Ford Mondeo facelift sighted undergoing JPJ testing!

We brought you a preview drive story of the Singapore plate Ford Mondeo facelift with the new 2.0 litre EcoBoost turbocharged engine sometime early last month, and already the new Ford Mondeo EcoBoost has been sighted being road-tested by JPJ personnel on the highway by reader Brandon Cheah.

The Ford Mondeo EcoBoost pictured here is finished in a brownish grey shade that seems to be getting very popular lately with European car manufacturers. The shape of the tail lamps show that this is the facelift model.

If you want to read more about the facelift Mondeo and the new 2.0 litre EcoBoost engine making 203 PS and 300Nm of torque, refer to our preview drive story.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aduss on Apr 17, 2011 at 1:36 am

wau.. 1.03am masih tak tido lg ker? 1st time tengk plat JPJ.. EcoBoost turbocharged ermm.. good green car..

• rosdi on Apr 17, 2011 at 1:40 am

Good engine but waaay too expensive. The styling also looks dated, not a head turner definitely.

• erm…japanese d segment cars that in same class with ford mondeo are much better i think…still hard for ford to be dominated in malaysian market..

• Even the Korean D segment look much better than Mondeo, how to sell lah like this ?

• jebon on Apr 17, 2011 at 8:19 am

kete james bond ni…dlm casino royale kalau tak silap..cantik..berapa la rege ni..

• wow…. looks impressive… considerable…

• fortminor on Apr 17, 2011 at 9:58 am

i like everything ’bout the current ford cars except for its interior.wish they could make it more like the currrent batch of pugs…the next gen of ford cars should be better, judging by the fiesta interior design

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Apr 17, 2011 at 10:49 am

more forced-induction platform being available in boleh-land

• arroncyl on Apr 17, 2011 at 11:42 am

seen the same car parked in front of McDonald Auto City, Juru on Thursday

• spyrers on Apr 17, 2011 at 11:49 am

Unfortunately, still unattractive.

• maserati on Apr 17, 2011 at 12:03 pm

This car is a total failure in msia and this new engined one will be the same

• ibex7 on Apr 17, 2011 at 1:42 pm

For what purpose the JPJ was testing the car?

• what are the things that jpj is testing?

• RM 180K+-?
    I’d take this right now, no question asked if I have to pick a D-segment car…

• Car Driver on Apr 17, 2011 at 4:14 pm

The back looks unimpressive and expected price of RM180++ is way too expensive. Prefer the cheaper New Jetta 1.4TSI with better fuel consumption

• Seriously on Apr 17, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Nice, good that they brought it in. From the previous post, the price will be an upwards of 180k… just make sure they bring in a GPS version, cause the current radio panel is very counter intuitive. It doesnt look as friendly as the fiesta’s panel to sync your phone up and make calls, plus it looks dated and dull.

• anti-Porsche on Apr 17, 2011 at 6:21 pm

In echoing ibex7 & jpj, don’t quite understand why JPJ needs to “test”. KPC… much the same with other cars. They have a certified F3 driver as “test driver” but for what purpose, only jpj knows. He takes the cars out and thrashes them, showing off his “skills”. Baffling…

• Mattyboy on Apr 17, 2011 at 7:13 pm

downward facing tail pipes on this, could it be a diesel version maybe?

• Muddy on Apr 18, 2011 at 2:27 am

Yup, appreciate if Paul could give some points on why JPJ needs to test the car. Just for general info.

• Kumar san on Apr 19, 2011 at 9:40 am

What on earth are the JPJ dudes “testing” this ride for? Judging by the amount of brake dust on the front alloys,this ride has been trashed to shit.No change in their method from my time then..

Since i do development testing of various models myself as my profession as an automobile enginneer,there was once when i signed off a test mule for these JPJ officers “testers” to “test”(About 5 years ago).I can reiterate that no datalogging equipment was utilized as the basis of their “testing” which i use.

The way they pulled out of our facility at almost full throttle was an indication on how their “thrashing”..sorry “test” was going to be conducted.Needless to say,i had already forecasted what was going to happen.So i kept documented proof & records of the car before i handed it over to them.

Guess what guys? In less than 7 working days that poor test car had clocked an additional 3456km,they used RM2155 of fuel from our petrol card(meaning it was pelted at near cut off most of the time)and both the front tyres was shredded to virtually nothing left.Not only that,the rear damper assemblys were already knocking over bumps,the power steering pump had developed a loud cavitation noise,the interior was filled with rubbish and the car was filthy.Another JPJ “tester” totaled another test mule about a year after this.

Not exactly “testing” or “Ujipandu JPJ” then.They never got another car from me again till this day.Maybe from my other work mates but not from me.They do not know what they are doing,let alone what real vehicle testing really is.They don’t “test”,they “thrash” the cars.You heard it here first.Cheers.

• EB16.4 on Apr 20, 2011 at 1:54 am

what’s the point mannnnnn??????? mondeos weren’t selling well here anyway!!!