looking at. Magnetic Selective Ride Control, claimed to be the world’s fastest-reacting suspension, is included on the Corvette CE.

Chevrolet auctioned a Corvette Z06 Centennial Edition at the Barrett-Jackson collector car auction in West Palm Beach, Florida, over the weekend, with proceeds benefiting the Austin Hatcher Foundation for Pediatric Cancer. It’s the 100th 2012 Corvette off the assembly line, with a vehicle identification number ending in “00100.”

More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2141]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• khaix19a on Apr 11, 2011 at 3:35 pm

nice rims….

• clutch basah on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:35 pm

The interior is kinda outdated don’t you think? But the dark mysterious scheme really turns me on

• rapidshifter on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:37 pm

beautiful.. but black will be too hot in Malaysian climate… base on my wife black car…or is it because lack of tint??

• rapidshifter on Apr 11, 2011 at 4:38 pm

ugh.. forgot this car won’t be in Malaysia at all…

• nebula87 on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm

if u rich enuf, u sure will import this beauty to malaysia..XD

• Sexy! Black beauty…

• 98tecknik89 on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:33 pm

wow…looks like knight rider ‘kitt’

• mmouse on Apr 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm

7 litre… road tax > RM20K a year….

• Amazing!

• Thristhan on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Wow, superb car. I dont think it’s here in Malaysia yet right? How much would one of those cost?

• droll on Apr 11, 2011 at 7:38 pm

dunno leh but i find american cars power output per litre usually quite dismal. 7 Litre and only those power figures? :P common, they can do better. heheheh. but hell yeah, this is one crazy machine.

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 11, 2011 at 10:49 pm

its for enough engine headroom for you to slap on a supercharger…or if thats not good enough, you can buy the ZR1.

besides, 7litres will allow you to a do some pretty remarkable things….. like move off from standstill in 5th…and cruise at 120 at 1500rpm.

Trust me, the second you drive one of these big CC’ed car, the last thing on your mind would be output per litre…..

• I'm LLLLL on Apr 11, 2011 at 8:41 pm

7k c.c. who have money to pay the petrol??????????

• aduss on Apr 11, 2011 at 10:35 pm

if you can buy this car you will never worried about petrol or road tax > RM20K a year.. because you are so rich ppl lol.. :) hehehe

• MCdog on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Sexy black! Drool..

• WSL999 on Apr 11, 2011 at 9:55 pm

It’s nice to see major car makers producing as such to woo rich customers from all around. Competing against giant like Lambhoghini, Ferrari, Porsche and etc. More option available:)

• ezracopters on Apr 12, 2011 at 2:34 pm

last night i saw FIA GT1 race.. yup lambo still the boss but the Chevy not far behind. surprisingly with all the hype about GTR, new 0-100 record and all .. still seems to be much more to do to reach em’ par. on paper yes, but on track that matters more!!!

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 11, 2011 at 10:51 pm

3 cars with the most special editions.

1) Chevy Corvette
    2) Mazda Miata
    3) Proton Saga

Proton is in good company.

• this car is like wwf wrestling. all show and groan and muscles fed on ‘roids… strange car for these times. real CO2 champion !

• Chevy Fans on Apr 11, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Happy birthday Chevrolet!!!

• Kumar san on Apr 12, 2011 at 9:10 am

I absolutely love Corvettes,not as refined as their European counterparts or direct rivals,but in terms of “bang for buck”,NOTHING else comes close.Then again,if you want own one here,the road tax alone will kill you,and it still only comes in left hand drive.

Like what 4g63tdsm said,you can cruise at 120km/h at barely above tickover engine speeds-About 1350rpm and yes you can move from standstill in 5th gear.I have done it before,coz the engine is huge and it’s a torque monster.Amazing considering the engine technology is deemed archaic by today’s standards(OHV Pushrod V-8)-But it does the job and is a bombproof motor.The previous C5 generation has whopped everyone’s ass at Le Mans.Nothing could catch it.

This particular model,the Z06 and it’s bigger brother,the ZR-1 has recently got rave reviews for their outright “being shot out of a cannon” performance and suprisingly awesome handling for a car that still rides on leaf springs at the rear with magnetic ride control for both front and rear axles.A revelation for an American car.It also comes with a head up dislay and a G-force meter!

Quite a number of my college buddies when i was studying and later working in the US owned Corvettes.So i have driven all of the generations of Corvettes from the C1 right up to the C5 except this C6,including the Lingenfelter versions,which are beasts to begin with,some of them pushing close to 1000bhp at the wheels on pump gas!!!-Supercharged.Sick.

For outright performance,this car will waste most of Maranello’s best in a standing quarter run,roasting it’s rear tyres almost half the distance.They can hear you a mile away on full throttle and it slams you back in the seat.What a ride!!

Happy Birthday Chevy! Hail the Big Block 427ci V-8.Cheers.

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 12, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Only those that have sampled big amerian iron will be able to relate. Even then, I only had a “smallish” 5.7L

Although my Turbocharged 2.0 is often quite a lot quicker than a good number of them Corvettes, its never the same thing. Driving a Corvette, is akin to driveing a living legend. Even the “unrefinement” adds to its mystique. Slap on a pair of flowmasters and watch it rattle windows and doors.

If one hasn’t seen one in person before. Its smaller than you think. The C6 Z06 that I sampled several times on a track is amazing. Lightweight, power when you need it and most of all, the chassis is so responsive and predictable….one can literary hang the tail out all day (or until you run out of rubber)

So what it still have pushrods and leaf springs……… Long live the Corvette!

• spike1984 on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Knight Rider a shadowy flight into the dangerous world of a Corvette who does not exist
    Michael Knight, a young loner on a crusade to champion the cause of the innocent, the helpless, the powerless, in-a-world-of-criminals-who-operate-above-the-law