Ford Mondeo facelift and Ford S-MAX MPV at SDAC

SDAC must be gearing up for the launch of both the Ford Mondeo and the Ford S-MAX as both were spotted by reader Desmond Choe at the SDAC headquarters in PJ two days ago. There were some test drives going on. Some readers also alerted us of this activity via our Facebook Fan Page (joined yet?).

The Mondeo is the new facelifted model that we managed to have a short go in awhile back, this time in white instead of black. The S-MAX you see here is an MPV built on the EUCD Mondeo platform, which makes it a larger vehicle than the Focus-based C-MAX and the Fiesta-based B-MAX.

Look after the jump for a complete gallery of the two vehicles.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2236]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Speed Racer on May 12, 2011 at 5:10 pm

i wish it had nicer rims

• ericmaxman on May 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm

very inspira like? hehehe

• bot a butthurt TnH on May 12, 2011 at 5:37 pm

beauty or ugly is subjective……

i’ll drive around with that rims anytime….

• hehehehe………if the rim on inspira it’s suck always…if the rim on a conti car it’s ‘beauty on the eye of the beholder, subjective shit and stuff’ hahahaha

• lonelyobserve on May 12, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Better ask SDA to provide a range of rims, instead of fixed and ugly rims default package.

• Richard Ho on May 13, 2011 at 9:38 am

Confessions of SDAC……

Ooops, I got my priority wrong. My breadwinner Ford Focus, the car that I sell quite a lot, I have forgotten to facelift despite in Europe a facelift and new model has come out.

My Ford Escape also, I forgot to facelift despite overseas markets having a totally new model and different engines.

I am however giving a facelift to the model that hardly sells well in Malaysia, the Mondeo.

• Peterpj on May 13, 2011 at 10:20 am

I think SDAC’s new breadwinner is the Fiesta. Besides, the MK3 Focus is waiting for the new factory in Thailand to be completed – importing the MK3 Focus from Europe is going to make it much to expensive.

• mini cooper freak on May 12, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Everyone is now following the LED trend, including Ford.

• chk4122 on May 12, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Paul, any news on B-Max or C-Max?

• chk4122 on May 12, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Paul, any news on the B-Max and C-Max??

• rulered on May 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm

The second row for S Max seems to really huge, maybe there should spare some length for the third row. Anyway is the S Max using same engine as Mondeo as to give a little idea of the pricing. Any chance of diesel version?

• ericmaxman on May 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm

something to go against those oh-so-common JDM people carriers. sweet

• And bring on the diesel tdci…that will be a trump card…huge torque, low fuel consumption…perfect for MPV

• bot a butthurt TnH on May 12, 2011 at 5:34 pm

coollllll………. supercool…

stream eat dirt!

• sepul on May 12, 2011 at 6:18 pm

yes, mondeo rims look outsized and not very attractive.. the Y design is cool

• droll on May 12, 2011 at 6:30 pm

FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the SMAX HAS ARRIVED!!!!!!! woohoo

• brian on May 12, 2011 at 6:57 pm

prices???

• vw_fan on May 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm

the interior looks very solid and well built from the photos.

i might consider the smax if i am looking for a people carrier.

• vw_fan on May 12, 2011 at 7:50 pm

i think the smax will be priced around RM220 – 240k.

• Critique on May 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Nice looking pair… Looking forward to seeing more of these on the road…

Cheers :)

• i love Ford Mondeo.

• lonelyobserve on May 12, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Hopefully the S-Max has EcoBoost engine like Ford Mondeo.

• JasJos on May 12, 2011 at 9:02 pm

I hope so too. Depending on the price, I might go for the S-max ecoboost over the Pug 5008. Looks like it comes with Bi-Xenons and some sort of park assist..

• actually, I would prefer the TDCI engine – I think the UK version has the 2.0 TDCI or the 2.2 TDCI.

• S Max will sent those Dinosour Korean MPV Taxi Naza Ria back to Jurrassic Era.

• Dont talk nonsense please, those Ria are already aged. And you seemed like to bash Korean cars…

• TurboMan on May 13, 2011 at 2:54 am

Ah jolo the korean car hater.

Good for him. Now we can all ignore him.

• bot a butthurt TnH on May 13, 2011 at 9:18 am

naza ria what?

it’s a van in pop yeh yeh era….
        BTW, smax and ria shudnt be compared as they are diff in few things… if u said rondo, then, it’s goin to be ok….

FYi now we have starex….

and i think, in it’s class , it’s among the finest.
        Super diesel….. shame it doesnt comes with power door….

• If SDAC really serious about S-MAX, merely bring proven Ford turbodiesel. Focus 2.0 hatchback diesel simply drive better than Golf TSi.

Perhaps, banking on correct pricing, new Focus should offer diesel below than 2.0l too. It can attract many buyers.

• Is a sad thing that Ford cars are so overlooked by Malaysians these days. The Mondeo and the S Max would definitely outperform its rivals in performance and handling and is surely my choice over the Camry, Teana, Pug 5008, Estima etc…Btw, these new Fords looked great!!!

• Is a sad thing that Ford cars are so overlooked by Malaysians these days. The Modeo and S-MAX will clearly outperform it’s rivals in performance and handling, and being CBU units, more better in quality as well.

But the resale value may not be as good because is not from Japan. Nevertheless, I will still choose the Mondeo and the S-MAX over a Camry, Teana, Accord, Peugeot 5008, Estima etc.

Oh and btw, the facelift on these cars looked great!!!

• Lim Kopi on May 12, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Trust me, being a ex-owner of the Focus, the resale factor really can hit you hard till feel …. WTF m I buying one of these ???

Agree that drivebility is top notch ….. but thats just about it…

You have also worry about Reliability, Scarcity of Spare Parts, ppl asking why you buy this brand … etc. …

Still think Mondeo is great spec tho …. PAUL TAN – Whats the price ?

• BeemerFreak on May 12, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Price the Mondeo ecoboost same as the current 2.3L sales should improve.

• happyone on May 12, 2011 at 10:48 pm

the Sony player just looks so attractive to me.. -.-

• Wisdom on May 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm

If i may suggest,

The foglamps on the smax looks out of place. While the headlamp have some hint of Rondo.

Yaya… beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I’m not ‘the beholder’ this time. next…

• bot a butthurt TnH on May 13, 2011 at 9:20 am

i agree about the fog lamp…… but the rest of it, totally awesome…

• Rulered on May 13, 2011 at 9:44 am

Depends on which car the Smax is competing with, I reckon probably putting the pricing in between Grandis (163k) and Mazda 8 (195k) would be nice, maybe 175k?

• 4g63t dsm on May 13, 2011 at 10:24 am

Thats the danger. Given Sime Darby’s reputation (or the lack off) managing Ford, the Pug 5008 may be a more logical choice given its pricing. Hard to bring oneself to pay 30-40K more or what is the same category car.

The other car that we keep overlooking is the C4 picasso

Althought he Grandis is old, it is also HUGH and one step up from these compact/midsized MPVs.

• I would think that the S-Max is very close in size to the Grandis and even the Mazda 8. It rides on a D-segment platform whereas the 5008 rides on a C-segment platform.

If people wanted something HUGE and OLD, the Naza Ria wins hands down :D

• S-MAX is big, but the real big comfy people mover is the Ford Galaxy.

• Grandis is a gas guzzler if compared to this S-Max..albeit in diesel form

• Gavin on May 13, 2011 at 1:57 pm

If SDAC can drop the price of spare parts lower, it will be a great buy. Otherwise buying original parts from SDAC will eventually see parts replacement costing more than the car itself

• Bring Ford F150 into ASEAN market, especially Singapore where there is no Ford trucks there.

• ynnad on May 13, 2011 at 7:32 pm

SMAX DIESEL DIESEL DIESEL DIESEL

When will people realise real MPVs need the extra torque/grunt??

Screw the diesel is inferior image. I can live with the diesel clatter as the $$ saved on fuel is well worth it.

• SDAC is killing the Ford, Alfa brand …… the pricing with such big fat margins …damn
    Ford cars good but how many on the road, resale sucks and so is Alfa too.

SDAC/ Auto Bavaria is only doing a great job selling BMW … what else ?

• Wisdom on May 15, 2011 at 1:24 am

They’re not killing the brand. As the authorize dealer, they can only do the least.

They might be able to drop 20-30% of the retail price if they can rebadge the car to ‘SDAC” or ‘Sime’. Not that easy though.

• the S-MAX got pimples on its face..