Tokyo 2011: Production Toyota Prius c to make debut

Next year, Toyota’s popular Prius hybrid range will double in size. From the current hatchback and Prius v, Toyota will add on the plug in version of the Prius and this, the Prius c. Shown as a concept earlier this year in Detroit, the Prius c will be unveiled in production form at the upcoming Tokyo Motor Show.

At less than four metres long, this will be a more compact and cheaper car than the standard Prius. Tagged as a subcompact in the US, the Prius c will be an entry point to Toyota hybrid ownership. It’s 3,995 mm long, 1,695mm wide and 1,445 mm tall, with a 2,550 mm wheelbase. The wheelbase is identical in length with the Vios, as is the width, so it should be quite a roomy hatch.

With the brand’s proven Hybrid Synergy Drive tech – a 1.5-litre petrol engine with an electric motor in this case – the Prius c achieves 35-40 kilometres per litre in the official Japanese test cycle. Toyota USA says that it can do 21.3 km/l (50 mpg) in the city, the highest city mpg of any non-plug-in vehicle.

The Prius c is bound to be quite well equipped despite its entry level positioning. Bluetooth hands-free phone connectivity, steering-wheel audio controls and nine airbags will be among the standard features in the US spec car.

Toyota’s Entune multimedia system will be optional. Entune links up with your mobile smartphone for fully integrated access to navigation, entertainment, and information services. It allows users to connect with popular apps (in the US) such as Bing, OpenTable.com, and movietickets.com.

The Prius c will be called Aqua in Japan.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jalan54 on Nov 16, 2011 at 12:04 pm

I hate hard plastic interiors!!!

• taboogen on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm

haiyooo stereng still the same….and its almost look like yaris…. running out of ideas already…. thats what happened when you push design and technology too far.. it will come back to basic…. like the evolution of handphones… from large phone.. then to the smallest one (nokia butterfly) then it went big again…..

• Are you saying we shouldn’t push technology? You prefer to be behind in technology?

• shawal on Nov 16, 2011 at 1:49 pm

ugly cheap looking uninspiring interior
    ugly after-market-esque tail lights

‘entry-level’ …in every sense of the word…

• zzzzzzzz toyota pon xperlukan komen bodoh mcm ko..

• The Enthusiast on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:37 pm

I agree the interior is plain but between this and a Vios, this interior is better. When I say better, I don’t necessary mean good. There are others far better than this one.

I have a sneaky feeling that it will be similarly priced to Insight and given the choice, I’d choose this. It does look better than Insight anyway. But at this price range, unless you are environmentally conscious, one would stick to a good ol’ petrol-fueled car, say a Fiesta or a Forte or a City.

• can i hope for this to sell in Malaysia below RM90K, or around the range of Vios, given the duty-free status is still there?pls UMW Toyota

• I don’t think in Malaysia will be below RM90K, more logical around RM90K-RM100K++. By then you should get Ford Fiesta more compelling than Kia Forte

• And you should also hope and pray that they don’t use the same name here. Aqua – pondan…

• Masked Ryder on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Honda Insight rival ! Bring it into Malaysia, sure become hot seller.

Beautiful Interior !

17.7km/ltr in City WOW.. eat ur heart out Hyundai/KIA GDI junk.

• Silwen on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:20 pm

It will probably be priced above the Vios, in the market of the Insight. I am thinking in the region of 100-110k. This will also make it a viable alternative to the Polo 1.2 TSI.

I do think the looks could have been slightly more aggressive/sharper, then again, it may grow on us. It’s not a sports car and at least, it doesn’t pretend to even try.

Looks like it can be popular, especially since diesel isn’t getting any better.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:29 am

I don’t think it would be that cheap.

Toyota’s Synergy drive system is more comprehensive and more expensive than Honda’s IMA system.

Besides, with the Vios selling like hotcakes, why would Toyota shoot itself in the foot by pricing the new hybrid so close to the Vios? I would say at least 120K. since the Prius is at 155. Plenty of buffer there.

• low swee leong on Nov 16, 2011 at 2:49 pm

well , a cheaper prius ? count me in !! it is probably a honda insight fighter , could be priced around that .

• November on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:06 pm

the technology is great! but i have to say that the design is just ok.. nothing interesting..

• With a 1.5 engine compared to the 1.3 on the insight,i think the price can easily reach 110k or more..just look at it as a hybrid hatchback vios(yaris). I think they are trying to make the prius more affordable,hence the basic interior..

Dont really like the square-ish MID though..the curvy rounded style as in the current prius would have been better..but thats just a personal opinion lah..

• raysma on Dec 26, 2011 at 10:23 am

recently i went to toyota center & i’ve been told that the prius c will be arrived in malaysia in end january / mid february. 1.5 liter, smaller than prius, and the price will be 105k. quite reasonable isn’t it.

• Chris on Nov 16, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Danny! Isn’t 50mpg in USA = 21.2km/l here? It’s US gallon not Imperial gallon… even my viva is doing 15km/l stuck in traffic jam.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:19 am

Yes, you are right. Too used to playing with UK mpg figures!

• for “aquas” only ! hahaha!

• riderxdesign on Nov 16, 2011 at 7:18 pm

toyota is playing honda’s interior? or they think this is the suitable design for a green kinda car?

• mangata on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:23 pm

te interior sucksssssssss

• Victor Lee on Nov 16, 2011 at 11:46 pm

copy civic digital meter? sucks

• James on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Toyota had digital meter way before Honda had.. toyota celica was the first to implement

• mofidz9 on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:50 am

“i’m a barbie girl, in a barbie world” – aqua-

• Honda Power on Nov 17, 2011 at 10:57 am

Honda Malaysia should bring in the 1.5L Honda Jazz hybrid and price it at RM103K to fight this Toyota Prius Aqua.

• paparazi2 on Nov 17, 2011 at 5:25 pm

toyo! toyo!

• Ming Chee Fatt on Dec 18, 2011 at 3:14 pm

My wife and I owned a 2.4 Honda Accord 2006 model and a 2010 Civic.. I can say I am impressed after test driving the Prius twice. I feel the Prius to be much quieter than the Civic or Accord. On the road, the Prius feel very smooth and more planted! By comparison the Civic was the nosiest car and the roughest.
    Best of all feel the Prius is as powerful as my own car when overtaking!!
    The only downside to the Prius I feel is the fabric seating, why no leather seats for the price.