Budget 2012: Petroleum product subsidies continue as is

Budget 2012: Petroleum product subsidies continue as isAmong the items mentioned in Budget 2012 is the continuance of subsidies for petroleum products.

For every litre of RON 95, the actual price is RM2.75, and the price of RM1.90 at the pump translates to a subsidy of 85 sen, or 31% of the actual price.

Diesel has an actual price of RM2.66, and the RM1.80 retail price works out to a subsidy of 86 sen, which works out to 32%.

As for cooking gas, every 14 kg tank is actually priced at RM48.02, and the retail price of RM26.60 means that the Government subsidy works out to RM21.43 or 45% of the actual price. We’ll have more updates on related items as we go along.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• excise duty also still continue..

• paparadzi on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:24 pm

We are still giving more subsidy to the rich with their gas-guzzlers.

• khaix19a on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:07 pm

they also rakyat so that why they get subsidy

• tokmoh on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:19 pm

It wouldn’t have been feasible to disallow they from subsidies via ohh, I dunno, car make? Engine cc?

I think it’s perfectly fine that they compensate using more subsidies by paying more taxes. Which they are, cuz many trolls here love to complain cars are still taxed at “300%”, without realising just what kinda cars are taxed at “300%”.

• what car ….tax 300%..the highest as far as i know is 145%(>2500 import tax 30%, excise 105%, sales tax 10%…non asean cept)…asean cept minus 30%

• Deadline…..PRU13. Only god know what will happen after PRU

• tiger on Oct 07, 2011 at 8:19 pm

at lease they do something.. what Pakatan Rakyat do for u..??

• this what i want to hear….some people start said PRU….pakatan oso do the same thing there is a banner at my area to show how good they r with money saving billion..better than previous gov..for what PRU?

• littlefire on Oct 10, 2011 at 12:46 pm

For our country future of cause!!! If the money wasted or goes to “someone” pocket, where can our future country be?!? Like Greece? How our children will live?!? Only bastard like you will only care for ur ownself but not even ur childrens..

• profiler on Oct 11, 2011 at 4:47 pm

If PR wins the election, u guys seriously believe all the money will be spent for rakyat and not to “someone” pocket?
        Open ur eye guys.
        Look at selangor now…. budget untuk kutip sampah and bersihkan jalan pun dah masuk poket orang…what a devil there are.
        How many of you guys know that junction at Selangor Scince Park 2 has been abandoned for years by pakatan controlled PKNS? duit dah masuk poket orang

• IHateGov on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Stupid government trying to con us that ron95 cost 2.75?????

Hello, crude has fallen from USD 120+ to barely 80 now, at most the real cost of the petrol is only RM 1.50

• his speech base on 1yr report not 1 week ago..billion the spent on subs not just 1 week….think my fren. be open minded

• Smoked too much on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Was at the pump today at Shell and noticed a notice at the pump from the Ministry. It states “harga sebenar” for RON 95 is RM3.31 for October and sold at a “subsidized” rate of RM1.90.

This made me think, ” If RON 95 is RM3.31, why not just subsidize RON 97 which is sold at market rate of RM2.80?”

So, is the government conning us or some idiot made a major screw-up at the Ministry?

• MoFaz on Oct 09, 2011 at 4:36 pm

that ‘harga sebenar’ is including tax.

• Smoked too much on Oct 09, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Honestly speaking, you do not include tax foregone as a subsidy. When the government foots the difference between a high and low selling price, it is a subsidy.

Would I be subsidizing my clients if I sell my products at cost price? Can I go around around telling people that just because I never make a profit I am subsidizing the customers? That is profit foregone and cannot be labelled as a subsidy. That is what annoys me about governments everywhere. Full of BS.

• MoFaz on Oct 12, 2011 at 12:48 pm

fren, how did you get the idea that the tax exemption is included into subsidy?? u didn’t see the notice carefully. here:

harga sebenar : RM3.28
            harga kawalan : RM1.90
            pengecualian cukai : RM0.58
            subsidi kerajaan : RM0.80

it’s clearly stated that subsidy is only RM0.80, without including the tax exemption. those 2 are clearly separated.

• Paul Tan on Oct 12, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Their harga sebenar includes tax. Add 1.90 and 0.58 and 0.80 and you get 3.28.

• Use your brain la not your butt. Count the cost per year not month.

You are what you type.

• No mention of measures to improve the service mentality of the taxi drivers?

• Yes! what happen to that lady from LPKP who said that she will get serious about those taxi fellows? Like usual all talk and no action. i see no improvement in taxi service. u could still see beatup iswara taxi plying around BB. Buat malu saja. Worst of all, they drive like they own the road, no manners at all.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 07, 2011 at 8:14 pm

A Hyundai Sonata should be priced at 65-75K (base on US price) but we end up subsidising 65-75K to the Gov, did they mentioned that ?

• proved it

• this mean some malaysian dont wantt hear the actual reason for that claim..simply use assumption

• My friend, that goes into your petrol and road, so that make the Gov not subsidizing our petrol.
      futhermore you pay income tax and goods tax for……..

• profiler on Oct 11, 2011 at 4:40 pm

No wonder USA’s debt amount reaches trillions of dollars

• skiborne on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:26 pm

subsidies are only for the people, but the Thais, arrogant singaporeans and illegal immigrants benefit from it.. must curb this. yes its not easy at it seems, but just have to do it to protect our interests

• why in my area, cooking gas 14kg sold at 28.60?

• Masked Ryder on Oct 08, 2011 at 8:40 am

KZM, wonder what’s the pay as a cyber troll for “u know who”.
    Use ur kepala otak lah ! We r paying double for a car compare to US, infact their car much higher specs, the “additional” we pay can cover 20 years of fuel subsidies upfront.
    Tak paham lagi ? Hang bayar 130 ribu utk sebiji kereta Hyundai Sonata kat US harganya sekadar 22 ribu dollar yakni 70 ribu RM, jadi 60 ribu extra, katakan anda pakai 2400 liter minyak setahun ikut subsidi 83sen seliter = 1992, kalo 60000/1992 = 30, anda dah pra bayar subsidi utk 30 tahun, biasanya org kat Malaysia guna kereta utk 5 -7 tahun je, lepas tu beli baru bayar lagi.
    Kalo ni yg hang tak paham jugak ! hang balik tadika belajar lagi !

• Masked Ryder on Oct 08, 2011 at 8:41 am

KZM, wonder what’s the pay as a cyber troll for “u know who”.
    Use ur kepala otak lah ! We r paying double for a car compare to US, infact their car much higher specs, the “additional” we pay can cover 30 years of fuel subsidies upfront.
    Tak paham lagi ? Hang bayar 130 ribu utk sebiji kereta Hyundai Sonata kat US harganya sekadar 22 ribu dollar yakni 70 ribu RM, jadi 60 ribu extra, katakan anda pakai 2400 liter minyak setahun ikut subsidi 83sen seliter = 1992, kalo 60000/1992 = 30, anda dah pra bayar subsidi utk 30 tahun, biasanya org kat Malaysia guna kereta utk 5 -7 tahun je, lepas tu beli baru bayar lagi.
    Kalo ni yg hang tak paham jugak ! hang balik tadika belajar lagi !

• chinz on Oct 08, 2011 at 2:55 pm

betul kata baja hitam! kalau tak pandai mengira! balik tadika belajar balik! support you masked rider!

• Halem on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Simple calculation, we pay 60K more for a Sonata (Example) compare to US, asume we use 2,400 ltr fuel in year, at 0.83 “Subsidies” it work out to be RM 1,992 (60,000/1992 = 30.12) that mean we have already prepaid 30 years fuel subsidies in advanced.
    How many of u drove a small car for 30 yrs anyway ?
    So who is subsidising who now ? KZM did u fail ur UPSR maths ? No wonder u end up where u r now, i guess 1/2 bonus must meant a lot 2 u.

• Fuyiopo on Oct 09, 2011 at 6:10 am

Market price petrol+Market price car OR Subsidised petrol+Subsidised’ car? Anyone?

• Ah Wai on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Aiya…. Crude oil Price got fall lah…. Cheap now… Where got 1 litre RM2.50??????
    Dono how lembab malaysian… Dono how to update price kah?

Now price Petrol 4 one litre RM1.50 less 4 subsidi RM 0.80 & Pelepasan cukai RM0.58…

The new pricw will be RM 0.12 maa….

How stupid malaysian, dono how to count

• Ah Wai on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Aiya…. Crude oil Price got fall lah…. Cheap now… Where got 1 litre RM2.50??????
    Dono how lembab malaysian… Dono how to update price kah?

Now price Petrol 4 one litre RM1.50 less 4 subsidi RM 0.80 & Pelepasan cukai RM0.58…

The new pricw will be RM 0.12 maa….