VIDEO: Drama at the Super GT over the weekend

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motberg on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:15 pm

That’s typical of the Malaysian mentality! How can we cheer and clap when it’s an accident? Sigh…

• the driver deserve it..its not about typical Malaysian.

its about the DRIVER. get it?

• but i pity the 2 ferrari drivers that got innocently hit though. worse thing is, on the track, there is no insurance.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Who cares? The one who bang him gotta pay for the lost beh.

• ilovesferrari on Jun 22, 2011 at 1:58 am

not fast… but furious…

• If the guy got the money to buy the Porsche, I don’t think he have problem to pay the Ferrari spare part.

• alldisc on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:16 am

well this is a clear example of drivers we face everyday on the road – arrogant, from the super expensive supercars right down to myvi and saga drivers. are they stupid, or just retarded??

• the entrance fees is including insurance la bro.. if no insurance u die on the track also just like mati katak mcm tu jee??

• Marco on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Lan si driver… Cant wait to show off. I think in the first place the briefing was definitely never to speed. Its just a gathering for the malaysian book of records. NOT A RACE! Pity the Ferrari(s!) Luckily the lan si chai didnt swerve into other cars at the sides.

• insperut on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:00 pm

ever heard “With great power comes great responsibility” ?

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Schumi once said….it is not about how fast you go when u hit the throttle, it is about how fast you stop when u step the brake pedal……

the lesson on “Fast in, Fast out” – Schumi way

Alain Prost – Slow In, Fast Out – Boringggggg
        Schumi – Fast In Fast Out – Superb
        Senna – Get out of my way, u slow moroon !!!! – Kabangggggg……….

• hayden on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:34 pm

this is what we called “maharaja lawak”!! nice one bro! =P

• lan87 on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Bro, best bro…
            Barang baik punyaaa…
            ;)

• Peter Parker on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Spiderman on the hot wheel?

• Wisdom on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm

People wont clap if that was an incident between old uncle driving 120y and lady driver driving kancil at old trunk road…

People clap coz this is the track, where people wanna show off and boast of their driving skills, while at the same time failed to measure his braking distance….

Clap clap… yeah u’re an expert (or an a$$hole)

• motberg on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:28 pm

I think the issue here is most people are jealous of the Porshe driver as can be seen from most of the comments here. Who cares if he’s a rich, spoilt brat? Life is memang unfair. My point is this (if it’s worth anything to anyone) – what kind of impression are we giving our visitors with our reaction? And to “Wisdom” I ain’t an expert but I can be an a$$hole if I choose to!

• Wallstreet on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:57 pm

I will cheer too if I were there. Most of these people who owns these cars have limited skill in handling the car but yet trying to show how good there are. I laugh again when I saw the front page of The Star today, a Lamborghini and a M5…side show after Japan GT.

• i agree.. this is typical malaysian mentality.. why? somebody want to argue? ok, find.. u go hit someone on the road, u just see, how many people willing to help instead of just seeing.. 98% will stand there macam pak guard and watch it.. it happen to me few month ago when i hit one proton saga, i already baring on the road without anyone come and help me to stand or move my bike.. they just stand and see.. me myself have to stand and move my bike.. same as this.. somebody accident, they clap.. i not its hard to see ferrari on the hit in front of eyes..

• Langkah berjaga-jaga. takut kau patah tulang kat dalam badan..

angkat kang..lagi teruk. paham?

• mancis0131 on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:01 am

Yups agree with u. People should learn about medical & law a little especially when people involve in accident. If anything happen to that person (yg eksiden td la), probably that person can sue u. Baru nak tolong saman yg dapat. adoyaiii

• alldisc on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:23 am

could not agree more with gear, a person with internal injuries could have worsened and even die, kalau salah angkat. tak pasal kena charge murder pulak.

• padan muka on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:57 pm

serves u well then..n why did u the saga in the 1st place??reckless people like are dangering others..

• u never watch nascar right?

• Proton lover on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:53 pm

The Porsche driver is just an idiot. Do you think fast cars is all about power? If you can spend so much on the engine please think about spending some for the braking and pay more attention when you speed. If not, please don’t drive a Porsche.

• artworkz on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:21 pm

the idiot is red ferrari, its rev even the front car ord stop. porsche just follow ferrari .

• alldisc on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:28 am

clearly the driver is an idiot, failing to pay attention once behind the wheel.

young chap, i must say with low experience.

• artworkz on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:19 pm

even happening is UK or US, u will oso hear clap n cheering!

• Halo, this is actually the highlight of the show, must clap la. GT500 and GT300 are only the side show.

• lalari on Jun 22, 2011 at 11:12 am

give way… give way…hao lian people driving… i hit you not my problem…

• Barium on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:20 pm

morale of the story, with that much power, u would need hell of stopping force too :)

• skiborne on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:31 pm

he needs that volvo brake alert thingy to be fitted on his porsche that soon will be changed to a new colour and different no plate bcs now the whole malaysia knows him. btw he looked so “f*** what am i gonna do!” in the 3rd video

• Have to disagree…. moral of the story….keep ur eyes on the road & other driver, and NOT on the GT Queen….LOL

• Sonic on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:20 pm

ohhh man ! u can buy a myvi using the cost to repair both of the ‘ beast ‘..

• 1st……………………….!
    and i am watching live over there when the car crash.

• jimmy on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:23 pm

the driver should get himself a myvi. suits him more

• Dato seri on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Nice one. Wanted to show off then bad luck happened. Don’t drive too fast if you don’t have the skill to control your car boy.

• stupid on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm

they were really embarrassing infront of those japanese ppl…..memalukan malaysian…cannot drive then dont drive and blame others….i was in the gt club room and that porsche owner kept on blaming others….what type of mentality?

• Monday on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:10 pm

my goodness, what’s there to blame? he was just not paying attention. that’s all. proof is in all the videos recorded.

• Shiraz Faruqi on Jun 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm

obviously the porsche dude only got money but no sense. oh well… biarkan luncai terjun dengan labu-labu nya… a fool and his money are soon departed

• Bravo ABS.. Bravoo.

• udasalleh on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:30 pm

the spectators must’ve been bored like hell to hoot that much. Must be the height of excitement for most that weekend.

• malaysia boleh!

• Iylia H on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm

the 9 sec wait for the first video was worth it! and I can’t remember how many times i re-played that part over and over again.

And I think there’s no need to mentioned about Malaysian mentality. That’s how a cocky driver should be treated. BRAVO!

• Drama lepas race lagi best.. Lamborgini vs M5.. mungkin that Lamborgini tension tengok GT race Lamborgini makan asap BMW..

• stupid on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:42 pm

lambo crash also….malaysian driver…..haih…cant drive then dont berlagak la…

• wah if got video i want to watch

• VoidDance on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:13 pm

…and they both crashed, leaving Lambo with total loss and M5 with bruised ego.

• so don’t show off if you don’t know how to handle you car….that will show your stupido in lambo car…..

• Estimosis on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Too much (power) , too little (skills) , too late (knowing the first two)…

• What a shame porsche driver.
    Don’t have skill to drive r??
    Just give your car to me laa …

• khylie555 on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:42 pm

what makes you thing you have what it takes to drive a porche?

• the porsche driver wasn’t paying attention. simple as that. silly lapse of concentration.

• Ha Gnih on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Drove a GT2 once and seriously, the ceramic brakes are impressive. But yeah, lack of concentration, apa brake pun tak guna. The faster you go, the more attention you need to pay, but in this case, I think the driver too syiok looking at those audience at the grand stand, feeling glamorous and then “Crash, Boom, Bang ala Roxette” Hahaha

• Hameed Koyakuti on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Porsche gila mana???

• see, thats how ABS works..

porsche with ABS = bangg !

Myvi with ABS = kebaaboommm banggg bangg boomm

• ZenZarray on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Because MyVi kebaaboommm banggg bangg boomm is…
      MyVi ABS=Aku Brake Sendiri
      Porsche=Anti-lock braking System…Hehehehe

• ini mesti proton driver yang tak mampu tukar keta myvi baru, ahhahahahahahah

• Knoxx on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:16 am

Apa kehei le ni.. post ni pasal porsche, yang tiba-tiba korang masuk brand lain ni nape???

• Macam lah Protong bagi semua kereta dia ABS, you drive those Persona B-Line, M-Line, break belakang apa? Drum brake! I called it Dumb brake.

Kekekekeke.

• Speed Racer on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:48 pm

nooob

• Ha Gnih on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:54 pm

With so much money to waste, at least sign up for some super performance car workshop or something. Haha. It’s seriously stupid

• haha…let me drive la if dunno how to break…^^

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:08 pm

perhaps if you learnt to spell “brake” properly first.

• misai omar on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Haha..how can to “break” if the tyre no flower. Break only eat if the tyre got many flower.
      ( Haha..typo..grammar and vocab error..sorry ah )

• Forgive that guy for making a small mistake. I just can’t understand people whom highlights others’ small mistakes and make fun out from it. A typo is just a typo, just leave it as it is for as long everybody understands what the writer trying to say.

Try to “direct” translate this sentence:-

“Saya tekan brek-brek tak makan, saya tekan brek-brek tak makan, saya keluar dari kereta dan terlihat tayar tidak ada bunga lagi”.

“I brake-brake no eat, I brake-brake no eat, I out from the car and see tyre no flower”.

• bombe994 on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:06 pm

What a cock-end … honestly …

• carazy on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:08 pm

ouchh.. money cant buy skills.. the driver should go for performance driving school 1st b4 he can drive fast car though… this driver will make our Malaysia road a dangerous, because they jz have a money to buy a fast car, but dont know how to control it.. menyusahkan org lain..

• Wisdom on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:11 pm

“The overall brake system includes components such as the brake pedal, the brake callipers and the associated ventilation and cooling systems. The models are equipped with high-performance brake systems to cope with their high power outputs. Porsche has always been renowned for brakes offering exceptional deceleration and reliability during prolonged use. A brake system which has already withstood the most stringent tests on the race track is optionally available for many models: the Porsche Ceramic Composite Brake (PCCB).”

quoted from Porsche website http://www.porsche.com/microsite/technology/default.aspx?pool=uk&ShowSingleTechterm=PTBrA&Category=&Model=&SearchedString=&SelectedVariant=

• Vincent on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:11 pm

I don’t think they are driving at high speed… why porsche cannot stop har?

I tot Porsche having one of the best brek system in the world…?

• Lightning McQueen on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:37 pm

ITS THE DRIVER ON THE PHONE… OR BUSY SMS LOR

• bohpee on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Late braking maa…

• Its not about how good or bad the brakes are. Even if you got the Veyron stopping power if you brake late or miscalculate your stopping distance surely you gonna end up crashing. the Porsche driver was careless. being able to own that kind of car doesnt make you a good driver.

• burppp on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:43 pm

even if he were able to stop in time, i guess he will end up sandwiched between ferraris.

• nonce on Jun 21, 2011 at 6:45 pm

but if you look at the video properly, both the ferrari and porsche was speeding.and the f430 managed to brake just a few centimetres away from the California. so it was a chain reaction and its just that the f430 was lucky and the porsche wasn’t.

• LE buruk on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:15 pm

Porsche owner look young……perhaps just lousy teenager who used daddy money show off…hahahaha…

• The owner of porsche is lousy. Always want to show off but you are dumb….dumb kid that always use papa money…… hehehe~

• OMGGGG on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Wao.. So many nice sport car on the track… luckily accident happen on track n not on the road like the Lamborghini with BMW M5….massive jam,petrol burned all d way just bcos all SIBUK see the result….

• droll on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:31 pm

i can only say one thing – there are a lot of rich people in m’sia!

• Dato seri on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Yes a lot of rich people in Malaysia but these rich people that ‘makan duit rakyat’ and spend like crazy buying expensive cars, houses etc. These kind of people because they can easily get the rakyat money they dont appreciate what they have/owned. To them if 1 car gone they can easily buy another one. Been there before and most of these people have becoming a millionaire because of duit rakyat!

• Dato seri on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:50 pm

It’s a fact but many people dont know. In Malaysia all I can say is you can easily become a millionaire if you have found the right connections. I myself made a million when I’m at the age of 28.
        My friend got this tender from one of government agency and he made RM12millions just on the Interior design and another RM10millions in IT. This is net profit after giving some to the government top mgmt. And my friend only 34 yrs old back then. And to these people spending of RM10k to RM20k for a day shopping in KLCC is nothing.
        And that’s the tip if you wanted to become a millionaire in Malaysia. Right connection is a must :)

• jimmy on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:59 pm

but some rich people also work hard. less atention to their children. thts why their son become spoil brat and buy a porche.

• Dato seri on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Those who get rich because of work hard maybe in minor percentile. I don’t blame the children because as a parent where the money should be dump into if not the children. If you’re a millionaire, you don’t care about what your children going to spend your money for. But of course you have to teach your children how to spend the money wisely :)

• LauBeh on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Obviously the porche driver have more $$$ than skill. Now, he might need to trade in his budget Porsche to pay for the Ferrari bumper lol.
    Moral of the story, Ferrari have better brake system than the Porsche ^_^

• To the porsche driver, Lau Kui la..

• mimpi on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:27 pm

These cars are all road cars and are not to be driven on the track.
    With track temperature in excess of 50 degrees their tyres
    would be the first to go. Trust me I have been there and
    the tyres just degrades after 1 lap. More so for comfort range & softer
    compound tyres – even whatever ABS/DTC will make no difference.
    These young inexperienced drivers are just show offs.
    Rich man’s kids , arrogant lot with lots of money but “empty” upstairs
    and not willing to spend $$ on advance driver training courses.
    Its an embarrasment to see these people on the road and paints
    a bad image to the motoring community.

• lazyf on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:37 pm

That Porsche’s driver is bimbo…lol

• ilhadi on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:47 pm

It’s a minor scratch. That will buff right out.

• mahen on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:20 pm

I think the Porsche driver was a moron who does not know how to control his car……

its a track you dunce, everyone speeds up …. just make sure you look in front and apply your brakes timely… typical malaysian way of driving….

go back to driving school… hope you had enough pocket change for the Fezza repairs man…..

• chris on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:21 pm

the best crash was on ELITE H’way after the event… lamboghini crashed.. 5km traffic crawl..

• mahen on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Bottom line, the Porsche driver is a moron …. its a track you dunce…. everyone is speeding up…… keep your distance and ensure you are looking in front.

Also keep your foot on the brakes as well and not impressing the crowd only… very unprofessional. ….

Very embarassing …… sure hope you had enough pocket change to fix those Fezza’s…..

• kinkin on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:24 pm

i know the driver. seriously it was not the driver’s fault. it was the defect on the porsche break system.

• LE buruk on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm

driver fault la…always inspect your car before go out…these moron just know how to show off…serve him well…..

• Its Me on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:21 pm

Rubbish.

He was trying to show off by driving fast. He’s an idiot. It was a car parade. 404 other cars had the patience to drive safely and he was the only prat that screwed up.

I pity the poor California that got rammed.

• ceramic brake not yet heat up? i can see the driver did not brake hard enough.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:18 pm

yalor……when accident happened, always blame the car…blame car, blame car….

Hello?????? Its the driver that controlled the car la. Without the (dumb) driver inside the car, the car wont even move half an inch……..

YOu think the car is like KITT, can operate by itself izit??

• Karimsopian on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Yeah right Mr. Kinkin.

Yesterday, we had one two-doors-sports-BMW what-model-i-don’t-really-care tailgated us while I’m driving a Toyota Wish with my family near one utama. Perhaps it’s not the driver’s fault he’s tailgating me. Perhaps the throttle was too sensitive and got some defects need to repair. Is that so Mr. Kinkin?

I know not all people who drive big cars are shitty people. But most of the time, I can safely say that they are. Giving high beam like they own the road, tailgating dangerously, swerve in out in traffic like mad and like to show the finger when people don’t give way to their antics. What la..

And this guy tailgating us yesterday was a young boy chit chatting with his girlfriend and got P sticker on the car. So brave and irresponsible young lad.

No offence, but serves him right (Read: the white Porsche driver).

Owh, btw, you know the driver Mr. Kinkin? Send my regards and invite him to visit Paultan website ya.

• so NICE~ .. to pay back.. OUCH~

• Radzuan Jugak on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:28 pm

anak dato or tan sri mane yg drive porsche tu? cuba cerita sikit. just in case bapak dia politicians, boleh kita vote out bapak dia. ingatkan bapak je lembap, anak pun sama!

• Savior on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:29 pm

huh I thought the Porsche driver got his eyeballs stuck at the race queens and hence the crash?? :X

• insider on Jun 20, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Well, actually i can see it might be the organiser fault, since they left the middle of the road as the speed off ground, the marshals must not allow any cars to stop in the middle of the speed off area. i think they lack of experience in organising such a big event. This is a good lesson for msia organiser coz the owners must have F the marshals for suddenly stopping the cars infront !!!

• amirulgt3 on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:43 pm

good point of view. this may be the secondary reason why the crash happened. by the way, it’s still the driver’s fault who doesn’t pay much attention

• participant on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:32 am

As one of the drivers on the track, I have to say you are somewhat on the right track.

This would not have happened if the marshals did not lose control.

The first row of cars moved off orderly and smoothly, but slowly.
      Halfway through the second row, impatient drivers in 3rd row cannot tahan anymore and started to move to cut out into traffic. Too much heat, too much ego. Summore, 4th row cars also started to move to cut out.

Marshals lost control of situation and it got chaotic. Up front, they stopped the remaining cars from second row (that’s why u see a row closest to grandstand) which also included cars that had cut in. As they stopped it, they moved cars in 3rd row to the front, and they halted the row just after the pit exit, with marshals signalling to stop. That’s why all the cars were stopping, and the cars behind thought it was go go go and the Porsche wasn’t paying attention and kena bang.

In true sohai mentality, I saw a silver Porsche try to nudge out of his lane, even though the marshal was yelling at him not to, and standing right in front of the car.

You should see when these guys convoy, it’s a mad mess of speed, over/undertaking and silly risks. While many of them have track experience and some actually do race, there’s always some noob somewhere who’s in over his head and that’s what makes the headline news.

• boyarque on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:17 am

Really? Gosh..

It’s one thing to cut into traffic on a busy highway, at least you can say you are going somewhere urgent….but on a RACING TRACK? In a PARADE? That’s plain, obnoxious, arrogance and stupidity all rolled into one!

I guess for some people, too much Ringgit leaves them no cents (sense)….

• participant on Jun 21, 2011 at 4:43 pm

I agree with you.

Personally, from my experience here and from the interstate drives, most of the drivers are pretty decent, and they do respond to instructions and generally keep it clean. Speed, yes, but they mostly do it on deserted stretches.

There is, however, a sheep mentality that pervades – if one fella cuts out, the rest will follow suit. They will go as fast as the fastest person. They will use the e-lane only when they see someone else use it.

Then there are a few guys out there, and they do drive a bit recklessly, and they are impatient. I’ve seen F430s chase each other across three lanes into the emergency lane. I’ve seen R35s suddenly slow to 80km/h while cars further behind are going twice as fast, so that they can drag race each other. I’ve seen one particular F360 cut in between lanes – yes, in between 2 cars in adjoining lanes – cos he and his red gloves cannot be patient enough to wait for them to move aside. There is a general sense of obnoxiousness and arrogance that a few of these guys have – they will not have waited for the marshals to guide them, as taking instructions from them would have conflicted with their patience.

So I’m personally not surprised that this happened on track, the moment I saw the first 911 cut out, I knew it’ll go haywire. Supercar ego has no space for others on a piece of road ten metres wide. It’s getting frightening to see what these guys get up to on the road. I have to say, though, it’s a few apples that do spoil the pie. In general they are a great bunch, very friendly and enthusiastic about their cars. They will also contribute time and effort for charity. For the most part, they supercar bunch are decent. But this does not excuse those few from the craziness they pull on track.

While I know many would like to judge based on the cars these people drive, and the money they have, note that only a very few individuals would be deserving of such judgement.

• It’s okay for his car to be broken, that he should be proud cause he promote GT in Sepang. Whole wide world watching the video.

• redboy on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Thats why we have some many accidents on the road…

• thought this only happens to Toyota, sticky pedal maybe?

• Danny on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:28 pm

u cant put all the blame on the porsche driver. everyone else was revving and speeding at that point, and they all got like 100m to do it. when it comes to the porsche’s turn, he only got like 50m and he didnt expect the ferrari in front to brake so late, hence the ensuing crash. if you see the video again, even the other cars behind the porsche almost hit the porsche as well, cos they didnt expect the short distance. yes he was a bit careless, but under those circumstances, u guys probably would’ve hit the ferrari as well.
    and by the way, they were revving those cars not to show off, but they’re doing it for the spectators, who were expecting the sweet sound from the V8s and V12s and etc. If they all drive slowly and quietly, it would not have been very exciting, would it?

• yeah yeah yeah..revving up. sweet sound of v8 and v12 bla bla bla..

it doesnt mean u cannot use the break. come on lahh

as a sportcar owner, u have to be alert ! not just revving up…but, know how to use the break..AND your eyes !

pay more attention on the car infront !

• thats why manual car are much better! they can rev with their clutch press on.. and do some wheel spin.

• Danny on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:33 am

real mature Sam. anyway, i was just trying to explain the reason for the crash. i know the porsche driver is at fault, but given those circumstances, you guys might have done the same. instead of just blaming, try to understand what happened. by the way, it’s brake, not break.

• amirulgt3 on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:34 pm

it’s not about braking ability. of course those exotics like Porsche and Ferrari has superb braking capability. the point here is the Porsche driver is not paying good attention. he did stepped on the brake but it was too late. plus i don’t think only Malaysian who will clap when they see such incident. every normal people will surely like “owh damnn!!” then clap too.
    p/s: feel really sorry to those who involved

• The Lambo and M5 accident proven RICH people are same as MAT REMPIT, only different shape by their status and machine.

• Spunky Brewster on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:47 pm

Well, KC Ng,

Not exactly the same, at least the M5 and Lambo owners don’t go robbing or assaulting people, nor they drive onto incoming cars…

• potato on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:05 pm

The Ferrari nearly hit the white Ferrari, or probably gonna bump it looking at the distance left right before the impact. The white porsche obviously couldn’t brake in time but it could have switched lane to avoid the crash.

Also can someone explain why the sudden stop as there’s nothing infront of the 1st car.

• participant on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:45 am

The sudden stop happened because marshals in the front were stopping that row just after the pit exit. There was 1 marshal right at the front holding up the first car, and there was a female marshal on the right about 10-15 cars back telling people to stop. Unfortunately the Cali/360/Cayman bunch was a further 10 cars back so they didn’t get the memo.

Marshals were doing this to stop the entire bunch on track so they can regain control and allow people to exit row by row, starting from 1st row (stationary and closest to grandstand). Unfortunately people behind were still impatiently cutting out and contributing to the chaos.

• anti-Porsche on Jun 21, 2011 at 11:34 am

Great observation participant:
        From in-car point-of-view, it was randomly done. there were 4 or 5 rows. marshals randomly let 10-15 cars go from one row. stop. release another 10-15 cars from a different row, not necessarily the next one. very dangerous and abrupt.

Organiser’s explanation, didn’t want to make the front cars angry. I think this is not acceptable. it should’ve been row 1(closest to grandstand), complete roll out, then row 2, and so on and so forth, until the last row (next to pit wall), or even the other way round. BUT IT HAS TO BE GRADUAL AND PROGRESSIVE AND CONSECUTIVELY DONE! oh well, damage has been done. we all live to argue another day…

• DArkerMarker on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Kopi-0 license ka????

or

Must be syoik sendiri, waving at the spectators……and them kabooommmmm…..

• skiborne on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:27 pm

i guess the cayman driver will surely be changing his car colour after this. and perhaps the number plate as now the whole malaysia knows what kind of driver he is… btw is that the cheap running lights that can be found on cars in KL?

• mmouse on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:52 pm

looked like a 911 to me…

• GTR35 on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm

I don’t think the Porsche owner will repair or change his car color. Sure sell the car and buy new one or better still buy a Ferrari cause have better brake LOL

• vxxxxxx on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:39 pm

those most lousy driver in town trying to show off.

• aminlife on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Most probably all drivers aware the rules & regulation.etc that they shall line-up in track. Porch driver sudden speeding and crash is another story. (dream-day). Something curious here… how and why did ‘they’ let participant cars line-up side by side then let other cars speed/start in the middle of track? with knowing or not this would make this warming-up exercise at risk? and fun ? :-?

• Kevin on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:11 pm

bunch of show offs with average driving skills

• Driver is bloody rich to be able to own a porsche, but his driving skills is utter crap. Can’t even brake properly at such low speed. What an embarrassment. Actually there are many luxury car owners who have driving skills of a 17 years old. Nothing to be surprised of. Rich but useless drivers.

• aminlife on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Most probably all drivers aware the rules & regulation.etc that they shall line-up in track. Porch driver sudden speeding and crash is another story. (dream-day). Something curious here…hehehe how and why did ‘they’ let participant cars line-up side by side then let other cars speed/start in the middle of track? with knowing or not this would make this warming-up exercise at risk? and fun ? :-?

• izzat on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:18 pm

dang!
    jeremy clarkson gonna loves this video.. :D

• ttooyyoottt on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:21 pm

wow,, all the muscle supercar,, awsome!! but what the hell Civic doing there??? LoL

• It is both teh organisers and the drivers fault. The track is already narrow with cars stopped on both sides and the drivers of the exotic cars are all pumped up to show off their cars but at the expense of the safety of the other cars and drivers lined up on both sides of the track.

Any seasoned track driver should know safety is the first thing that should be in their mind especially in situations like this. The drivers were driving way too fast in poor conditions.

• farizY on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Noob driver, please pay full attention when driving…..honestly, I can’t think of anything much more embarrassing….

• transformer on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:55 pm

is it a parade lap that suddenly need to stop ? or what ?
    this shouldnt be happening…. front vehicle sudden braking causing this accident, why sudden braking ?? can anyone share why front vehicle stops ?? driver / track marshall stop ?

SIC should investigate this accident…
    Did SIC brief participant the rules on track… of just let them loose freely…..

• sfssd on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:39 pm

1 thing I noticed, the Ferrari sounds like he’s gunning it into 2nd gear, but instead he braked hard and stopped, probably Porsche driver thought he’s speeding up, because the Ferrari sounds like at the top of his rev on that gear…

Probably fooled anybody though…it’s the human sub-conscious mind thingy, reaction much faster than thinking especially on track. he should trust his eyes more than his ears……

That’s the thing about Ferrari, they sound so sexy and leave others hypnotized. Apart from that, the Lotuses and Aston Martin sounds really good too….!

• lchan on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:43 pm

haha…thats farking embarrassing. What even more embarrassing, is suddenly, everyone think they can drive with their comments here!!!…

• donanoni on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:51 pm

porche driver must have acquired the flying licence back in the days. better buy 2nd hand kancil and practice shifting gear properly

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:06 pm

looks like the Porsche tried to run away but got no where to hide. It would be too cynical to say that he deserves it but i guess he learnt his lesson.

• luckyboy on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:37 pm

must clap!! a race is boring without accident.

• A.faizry on Jun 21, 2011 at 12:04 am

Driver’s fault. Period

• c14man on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:19 am

wow~!! such a spectacular crash… but it’s just a small knock.
    i think the red ferrari driver has to bear part of the blame. he’s too syiok trying to rev up so fast in such a narrow lane, when all the cars in front are just cruising slowly. and naturally the white porsche follows suit, revving up but his slow reaction cost him dearly.

a case of 2 idiots. >_<

• http://www.ohbulan.com/lamborghini-murcielago-pecah-berderai-di-lebuhraya-sepang/

part of that, there was a major accident at sepang higway involving LAMBORGHINI MURCIELAGO & BMW M5…. HANCUR!!

• SoMeOnE on Jun 21, 2011 at 5:46 am

‘after this drive slowly u know’…lol…the 3rd video was hilarious coz they way the guys reacted….the type r guys there can be considered still ‘normal’ as opposed to ferari and porsche owners in terms money in the bank and they reacted the same way as all of us would if we saw a ferari crash into a porsche or something ….nice to see an honest reaction for once…lol….

• 98tecknik89 on Jun 21, 2011 at 9:11 am

porsche driver is sure gonna be embarassed with so many pics n video

• paparazi on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:05 am

so dumb driver! don la LCLY.

• Porsche drive is hot!

• participant on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

This is the series of events that led up to the crash:

1) 405 cars on track in 4 rows, drivers hanging out in the sun. It was hot as hell there. Drink water. Summore need to pee.

2) Get back in car, blast air cond, watch car temp go up. On track was 44 degrees according to my car thermometer.

3) Watch as first row slowly moves out…. slowly. 2nd row will have to wait 10 more mins, 3rd row 20 mins and fourth row maybe a good half hour.

4) People get restless in car, and their impatience cause the first fella in third row, a silver 911, to try to cut out into second row. Naturally, people start to follow cos they’re all impatient sheep. Not only that, when they cut out, they happily rev it a bit, cos in the company of all the V8s and V10s and V12s, have to show a bit of penis too.

5) Marshals go nuts, they lost control. I saw the older marshal guy screaming like mad… he was not a happy bunny. So they stop row 1, and try to stop row 2 after pits, so they can restart row 1 in an orderly fashoin. People zoom off to show off a bit and also get some air into their cooling systems, but the Porsche driver wasn’t looking where they were going and we have what we have.

6) After this, at the turn 14 exit to support paddock and tunnel underneath, EVERYONE was being super careful and cautious. That was like 3 lanes into 1.

• wonder where they gonna get it repaired.

• kimball on Jun 21, 2011 at 10:49 pm

the Porche driver was just showing off to his Papa on the passanger side by saying, ” look papa, no hands”..

• Giving chance to own any of these cars, One should be able to afford renting the whole track for his/her own use. So track experience should not be an obstacle, this was more like driver not knowing how common sense works.

And by the way, SIC or the Organiser can blacklist the marshal. No one should stop the stream of cars when they are moving, especially fast moving. Same like no one would halt the moving cars on highway. Consequences are the same.

• iphone4 on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:30 pm

wahh… langgar cam tu je.

ooowww …lagi best…

ooowww…lagi best..

ooowww… lagi best.. lagi best..

dear, bro2… any pics of lambo hit m5 (ELITE) just after porche hit ferrari?

• PADAN MUKA BODOH PUNYA Porsche driver. berlagak ingat power la tu bawak kereta nak tunjuk hero depan org… hahahahahahahahahah

lucky i was not there.. if i was at the grand stand ill laugh at that idiot surely…

hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha