Chevrolet Cruze – wagon to make Geneva debut

Click to enlarge.

Chevrolet will be debuting its wagon version of the Cruze at the Geneva show, and the vehicle is due to join the sedan and hatch models in the lineup within the next 12 months.

Not much details as yet, but the company says that the new wagon will feature generous storage space and a high level of standard and safety features. The exterior design features a tapering single arch roofline and comes with roof racks as standard, providing convenience while maintaining a poised and sporty look.

The wagon measures in at 4.67 metres long, slightly longer than the hatch (4.51 metres) and sedan (4.59 metres), and load space ranges from 500 litres up to the window line in the rear to nearly 1,500 litres up to the roof top with the rear seats folded down.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

simple & safe rear design….

shd hv come out with stylo & fierce rear too….since front is so STYLO

anyway, it is still an eye pleasant wagon

• Tall Pan on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:43 pm

It’s got my tail wagon in excitement!

• carazy on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:21 pm

pity for cruze sedan not so accepted well here in Malaysia

• Cruze is another good example of what Global Car is all about…so for “Made In Tanjung Malim” learn anything new today kah….

• ss427 on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Exactly the Cruze is a great example of a global car. Its a design that will appear to North America, Europe, and Asia. And GM doesn’t have to drastically redesign the Cruze just to suit a particular region.

Anyway that’s a nice looking Cruze wagon.

Are you even listening Potong?? :D You keep saying you build a global car, yet it has such Malay-centric styling that it will find no buyers outside bolehland. I mean come on, can Potong honestly believe Americans or Europeans will choose Potong cars over their econo cars eg the new Elantra, Cruze, Focus etc?? And how Potong can pass their super strict emission and safety tests remains to be seen.

• 4g63t dsm on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:12 am

…..I think our “global ” car only sells to “global ” Islamic countries….and even that, not that well …

Pls bring this cruze wagon to Malaysia!

• Jack Leong on Feb 11, 2012 at 8:22 pm

nope it’s not a global car. ‘global’ word is so outdated. najib said ‘glocal’ so Proton should be our glocal car… yeah… (oops… ‘glocal’ is the buzz word created by apco anyway.. not najib’s)

• spark on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:30 pm

looks cantik!

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm

who wants to accept?
    no value in malaysia for this car or brand..

• ss427 on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:21 pm

And who is to be blamed for that? If the Cruze can be sold at Potong prices in bolehland, would you, Sir, even consider Potong over Chevy products?

FYI, GM fortunes doesn’t lie in SG and Malaysia markets ya…LOL :D The Cruze is a great seller in North America and Europe too. And with the flexible station wagon bodystyle now available, there will be a Cruze suitable for every customer :)

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:45 pm

car has never got value in dollar & cents in used mkt. a typical corolla will still depreciate.

but each brand/model has its own value. to those who appreciate it, will definately get one.

• the Holden Cruze (same car) is now in the top 5 selling cars in Australia, despite being a predominantly Korean design and being made in no less than 10 different locations around the world.

Too bad the majority of Malaysian car buyers only know Proton, Perodua, Toyota and Honda. You don’t know what you are missing out on.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:54 pm

GM products. TAK NAK. After what you all did to saab, i rather drive a proton.

• stevie on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Value or no value is depend on the person $$ ability, 1 year depreciate 80k for a new merc and beemer also a hot cake. So interms of be a chinaman thinking, open your mind for the global market. That is not potong or japs car only now.

• Jack Leong on Feb 11, 2012 at 8:20 pm

cruze looks so cool in other countries. why the cruzes we got here in malaysia looks so chapalang 1? :(

• Remind me 407 sw..