MAA Vehicle Sales Data for August 2011

MAA Vehicle Sales Data for August 2011We kicked off the first installment last month, and here it is, the second one – we’re pleased to present the vehicle sales data in the country for the month of August, courtesy of the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA).

The data of course lists the sales figures from each brand and each model sold in Malaysia, as submitted to MAA by the manufacturers. As before, we’ve put in the previous month’s numbers for comparison (in this case, July’s), and updated the year-to-date (YTD) numbers to see how they’re doing so far as the year progresses.

Having spent a fair bit of time crunching the numbers earlier today, you’ll find some new model listings in the table, as well as some corrected YTD numbers – the base data can be a rather hefty thing to process, and we’re all too human, it seems!

The table includes features such as the ability to sort alphabetically as well as by number of units sold. Just click the column headers to sort. There’s also a little search field at the top right of the table so you can filter the list down to the specific model/brand you want. Bear in mind that the figures are only from official distributors, and grey imports are not included.

[table id=8 /]

Though by and large there are no big surprises, there’s still a fair bit of ebb and flow present, compared to last month. As always, discussion on the matter is welcome.

Source: MALAYSIAN AUTOMOTIVE ASSOCIATION

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:43 am

malaysian people y u buy chery????? great to know malaysia has 6 suzuki kizashi’s (Y)

• treblecase on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:40 am

When did they start selling kizashi here?

• chuakz on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:07 am

suzuki kizashi haven’t launch…they special order? or showroom car?

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:23 am

I also wonder why people buy Cherry particularly Eastar. No offense I really can’t think of the reasoning behind buying one. Is it any good?

• kington on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:52 am

I think given the price people are attracted to the space offered as well as that 2.4 GM sourced engine.

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Thank you Kington. Actually my friend recently bought Cherry Eastar, the 2.0 variant. Any other reasons for example cheap maintenance, good SC etc.?

• easter on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:37 pm

cheaper…alot freebie n extra discount…longer warranty… interior better than Exora…

• err... on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:40 pm

so easy….poor ma…

• This is a prove that Malaysian like Chinese car.

• I wonder why there aren’t any Jaguar cars on the list ?? Where are they . The Jaguar XJ and XF. Wonder how many on the road so far for the XJ, an extreme refine car

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:00 am

Well, actually, that’s a good observation. Think it’s prolly that Sisma doesn’t submit its numbers to MAA. Will need to look into that one.

• I see it seems they wanted Jaguar to be recognized as a rare masterpiece car haha. What about the New Ford Mondeo Eco Boost ? Non had registered so far. Car that are self imported I guess are not in the list as well like those in Naza

• Paul Tan on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:59 am

The Mondeo EcoBoost has only been previewed not launched.

• LanunFX on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:23 am

Instead of relying on Manufacturer/Dealer submitted number, maybe MAA shall compile data from JPJ new car registration or PUSPAKOM inspection record for more accurate picture of registered brand, model, volume per month, then we don’t have any car left behind from the list

• Paul Tan on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:58 am

It is a nice idea but realistically MAA is an
          association of manufacturers and dealers, why would they care about grey imports?

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 5:09 pm

many samples were brought in as imported used, XF fetching prices around 400K. imagine price for new ones…

• am totally interested at who actually bought the LHD Camaro…

• Carl Wong on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:01 am

More than 3500 Honda Insight hybrid on our roads now :]…!!!!!

• Why more peoplr buy Sentra than Latio?

• It’s a family sedan, Latio is more for young guys. It’s like Persona is better than Gen2.

• personally to me, sentra are more good looking rather than latio…hahaha latio small n weird look too..

• How come more people bought Sentra than Latio?

• dragonkiat on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:09 am

Why there is a Suzuki Kizashi sold in August and 6 units sold over the year ? Is this car launched in Malaysia already ?

• Wei Kiat on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:12 am

Is Suzuki Kizashi launched in Malaysia already ? Why there is 6 units sold over the year ?

• langit hitam on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:57 am

I saw 1 White Suzuki Kizashi last night(26/9/2011) at USJ9 White Mosque (Al Falah)

• EVOVII on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:24 am

Still got people buying Lancer instead of Inspira?

• Ressler Motors on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:31 am

Funny, I never heard of the Myvi until now!

• bcos ppl here are sick n tired of all the publicity stunts by perutdua already!!

with all that marketing gimmick, the myvi still cannot beat the saga sales YTD.

• pijulrs on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:03 am

Wow…proton saga the best selling car in malaysia now.Myvi second place.Im shock seeing Stream 1.8 just only 500 unit sold this year.

• dude, pls read again!!!

• fazlisan on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:24 am

overall sale dude, saga is hihger than myvi..please read..

• haha.. my bad..
          saga from 1985-2011, it is the champion!

Then u happy now?

• squall_shinoda on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:07 pm

That number is for 1-year data la idiot… not from 1985…

• haha..
            1st comment is base on month, then u said base on “overall”?
            so better i mentioned from 1985 lo..

only a fool call others idiot, i forgive u!!!

• true for the Year-to-date sales figure.

• blue-traveler on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:43 am

but in over all total sales figure; bottom line, P2 with just 3 offering still beat P1 total year to date sales. 114+k to 113+K cars. and P1 have 8 different mod. I hope P2 will come out with a totally new line of car soon.

• yes, the smarter ppl knows perutdua has only 3 models. but to the general gullible public they have more than 10 variants…..just go open their website and see.

• Typical Toyota strategy. Same model with many many different variants offered. Like Vios; J,E,G,S, Sportivo, etc. Perodua, SX, SXi, EZ, EZi, now lagi power lagi best, extreme ed, special ed. Don’t know what’s next.

• under power engine sell at 150k.
      come on lah, just use the same 1.8 in civic for such a big car.
      even the 1.8 feel fatigue in civic.

• Meesai on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:43 am

Wonder who bought the Chevy Camaro..hhmm..

• wake me up when september ends on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:10 am

kia forte not bad…suzuki swift okey2 aje…proton saga walauwehh!…but beware perodua myvi lagi power lagi best…next year maybe mayvi no1…ford fiesta good,owner kat fesbuk pun lwk2 je…vios still laku gila..i thing Man Utd fans choose vios than honda CITY or vios laku sbb ade manual? hurmmm….civic kalah kepada kreta segmen D iaitu camry?!!

b-segment imports overprice…bgus beli pikap triton/dmax/hilux/navara
    wanna hear a joke ? NISSAN SENTRA…lol..

• Littlefire on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:48 am

Nissan Sentra is sold mainly as Taxi now… if u want to buy it is still available as Sentra Sport..

• CHONG KAT on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:09 am

as expected, perodua is a liar.

• Kenapa Naza Rondo dan Honda Stream 1.8 jualan bulanan bawah 100 unit. Honda Stream maybe faktor harga tp Naza Rondo rasa macam worth buy. Adakah stigma terhadap made in korea masih menebal? why malaysian? Chery Eastar pula kalau tengok antara bulan 7 dan 8 berlaku peningkatan yg agak drastik. 241 ke 342 unit. about 40% increase. Exora jualan bulanan sure2 leh tapau semua MPV import. Jg ada peningkatan hampor 20% pd jualan Nissan Grand Livina. MPV import plg laku.

Hyundai Starex lg la dahsyat. Peningkatan 10x ganda @ 1000%. 10 ke 109. Both Mazda 6 dan Mazda 8 jualan bulanan amat menyediahkan. Maybe sama macam kes Honda Stream demand kurang utk MPV above RM 150, 000 dimana jualan kurang 32 unit sebulan. peningkatan yg drastik bg Mazda 8 dari 4 unit kpd 28 unit. 700%. Demand untuk Mitsubishi Grandis dan Peugeot juga krg 100 unit sebulan. Tp Peugeot macam ada peningkatan 100% dari angka 40 ke 80 unit. Tak tahu apa formula Toyota pakai. Avanza kekal sbg atr peneraju MPV import walaupun spec kurang dan harga boleh la kata a littlebit overprice utk mpv mcm tu.

• Chilavert on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:12 am

nope u’re wrong. the best selling non national MPV is still Grand Livina. Avanza is old already. Malaysian willing to spend more to get better product. New Avanza will be launched end of this year so maybe after that they can compete with Grand Livina.

• some salesman must so stress, wonder how they survive when sold under ten units.

renault only sell 2 models? n only 2 unit sold each on july n none on aug?

porche lg laku..

• RedBeanBun on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:33 am

BMW5 is selling more then BMW3 in total..
    Merc-E is selling more than Merc-C in total..

Malaysian is getting rich…

Kia is in the wrong hand of AP King, Kia could have done better. AP King will focus in PUG more (but numbers in Bolehland still so so, so they export I guess), and don’t be surprise the Korean bolt on AP King.

See how ironic is we promoting National Protong, and yet AP King used the grey linne to earn the money, and doing export PUG, but the NAP exclude other big camp to come Bolehland setup.

The more ironic is, news come out NAZA might buy up Protong! Now you see really who gets all the money…

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 5:15 pm

merc C class and BMW 3 series mostly sold to private buyers.

many E class and 5 series were sold to companies for other purposes, including tax deduction.

• taboogen on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:52 am

can i be the 2nd camaro owner…i think there is 1 ford mustang here in malaysia right why not in the list and how about ferrari owner

• labuyot on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:17 am

honda ade ape2 plan x utk ensure sale city xkan ‘tertinggal jauh’ berbanding vios mcm skang nih?

kalu city facelift nanti harga pon ‘lifting up’ memang lg jauh tertinggal la jwb nye

• Masked Ryder on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:22 am

Look like my prediction was correct, Sonata sales down all the way, judging on amount of complains that no surprise, Rondo same fate.
    Over priced i10 & it’s little bros Picanto sales r disaster.
    Great ! 1 unit of Getz was sold last month as well this month.
    Korean 1 & only best seller Forte is still behind less equip Inspira, not to mention similar price King of non National mighty Vios, even City sole more despite smaller & less equip.
    Korean Fairy Tales Drama is loosing it glem.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:51 am

Here comes the korean boo boys…… hey don’t be so naive and comment the same things over and over again, i guess most readers are bored on those saying how good japanese cars are over korean, or how good korean design over Japanese. Consumer preference doesnt mean those cars are junk. If that were the case can we say the Honda Jazz is a junk? It is still a great car just not many prefers it.

• mizzuddin on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:11 am

followed a sonata on karak last weekend.. it wobble much, only around 130 and it utilize 2 lanes..
      i don’t think sonata have a good RnH.. visually.. but i love the pucuk paku rear lamp

• tat is driver’s problem dude!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Come on, there’s no manufacturer in the world which rolls out cars that wobble and use two lanes at 130 km/h. Sleepy driver is more likely.

• Masked Ryder on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:14 pm

Waa ! Danny ! Hard sale Hyundai i see ! How come no helping hand when other brand been bash ? Don’t publish time if it in anyway dent ur repo, i understand ! Really i do.

• mizzuddin on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm

hahahaa… visually… it wobble at 130km/h…
        maybe the driver have not familiarize his sonata cornering characteristics yet…

and i always wonder… how the journalists drive the test cars… how people who plainly say bad things about local makes and praise foreign actually drive their ride…

• MiniCopperFreak on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:15 pm

I am done with that fairy tail after my 1st korean car. Utter rubbish.

• so in other words you are saying that your jap God (Lexus LS460L ) is a total piece of junk since it sold only 1 unit in august and ZERO in july compared to the Merc S-class n 7 series which sold total 47 and 18 cars in that 2 months?

in bolehland, a good car doesn’t guarantee good sales, and a bad car does not guarantee bad sales.

• Mask Ryder on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Well your highnest King,

As i said before “Brand Value”, Malaysia consumer have fixed value on car, eg C segment Korean = RM 80-85K C segment Japanese 110-130K, (That why Forte sales & Avante/130 don’t) D segment Korean 130-140K D Segment Japanese 150-170K (That why only 2.0 Sonata sales & 2.4 don’t) & so on..

Maybe Lexus 460 is a better car but according to Malaysian Rule of thumb German twin B have better value than Lexus, Got it ?

German > Japan > French > Korean > Local > China

• critic_A on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm

to correct ur statement, Forte is less equip then Inspira~

• Dude, one man’s meat is another’s poison.

It maybe true that Korean cars are not to the level of Jap (or Conti) but you gotta give them credit for improving so much these past 2 decades that they are now an emerging force to be reckon with in Europe & US.

Now, compare what the Korean car manufacturers have achieved in these 2 decades to what our beloved Proton has in the same time frame.

And why in God’s name does M’sian think an entry level ASEAN B segment car (Vios, City) can even be compared head to head with C & D segment cars? Heck, the only reason Vios/City are doing well is that it is the cheapest non national car upgrade that is affordable. It is the logical choice for upgrades from P1 & P2. Waja upgrade to Vios/City is affordable. Waja upgrade to Altis/Civic is not so affordable for many.

Perhaps if we all take a step back from our jaguh kampung – katak bawah tempurung mentality & see the global scenario before commenting.

Look here:
      Martin Winterkorn, CEO VW Group, not happy that Hyundai can make decent cars (Another competitor that they dont need).

http://www.autoblog.com/2011/09/26/what-can-hyundai-do-silently-and-inexpensively-that-volkswagen-a/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+weblogsinc%2Fautoblog+%28Autoblog%29

Paul Tan Report: European Hyundai & Kia to increase production in Czech plant.

http://paultan.org/2011/09/27/hyundai-and-kia-increase-european-production-capacity/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Paultanorg+%28paultan.org+-+The+Automotive+Industry%3A+Cars%2C+News%2CTechnology%2C+Test+Drive+Reports%29

• I just have to say it again, KIA started in 1944, Hyundai in 1947 while Proton in 1983… ok!

• impartial on Sep 29, 2011 at 12:37 am

Correction to your statement as quoted directly from Wikipedia:

“South Korea’s oldest car company, Kia was founded on June 9, 1944 as a manufacturer of steel tubing and bicycle parts by hand – and has operated as one of the country’s Chaebols since. In 1951 Kia began building complete bicycles. In 1952, Kia changed its name from Kyungsung Precision Industry,[7] and later built motorcycles (starting in 1957), trucks (1962) and cars (1974).”

“Chung Ju-Yung founded the Hyundai Engineering and Construction Company in 1947. Hyundai Motor Company was later established in 1967. The company’s first model, the Cortina, was released in cooperation with Ford Motor Company in 1968. When Hyundai wanted to develop their own car, they hired George Turnbull, the former Managing Director of Austin Morris at British Leyland. He in turn hired five other top British car engineers.They were Kenneth Barnett body design, engineers John Simpson and Edward Chapman, John Crosthwaite ex-BRM as chassis engineer and Peter Slater as chief development engineer. In 1975, the Pony, the first Korean car, was released, with styling by Giorgio Giugiaro of ItalDesign and powertrain technology provided by Japan’s Mitsubishi Motors. Exports began in the following year to Ecuador and soon thereafter to the Benelux countries. In 1991, the company succeeded in developing its first proprietary gasoline engine, the four-cylinder Alpha, and transmission, thus paving the way for technological independence.”

The Koreans had 10 years head start in car manufacturing compared to Proton and look at where they are now. Shame on Proton…still lost after all these years. Perodua is more vibrant and doing better.

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:19 pm

dont forget, the Koreans began with re-engineering their cars first.

Kia’s first line up like Pride was actually Mazda 121. others like Kia Shuma and Mentor were actually Mazda 323 underneath.

Hyundai’s Pony was based on Mitsubishi mechanicals. Hyundai’s first Sonata was known as Stellar, based on Ford Cortina.

of course, the Koreans benefitted a lot from their 60 million or so population and the strong sentiment of nationalism. Malaysia produced its first car when the population was only 18 million and therefore, badly need protection from the govt.

• rosdi on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:27 am

Can you add manufacturer column please?.. So we can see which manufacturer is selling the most..

• breAL on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:32 am

about same amount of people bought persona and vios, wat does that tell us

• meaning ppl stretch their finance to buy vios lowest line rather than persona highest line…if they know that honda city and inspira n naza forte is 3 times better than vios i’m sure they’ll stretch it even more… but good call toyota..if honda city introduce manual lowest variant @ vios price maybe the trend can change… its sad because vios is rubbish

• yusof on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:36 am

used to frequently see these figures stats when working in the auto industry. Thinks MAA does a good job compiling and distributing the info

• Wow Syabas Protongkat still selling Savvy 433 units! This clown car never die!

• HirumaKecil on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:25 am

Savvy is a good car… If u have a chance to drive it, then u will know it is a good car…Nice handling, engine is good, power delivery also good, fc is extremely good…. It should be a close competitor to Myvi but we know why that didn’t happen… The only reason it sold below 1000 unit is it look… i like Savvy, but i’m not gonna buy it…. And if i buy it, surely i will do something to make it look better…

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:29 am

I like the handling part of Savvy, but the back seat is cramped, so I ended up with Viva instead even though with its horrible handling.

• samasama on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm

savvy is good car? when engine problem occur why alot ppl tired so sell it? and most of chinese pomen will say “fix until u broke”

• HirumaKecil on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Do u have problem with ‘YOUR OWN’ Savvy or u just listen to the rumors? I have few friend that owned a Savvy, and there is no problem with their car…. And they are happy with their Savvy… When i buy a Peugeot also i got so many people tell me that I’ve made a wrong choice.. But now i’ve owned two peugeot… People like to talk… A small problem happen then they will tell u it was big, and then u will tell other it was even bigger…

• I have a SAVVY (1985), still no problem, good FC and very strong. One camry knock me from the back, nothing happen to my car, camry a bit dent and he ran away. I accidently knock back of a continental car, my car not a dent but that car had a dent. Remember it is made of high tensile steel, so it is a safe car, safer than MYVI and Viva.

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 5:23 pm

year 1985 or 1,985cc? he hee hee

• I think still cant beat Myvi handling hahaha

• RedBeanBun on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

you are typical contradict politician says where:

1) I love my wife, (but i still go Spa..)
        2) we will take away ISA (but we introduce new laws)
        3) we will become most democrate (but i restrict people saying we are not)

you have split personality?

• curious on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:30 am

curious, in august 2011, only 4 proton savvys were sold. the month before only 5 units. so the YTD figure of 433 is remarkable. but given that demand seems low, why does proton still manufacture the savvy instead of focusing on its better sellers? or are they sold from stock?

• DavidB on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:43 pm

I own a Savvy and despite how much I love the handling and ridiculously good fuel economy, I would have bought a Saga if it was available at that time. Now with the Saga FLX out with its CVT, I would be even MORE sold on getting a Saga. I guess thats why the Savvy is now performing poorly.

• proton already stop the production of savvy la (because of poor quality..even proton admit savvy sucks)…plz dun be ignorant

• How come no Alfa sold?

• ventus on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:49 am

If the distributor is not an maa member, you wont see their sales results as they don’t have to submit.

• Luxgen on Oct 01, 2011 at 1:05 am

rubbish answer! Ford on the list but not Alfa Romeo, both from SD!

• HirumaKecil on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:10 am

Compared to Latio, city and vios, Sentra is more spacious… Look more luxurious(i like sentra interior)…. Look more “matured”… Fc not bad.. And more suitable for people age from 30-60… Even though its price around city,vios and latio, it look bigger than all of that car… people who admire Altis,Sylphy or even Camry and Accord but with budget below 100k will prefer sentra over smaller(in term of space) vios or city… And Latio sedan? Oh Camon….. It look wierd…

• alpha999 on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:35 am

vios outsold city or inspira by 3 to 1……malaysian perception has not changed…

i believe that if car tax are waived and removed, there will be more balanced brands on the road. Example, in Brunei.

Unfortunately, due to overpricing, in a nutshell, many average hard earners set their minds to play safe by purchasing the brand that gives the most bang of the buck.

• malaysians are buying cars based on perceived branding n resale value. not choosing the better car or better bang for buck.

• tiadaid on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:20 pm

You kidding? If the prices come down the roads will be full of bloody Toyotas!

• tokmoh on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Proton also got taxed I believe. If tax removed, Proton cars also will get cheaper. Saga flx cvt executive for RM27k, anyone?

P.s. : tax-free price of saga flx rekaan semata-mata. Who knows how much lower a proton costs without tax…

• tiadaid on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Of course, but would the typical Malaysian buy a 20K Proton or a 50K Toyota. Judging from the reception here, they’d definitely buy a 50K Toyota, damn the cost difference.

It’s no wonder statistics show that Malaysians are overspenders, always buy beyond their means just to get some brand cachet!

• so which company is leading the sales?

• So far Perodua is leading :

1.Perodua 114009
      2.Proton 113586
      3.Toyota 57163
      4.Honda 24606
      5.Nissan 21019

• intermilan on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:15 pm

The top 5 – 6 position will be occupied by the same players for some time..
        This is the boring section.

The interesting section starting for Top #10, where a few brands there have been scaling up the position ladder for the past few years.

10. Ford – 4749 (~60% is Fiesta)(previously Ford sale = 90% Ranger pick-up sale)
        12. Peugeot – 3856
        15. VW – 3520

They are mass-market European makers (except Ford which is American, but they are selling Euro-design Fords here e.g. Fiesta, Mondeo) and they are the market leaders in Europe. Slowly expanding sales and share market in Malaysia.

This ‘awaken’ brands sales figures are almost non-existent just a few years ago. Except Ford, but their sale is almost exclusively pick-up not passenger vehicle) Just look at other mass-market European brands that are still ‘asleep’ e.g. – Renault. Non MAA-member like Fiat, Citroen, Skoda whose doesn’ file sales report to MAA sure have worse figure. Pity, as they do have good cars.

Granted, these ‘awaken’ brands will probably find it impossible to break into the top 5 (if Msia automotive policy still the same) but it give the much needed refreshment to the market that is saturated with local & Japanese brands.

The Koreans + Chevrolet was the rising stars a few years ago, but progress seem to be slowing down.. not hit a snag. The Koreans do have better-quality offers now thou.

• Brian on Oct 06, 2011 at 8:42 am

Renault, Fiat ,Citroen make bread and butter cars that ehy sell for peanuts in Europe.

They then try to sell them as premium european luxury in Asia and you wonder why they’re not doing well!?

You’d have to be stupid, ignorant or French or Italian to buy these cars.

Consumers buy what’s value for money whether value means price, looks, brand, resale, reliability etc. and that Ford didn’t make it in the top 10, it would be because there are 9 other better value for money options.

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 1:05 pm

Malaysian protectionism means they can’t sell the cheap cars here at a price that is cheap enough (would you pay 80k for a Clio or 60k for a Twingo? Most don’t trust Renault). That “cheap” import segment is entirely covered by the Japanese.

All they can do is sell their premium cars… for Renault it is their performance cars, and Citroen do have premium models (the C6 is used by the French president) with a ride quality rivaled only by the highest end offerings by others, such as the higher end S class and Maybach.

Better value for money from the Japanese? Only in terms of resale value. Reliability maybe a bit (no wonder, as the cars they sell in Malaysia are as outdated as a steam train).

• Perodua is Toyota in disguise. Therefore Toyota wins

• Just me on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:21 am

In Kampung sure juara kampung won lah. but that’s number includes Taxi which hold a significant no of sales and some government related purchased.

• droll on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:15 am

amazing. the saga and myvi are very close. i would’ve expected the myvi to outsell the saga…maybe the new myvi needs some time to catch up.

• king of kong on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:22 am

the statistics sadly shows how far Malaysia are left behind in terms of vehicle of choice for the ordinary wage earner a.k.a low salary group worker. Not many would dare to venture into a toyota let alone european marque showroom for their new car. Government for the people, piiiirah…..

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:21 am

Smart choice IMHO by those so called ordinary wage earners. Better buy something that you can afford for daily commute and having peace of mind by not having to think too much about monthly car installment and insurance, while on the other hand some people for the sake of having “toyota” and “honda” sacrifice the peace of mind by having cars they can’t actually afford and maintain.

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:22 pm

many people still opted for used hondas and used toyotas rather than buying new P1/P2. this is true. and the reason why resale value is still strong for both makes.

• fazlisan on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:25 am

woah, saga sale increased significantly compare to the previous month..

• Polo 3 – Jazz 1

• areos on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:44 am

The real winner in tis market surelah Toyota..if we include Perodua cars.

• kuching on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:45 am

No statistic on recon car. Mana Estima, ferari, lambo, .. useless statistic

• kuching on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:45 am

No statistic on recon car. Mana Estima, ferari, lambo, .. useless statistic

• ron99 on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:31 am

yes! should give the record for the recon cars. especially estima, alphard and wellfire..so many on the road..

• wake me up when september ends on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:54 am

booo….who cares bout grey imports…but i like vellfire 3.5…
      im still waitin for kizashi & juke..next month or next year???

• why bother about second hand car? you don’t have any dignity ah? european/japanese ppl use the car 5 years and even having orgy in the car then later grey importers bought here unregistered and later u so proud to bought the car? get a life

• Expatriate VN on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:26 am

Still 2 + 1 horse race!

= Jaguh kampong P1 + P2 and world class player Toyota.

Anyway, it is a good compilation for sales volumn.

• maserati on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:26 am

The reason why vios is outselling honda city is because vios has many variants . Most of its sales are for the j spec which is way cheaper than city s spec. If city came out with a low specced version , i am sure city sales will be on par with vios.

Myvi looks like it is losing to saga but thats because the new myvi has been launched. Give it a few months then you can see myvi conquer the sales charts again.

Korean cars? Haha after so much hype and campaigning , if ur car is crap, no matter how hard u push , u still hv to be contented with lousy sales. Even the more exp civic sold more units than forte. Ppl know how to value technology and are willing to pay.
    Korean cars sales follow a trend, when new car come out , sales will be high but die off a few months later. Japs on the other hand , rain or shine sales will still be high.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:10 pm

The excitement was on July only… in August, even though the so-called MyVi “lagi best” sales are still more than Saga, the number is actually decreasing while the Saga continues to increase.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:23 am

Why do empty vessels always make the most noise. Eh Japanese car salesman, go try and work harder to earn you commission rather than talking here. As more rubbish you speak here, your colleagues are selling more cars. Shut up and do your work……….

• maserati on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:31 am

And the reason why sentra sold more than latio is because etcm had a promotion for sentra to clear all the old stock

• seancorr on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:33 am

Whoa Suzuki Kizashi haven’t even launch edi on the list?? Then I can expect Pug 508 to be on the Sept list?

I got to say Toyota really doing well here. Vios really selling like hot cakes. Got a fren who works in Toyota and he’s complaining not enough Vios to sell to customers!

As for the 3 series…well that’s to be expected…the F30 3 series will soon be launched in Europe so I guess everyone’s waiting for it to be launched here. A good time to buy the E90 though…discounts plus good %!

I pity Volvo though…they sell good cars but no one is buying it though their marketing is lousy. Throw in free service or add extended warranty and it would help boost sales.

As for the battle between Myvi and Saga…haha I think if the race will be close at the end of 2011.

• maserati on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:37 am

You guys really funny, heard some of u ppl say how these salesppl survive by selling a few units only. You think they only hv one job izzit? Most probably they doin some part time job to supplement their income

• honda city used to be selling 1000+ unit per month, now only manage below 1000 only, partly due to japan tsunami but also because of inspira, fiesta and forte stole the sales from honda city

• autojohndoe on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:06 pm

no la… it is because the buyer switch to insight…

• Honda Power on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:16 am

Yes, you are right. Honda City sales are below 1000 monthly because many Honda car buyers bought Honda Insight. That explains why Honda Insight can sell more than 3,500 units from January to August. Last month, Honda’s best seller was the Insight, not City but City is Honda’s best seller this month.

• T.H.P. on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:30 pm

I wonder why do i see a Golf GTI more frequently than a Golf TSI on the road in KL…

• fuel cell phone on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:07 pm

perhaps because the tsi variant was quite later than the gti variant

not to mention recon and second hand golf gti

• Suzuki Kizashi ?? I dont hear any news about it at all

• The data table should include car segment/category and total by companies so we can compare much better and theorize what happens next.
    Eg.
    -Small car segment Viva sales is 93 times more than Savvy, easily an all time joke!
    -Kia should kick out APKing logo then only their sales can increase sky rocket!
    -Stupidity proven for Mitsubishi in self-destruct by remarriage with Protongkat (Read:Inspira)!
    -Low-income folks (RM50K car segment) kept on being targetted unfairly, wrongly when in open market that RM50K worth much better,safer,fuel-efficient cars.
    -Perodua only lacking budget no-frill sedan car. If Perodua Etios offered it’s death for Protongkat lah (Woohooo!)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Ajaw, we decided to break down the components (like the eight variants being assembled and tallied to reflect an overall figure for the Viva) to make for easier browsing, and until an easier way can be found to dissect and recompose the raw data in the original Excel file from the individual elements (we’re keying it all in manually!) that’s how it will be presented.

• critic_A on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:02 pm

i dont think ur that smart to giv comment like this~ sayang Mitsu move was stupid show how shallow ur mind is~ or probably u dont hav 1~ u better show some respect to Proton!!

• Ah ! Nothing the good old MAA stats, rude awakening for Kimchi Hawker & their Nureongi Fanboy + loop sided writer here.
    “Your Plan Ain’t Working”

• David D on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Shut up and think. Do you think Danny, or anyone here in Paul Tan is promoting Korean cars? Come on, they’re just giving credit where it’s due, and here’s something right in your thick-skinned faces:- What if Danny was promoting Japanese cars? Would you say that his reputation will be sky high?

Absolutely not. It’s narrow-minded bigots like you, Maserati, and Mask Ryder, all three pathetic, blind, biased people who only bash based on sentiments, and not proper facts. So what if the Koreans have faced a drop? Remember, this scenario happens ONLY in Malaysia. Go take a look at other countries that sell the same cars as us. They are consistent, and also proved that the markets worldwide are willing to give other brands a shot!!

Like how some people said, all cars are great cars, just that each has its own pros and cons, and i heavily agree with that, just that in my personal opinion, i would like to see more Malaysians buying other brands instead of the usual Toyota, Honda, Perodua.

Need i say more? Come, give us more bullcrap, narrow-minded basher.

• mizzuddin on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:34 pm

demm bang!!! i luv this one

• Kumar san on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:20 pm

David,how are you my friend?Long time since we have communicated..

Take it easy and just leave them bashers be.

Cheers mate.

• The MAA President Datuk Aishah Ahmad is also happen to be Head of Corporate Affair in Sime Darby Motor, Paultan blog best Best blogger award 2011 was presented by Sime Darby.

Ah ! Hallo again David Didi, less vulgar language, good2 that improvement, what else fact is better than sales figure, well i don’t c care if China like Cherry or Indian like Maruti or Russian like Lada, Hello !! we r in Malaysia now knock2? anybody home ?

Don’t get frustrated if u like does not happen in reality, majority Malaysian r not buying ur Kimchi Dreamland tickets, Malaysian buyer too smart they know what Fact & what Fairy.

Kumar San can u please cut those Tanto Script.

• David D on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Know why Paul Tan set out to present these much appreciated figures? It’s there to show us how car sales goes, month by month, car by car, and at this point losers like you keep bragging about how GREAT the Japs are in sales, and the Koreans can go packing up.

Keep dreaming Jolo. The Koreans may not be able to match the sales of the Japs, but it’s good to know that Malaysians are willing to try their products, hence messing up the sales of the Japs a few times.

Mind you, there will be an even bigger bite on the Japs, and it’s not just the Koreans that are going to launch the attack, it’s also going to be Volkswagen and Peugeot, when they launch their important new CKD models. That, should give you one heck of a nightmare, as people would start to wake up once again.

Keep being a bigot, and don’t tell us what to do. Gosh, i can’t believe a young guy like me could just be absolutely disgusted by an adult older than me who thinks i know nothing. Grow up, dude!! You should be ashamed of yourself, keep bashing people, and selling useless propaganda. No better than a government supporter. Geez.

• Johndeep on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:36 am

We live in this country, what’s wrong being government supporter?

• TurboMan on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Malaysian buyers are smart. Good for them.

But jolo is childish. Too much time on his hands to bash korean cars on almost every post on paultan related to korean cars.

PErhaps he had a bad childhood. No1 would pay any attention to him.

Its ok jolo. We understand your situation. POor fella.

• Kumar san on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:20 pm

I will say whatever and whenever i please Jolo,i don’t have to justify to you especially what i can or cannot say in this blog,tanto script or not.

Cheers.

• Let’s show more respect here.

This place supposed to be for auto fan & connaisseurs, so let’s have decent discussion and be more objective.

We dont need to bash for to sake of bashing.

We are all big enough not to be childish anymore.
          We give credits to those who deserve; and critics & comment with some manners, can we?

• RolandGoland on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Honda Civic Type R still avaible meh??

• JeffLim on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Yup, still available. 2010 stock. “last few units” according to a bHonda Salesman.

• Hmmmm….The only way Protongkat can beat Alza sales (Exora 15,038 vs Alza 24,198) is by rebadge the new concept Citroen Tubik MPV as new Juara (with similar 1.5L). It’s Protongkat second bite of Citroen cherry after Tiara AX! This new model sure can beat Alza at least 25,000 sales! Come on Protongkat just do it!

So folks behold! The all-new Protongkat Juara Tubik MPV…Drive Like Toaster!

• critic_A on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:12 pm

ur living in ur own imaginary world!! keeep dreaming on loser

• BN=barang naik on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:14 pm

no matter what..proton still cant beat perodua myvi!..haha

• Dani.protons on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Proton sold 6,951 Inspira this year to go with the 994 units last year for a total of 7,945. But if I remember correctly, the 4 Inspira I delivered last month (I’m a salesman, btw) already carried chassis numbers 11,***. Does this mean that Proton still have more than 3,000 units of Inspira lying round, unsold?

• HirumaKecil on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Police car kot…

• Expatriate VN on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Next move is to sell Inspira to taxi driver.

• Dani.protons on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Haha…..

Government departments have been instructed to use Inspira when replacing Perdanas.

Proton staff are allowed to purchase Inspira at 10%-15% discount and resell it immediately to the public.

Despite that, sale of Inspira have been disappointing. I reckon using Inspira as Taxi would help Inspira sales :)

• The last i heard they still got 1K+ hanging at the yard. That was couple of wks ago.

• MoFaz on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:05 am

how many proton showrooms around Malaysia. it’s possible that thousands of earlier batch are for showrooms and media preview

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Dani,

Proton has stopped Inspira assembly line for about 1-2 months. dunno for how long. Reason? dunno also. perhaps, suply over demand.

I am not Proton salesman, just someone in the auto industry… smiling while reading all the comments here.

• research on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:33 pm

where’s the data for mercedes?

• Marzoochi on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:30 pm

in medium SUV, practically honda CRV dominate the market.
    how come hyundai tucson sales number is way above KIA sportage, eventhough they based on the same platform. does the brand also affects?

• MoFaz on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:42 pm

because tucson was launched much earlier than sportage. sales figures between the 2 brands in past 2 months are almost similar.

• The Camry vs Sonata sales figure tell us one thing, the Korean car fanboys really know how to bullshit. Sorry consumer now a day is not stupid.

• David D on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:08 pm

I beg to differ. The sales easily show how blinded Malaysians are by brand loyalty, and are willing to buy mediocre cars just because of the badge, which purportedly carries loads of class, and if you buy other brands, you’re viewed as a low-class person.

Cut short, this sales figures should be heavily commended, as it easily shows how extreme lopsided our car market is. What a shame, as like how most people said, Malaysians are a dissappointing lot, unwilling to give themselves more options, instead sticking with the status quo, even if their products are considered, at best, mediocre.

• actually not just brand loyalty.. other factors such as aftersales service network also makes toyota & honda popular.. i test drove a ford fiesta few days ago, imo its miles batter then a vios.. but have u actually seen ford service center in kl? thats why i still prefer T or H .. same case with hyundai/kia…

our local climate/road condition/ fuel quality ect makes servicing a very important factor when choosing a car..

but tbh, atm VW is probably the most sensible choice for a daily commuter car, due to the 5 yrs warranty

• N.T.K on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:54 pm

eh?? still no Perodua Nautica sold in Aug after 0 unit in July???

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Perodua is no longer importing and selling the Nautica

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 7:17 pm

that car was meant for naughty people only… —> naughty car.

• Sparc on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:24 pm

MAA have mistakenly put the Camry sales figure into Sonata’s column and Sonata sales figure into Camry’s column.

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 7:25 pm

yeah, yeahh… Sonata was supposedly to sell in bigger volume than camry, but looks alone wont please anyone.

besides, even the used cars fear to offer high trade-in value for korean makes even though we still need to wait 2-3 years more to see whether there will be any positive changes on this matter or not.

example at NazaKia – neither Kia nor Naza entertain warranty claim for brake judder complaint…. even at 20,000km mileage. its either you change the disc or skim the discs, at own costs.

toyota and honda honour such claims until warranty expires at 3 years or 100,000km.

see the difference?

• Dear Malaysian,

I’m not T supporter but this is what happen in Malaysia now. I believe most of you agree with the statistics below by your own observation on the road nowadays. These are popular vehicles and the sales of the brand T vehicle scares us. As M’sian are moving towards higher income, more and more people willing to pay more just to contribute to country J.

T. Vellfire / T. Alphard > H. Elysion > N. Elgrand > H. Starex

T. Estima > H. Odyssey > N. Serena > N. Ria / H. Carnival

T. Wish > H. Stream

N. Livina > T. Avanza > T. Innova > C. Eastar > N. Citra > H. Freed

T. Hilux > M. Triton > I. D-Max > N. Navara

H. CRV > T. Rush > T. Harrier > N. X Trail > T. Fortuner > H. Tucson > N. Frontier

T. Camry > H. Accord > N. Teana > H. Sonata

H. Civic > T. Altis > N. Sylphy > N. Forte > M. Lancer

T. Vios > H. City > N. Sentra > N. Latio > S. Swift

If I were PM, I’m not going to to cut the tax as the statistics shows most of the M’sian still prefer non-national car rather than national if we are willing to pay more.

• alldisc on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:43 pm

as someone very close to toyota, let me add some points on the reason why toyota still sells strongly in malaysia.

they did not began this 5 or 10 years ago but they built up the reputation from the early 80s.. and thats about 30 years ago.

toyota do not depend on looks alone as strategies. rather they provide quality, reliabilty, value for money, varieties and giving the people what they want (example urban commuter wants high low end power for better driveability and good fuel consumption) but most important of all, they provide top after sales service in several departments like location, parts availability, warranty, technical support and service quality.

the journey was not easy for UMW all this while. cannot compare to the 10 years old Honda Malaysia (DRB) or Volkswagen Group Malaysia, or Perodua which is 16 years old already and still not ready to produce its own car.

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Consider our market trend all this while, Forte’s achievement is very encouraging. In a decade time probably, it stands a chance to beat Altis if Altis continues to remain static/bongkak — never want to improve. Same with Sportage vs CRV (if they continue to design ugly CRV).

• kl fella on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:50 pm

i own a civic 2006, it’s crap compared to the new korean models.

• Proton and Perodua has the highest sale because of our Gov policy. So there’s nothing to be proud about. Forever buying someone else’s obsolete technology and making a HOO-HAA about the new models. Even the Koreans are ahead of us… shame on our national car makers!

• Confirm Korean car is Junk….Talk is cheap….. but Sales figure don’t lie.

• wheeler on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:07 am

For me, other than price, car sales has something to do with ownership experience – what sorts of experience do you have owning a certain brand/ marque. Well, if you look thoroughly, it explains a lot: Proton; Perodua, Korean makes; Naza; Continentals..

I’m interested to observe Mazda sales bcos this marque is slowly making presence on our roads.

• Mr.Bear on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:53 pm

I have some reservation on the numbers.

I would think and suggest that the manufacturers themselves post up their numbers for all the models they have. It would be more authentic. It would also be better to put total number of car sold today on the road as the extra column. So we know relative number of models expected on the road today.

Besides, if the numbers are true, Proton saga got extra reason to point greater market acceptance on their models. Frankly I would expect more Myvi on the road today than any other cars.

• Mr.Bear on Nov 01, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Look at this:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_automobile_sales_by_model

Shd we have this for Malaysian cars?

• looking for statistic on Nov 13, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Hi, may I know any more new update of recent months? I find this is useful as it’s super detailed in helping readers analyzing the trend, much thanks in advance :)

• intermilan on Dec 06, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Why MAA Vehicle Sales Data for September and October were not yet published?
    They should have released sales data for these 2 months already..
    Hopefully PT aren’t stopping doing a story on this matter.
    Thanks.

• D.RAMACHANDARAN on Jun 17, 2012 at 10:42 am

WHERE CAN I OBTAIN CITROEN SALES FIGURE FROM 2007 TILL TODATE???BOLEH TOLONG KAH.

THANX