Concepts for the young: Chevrolet Code 130R, Tru 140S

Chevrolet has two interesting concepts for the Detroit show – Code 130R and Tru 140S – catered to the young. According to US census data, there are 80 million American consumers approaching 30, representing 40% of today’s potential car-buying public and a combined $1 trillion in purchasing power. So it all makes sense.

Over the past year, Chevy has conversed with young consumers across America. The young say they want sedan-sized functionality in performance coupe form that seats four passengers, interior connectivity and convenience featuring innovative storage, WiFi, smart phone integration with Chevrolet MyLink and heads-up display, 40 MPG with a 1.4L Ecotec turbo with around 150 hp, and a price range in the low $20,000s.

In response, they came up with these two coupe concepts. Code 130R is the red one, a four-seat coupe with a simple upright profile. Code 130R features “heritage performance-inspired styling” and rear-wheel drive. There’s also the Chevy crossflag emblem on the fender. Small RWD coupe playing on the word “heritage”, sounds a bit like an American Toyota GT 86!

The Tru 140S is a front-wheel-drive “affordable exotic” four-seat sporty coupe. Shown in an all-new matte white with chrome wheels featuring crossflag emblems, Tru 140S is designed to look confident, exotic, expensive and fast. Tru 140S is based off the same platform as the Chevrolet Cruze.

Which do you prefer, the “baby muscle car” or the “baby supercar”?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sawdust on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:42 am

Wow… Tru 140S, perfect to be an Autobot!

• Jerry on Jan 10, 2012 at 11:52 am

I would love the red Code. It has that GT86 spirit in the execution details. Tru would be too porky since it’s already based on the Cruze.

• Tuesday on Jan 10, 2012 at 12:04 pm

baby musclecar for me!

• redking on Jan 10, 2012 at 12:05 pm

the red 1 look like rx8.. rx8 design better than this..

• this looks like an “autobot” vs “decepticon” idea.

the sports car is more appealing to me thou.

Danny, any idea where they hide that “transform” button? =P

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Yeah, these pair would fit right in the next Transformers movie!

• the Tru 140 really rocks~! wondering driving that in our road, balik kampung with that car, surely people will jealous to me.. hahaha.. :D

• hahahah! now already got few people jealous even though didnt drive this car yet.. :D

• paohyean on Jan 10, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Is it me or does the rear of the 140S looks a lot like the Megane RS250??

• buck roger on Jan 10, 2012 at 3:29 pm

“Tru 140S is based off the same platform as the Chevrolet Cruze.”

We suspect TRU 140S is derived from Opel/Vauxhall Astra GTC instead…

• jawabandar on Jan 10, 2012 at 6:33 pm

The red one reminds me of Lightning McQueen of Cars.

• Chevrolet response to BMW’s 1 and Alfa Romeo’s GTV. LOL.

• We need these fast. Its time to inject more Americana into our choice of cars. But do away with the weedy engines, give us at least 1.8L or more.

• Hope can increase engine performance…