F1 Rocks in Malaysia event cancelled

<em>F1 Rocks in Malaysia</em> event cancelled

Well, if you were looking forward to not just the Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix, but also the F1 Rocks in Malaysia event in KL this weekend, you’re going to have to do without the latter.

The gig, which was supposed to feature Kylie Minogue and American R&B artiste Kelis as well as other acts such as James Baum and Reshmonu, has been called off. Event organisers Enterprise Entertainment issued a simple release on the matter, stating that due to unforeseen circumstances its events scheduled for March 23-24 have been cancelled.

No idea what the unforseen circumstances are, but there you are, no music for you later this week; you’ll just have to make do with the race proper.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I’m guessing permit problem. Maybe Kylie was too sexy for Malaysia? Someone better call Yuna!

• azrai on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:16 pm

PERKASA ask Rais to stop them from coming.

• kimi_ on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Because of PAS ????

• i already guess this is a stereotype of malaysian that will come out for this particular cases. paultan (or anyone), i think better for you to stick on automotive news. this is not really an automotive news.

it only create unnecessary hates.

• Obama on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Duh..if you think this is not a appropriate post, then go read something else..Malaysia should be a democratic country and shouldn’t ask someone else to stick to your own RULES!

Best regards,

Obama
          President of United States

• i hope moderator carefully check the comment here some look insulting other people religion

• MoFaz on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:46 am

it’s a contract dispute between Petronas and Enterprise Entertainment Ltd, the London-based company responsible for the F1 Rocks entertainment extravaganza. nothing to do with religious body.
      stupid people assume stupidly and quickly jump into his/her own stupid conclusions.

• clutch basah on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:56 pm

What!! This is unacceptable! Kylie baby, gonna miss that sweet ass of yours.

• kadajawi on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Reminds me of New Year this year in Johor…

• albag on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:09 pm

LOL malaysia… always full of shit

• Yeah correct

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Bro there’s a difference between Malaysia being full of shit & the government full of shit. Malaysia’s one of the best countries to be in where we do not need to worry about natural disasters and full of natural resources.

• albag on Mar 20, 2012 at 8:41 am

Well, the government represents Malaysia… whether the government is full of shit, they are making the whole country full of shit. People only perceive the whole Malaysia and not the government.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Dunno about u …

But I do consider a LOUSY GOVERNMENT a kind of disaster as well …. even worse…. ITS NOT A NATURAL ONE.

• u r always welcomed to be a singaporean citizen

• peter_pj on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:22 pm

The concert is the only reason that I would go for F1…..damn!

• stupid org…giving lame excuses all the time, our neighbour singapore is stealing the spotlight!!!

• Hey Singapore knows how to get the job done. Get yr voting fingers ready mates, its gonna be a fight!

• adamtenang on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:56 pm

We are becoming more like the west where we spend too much time on entertainment.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Malaysia …. a land full of resources and OPPORTUNITY for great things to happen …

Sadly, the people who run it, mix religion and politics in every freaking thing they do…

Want to do a so called WORLD CLASS EVENT …. yet having problems with SMALL MINDEDNESS … SO PATHETIC ….This is NOT the first time ….

Remember what happened to Beyonce and Eryka Badu recently? and what was their reasoning ?

• Edmund on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:01 pm

This is so disappointing and my heart is broken…

U may find that those western divas (Madonna, Kylie Minogue, Beyonce, Rihanna, Lady Gaga) are touring other Islamic countries eg. UAE, Turkey, Indonesia, and Israel but not Malaysia… Why are we calling our nation a modern and modest Islamic country but in fact it’s not ???

Can the authority foresee how much are we loosing out in terms of tourism and entertainment industry???

• nas-T on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:12 am

You non-muslim never understand.

• Edmund on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:50 am

What I don’t really understand is why always have excuses to make a big fuss over some small matter. Banning this and that, cancel up everything…

If you really think the concert does harm on your religion, just forbid all Muslim from entering the concert, but not always cancel up everything at the last minute!!!

• making “diva” like lady gaga performing concert makes malaysia modern country? seems legit. indon is so modern. kahkahkah.

• Henry on Mar 19, 2012 at 3:03 pm

After the last concert fiasco I think these artistes decided to give Bolelhland a miss. They don’t want to face the same hassles. They can make back the money somewhere else.

• Perharps because of this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlDpCWCAptY&feature=player_embedded

• rosman on Mar 19, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Shame shame shame on you SIC..k !!
    Wonder is Bernie Ecclestone will re consider Msia
    in its future plans.
    :(

• Wow some dude said Kylie a sweet ass he he he…such a Cougar fan eh??

Anyway how about bring some Nasyid band or M Daud Kilau to perform at F1? Sure approved punya…

Sepang F1 should ban sale of beers there too…some beers looks like soft drinks Zapple…kalau tersalah minum…ughhh

• ohwelll on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:38 pm

talk as in F1 is owned by Malaysia….this is international event…ppl wanting more of some international artist….serving more acceptable food and drinks…
      sick….just like the KFC punching issue….surfing around Malaysia forum and you can see ‘many’ talking as in the whole international KFC own by ‘them’…
      F1 doesn’t need Malaysia that much…Malaysia needs F1…..

• VOTE AND DEMAND 4 CHEAPER CARS on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Malaysians worked so hard and deserves some entertainment. Is this what you call good governance? Everyone is mature enough to make their own choice and face his or her consequences as we are all adults. BN/UMNO please do not divert us with this silly issue, we have not forgotten all the unsolved scandals or mess you have created

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Rais yatim must have spotted a tattoo on Ms Kylie that was deemed “offensive”, but more probably due to organizers running out of budget…

• mindfaucet on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:31 pm

I’m really surprised with your comment there Lim Kopi especially the controversy with Eryka Badu.. totally lack of information and sensitivity!

• Lim Kopi on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:17 pm

oh ok then ….. so what is it that you know that I don’t?

Bunch of tattoos is not good influence for malaysia audience …

To me, its simple, end of the day we are losing behind our neighbours on trying to stage international events….due to ppl with SMALLER MINDS.

I love my country and want to see it DO WELL …. and not be a laughing stock among the world scene.

So Please do enlighten me….

• Malaysian religion association. You all know which religion. Always making a big fuss over this kind if small matters. We can our country is walking bak to stoneage. This cannot that cannot. This haram that illegal. Omg…. Dont they have better things to do? Like how to help the country make money? Or improve citizen’s quality of life.

• mindfaucet on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Wow!! I can reply with some venomous words there Mr. John but that will make me just like you. RESPECT is our word today. Enjoy your life.

• kadajawi on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:48 pm

Well, wouldn’t it be respect if they would let those who are not of this religion do what they want? I don’t mind them doing to their people whatever they want, I respect that. Am I telling them to loosen up and drink alcohol? No. But just because I live in the same country they want to control me too.

• Rafik on Mar 19, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Migrate to singapore then.

• KIFAR on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:27 pm

PLS GO BACK TO INDON THEN….SMART…

• It is not a mature thing to say. If you claim multiculturalism, then you must practice multiculturalism.

• Malaysian on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Nope. That is wrong. What is totally right is pls migrate to CHINA……

• blue-traveler on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:36 am

Then all should go back to their own islands, as the real Malaya was half own by thai and the bottom half own by india, before prince parameswara (escaping home courts problems) came to malaya then go on to found city of lion, and the english who later gave us two (plus two) more state.

• Migrate to china??Hahaha! dont make me laugh• why not u balik where ur moyang came from?pls respect others.. Calling ppl bk to their ancestral land is rude.

• kadajawi on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Ah come on… Singapore is almost as prude as Malaysia, just that they don’t have any religion which justifies it.

You want freedom, go to Europe.

• autojohndoe on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:07 pm

PaulTan… just remove this type of post…

All the immature/ insensitive comments might drag into unnecessary hatred…

Just repost it until you get the exact reason why the cancel it…

• Alson P on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:31 pm

this is not really about automotive matter…

better delete this threat or post…

• Nissan on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:51 am

removing the post won’t make the ppl change their thinking about the issue.

After all, this event is planned to help in conjunction with the F1 race, so it’s partly an unto post.

Just face it, this is Malaysia!

• Lim Kopi on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:28 pm

I disagree…

Keep this sort of post …. it shows the ugly truth about Malaysia

And what the Govt and People should together do to stop it ….

It just gives us a reflection into our REAL PROBLEMS …. which Hiding it isn’t gonna help!

• SpeakUp on Mar 19, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Stop making this all POLITICAL. It is not. The truth is the UK organiser pulled out for LOUSY reasons. Stop politics ok. Wait for the truth.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:10 pm

perhaps the light of truth is organizer got no moneh!budget over shoot perhaps…and last saturday rave in sepang was a blast!

• SpeakUp on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Yup … NO MONEY … that is why. So what more politics do the above people want to talk? Small minded Malaysians.

• Steve on Mar 19, 2012 at 6:51 pm

This is exactly the reason why I take my time and money to Singapore every year to watch the F1 race, the concerts and festivities. Never turned back since the first time I went there.

• kadajawi on Mar 19, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Well, to be honest this year Chingay was utter rubbish in Singapore, while the JB one was really good.

• nas-T on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:17 am

then why not take a step further and change your nationality.

• Nas-T you are so childish….you have to admit that ppl are doing better than us…not just lying to ourselves that our grass is greener….this type of you tak suka you pergi mentality is dragging you to improve.

• nas-T on Mar 20, 2012 at 4:53 am

But you already give up on Malaysia. “Never turned back since the first time I went there.” What was that suppose to mean?

• KL fella on Mar 20, 2012 at 9:18 am

why is it almost all your posts are just about asking people to leave the country? don’t be childish and try to grow up and think maturely. if every capable man / woman leaves this country.. it’s us the layman and our future generation will suffer. think globally and not just about yourselves..

• Derrick Wong on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:08 am

I seconded that! Why waste money on Malaysia? Just go to Singapore!

• DArkerMarker on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:05 pm

hahahah, auto blog becoming racial blog pulak…..

• Rafik on Mar 19, 2012 at 8:21 pm

This shows how childish mind react to a legitimate debate. dont get emotional. Grow up and be rationale.

• that’s why kylie past 2 concert never come to malaysia, really shit!

• malaysian on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Come on. Please respect each other. So what if concerts like this is banned? At least there will be less drunk people & inappropriate behaviour. Is it wrong for the country to not approve permits for events such as this? In other countries, they just serve alcohol & get drunk without caring of the sensitivities of others who don’t drink. But we don’t go and shout screaming, we want to go elsewere etc. If u want to go to singapore, then just go. If u want to get drunk & waste time in concerts such as this, then go elsewhere. Just draw a limit to what you comment about other religions. Have some respect.

• DcsabaS on Mar 20, 2012 at 10:17 am

Actually, Kylie is famous of being NOT related to any kind of bad habits (drogs, alcohol, smoking, tattoos, etc.). She is not a christian missionary or something, but always open for true positive acts and feelings. Her main offer is human LOVE (in the general sense), and a creative, optimistic view of the world, that she radiates to everybody! She is crystalline! And for the same reason, in her concerts there are NO any kind of criminality! (I think the cancellation of the Anti-Tour concert is a big loss to the Malaysian fans.)

• Sick gomen on Mar 19, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Malaysian Gomen wants all of to sit at home and watch local concerts on TV1, TV2 and TV3…

• Jonny T on Mar 19, 2012 at 10:54 pm

I’ve heard they have been having trouble getting the masses to BUY (like with their own money) the F1 race tickets. Thats why they don’t have enough $$$$ to cover these artistes?

Maybe they shud have merged the last weeks Future Music Fest together with F1. To solve the parking problem of both events at the same time, just bulldoze a few more oil palm trees >:P

• F1 Rocks was supposed to be a free concert to be held at KLCC, not at the race.

• rosdi on Mar 19, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Ha… undi sangat PAS… hahaha….

• nas-T on Mar 20, 2012 at 12:22 am

it not like F1 Rocks is the only concert that weekend. I’m pretty there hundred of concert and after party for you guy to come and get wasted like there no tomorrow.

• i knew it all the time. U ppl are racists. Everytime also blame the official religion of the country if things dont go your way.

when malays talk about race, its racism

when other races talk about race, its their rights

• tiadaid on Mar 20, 2012 at 11:24 am

From what I’ve heard – the organizers are a pain in the ass, trying to screw around with Petronas who sponsored a lot but get mere pittance in terms of publicity. It’s like they ask Petronas to pay everything but Petronas get little or no exposure whatsoever.

I’m not surprised that this thing happened – the organizers did the same stunt last year in India.

• Mizphine on Mar 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm

from what i read at twitter this time, SNSD will coming..THIS GIRLS NO SEXY?? LOL..
    [CONFIRM] GIRLS GENERATION WILL BE COMING F1 LIVE CONCERT @ PETRONAS TWIN TOWERS (KLCC) MAIN ROAD AT 23/03/2012! (cr.MYSMTOWN)

• tiadaid on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:51 pm

See – MILF replaced with young nubile girls! Much much better haha!