Facelifted Volkswagen CC goes on sale in the UK

The Volkswagen CC has officially hit UK streets, so it should be anytime now that we get the facelift car here in Malaysia. Yes, Volkswagen has dropped the Passat name from the successful Passat CC model, opting to call the facelift simply the Volkswagen CC.

Four engines are available – a 160 PS 1.8 litre TSI, a 210 PS 2.0 litre TSI, and for the oil burners there are two different 2.0 litre TDI tunes – 140 PS and 170 PS. Prices for the car start at £24,200 (RRP OTR) for the entry-level 1.8-litre TSI 160 PS, and rise to £30,100 for the range-topping GT 2.0-litre TDI 170 PS DSG with BlueMotion Technology.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:16 am

price increase even in uk

• I like the rear but the front is boring…the front bumper and the grille r the bigger problems ! cant says it’s ugly coz of the rear but cant says it’s pretty coz of the front.

• Nai Kong on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:18 am

Looks ok. Doesn’t have the wow factor.

• the wow factor comes in when u press the pedal hehe

• Anwar on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:29 am

yes, agree. there’s no “oh wow” factor. too plain. current CC looks more sportier and sexy.

• The ‘wow’ factor jumps right in when you see the Malaysian price :p

• Alpha on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:18 am

I think I’d prefer the pre-facelift headlights as it’s sportier than this one,which seems more executive than the PFL.

Hope that VW Malaysia will bring in the 1.8 entry level CC here.Seeing that the CC is really famous here,a 1.8 model selling around 200k should be really attractive.

• Paul, any idea if a 3.6 V6 model will launch too? And if an R-Line model will be available for the facelift?

• Jeremy Clarkson Top gear UK on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:20 am

ehemm , sorry …
    does manual transmission has btter mileage than the DSG ?
    I thought its all the way better than normal manual transmission..
    -faster shift,
    -fuel save
    -less CO2

hurmm… anyone ?

• Ei Wei on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:46 am

Can’t you read the spreadsheet above? Yes, manual has better mileage.

• taboogen on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:16 am

in other word in UK it is much cheaper to run MT then the DSG. so what is the hype all about with all this crap

• lonelyobserve on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:59 am

DSG has only one merit compared to manual transmission, that is quick gearshift. Even a pro-racer fast in stick shifting also unable to match computer actuated gearshift.

The rest of the two, DSG really loses out with manual transmission, but not far the difference.

• Very good FWD Car especially In 2.0 guise. If 1.8 can sell as cheap as Rm200,000 the volume will increase from current Passat CC number.

• tricycle on Mar 21, 2012 at 7:30 am

it is F cheap in the UK, remember this is BRAND NEW, not a second hand car. The car is well below RM170,000! (based on current conversion)

• Wow top model selling in UK for 30k only. We better migrate

• salambangi on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:40 am

GOOD . Pl migrate. We have less troublemaker

• Why should we migrate? We as rakyat should demand the govt to scrap the disproportionate tax, for the good of the majority Malaysians.

• Vj the Rat on Mar 21, 2012 at 7:57 am

This facelift looks duller than the original one…no excitement

• monster on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:03 am

wow! 2.0 VW dgn DSG+BMT hanya 30k…ibarat membeli saga blm 2nd…wow!

• Justice on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:57 pm

tau tak ape itu “currency converter”..?

• no need to convert..for comparison..a fresh engineer in uk earns GBP2k, while the same engineer in Msia earns RM2k.. so go figure how expensive our cars are..

• MoFaz on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:51 pm

why stop just at salary? have you include rental, income tax, petrol tax and many other expenditure in UK? petrol tax alone is 170%, while income tax can be as high as 50%
          tell me, can fresh grad afford VW Passat CC in UK?

• Muhaimin on Mar 21, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Well at least the UK ppl have a fighting chance to own it if they work 5 more years sure get increment in salary that can allow them to buy it. in Malaysia, engineer have to work 10-15 years to be able to afford that car:P

• MoFaz on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:42 pm

after 5 years is not a ‘fresh grad’ anymore, right??? i know some engineers / programmers in malaysia who earn more than RM10k a month after working 5 yrs.

• When i was in the UK, a waiter in restaurant could afford a freaking brand new C-class. What said engineer cannot afford VW?

• I meant “who said”

• ismazri on Mar 21, 2012 at 8:28 am

Paul, any word from Datsun? I’ve heard they will setup mega factory in Indonesia.

• alldisc on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:12 am

look less sporty but more executive… prefer the previous one which has more futuristic features

• taboogen on Mar 21, 2012 at 9:14 am

i though DSG bla bla bla are more advance and technological but why its still produce more co2 then the MT variant. Does it DSG are being created to be more efficient then MT.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 21, 2012 at 12:04 pm

The main point is the gear selection when driving. Computer intelligence will never out think human’s intelligence. For example, when the car is turning to a junction at speed below 20km/h, DSG will shift down to first gear whereas in reality, 2nd gear still able to travel at that low speed. Different gear used means the engine rev is different and higher engine rev means burn more fuel and produce more exhaust gas.

• mister potato on Mar 21, 2012 at 10:13 am

Good. More Malaysians need more exposure to how much they are overpaying for their cars. They may not realize while driving Myvis, but once they climbed higher to executive saloon car category, they will realize that for that 1.8TSI car, GBP30k or RM146k is within reach for honest executives compared to the disgusting RM270k they requires people to donate.

• agreed.. i have friends here in AU working as junior level sales execs buying the golf 1.4 TSI, mazda 3 or the mini cooper as a first car. It’s all a matter of purchasing power. all the cars above fall within 6 months of a fresh grad’s salary.

• Say No To Lynas on Mar 21, 2012 at 11:28 am

If the latest CC still using DSG 7speeder, my concern will extend from current model to it.
    VW DSG 7SP models were used by Malaysian less than 6months, not many user feedback available as the mileage are still low in value.
    In comparison to Singapore and world wide,driver’s experience with DSG are extensive-DSG problems are real worry and concern(see VAGSG community),with Singaporean forumner poll statistics, no less than 1%of DSG user are affected,it thus raise the safety issue of this ?famous/infamous DSG gearbox.
    It is a good strategy to capture the market aggressively by introducing more attractive models, at the same time the quality of the car must not be compromised,after all we malaysians are paying no less than double of the original price, we deserved better!

• BeemerFreak on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm

With the 2.0 guise we get it will always be the 6 speed wet clutch dsg. The 7 speeder can only handle 250nm of torque max while the 2.0 has 280 nm. Instead attention should be on the 1.4 and 1.8 tsi models who uses the 7 speeder

• semut on Mar 21, 2012 at 12:45 pm

waaah……affordable if you earn in pound.

• Muhaimin on Mar 21, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Just look at the prices! 25K UK pounds (for the CC models) is roughly RM125k…Imagine those prices in Malaysia!!

• optimus on Mar 21, 2012 at 1:40 pm

reach here probably the price ‘transform’ into 250k ++

• Thanks to our G.average wage earner cant even afford a second hand passat cc.shit

• Lim Kopi on Mar 21, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Wrong …. New Price now is 270k ….

Thanks to Kastams Malaysia and our Government ….

So people, I always say this, not that I like to bash, but

Get rid of Proton and P2 ….

then our lives will be better :)

• Karl von Jitry on Mar 21, 2012 at 4:55 pm

VW always stay in my heart and relentlessly has soft spot for the brand. Having said that, the car’s price doesn’t justify (in Passat CC form). I rather go for Paul Tan’s ride anytime, RM333,000 instead of sexy looking but rather expensive FWD car.

• Amirul on Mar 22, 2012 at 1:10 pm

The base 1.8 VW CC cost $179,000 here in singapore :(