Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has launched the facelifted Inokom i10. Besides Hyundai’s new corporate face, the latest i10 also comes with an improved 1.25-litre Kappa engine. The range now consists of three variants, an entry level 1.1L, 1.25 standard spec and 1.25 high spec, priced at RM47,988, RM50,688 and RM53,988, respectively.
The 1.25 Kappa engine’s main improvement is the addition of Continuously Variable Valve Timing, or CVVT. Power and torque figures are also up on the previous non-CVVT unit – 86 hp and 120 Nm versus 79 hp and 112 Nm. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 5.3 litres per 100 km. There are no changes to the 1.1 Epsilon engine, which churns out 65 hp.
Both engines are paired to a four-speed automatic gearbox. The i10 uses Hyundai’s Motor Driven Power Steering (MDPS, another name for EPS), which helps with fuel economy.
Besides the new face dominated by that trapezoid grille, the i10 1.25 also spots a new rear spoiler and rear bumper plus elongated combination lamps. The bigger engined variants also come with new wing mirrors with LED indicators. There are also new design alloy wheels.
Inside, the instrument panel is now illuminated in blue (used to be green), with the addition of a digital display. It shows a digital fuel gauge and gear position, things that were previously not available. The audio system has MP3, USB and AUX input, as well as a remote control.
Spec wise, equipment exclusive to the 1.25 high spec are ABS with EBD, dual front airbags and fog lamps.
New meter panel (bottom) compared to the old one. Ignore the MPH reading, ESP light
The i10 1.25 Kappa CVVT is available in four colours – Alpine Blue, Ice Silver, Crystal White and Oyster Grey. The 1.1 can be had in the same shades, except for Oyster Grey, but with the added choice of Stone Black and Champagne Gold.
The i10 is one of our favourite small cars; read the review of the pre-facelift i10 Kappa here. More pictures after the jump.
Facelifted Inokom i10
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2368]
UK spec Hyundai i10 facelift
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2367]
Ermm.. what will u choose? Myvi or this?
Here in 'Bolehland' we choose Myvi…why…'In Japs We Trust'! xD
Still chose MYVI cos is Myvi. Malaysia Trusted BRAND. heheh
myvi lah~
I choose Proton also wont choose this korean.. All cant trust.
me in boleh land,so i buy car the economic for boleh land people…. bolehhh
Myvi's rival is here, but Myvi will still sell like hot cakes…
i think myvi lagi best is better..
Simply too expensive for such a car, should be priced around the Viva. Nothing that attract my attention, would not be buying this even for a third car.
I like the new gauges Reminds me from Hyundai Genesis Coupe (the instrument gauges are shown on LCD displays) like the one from Myvi, Lexus, Genesis, Caddilac cts etc
they removed the temperature gauge?
It looks like it.
That's the trend these days
big mistake in Malaysia…once you realise the red blinking,its too late
So sad… why all carmakers removing it? :(
save costs.. :)
a very nice facelift but with the price increase, i think potential buyers will think more than twice XD
Just wait for the new 1.5 Myvi launching soon.
Tis car outlook look ok,but the spare parts gonna cost a bomb if anything goes kaput !!!
You're like waiting a cat to have its horns appear. There's no 1.5L engine option for the new Myvi, only retaining the old 1.3L engine.
Oh wow is that ESP light in the new panel I see?
Guys, that new meter pic is from the UK spec i10, just to illustrate how it looks like.
Ours will differ slightly – no MPH reading, no ESP, but with auto gear position in the digital display.
with that price tag? kappa engine?
cacat
Just wait for the new 1.5 Myvi 1.5 launching soon.
The car look alrite but don think it well sell like hot cakes!!
such a hefty price for a small car? fuhh i rather get a Persona.
RM47,988 (price b4 999 years loan) for a small car with kappa engine? ho yeaah!!!
Not bad at all…good look, decent power but for this asking price, better get a persona.
A Inokom badge? or Hyundai badge?
inokom outside… hyundai inside?
Inokom badges are only placed outside the car. You can ask the salesman to change it to Hyundai ones for free.
THis car looks cheap, the price not.
I think you should drive it before commenting. The i10 puts many larger cars to shame when it comes to the drive.
Very true! vee…
Tested the new cvvt 1.25 and i should say the car heavy . Korean still behind japs.
Don't talk crap here. Heavy can be a good thing, as the body of this car is much tougher than, say, a Myvi. In fact, as good as those little European city cars.
betrayer!!! We should support Malaysian car.!!!! My fren have i10 now,she feel so regret now. Many problem.. engine sound look like motorboat..
Inokom is a malaysian car, a rebadge one! Just like Naza, Perodua & some Proton models (inspira)
Aee.. I think u mean National Badge only.
100% copy 0% innovation.
Naza didn't even CKD Forte they just screw the 4 door.
Pity those worker come out from Naza & Inokom plant only know how to screw door & stick badges.
i will wait for the new Kia Picanto
yeah….keep on waiting! Once it's out…keep waiting for another model pulak..hahaha
Why everybody comparing it with Myvi just because the prices are similar? I thought the size of i10 is only comparable to Viva, Suzuki Alto and Kia Picanto based on those I've seen on the road. Myvi is slightly larger both in size and engine capacity and should be compared to larger car like Suzuki Swift or similar size/engine capacity vehicles.
In Malaysia, majority of people will still choose P2 because of price factor alone due to NAP a.k.a protection which makes P2/P1 vehicles appeared cheaper than CKD'ed foreign cars. The second reason is because Malaysians are obsessed with Japanese technology. The third is because of availability of spare parts/after sales service. The combined 3 factors will lead to a 4th factor – higher P2 second hand sales value. However overseas (e.g UK, EU), with all these 3 factors being similar, the new Hyundai i10 has been getting positive reviews compared to exported Myvi. I'm not a P2 supporter but based on the reasons I gave earlier, ALL P2 cars are gonna sell like hotcakes in Malaysia.
Out of Luck
Please note that Inokom i10 is getting same tax rebate as P2 Myvi.
Their consider National car despite local contain of i10 is minima.
So the one getting unfair treadment is P2.
Really? If what you said is true, then one should to get Myvi if car size matters and i10 if fuel consumption matters because spec for spec wise, both Myvi and i10 are comparable.
In terms of fuel consumption, the Viva and even Savvy win. But in terms of size and design, I'd rather pick the i10. The only worry will be the 2nd-hand value, as there's still a perception among Malaysians claiming that Korean cars are very hard to get spare parts, even though more and more workshops offering the Korean spare parts. For me, as long as there is strong demand for Korean cars, the supply for their spare parts will definitely grow as well.
you are wrong, the i10 does not get any tax rebates
P2 is national car status while Inokom Hyundai is only local CKD
If it is really just an CKD it would have use Hyundai logo.
The only reason why it get Inokomised is becoz of the national car tax rebate.
The difference is that P2 is allow to produce as much as they like, but i10 have limit (if not mistaken 20k in total) but that would last them for few year, n they can reapply with newer model.
U can bluff other reader but not me, i know this since Atos time.
IT IS A NIPPY NICE CAR BUT THE FEUL CONSUMPTION IS A BULLSHIT STATEMENT ..MY I10 GIVES ON 60KM/RM10 WORSE THAN MY ACCENT 1.5….AND SIME DARBY CLAIMS ITS NORMAL GIVING REASON DRIVING STYLE.AND THE DOOR LOCKS OFTEN MALFUCTION AND CABIN CAN HEAR SQUEEK NOISE….GET UP LA SIME DARBY…
as usual, manual transmission lovers are ignored
Is a "Lady Like" Car so don't expect manual trans.
Infact manual trans will soon become a extinct specis in Malaysia road.
:-( i m too Manual Trans Fan
a choice for those not wanting a car like everybody else..
Saw the real car at showroom yesterday, Some how i noticed the front light resemble New MYVI.
RM 53,988 that RM 1,300 extra from current model.
As i said the more porpular Korean Car get the more expensive it going to be.
Disagree fully on the last part. As every car gets popular, the price increases. In fact, all car brands do the same thing, so don't try to single out the Korean carmakers Jolo.
you are totally wrong…
1st of all the front lights resembles the tucson, which is hyundai's new face.
2nd koreans cars are not getting more expensive bcos its more popular but rather bcos it is getting newer engines, better safety and better specs.
My bro has the 1.25 kappa at home, and I was quite surprised when I drove it. I did test drove the 1.1 auto before and found it to be sluggish. But the 1.25 solves that, its nippy and very quiet too. Its a little expensive, but it offers better drive and fun compared to Myvi and Vivas.
I was surprised too with the Kappa pre-FL model when I test drove it. It was, in many ways, similar to how a European minicar would drive
Might test the FL Kappa to see if there's any improvement.
Put a 1.25 engine into a A Segment car surely nippy.
Just as Forte Koup using same engine as Sonata 2.0 surely it would be more nippy.
SD is really greddy A Segment car with the advantage of National car tax rebate still cost 54k this is a real rip off.
Myvi don't have 4 airbags or 4 star crash rating does it?
Picture shows two side airbags on the seats but I don't know if CKD version is the same. Note that even bigger santa fe and sonata claims 5 star crash rating but the testing was with 6 airbags and the cars sold here are with two airbags… just like the Inspira… yeah Naza for being the only car below 100k with 6 airbags and as tested 5 star crash rating.
Checked the specs for local market i10, 2 air bags, ABS EDB r for High Specs Only.
Normal Spec 1.25 Kappa & 1.21 Epsilon empty car (No ABS, No EDB, No Air Bags)
Anyway i10 only have 4 star NCAP (according to SD website).
Only Naza Forte 2.0 have 6 Air Bags (1.6 Two Air Bags Only.)
Good move by Hyundai!
my little sister bought the 1.25 variant and was shocked ,it was very fun to drive and zippy too.
i'd buy 1 for the economy and fun drive factor, just that its abit expensive and smaller in size.
my wife own i10…. yup compared to myvi… i10 got a better ride n handling…interior quality is far better than myvi..outlook also better…
If I want an expensive fun, nifty car which has good safety feature and ratings I'd buy a GTI. If I were to buy a sensible little car to take me from point A to B I'd get a Myvi.
Emm…better HP n torque than new Myvi
Speaking of MyVi, I have not seen any new facelifted MyVi. What happened? So long since the launch and none on the road yet.
Saw one "lagi best" cruising on the street today… Frankly speaking, the car was ugly and looks "lagi boring" than the previous myvi..
it has ESP!? :O
No ESP. EPS got la.
Prolly went to P2 showroom, saw the actual car and ran away screaming "Ugggglyyyyyyyyyyyyy"
Very well engineered car! sooo much better then any other Malaysian cars!
I will select this over the Myvi. Myvi too much car on the road orady..at least its different :) Myvi outlook want to vomit already since seeing too much already..
This car would put Viva and Myvi to shame if gov don't slap it with hefty tax. Why? Test drive it, feel it. The car is more stable, handle better, build feel like a larger car instead of the holo milo tin feel like Viva. It is a global car that is sold to european market instead of jaguh kampung MyVi where u drive with a long dull face everyday, taking corner like u are going to turn turtle. The only properly design P2 car is Kelisa, others are just made for the greedy Malaysian who think bigger size for less = best e.g. MyVi Alza
Agreed fully. I had one of the first i10s, an Inspire edition 1.1 while my Accent was in for some warranty claim works and a dent repair. And despite being absolutely down on power, it was still very fun to drive, given the fact that it has a heavier body which aids more secure handling. Fuel consumption, as usual, is annoyingly heavy, thanks to that old Epsilon engine.
The meter pic caption should be EPS rite? not ESP.. :P dont have esp for this car..
Seriously expensive for a small car. This is going to a turkey for Hyundai Sime Darby.
Is i20 & i20x ever going to come to Canland or r we going to stuck with Old Getz & Matrix untill 2020 ?
I guess SD still tons & tons of unsold stock.
Is i20 & i20x ever going to come to Canland or r we going to stuck with Old Getz & Matrix untill 2020 ?
I guess SD still have tons & tons of unsold stock.
R they going to Skiped 1 generation like Kia Spectra (skipped Cerato) then Forte. :-(
Very expensive little car and would love to consider one if only it was around 40k. Come to think about it, the Saga is much bigger and also around this price only.
THE FUEL CONSUMPTION IS VERY HIGH..SIME DARBY CLAIMS ITS FUEL EFFICIENT BUT ITS ALL BULL SHIT…MY I10 GIVES ME ONLY 60KM/RM10 ,WORSE THAN MY ACCENT 1.5. AFTER COMPLAINT FILED THEY CLAIM ITS NORMAL AND ACCUSE DRIVING STYLE….NOT PROF AT ALL…WHATS THE POINT THEY GAVE 5 YEARS WARRANTY? DOOR LOCK ALREADY MALFUCTION,ONCE ON A/C GOT SQUICK NOISE FROM A/C MOTOR, AND CABIN GOT NOISE…GUYS BETTER LOOK FOR BETTER CAR(ITS ALMOST 50K)….THINK ABOUT IT…I AM A HYUNDAI CRAZE BUT I MISS KAH MOTOR QUALITY
Kah Bintang today is not the Kah Motor years ago. I bought a car from Kah Bintang and my nightmares began. It's full of unscrupulous people from Sales to Service Centre.
what model , the one you own?… Is it the 1.25 CVVT engine?
many here talk talk talk .. talking sh it, mostly never test drive or even seen the car before. bodoh sial.
hyundai i10 1.25 kappa cvvt got 5.3L/100KM whereas myvi got 14KM/L..people buy car nt by looking at the exterior but the engine!!
the fuel consumption of myvi is high n the new design sucks..people buy car by looking at the engine!!
While my wife’s Atos Prima was being repaired at Hyundai Glenmarie last year, she was given an i10 with the old 1.1 Epsilon engine (same as Atos’) for 2 weeks as a temporary replacement car. Power-wise, nothing to shout about but I kinda agree on the ‘big car feeling’. I drove it hard and fast and normal, just to test it, and It’s actually suprisingly stable for its size. FC for the old engine wasn’t good for my taste but its understandable.
Ive driven Viva and on technical terms I cant say which car is better but overall driving experience is better on the i10.
After testdrive both i10 & Myvi, I’ll choose the i10 as a second car for city drive.
i10 really wins out on it’s handling over uneven roads/bumps & NVH.. cannot hear the car engine at all while I can hear in Myvi. Myvi’s pros is of course it’s slightly bigger cabin.
If it’s my only car, I may choose older Myvi, the latest one’s dash is really ugly for me :(
I so agree with your dashboard statement.
I took one look at it and….
went to book and i10 =X
setelah membuat perbandingan Myvi & i10:
Myvi positive : space, price, re-sale value, famous among Malaysian
negative : body quality (stiffeners), a bit bumping, ride & handling
i10 positive : refinement engine, body quality (4star NCAP), ride&handling, recognize among world automotive journalist
negative : space & re-sale value (predict will be positive base on current trend)
pilihan terbaik untuk hyundai i10
www.whatcar.com
www.carbuyer.co.uk
www.autocar.co.uk
i had bought an hyundai i10 1.25L cvvt full specs.. the fuel consumption is very high compared to toyota vios.. the fuel efficiency said on hyundai website is nt true..
Kalau bandingkan i10 dengan suzuki Alto, which one better?
Hi saya ada kereta hyundai i10 first model ..saya mau bodykits harganya berapa?