Gallery Recap: 2010 Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Boon

Just two hours more until we’ll be able to reveal to you the full details of the new 2011 Perodua Myvi. We got a preview of the car late last month and the embargo will be lifted at 9PM tonight, where we’ll legally get the clearance to publish all we know of the car so far.

We’re in the midst of putting on the final touches of our full story, that includes the full technical details on the car, hi-res pictures inside and out, and some brief driving impressions of the new compact hatchback.

As you all know, the first generation Perodua Myvi that was launched in 2005 had Japanese siblings named the Toyota Passo and the Daihatsu Boon. It later even got a Subaru badge and was launched as the Subaru Justy.

That Japanese-badged car eventually got replaced with the car you see here in this post, with its design shifted from something rather unisex to a very feminine design. The new 2011 Perodua Myvi remains unisex in its outlook.

Look after the jump to check out the 2010 Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Boon, something to refresh your memory while you wait for the unveiling at 9PM.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=840]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=841]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ericmaxman on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:35 pm

i doubt the new myvi has any relations to this new sirion..hmm..i might be wrong though

• huiyoo on Jun 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm

myvi is a girl car. enuff said

• Frankly, even though maybe hate, boring due to overwhelming Myvi on the roads BUT actually everybody envy to the P2 since Myvi is national best selling car ever. 500k and counting is awesome.

I will miss Passo bench seat and enough to say that Myvi in the latest incarnation is worthy for anyone looking for practical car. Premium auto RM50,400 will be favorite l bet

• learner on Jun 16, 2011 at 10:16 pm

let say i drive latest accord, why must i envy myvi? even if i drive persona also i will not envy myvi.

• En, yea.. You sound like more of a person driving a Savvy. Kudos to you!

• learner on Jun 17, 2011 at 9:48 pm

OMG, why you choose savvy not persona or accord as my ride? than you drive myvi?????

• is the launching ceremony will be on air? if do so, what is the channel will be? thanks

• Asrul hezly on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Compare to their Daihatsu boon or Toyota passo, I believe the Japanese would jealous with the myvi 2011 in term of design. The Japan design seems classic.

• is it live on TV or what>?

• first on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:17 pm

nothing new to expect from the new myvi….rather consider it as a major facelift model of the previous model…anyways lets wait n see if the top spec has anything special to offer us MALAYSIANS other then a not so convincing touch screen display

• first on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:18 pm

nothing new to expect from the new myvi….rather consider it as a major facelift model of the previous model…anyways lets wait n see if the top spec has anything special to offer us MALAYSIANS rather then a not so convincing touch screen display

• lalazhai on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:29 pm

let the bashing begins!!!

• google on Jun 16, 2011 at 8:40 pm

why malaysia petrol very high?
    At Saudi Arabia it just 0.53cent per litre..

• they also cant vote
      their women cant drive, cant work
      and the list goes on…………………………………………..

• Luckily for P2…toyota & daihatsu had never release their boon or passo here. Or else P2 sure “kena” bash just like Proton when it release the re-badge Lancer as the Inspira.

Anyway, P2 owned by Daihatsu which is owned by Toyota.

• haha, my friend – Ah Boon sure loves this!

• johnson on Jun 17, 2011 at 10:29 pm

how come got one big hole on the centre console for manual Myvi 2011 model/
    to put what?
    bloody fool design!!!
    must

• Lanjau on Jun 19, 2011 at 12:02 am

yeah yeah cheapo myvi owner cannot swap to boon or passo tail light so easily now

• Valentine on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:19 am

How much is the toyota passo 2011 model?