On eBay: Barack Obama’s Chrysler 300C going for $1m

There’s only one reason for the presidential price tag on this 2005 Chrysler 300C – it was used by US President Barack Obama! Put up on eBay by one “cubfanatic23” for US$1,000,000, this 300C was said to be used by Obama when he was Illinois State Senator, before he occupied the White House.

The seller says that he has the original Illinois title showing this Chrysler (VIN #:2C3AA63H55H174644) was actually used by Obama. The 300C was transferred to Obama on 13 July 2004 when the vehicle had two miles on it. He then put over 19,000 miles on the clock.

The seller presumes that the 19k miles included many highway miles back and forth from Chicago to Springfield. Obama won election to the US Senate in November 2004 and could have driven the car between Washington D.C. and Chicago in 2005/2006.

Apparently, Obama received negative media attention regarding his choice of car – a heavy drinking V8 Hemi machine. So the man boosted his green credentials and traded it in for a friendlier Ford Escape Hybrid in 2007.

Mr Seller reminds punters that this is not a joke, nor is the $1m asking price. He points out that President of Iran Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s 1977 Peugeot 504 fetched £1.5million at an auction, and a 1975 Ford Escort GL once owned by Pope John Paul II sold for $690,000 to a Houston multimillionaire.

Interested? You have just over five days left to make a move! :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• George on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:27 pm

What a fine automobile. If anyone pays more than the blue book – idiot.

Anyway, as far as saving/buying on eBay in general goes:

If you send the seller a question about an item, find another of their listings, and send the question from that item page, rather than from the one that you actually want. This will add a little bit of work for the seller, if they want to add your question and their answer to the item description page that you are actually interested in.

If you see an item that you want listed in auction format, send the seller a message asking if they will accept $x to end the auction early and sell the item to you. If that doesn’t work, use a sniping service such as Bidball.com to bid for you. It’ll bid in the last few seconds, helping you to save money and avoid shill bidding.

Use Ebuyersedge.com to set up saved searches. You’d get an e-mail whenever a match is listed. Especially good for “Buy It Now”s that are priced right.

If the item that you are looking for is a long word or a bit difficult to spell, try Typojoe.com to hopefully find some deals with items that have main keywords misspelled in the title. Other interested buyers might not ever see them. Then, if the item is listed an auction format, after a few days of no bids (hopefully anyway) send the seller and offer to end the auction early and sell the item to you. They may worry that no one is interested, and take whatever they can get.

• drMpower on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:51 pm

tempting i must say
    but nah, i pass

i heard next up is greenpeace getaway vehicle
    its a v12 6litre monster

thats the holy grail

• deftones on Jan 27, 2012 at 5:53 pm

rather buy new lambo or ferrari..
    although it is so called limited edition, but car is a machine..doesnt mean used by Barrack,it wont breakdown..
    can buy at 2nd hand dealer at much cheaper price..
    my 2 cents

• BENSON11 on Jan 27, 2012 at 8:36 pm

if u had the money, would u buy this? Thumbs up if it is

• pelams on Jan 27, 2012 at 10:28 pm

chrysler part susah mo dapat in malaysia oo…

• tiadaid on Jan 27, 2012 at 11:59 pm

The person who buys this car isn’t buying it because it’s a Chrysler – it’s because it was Obama’s Chrysler. It’s totally different

If you buy this car because you wanted a Chrysler then you are dumb!

• Jolly_idiot on Jan 28, 2012 at 10:07 am

Why my car don’t have such 2nd hand value? Maybe next time when i sell my car i should emphasize it’s proudly owned by JoLLy_iDioT. It should help the price tag abit.

• Well, you can get a 300C for around 200-300k in malaysia, or course it is not brand new, but still the same model as this one.

• I think what the greys sell in Malaysia is the 300 not the 300C. The C comes with the 5.7L V8. Imagine the road tax. The ones you see advertised for sale is the 3.5L V6 Chrysler 300.

• PM or ex PM Malaysia punya kereta tak ada nak jual ke? Heheh=p