Toyota Camry – brochure leaked, and pix of Thai-market version offers a preview of the upcoming all-new car

Toyota needs to fix the plumbing, because the brochure of the all-new Camry just got leaked to us. The brochure means only one thing – the official launch should not be too far off. Actually, it’ll come in June, to be exact.

Coincidentally, the new Camry – which is different than the US-version of the seventh-generation sedan – is on display at the ongoing Bangkok Motor Show, and Anthony managed to snap a few photos of the Thai-market car.

Based on the pix and the brochure, it confirms what Danny speculated last year, that the car first seen as an Ukrainian market version is going to be the Camry we’re getting.

From the brochure, it looks like we’ll be getting three variants – the 2.0 E, 2.0 G and the top shelf 2.5 V. In Toyota’s grand scheme of things, the E will be the base-spec car, the G will get some of V’s kit and V will be the Camry with all the bells and whistles.

The 2.0 E and 2.0 G shares the same engine – a 2.0 litre VVT-i engine that produces 148 PS at 6,000 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The letdown here is that the 2.0 litre is paired with a four-speed Super ECT automatic transmission with sequential shifter. At a time when everyone else is going six-speed, why is Toyota sticking to the four-speeder? What about its CVT gearbox?

The 2.5 V, like the number in its name, gets the 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i with ACIS that generates 181 PS at 6,000 rpm and 231 Nm at 4,100. This variant gets the six-speed Super ECT automatic transmission with sequential shifter. Already, you can guess that the 2.5 V is the Camry to get.

What the previous post also proved right is the amount of wood that will be found in the interior. All variants will be decked out in wood grain interior; it is only the 2.5 V and the 2.0 G variants that will be getting chrome finishing for the air-conditioning knob, inside door lever and door scuff plate. The V and G will also get a black interior, according to the brochures – that’s interesting.

Other notable differences between the 2.0 litre and the 2.5 litre variants are the 6.1-inch touchscreen display with DVD player and reverse camera, sun shades for the rear and side windows and a push-start feature found in the latter.

You’ll find all the necessary info on the new Camry in the brochure scan below. What do you think about the car?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• souless_soul on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:11 am

omg 4-speed….can’t believe this…..

• I have a feeling Malaysian is going to get rip-off again.

The sad part is most Malaysian actually likes it.

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Wat to do, Msian hav been brainwash like milo to be toyotaian. Never dare to change brand bcos kia soo, kia liao, kia see n all sort of kia …….

• elantra on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:56 pm

naza boss is now rage….lol

• Director on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:45 am

Good car for a bunch of stupid uncle. No need to up the spec coz uncle didnt even know whats under the bonnet n how to use new feature. Lesser airbag even better so less uncle will survive after crash. Please sell it more expensive hopefully these retarded uncle can go bankrupt after buy this car.

Coming owner of this car is a complete stupid.

• blablabla on Apr 01, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Dont always condemn uncles lah… I know many of them who drive nice sporty cars.. and i’m not saying this cause i’m an uncle… i’m still in my early 20s…

• no…actually even that i don’t like the camry but seeing you guys bashing without sense is pathetic…
            first the owner are not stupid….they aren’t the rich but they work hard to own a living….and so going for the reliable car-T.Camry…from research i got from a friend working in toyota tells that….ppl buy the car because they need a reliable everyday point A to point B car….just do your research and you’ll know how reliable is the car compared to other brand.
            ppl who bought the Camry wouldn’t want so much hassle with car parts and fixing here and there,they rather spend more time and money on their work and family…
            and having a fun car?according to the research paper those who wanted a Fun car to drive will buy another car while maintaining their Camry for everyday use…unless they do not have extra money to spend thus buying all in one car…Camry however prepared a more bits Camry too if you are the one going for it…2.5v or else just get other suitable brand…
            executive look cars usually aren’t having attractive lines,however once you see any of them you’ll know the image the car is trying to show you.Based on the research,majority of the customers enjoyed the slightly plain yet big and mature looking car….
            although saying that Camry buyers aren’t the richer one but they aren’t that tight on their budget too.By so they willing to get another exciting car than spending most of their money paying for 1 single car…So are they really that stupid?i don’t think so…and for last…the 4 speeder is actually improved with super ECT and will be enough for the amount torque to be handled…for 2.5v more torque thus 6 speed is really a need…do some research before bashing…yes it’s really stupid for not giving extra gear but in this case….Toyota has been always good and famous in tuning their gear ratio…gear ratio is one of the hardest task in tuning a car….some cars having 6 or 7 gears but when the tuning does not delivers to real world comfort it’s useless…Toyota gear ratio focus a lot on low rev that is good for city driving.Even for highway driving the power and gear shifting do combine not great but really essential for anyone who wants power but not till a motor head level…this happens at least in ASEAN countries…
            However Toyota Malaysia is really spoilt for being part of GLC….offering less equipped car with higher price…
            and for sonata and optima….speak the truth….the car is good but lack for refinement and the gear ratio aren’t there yet…own one then you’ll know…i’m one of the k5 owner…buying this car as everyday low profile car…i have other a lot exotic cars to switch anytime too…if I ain’t having that much money prepared for maintenance i will really go for the Camry…not here to show off but just to educate why are ppl choosing the Camry…and they are really not the stupid old uncle who who die because of buying a Toyota(according to some of you super smart and young high class ppl…)…is their money,their choice….
            For my K5,it really isn’t there yet for the quality and driving pleasure…don’t see you guys bashing it?what’s the reason?either you don’t own the car or you just aren’t as pro as you written like a pro driver knowing all the technical stuff…

• billy on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:48 pm

nowadays Korean cars & so called European car like Peugeot ,volkswagen will get all the thumbs up & good review if u notice hard enough. even our proton get thumbs up than T & H….

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:59 pm

In reply to sure, please give the exact citation for the paper you’re referring to instead of saying “that research paper”. It’s uninformative that way.

• educated yourself ppl on Apr 02, 2012 at 12:21 am

billy : yup…even those that still being concept korean car been saying sky high goodness while for the real car doesn’t even have basic engine yet…
            anyhow for this segment of car….non of them are being exciting to drive….it’s a soulless segment…including the german…only different is the refinement….if ppl here even care to notice the each differences and choose not to simply bashing….korean isn’t good in refinement yet…compare apple to apple(in case those basher wanted to simply shoot)k5 aren’t any near to sonata for refinement but many just saying as k5 is the best….drive both and you’ll know the diff….k5 has the wow look but after you entered the car and started the engine…what’s more important to you?korean can’t provide any excited nor any refinement and stability yet….
            one looking good don’t mean it’s the best…i will not compare other brand here especially japanese brand because mostly here aren’t able to own one and hated japanese brand…so….sonata is definitely better than k5 but most of the ppl here choose the k5…
            when camry dominating the segment sales you guys will say ‘Toyota ma,those stupid uncle bla bla bla’…when kia dominating the sale for even 1 month you ppl will say ‘yeah it’s the best car i tell you…no doubt’…..
            so mercedes,bmw or even rollsroyce will always be the worst correct?
            some of you saying the 2.0 is shit and better to get the passat topping up just a bit?what are you thinking?the price gap isn’t small….then just compare the 2.5v already…previously many saying malaysian don’t compare with segment(for ppl comparing viols,city,proton preve,forte) and now you guys wanted to compare with spec and exclude the price….
            god bless malaysian…really first world mentality…

• Director on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:55 am

And in reply to sure;

Long post, zero content.
            And your “i have other a lot exotic cars to switch anytime too…if I ain’t having that much money prepared for maintenance i will really go for the Camry” story is a complete bull$hit. Period.

• Top selling in malaysia,because Toyota ma,if take the proton tiara/proton savvy put the Toyota logo Malaysian also says good nice…

• to Kambing Gurun…it’s not online…but pls provide me with your email address if you are keen to see it…i will scan and send it to you….no point scanning so much pages and later on you don wanna see it….

• PetrolLeg on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Ok, that’s a turn off, was hoping to get this segment of the car and waiting to see the specs comparing to the affordable German marque. Don’t have to look back now since what is official in Thailand will be the same as Malaysia. Toyota just don’t learn, and that people who buy cars now are looking for features and specs, then again maybe they are just happy to cater to those taukay who likes large and simple cars. Just disappointed over the offering.

• Why Super ECT transmission with 4 Speed?

• GooGle on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:35 am

no complaint from malaysian camrians, according to the toyota board execs.

• oblong on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:47 am

no complaint from Malaysian Camry Owner (MaCaO), according to the ‘research paper’ provided by ‘SURE’!

• 4 Speed is enough. Honda EX5 has 4 Speed too!

• thunder cats on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:42 pm

in 2012,,,while many cars which falls in lower price range offers 6 speed,this new model 2.0 cost 150 k offers 4 speed is truly disgusting to the core,,,n while Altus have dual vvti,the 2.0 use old engine with low HP,,,shame n disgusting,,,what a rip off for hard warm money,,,optima uses dual cvvt (which is actually dual vvti),,,yet its cheaper with many more specs n longer warranty,,,,,time to change Malaysians n be wise,,,learn from singaporeans n neighboring countries,,,2.0 150 k only 4 speed is truly pathetic,,,,at least accord 2.0 have 5 speed,,,at this rate Volkswagen jetta n passat seem to be wise choice,,,jetta 150 k 1.4 160 HP 7 speed n paddle shift n German technology n latest tech,5 years warranty this seem to be wise choice for the ones who have ability to think,,,,n if I’m not mistaken jetta is cbu from Europe,,,1.4 low road tax n high power n fuel saving,,,

this camry looks like a facelift version of the 2003 camry model,it seems to be replacement for that model,,,they took that model n change here n there with same engine n call it new model,,,,4 speed is dinosaur n proton also start using 6 speed cvt even for their saga model,,,

• thunder cats on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:58 pm

I’m not salesman,,,just a citizen who us sick to the core with all this nonsense,,,,no value for our ringgit,,,things are getting expensive n less quality in this country,pay road tax but roads have no quality n pot holes everywhere,,,,cars like suzuki kizashi,sonata,optima,jetta,passat,peugeot,Mitsubishi lancer n other models cars which sell their cars cheaper despite high import tax n have more specs n more HP should be supported as they are not ripping us blindly despite being cbu n have longer warranty period. We need to set standards so that our hard earn money have value n profits us to the max

• Cincau on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:22 am

You are right but sadly korean cars no resale value, 5 years warranty and all those new technology still cant match the 2nd value of Toyota, thats the reason!! Hail Toyota :)

• armandd on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:09 pm

you are truly hardcore toyolta fanboy…

• Toyoda on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Wei cincau, y so lan cau one your reply? Optima n sonata boh ngam us uncle coz the looks is too modern. We prefer uncle looks w wood in d interior. Some more 4 speed is enuff coz uncle no drive fast fast. Lu understand boh?

• maddroid on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:05 pm

No resale value because there are so many people with mindset of the 90s.

Well, uncle is getting old and new generation will replace them soon, also the trend.

• thunder cats on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:10 pm

the reason why toyota have high resale value in this country is becoz of the purchase power of the consumer,,,more pol buy Toyota so the spare parts are available in abundant n most mechanics who already have practice in repairing Toyota cars recommends Toyota to their customer as thriving it easy to repair but there is no such thing,,,that mechanic is not experienced enough n have insufficient knowledge in mechanical engineering,,,MY mechanic who repairs lorries n heavy machineries says it’s same thing to repair Kia engines with those of Toyota,,,many ppl say Toyota low maintenance n parts cheap,,,yes Toyota last long as I also own Toyota wish for three years plus now,,,but if u compare hilux with ranger 2005 model,,,ull find out that ranger parts is cheaper n than hilux n the overhaul cost is slightly cheaper than hilux,,,

singaporeans used to be strong supporters of Toyota n Honda but once they notice that korean cars giving more specs n value for their money they switched to Elantra making it number one selling car in Singapore n Kia forte in top 5,,,sungaporeans mentality is different,,,they go for value,which give them more specs n profits them max for the money they spent,,,from reading all the 300 comments here I notice that malaysians need to read more n educate them selves especially on how the economy works n how the car industry n tax system n resale value works,,,it’s actually dictated by the citizens,,,u can make a change,,,u can force Toyota to give u cars same specs as in USA,,,,,,read more n educate urself,,,,read more times n other intellectual magazines instead of fhm n maxim,,,,,,ull realize the citizen power u have,,,,,to change all this third world specs
          u want other car brands to have high resale value u have to buy that cars more n make sure more of that cars are on road so that more spare parts can be brought in to the country n more mechanics will learn by practice how to repair the car so that the resale value will be stable n so that our car market can be dictated by specs n value of the car instead of brand blindness loyalty,,,,it’s disgusted to see camry 2.0 150 k but using an old engine instead of putting altis dual vvti engine n cvt,,,,,,,,,,u need to learn the purchase power from other first world countries so that we will not be continue to be treated like third world citizens,,,,educate urself n make urself more quality so that u will get quality stuff to use,,,,,,Toyota is good n the engines last long but I find it overpriced especially this new camry 2.0

• Malcolm Lim on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:29 pm

You my friend have said it all! I totally agree with you. Which is why I bought the KIA forte. If u look at the KIA Forte (or Naza Forte if you will), the specs are even better than the 2.0 G (and to some extend, better than the 2.5V model)! I’m somewhat surprised to see the lack of stability programmes/stability control on this camry when my C-segment priced (handsomely priced i might add) Naza Forte has that! All this camry has is the usual GOA body , ABS and EBD and BA..but no stability control or even traction control that the KIA forte has!

Oh what’s more, the 2.0 version still comes with the ancient 4-speed GB and the reverse camera is only available in the 2.5V model which unlike the forte version, comes from the DVD player/din..i’d rather have it like my forte which is shown on the rear view mirror itself.

Air bag wise even the forte 2.0 has 6..this one has 4 only? Hmm..really skimping down on the specs due to the tax + high profits that UMW is eating up..so who are the fools? Those who continue to buy Toyota’s piece of junk here in Malaysia…even the damn vios in Thailand (if i recall correctly) gets a push-start button…the vios here doesnt have that and is just an ordinary car like Persona/Saga (spec wise).

It is no wonder in Singapore the Cerato Forte was number 1 back in 2010 for at least 10 months…it wont happen here cos malaysians are too one sided on toyota..even honda which is another excellent japanese brand is losing out so much to toyota…sheesh.

• iLikewheels on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:44 pm

uncle dont have time to read, they hear from kedai kopi’s taukeh and friends…

• this is truly toyota die hard fan…go to mudah and compare 2nd value Sonata 2.4 YF 2010 vs Accord 2.4 same year model….have you seen Sonata value below 100k..? if yes do buzz me i will take it..

• ford_ton on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:23 am

Resale value is one thing. You can put whatever price to a car on Mudah.My but can the car really sell secondhand?

• Well i got difficulties to sell my accord due to bunch of it in used market…but hardly to choose the Sonata due to less in used market…

• iLikewheels on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:41 pm

then, when i am reaching uncle age, i will consider to buy T brand…

• For sure, I’ll give it a miss this time. After all this year of loyalty support to this marsk :(

• Toyoda on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:13 am

Luv this car. It oozes uncle juices all over it. All uncle mesti banyan suka this car

• Leo Lai on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:04 pm

4 speed only? I think the c sedment car from hyundai elantra and kia forte offer 6 speed oredi, what the hell with TOYOTA!!!!

• _xXx_ on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:26 pm

OMG…1AZ-FE!!! The same engine used for 3 generations???

• Its time for Ford Mondeo Ecoboost or Volkswagon Passat , care nothing more than a soul spirited continental car instead of this outdated , boring and good at nothing but reliable Camry. Mind you that the next gen Honda Accord is speechless too. To consider back Japanese car maybe half a decade more to come !!

• Is there any news on the tech. sheet of the next gen. Accord ? Surely Honda can deliver something better than this coming Camry ?

• I taught of it too but u can google 2013 Accord its really a letdown in terms of design, more like an enlarge kia forte. Nothing to amazed either but will see improvement in plug in hybrid and a hike in price too. Seriously Continental car price equally with Japanese, I will definitely look towards Continental

• I miss 90’s & 2003 Toyota…pls give us the cool looking and high performance Toyota back ! the AE86,Supra,Caldina and Celica…not the Dugong or this out of date Camry :(

• Car Craze on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Enough is enough for Japanese cars. Damn it! They thought we are all stupid and dunno about cars. Many years ago they can be proud of their Hondas and Toyotas, but after the rise of Koreans, especially Kia and Hyundai and even the VW, we can say ‘Good Bye’ to the Japanese.

Japanese cars is not only over priced, but lack of features, just like we compare with Kia. Anytime, they beat the Japs flat. Looks at the Kia K5 and the car features. Even the up coming new Honda Civic is a boring car and not much different than the current model. In fact, I believe the Japanese car maker designer is running out of ideas or it is time for those engineers to retire.

• Alpha on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:11 am

Lexus LS’ front.Hehe,not bad.

• nabill on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:11 am

front got too much chrome

• Dafuq is this. Fugly from inside out. The design is tasteful….. For the tasteless.

• teelim on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:14 am

Wow… dinosaur specs for the lower range Camry

I can imagine the VW Passat doing pretty well then…

• 4 speed ! what an innovation !!

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2012 at 12:43 pm

most of camrys used in city driving.. so 1st and 2nd gear is all they used.

while for highway driving, the 4th gear has an overdrive ratio – just as good to bring rpm down for economy.

who counts the gear change in automatic transmission? well, no one bothers.

• Well, beside this car carry the brand of toyota with the badge of CAMRY, the spec is so disappointed, looking at kimchi vs sushi, this sushi really can go fly kite!!

2.0E and 2.0G still sharing 90% same spec as the current version!!!

4Speed auto? 2 air bag ?

no smart entry + push start? (although not important, but a lot of cheaper car already offer as standard or at least the intermediate version) !!
    with the price tag of RM 170k-180k for 2.5 version, by as well go drive a passat (although more uncle look) at least its is a Volkwagen…

• bigbro on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Msians are flushed with so much money that they can withstand whatever daylight robbery being perpetrated by UMW and the government!!

• Gabla on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Optima K5 offers much more for about the same price as the 2.0L

• Fandango on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:18 am

Pathetic 2.0…Toyota milking customers for all they are worth…

• looks so under tyred..shape looks like the previous model..and those chromes..omg, current gen still looks better

• rims looks funny

• Murano2012 on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:18 am

Ugliest Camry ever!

• mangata on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:19 am

wow fugly!!!!!guess tis time finally toyota is going down.the interior is quite elegent and sporty at the same time but the exterior is just awful. its
    mismatched parts making it disgusting

• william on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:20 am

still 4 speed auto??

• nebula87 on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:22 am

hate the chrome linings under the headlights…
    plz dont touch up too much! as it appears to be much prettier without that linings…

• Tall Pan on Apr 01, 2012 at 5:59 pm

u are clearly not uncle yet. cos uncle will buy it without even thinking :-P

seriously though… reliability is one thing, toyota. but taking your loyal customers for a ride is another. unfortunately it’s a ‘trusted’ brand for generations, and it doesn’t look like changing, what with the number of Vios, Altis, and Camrys on the road.

but seriously, 4 speed and 2 air bags?? haha what a joke

• Keyboard Warrior on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:22 am

Now this is a car… :)

• itikipedia on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:24 am

not nice

• Prefer old 1.. Dis one ugly

• Toyoda on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:49 pm

This one also ok ma. Toyota did it right by maintaining all features that uncles like. Like wOod trim n 4 speed. Somemore look like ol camly.

• Naszaf on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:28 pm

I am glad the new Camry looks ugly….. coz I own the current Camry. Luvvvv my Camry

• UMW Toyota really take us for their ride. In Thailand the cheapest is below RM130,000 2.0G, not 2.0@. If this 4-speeder Camry sell for over RM130,000 and the sale is so brisk then we’re in trouble.

Government take no chance whatsoever to teach us about AFTA in automotive efffect by 2015. Abrupt and sudden drop in car price will be another economic disaster for auto-based economy like Malaysia. Our banking system must be made prepared to sustain such predicament by gradually embrace tax reduction.

The paradigm of “newer car must be more expensive than the predecessor is outright moronic policy.

Weird, huh?

• hway de Cruz on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:26 am

afta hv been delay few times oledi, 2015 will sure implement? i doubt it

• We’ll regard as economic pariah if don’t participate. Our economy behind of Thailand and Indonesia already.

• Darren on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:08 am

more like never ever

• malaysian on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:33 am

Ugly! plerghhh…

• zafi zeppelin on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:35 am

boring!!! we should get the US version one..

• demio121 on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:37 am

ajoh….. This size and only 148ps???? and 4 speed auto?????

this make hyundai look good but its a Toyota. Ppl will buy this anyway.

• PetrolLeg on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Yah, short sighted people and Toyota is about right to cater to these people, never mind those people who look for specs but we are happy selling to easy customers who just love the Toyota badge!

• zafi zeppelin on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:42 am

boring!!! we should get the US version one…

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:47 pm

ermm…I think the U.S version is more horrendous!

• zafi zeppelin on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:43 am

boring!! we should get US version one…

• So uncle maybe is the color but the interior cant help…take the Kia K5 or save a little bit money to get the VW Passat ! at least K5 got the look and the Passat got the high performance,safety of cause the look is acceptable lah !

• MoFaz on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:45 am

still 4 speed auto, only 2 airbags, no gps and the rest of the specs are ancient too.
    Proton Preve has better performance with CFE paired with 7 ‘speed’ CVT… the camry interior also looks very ‘uncle-ish’
    the old and slow go get Camry. the young, go get something else.

• Statistician on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Did you just said proton prufffff ? Come on you do not need Jeremy clarkson to tell you Proton is a junk !

• shaw wong on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:50 am

wow….look good! when coming to Malaysia?

• soroosh on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:50 am

ugly !

• Large version of Altis, disappointed.

• soroosh on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:51 am

UGLY!

• pl4y3r122 on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:52 am

one word LAMEEEEEEEE !!!
    2.0 E n 2.0 G has de same old engine frm previous gen – 2.0 litre VVT-i 148 PS n 190Nm paired with a four-speed Super ECT automatic transmission with sequential shifter.
    Come on UMW malaysia everyone else is going 5 or 6 speed even 7 speed DSG, why is UMW malaysia still sticking to the four-speeder?
    how come ur not using 3ZR-FAE 2.0L engines from 2011 toyota wish 158 PS n 196Nm with Toyota’s 7-speed Super CVT-i transmission.????
    n people would still be buying it just because of de second hand market value.. come on people open ur eyes widely.. its a total robery by umw malaysia..

• Gavin on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:53 am

still will be best seller, salesmen will just say old engine old gearbox esay repair and the money will come flowing in

• glazee on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:36 pm

from my experience, SA will say we are proud with our current engine and gearbox, it serves for so many years and proven that the reliability is there!

Good for ppl that wish to “update” their Camry instead of “upgrade”…

• paparadzi on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:57 am

Are we getting the Camry Hybrid too?

• msbr91 on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:06 am

All toyota haters will hate this cars.. Maybe they are born as haters.. Pity them..

• mirror on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:46 am

Toyota lovers will always love any car model from this company…Maybe they are born a blind lover..Pity them…

• A blind Toyota lover will buy any Toyota, even if it comes with only 2 wheels!

• BOYRACER on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:21 am

Take a wheel barrow,put Toyota logo n sell it for RM1k.Sure ppl will buy coz it’s a Toyota mah..

• msbr91 on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Malaysian should be open minded. Be more competitive not be a hater..

Kia & Hyundai fanboys hate Toyota & Honda..
      Toyota & Honda fanboys hate Kia & Hyundai..

Stupid-ass minded.

• PetrolLeg on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:33 pm

paying for something that high for a boring wheels, in which you’ll most probably stick to it for several years, call me hater but I think i’m entitled to hate because we expected alot better from this multinational and the engineers.

ask yourself why kia & hyundai fanboys hate Toyota & Honda in the first place? I’m very sure they were once fanboys of japanese makes, but it dissapointed them, like me I used to put high hopes to Honda and enjoy every vehicle that they roll out, but in recent years they are lagging behind, and the bad part is that you pay either the same amount or more expensive for less fun per buck factor. We have to take sides sometimes, but the fact is that our money we must ensure we get the most out of it and good thing is that we have choices now.

• loveit on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:59 pm

well since this is cyberspace. we actually don’t know does haters and lovers are actually expressing themselves honestly and with dignify attitude but I agreed, mostly of us are prejudice and always bias toward one thing from another..

but I said this new thailand camry, if it is what it gonna be if sells here, are really under-spec and ….suck..

• Honga on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:20 am

Disappointing. So yesteryear design and features. Optimal K5 or 508 anytime.

• 4 speed auto and only 2 airbags? are you kidding?! in US the Camry comes with standard 10 airbags! Toyota is exploiting Malaysian buyers. Is time for Malaysian is wake up and not to bow to Toyota anymore.

• hway de Cruz on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:28 am

guess toyota wan to bank on their reputation to grab some sales here, but the specs given for 2.0 is pathetic… optima k5 kills it instantly.

• True, korean can provide up to 6 airbags with lower price tag.

• Why are you fellow still comparing Malaysia and US?? Cars are dirt cheap in US and they can throw in all the specs available and still selling much much cheaper than here. Don’t blame Toyota, blame the govt. and it’s not all about how many airbags etc, people tend to forget the overall driving experience which the Koreans still lag way behind.

• BOYRACER on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:25 am

err…I think the Koreans are catching up pretty fast with their design & safety.

• What an Ah Pek car…surely a big hit with all unkers here…lol

• Matthew on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:27 am

I heard Toyota Malaysia will increase Camry price it is truth ?

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:30 am

the latest junk for wannabes that act like nouvo rich!

• Retep on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:32 am

Looks so uncle-ish now.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:32 am

still a 4-speeder on a 150k car? what a joke!! are we back in 1990s ?

• Elmo_Eistein on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:39 am

the toyota 4-speeder is very durable and reliable piece of engineering, it’s sufficient for the 2.0L variant. And both 2.0 & 2.5 version are still using Single Engine just like the 90s’ cars. U need a Dual Engine?

• mirror on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:58 am

If “durable and reliable” is the case here, I suggest we do not need to spend so much money to buy new car with old technologies.

Might as well buy 2nd hand Camry, and by doing so , we are getting more or less with what the new model is offering, but with cheaper pricing.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:15 am

err volvo’s 3 speeder in the 80s was also reliable, should we put that in as well? Rubbish………….

Cars all have only one engine……..why do you need a car with 2 engines??????your name should not be einstein, cause u dont even sound like one

• i_swear on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:36 pm

Yeah, it is Toyota legendary 4 gear where this 4 gear where the most BEST TRANSMISSION that even 6 or CVT close shop

And my dear, please enlighten me where you saw dual engine??? I search the whole article that only have Dual VVT-i. Since when your Einstein eyes can see Dual engine???

• lonelyobserve on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Since this country doesn’t implement law to require car distributors to list out the fuel consumption and CO2 emission, car distributors can do what they want with the spec.

Unfortunately for this case, use smaller engine for this region is fine, but not the gearbox. Since this region mostly are developing countries, Toyota makes use of this region to clear out its old, outdated and overproduced parts such as 4-speed automatic gearboxes, which developed countries really ditches out due to bad fuel consumption and emissions that are hard to meet strict emission regulations there.

So know your role and shut your mouth.

• BOYRACER on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:29 am

I dont mind to have 2 engines in my car.Like the Suzuki Escudo Pike Peaks.That car have 2 engines.

• Twister on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:25 am

You have to salute Toyota when it comes to their market knowledge. Many of you here critisized them for their 4-speed trans, boring etc but you guys just don’t understand that this is business. They target corporate, small businessmen, families, etc who need an executive look car. They don’t need few people here who criticized them, they have such a huge market globally that they can even ignore Malaysia completely. And it is funny to read some who keep saying Korean are ahead of them now…ahead in what area??? Korean have to throw every spec they have to attract buyers while toyota have every technology in their hands and it’s up to them which market to apply it..Malaysia? Ikan bilis market for them. By the way i m not a Toyota fan, I drive a Mazda. .

• Nuffsaid on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:50 pm

I agree.

I am never a fan of Toyota even though my other family members own Camry, Altis and Vios. They are not pretty and definitely not much fun to drive even compare to my aged but still running strong European marque. But seriously, these cars are practical and very few major problems reported (hence a lot less major repairs) throughout the years of ownership (min 5 years).

Talking about the soon-to-be-launched new Camry 2.0, it creates little excitement by just looking at the car pix and specifications. But this car is targeted for customers who wanted a workhorse that does not do particularly well in any exciting department (acceleration, handling and other wow-factors) but reasonably satisfying for practicality (maintenance, spaciousness, resell values and so fort).

OK, 4-speed transmission are considered outdated when you compare to other makes in the same class or price range equipped with 6 or 7 speed, but what these customers really wanted is a smooth and sufficient ride with lower maintenance costs. Most of them want is a stomach-filling Big Mac instead of a piece of exotic sushi of equivalent price. Nevertheless, I think such modern car only fitted with 2 air begs whereby 5x the number are found in the same model marketed at other countries is unjustifiable. UMW ought to do better with this.

I have a senior friend who is still driving his 2002 Camry with 200,000km+ mileage and I always teased him for driving such a boring car. After all these years, other than the usual maintenances and replacement of consumables (wipers, tyres, batteries and brake pads), the only major repairs he had done were replacing the air-con compressor and the rare absorbers. And he had not even experience any breakdowns at the road side once over 10 years of ownership.. In other word, he has been enjoying practicality and virtually hassle-free motoring. I have no doubt that he would find the new 2.0 Camry as the natural and perfect replacement. There’s no reasons he shouldn’t expect the continuation of ownership peace of mind.

I think most people who bashed in this thread are either those who have been waiting for this model (wanting and actually can afford to buy) but disappointed with the less appealing specs, or those simply not the intended customers by Toyota (who cares more about styling, power, specifications). Of course, everyone here has the right to express their opinions but if you are ready to shoulder a RM140K loan over the next 5-9 years, they are indeed plenty of choices available (both the new and used) that fits your budgets, needs and wants.

Why make so much a big fuss out of it?

• U right mate. Ive been waiting for this camry. Uright again i should not have a fuzz of it as i can still choose other model. Tq

• driver on Apr 01, 2012 at 7:00 pm

4 speed transmission does make a difference to not only performance, but also comfort. Going and cruising at higher speed with 4 speed may strain the engine and force it to go at higher RPM.

And you know that higher RPM contributes to more fuel consumption, as well as worse NVH (i.e. noise-vibration-handling). So, yes. For me, having a 4 speed transmission is an insult to the standard and real purpose of the Camry (i.e. for comfort, and “executive” feeling).

If they can offer 6 airbags for Prius, why not for this higher end Camry? I’m not bashing anybody, but I just want us, the consumer to be better served by these corporates. You can buy it if you want, it’s your money anyway. But if you know somebody is lying to you, wouldn’t you be angry?

• Gabla on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Koreans are ahead in what area? How about USA area?

• Korean cars against Toyota in US? You can combine all Korean car brands and still can’t even go near Toyota in term of sales.

• Yui Hatano on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:47 am

Didn’t you notice it was always Toyota grand scheme (as Chris said). I could swear the next facelift would have new transmission.

• kington on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:12 am

Indeed, i see no harm in maintaining the 4 speed box for a 2 liter engine…

You could have 5 or even 6 speeds, but i can guarantee you it doesn’t improve the car by much. In fact the box has to constantly switch gears when you’re at mid revs…

• BeemerFreak on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:19 am

ahhh bullshit…we are talking about fuel economy here. Or else why the hell toyota switched the 4 speeder in the corolla altis to a 7 speed cvt?

All these are toyota’s tactic to save cost…the 1 AZ-FE engine has not been produced by Toyota Japan for over 10 years already. Excess capacity in the Thai plant means these engines continue to be made.

• lonelyobserve on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Toyota AZ engine currently being replaced by AR engine (refer wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_AR_engine).

Personally I think only the bigger displacement engines will be replaced, like 2.4L one, since AR engines start from 2.5L to 2.7L.

• kington on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:39 am

No doubt when you have lesser engines and gearboxes in your portfolio, savings and costs in R&D would improve.

Trouble with CVT gearboxes, is that they are rather hard to fettle with. To fit one into a huge car requires risks. So far Mitsubishi, Nissan and Toyota are probably the frontrunners in the CVT arena against the EUs.

Most of us expected the Super CVT-i from the Estima, Vellfire and Altis to make its way into the Camry. Truth be told this gearbox is a perfect fit for the Camry as well but as Yui Hatano had pointed out earlier, this would probably appear in a few years when Toyota does its facelift for the Camry.

Don’t forget Toyota has never been a front runner in offering the latest in technology. What they simply do is to come out with a car that scores a credit in almost every arena, rather than one that scores a few distinctions and fail the rest.

• lonelyobserve on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:15 am

Japan already started using CVT gearbox on Camry, even though only Camry Hybrid is available there (http://toyota.jp/camry/index.html?ptopid=men).

Notice that current CVT design the most it can handle the torque is around 350Nm, from Nissan Xtronic CVT.

• Haziq on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:32 am

kill it with fire!!

• sudonano on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:36 am

The 2007 Camry was better. This is missing the VSA. But you get the side airbags. They should have included the VSC. VERY USEFUL. But sadly, i think the US design looks better…

• kadajawi on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:41 am

“At a time when everyone else is going six-speed, why is Toyota sticking to the four-speeder? What about its CVT gearbox?”
    They can do it. (Many) people buy the Camry buy it without even knowing what it has, how it looks like or how much better the competition is. And of course a 4 speeder means it is very well known technology (and thus should be reliable), mechanics know it in and out and the spare parts will be cheap. Basically everything that is speaking for a Toyota. Maybe they’d even sell less would it have more modern tech.

• droll on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:04 am

based on that logic, toyota should not update their cars. keep selling cars from 10 years ago.

• bongek on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:45 am

toyota pakai 2 speed gearbox pun boleh jual punya

• vincent on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:58 pm

4 speed camry. i think still can hit top sales at d-segment. why? toyota camry success brainwash all msian. buy toyota can get high 2nd hand value…. the successful strategic of Topmark to put high 2nd hand value on their old car…….(under UMW toyota)

• chris on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:13 am

looks boring =.=

• syntium5000 on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:44 am

Very LEXUS-ish look….hurmmmmm

• This is very very ugly! Nothing much difference with current model to me, interior looks like dead fish. Really bad! Mr Toyoda claim this generation would be the best ever Camry, what do u guys think? lol

• Klais on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:01 am

The chrome strips under the headlight and rear lamps look silly and clutters the look, same goes to the chrome strip on the engine cover. Hope this will be toned down for production.

• glazee on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:04 am

very disappointed on the 2.0 litre! Can’t imagine a Camry that launches on 2012 is still using 4 speeder!

Interior not much changes compared to current model. The front looks like the LS..

• loveme on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:12 am

sure bo? still 4 speed auto? truely outdated la..
    even our “very proud” made-in-malaysia proton got CVT lerr.. how come toyota go backwards? korean mid-size sedan also 6-speed liao…toyota don’t do survey???

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:57 am

they did their survey already….most toyota camry buyers are gullible fools that know nothing about cars but want to be seen in a big car only. hence its easy to sell to them based on the brand alone.
      trust me, by 2020 toyota will still be selling outdated junks n their hoard of fanboys will buy them.

TOYOTA <—-moving backwards!!!

• Estimosis on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:28 am

Seems like toyota targeted older camry’s users to upgrade to this model due to “toyota so called reliability and branding”. Younger generations are asking for techs and safety features and not names.

• Yui Hatano on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:08 pm

they surveyed and they out all toyota fans are dummies.. hahaha

• loveme on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:14 am

sure bo? still 4 speed auto??
    even the malaysia boleh proton already has CVT….
    all korean mid-size sedan now all 6-speed…

• loveme on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:14 am

why still 4-speed auto..?!

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Mayb sudah pakat wit all d Worksop who know d old tech n any advise needed from customer will just said ‘don worry, spare part is cheap, d whole Malaysia workshop know how to repair, just buy lah…….. Very safe for ur investment,’

Don believe u can try talk to Ur workshop.

• vk9545 on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:20 am

hate the design…i don’t knw what u guys out there wil say..but 4 speed auto/2 air bags/too much wood/bad design/too much chrome looks and feels so out dated..toyota will be left out for sure..whn nw we are having passat/optima/sonata/peg508/ look at their spec and this camry spec..my god..its like a car frm 2000…even the last generation camry had a nice design then this..i totally hate the design and spec they giving…

• you forget about ford mondeo ecoboost,mazda6,skoda superb,and so on……..

• Ya kero..ford mondeo..i saw sum review in youtube tat it drove more well thn some european models..people here say 4 speed n the ancient engine is reliable..if like tat means ford/vw/bmw/benz/audi all should hv retain their old tech to hv reliablity..atleast they are brave enoughf to try to gv new tech and learn from their mistakes..but toyota needs money and money only..tat y they rip of us like this..they dnt hv the guts to provide new tech if it fails no body would buy it..toyota dont be cash minded hv some passion to build cars..not gv some crap to us..hw cum us camry cn get better gearbox/better engine/more thn 9 air bags better spec..over at us it cn b reliable and malaysia ut couldnt..pls im nt stupid to believe this kind of reasons.2 airbags my god even forte has 6 wit stabilty n traction control.the only car in japan tat has passion is mazda..look at the mazda 6 till date it has more spech thn any jap cars tat sell in malaysia in this segment..hell look at its design it looks even new today n look 100% better thn tis camry..but people dnt wan buy thm..scared of 2nd value..pls people buy a car wit ur heart nt wit ur head u wil regret it..hv passion..choose a car tat gv u n ur fmly a feel of security/comfort/more spec/better hamdling/n looks..u wont regret whn u pay ur loan..choose by heart drive safely wit an hint of passion

• vk9545 on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:21 am

worst design and spec of the year..my award to the 2012 all new camry…

• Grand Marquis on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:36 am

Didn’t like to say this, but I am the first ha ha…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:51 am

badly proportioned. as always with the asean market camry.

• papa rich mama shop on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:41 am

old facelift more humble ,
    new facelift, more VIP look , imagined black lowered camry + big bling2 rims ;D
    the 2.5 variant worth more for this car ,
    **engne power almost the same as the accord 2.4 , i bet the toyota better FC ..
    is there anyone planning to mod to VIP look for this car ?

estimated price about 180k i think for this 2.5

• Paint on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:50 am

Everytime I see a Camry, I feel sorry for Lexus GS owners for not thinking straight. Why would anyone want to buy a reskinned Toyota?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:32 am

saying the GS and the camry are similar cars is like saying the hyundai sonata and the hyundai azera are the same cars.

• Elmo_Eistein on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:48 am

Lexus GS are FR layout car like bimmer, re-skin toyota? u r thinking straight?

U know u shouldn’t check paultan in the classroom during primary school hours? if ur teacher find out u surf paultan site sure gonna punish u kao kao after class boy.

• lexus r bimmer-like ??? for the prices the new lexus r charging , i buy the real stuff .. lol

• it’s actually lexus es is the reskinned toyota camry,not lexus gs

• Yui Hatano on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:51 am

Have you driven a Lexus?
      If you have not, shut the f’ up and if you have you’re an imbecile.

• loveit on Mar 31, 2012 at 5:09 pm

look into detail la man..Lexus are superbly equipped, it’s like you comparing a 999 gold bar with a bar of metal covered with fake mylar..

• bad taste

• Lukeskywalker on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:33 am

still 4 speed gear box in 2012?!?!?!? I mean Toyo really ripped off the customer..

the toyota gear box supplier is like power windows supplier of Potong.! never dies off!!!

Happily smiling Hyundai/Kia/Honda sales man…

K5 in 1Utama display…not bad..

• firefish on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:38 am

it’s time for kia and hyundai to be market leader on D segment…

• RedBeanBun on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:43 am

2012 is mean for a year for change according to the Mayan…

so it will be the year Toyo lose out of the market leader…

4 speed? i really hope the market can give them a lesson…anyhow Camry having good products in laps generation…e.g last Camry sucks, but previous one better…so expect next version sucks, and Toyo redesign again and only comes back 2 generations back..with 6 speed..jhahahhha…

• OilChange on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:51 am

wood trim is soooooo 70s..

• OBEDIENT on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:51 am

UMW likes to milk extreme profit from car buyers. They don’t care cause every fans would buy or even book before launching. I booked as well, i will tell you why later (foolish me). If Jeremy Clarkson is here he would have destroy it like a perodua. In USA Camry 2012 is cheaper by USD1,000(RM3,000) or equivalent to RM 12,000(after duties sales tax profit). Even cheaper USA has 10 airbags, VSC etc. I don’t mind UMW maintain it’s price like 2.4 but with this cost savings can’t they fill up with safety features like USA. They have been very arrogant. Hope they learn from Henry Ford’s BLACK ONLY Color car! UMW listen Sony invented Walkman but lost to Apple iPhone. Samsung is fast catching up. Koreans make better safety spec cars like KIA Optima. All 5 stars rating but Camry overall 5 stars but front & roll over 4 stars even tested with full VSC 10 airbags. Malaysian Camry should be fewer stars cause fewer specs. I booked because 2nd hand value. I am waiting for Ford Fusion/Mondeo 2013 (existing score 8/10 TopFear UK). 240bhp 350Nm. So superior than Camry. Ride handling NVH fantastic – test driven existing model). Teana Camry Sonata Optima – no way near! Passat CKD cost RM 175k but irritated by it’s specs no auto retractable mirrors, no electrical 8 ways seats driver/passenger, meters sharing basis with all models except passat cc. Rear centre passenger isn’t comfortable with high floor (drive shaft fir RWD). Finally I hate Toyota, Honda & Nissan for taking us Malaysian FOR A LONG RIDE for so many years. Hope consumers empowerment ( something like Occupy Wall Street etc) with come sooner. Now Malaysian car markets still rule by baby boomers in fifties ( they influence their children for Japs ride). Hear us I am baby boomers child and I am changing this once and for all. We adopt IPhone not Sony. Toyotas Hondas Nissans you guys are next on the list unless you buck up and do not milk Extreme profit from us! All car buyers take note – last Camry CBU ASEAN Thailand cost RM 60k Now CKD Malaysia should save more therefore selling price should be cheaper by RM 10k ( Passat CKD cheaper by RM14k). I don’t mind you maintain price but include all safety features with these RM 10k savings + RM 10k on lower cost by Toyota Japan (highlighted earlier). I will not buy another Jap car unless they wake up.

• I suggest u make a video instead of writing a review here…

• Aroma on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Exactly, I don’t even bother to read his comment. Like secondary school karangan

• Unforgiven on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:45 am

Talk to your G first before the price its going too get down.

The 5/9 years loan is going into the pocket of AP or similar pocket, free money in the pocket system.

I don’t mind to loose over 100k for my car now, as long as the future generation do not have to go through the protectionism. I may also enjoy a cheaper premium car in the future.

Let’s do the right thing now rather than later, the faster the change the better the future.

• Wallstreet on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:28 am

You criticized this car so much and yet you still booked it. All because of second hand value? Yeah you are right, FOOLISH as you said it yourself. You are one of those Malaysians who bought a car purely for 2nd hand value. And you really think Camry have good resale value like before. Yes still better than Korean cars but it’s slowly dropping and even dropped behind Mazda 6 now.

• OBEDIENT on Apr 01, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Dear Wallstreet Didn’t you read my comments I do not have a choice cause I am driving a 8 years old waja n needed to change to conti. Just a transitonal period cause as I mentioned I am waiting for Ford Fusion Mondeo 2013 model. But I reviewed and test driven all like latest BMW 320d RM 260k Passat RM 175k Ford Mondeo RM 179k Accord RM175k Camry RM175k Teana RM178k Peugeot 508 RM 170k Volvo S60 RM 268k C200 RM 268k. I do not want to be foolish twice on losing so much $ on 2nd hand value cause my dream value car is Mondeo. Did you know it uses ecoboost engine 2.0 238bhp 330Nm 7.3 seconds + 3 years free maintenance Inc wipers brakes etc + Volvo S 60 T5 using same engine + same dual clutch transmission 6 Speed but selling RM 268k without free maintenance. Latest UKTopgear car of year is Range Rover Evoque also uses same Ecoboost n gearbox but selling at RM 400k. I am not foolish after all paying RM179k for Mondeo 2013 Mondeo (search Ford USA you would agree a beautiful car) however I expect Mondeo 2013 will be price by Sime Darby at RM 200k+ but more specs like lane departure BLIS Active Cruise active parking + CBU from Belgium. Ford owned Volvo(Geely now) Land Rover (TATA now) n i pay half price for such a wonderful reliable salesmen car Mondeomen in UK N Europe. This is not karagan

• OilChange on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:55 am

see…. i’m telling u people , toyota owner is so lame and have little or no knowledge about cars what so ever… all they know is, if buy toyota, people think i have money…

4 speeder is an insult to a motoring industry

nowdays, when i see people drive toyota, i only see cows driving cars… they are so stupid for buying somthin sooo lame and outdated…

toyota owner, please go die instantly… sick n tired of u all

• Their money hello…spending own money need to die?talking like that and you get thumb up….omg….malaysia

• elantra on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:37 pm

OilChange

you must be driving a second hand iswara.

talk again when you can afford 100k car. now u sound like a poor kid who hates everyone that is richer. this will do you no good.

if your parents/bosses/teachers/uncle auntie all die, will you be happy?

oh….left all your frens that can afford saga and myvi, so , happy?

• OilChange on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:15 pm

buying car is like marrying a girl….

find a decent 1 , and virgin…

i dont drive 2nd car.. i dont drive toyota either. go shase my name here and you’ll know what kind of car i’m driving… and yes, my 1st car is iswara. back in 93. my father bought it for me after my spm result came out.

elantra is a good car, but you r not… ur attitude showed u r a toyota owner or maybe you have driven 1, before….

u too, please go die intsantly… hit by toyota hilux

• elantra on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:34 pm

i think everyone around you has died……good for them. lol.

ya, i found your name, you sold your iswara and bought a bicycle, because after the free iswara, nobody can buy you a new car…..because of the hilux, you know? come on, you know the hilux.

and its ok, elantra hit by hilux is better than bicycle.

• iLikewheels on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:23 pm

if he(or she) parked his(or could be her) in front 4D shop..aiyoo…bad luck woo…

• Hello….did you pay those ‘cow’ money to buy a car? If not then please don’t talk as if you are so smart. Judging from your kind of comment here, I will rather listen to these ‘cows’ then to listen to you.

• Sad to see this kind of mentality here. I think it’s perfectly ok to criticize, bash to the max on a product but who the hell are you to mock the owners? Calling people cow and curse them to die? You must be one of the salesman who lost all your sales to Toyota because your customers also afraid with your attitude..

• msian on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:58 am

boring,outdated design,i guess toyota stopped caring about the asean market.

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:11 pm

yeah, i think the good design are all reserved for the lexus or JDM toyota or the sportier one.

• Design sucks big time! Korean better

• Putting a T badge on anything with 4 wheels will sell by itself.

• Vj the Rat on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:18 am

As boring looking as the VW Passat, both should be sent to the recycle bin…

• But both of them r still sell well in everywhere lolx the Passat is not boring at least got the LED lights and good performance :D

• PetrolLeg on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:28 pm

given the choice, i will still take VW Passat, at least bang for buck is higher than this piece of obese Altis.

• demio121 on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:20 am

How much we say abt the 4 speeder & 148ps 2.0 mill, this one will fly off the show room. Ppl who drive camry prob dun care much abt all those but more worried abt getting fr A to B without much hassle and arrive looking like a boss.

I dun call Toyota car but road appliance. It get the job done, they get it done exactly how their target audience want it and they r gud @ dat.

• Mou Mou Ren on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:24 am

Nice camry. But, got something missing, the fender is not wide enough. Is just flat for the side like the camry 2005.

• Redrules on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:40 am

The 2.0 E and 2.0 G shares the same engine – a 2.0 litre VVT-i engine that produces 148 PS at 6,000 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The 2.0 litre looks underpowered and kuat makan minyak. The 2.5 litre’s road tax ada mahal sikit.

• Jerry on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:40 am

Singapore’s Borneo Motors have been running full page print advertisement since this month with a picture of the new Camry. Both 2.0 and 2.5 models are available for booking now.

• i wonder how many people here comment like they can afford the car..

• It’s hideous…so unfortunat in Malaysia, these are cars that are popular and hence it is cheaper to maintain due to availability of parts and better on used value. In Europe, there are so many alternatives like Mondeo, Mazda 6, Insignia, Superb, Saab (oops!), Volvo, 508, c5, Passat etc…

• Grammen on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:58 am

“4 speed” @.@ OMG, waited for so long and its a 4 speeder……Now have to ditch my plan of getting one and go for other alternative. The exterior is so…..conservative with no aerodynamic curves. So so so disappointed. Might as well get the outgoing version during clearing offer more worth it :)

• You sure you know what is aerodynamic curves?you just want fancy curves i bet

• Wait for the new honda accord then. should be a save buy

• Ronnie on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:05 pm

When will it be launched then…. i am waiting for any news on it.

• OBEDIENT on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Grammen YES they did add aerodynamics please look at Toyota Camry USA website, there are 3 little fin like on the wing mirror TOYOTA claimed aero functions. Really greatest joke of the century!

• What a letdown. But it will sell by a truckloads still.

• Matthew on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:05 am

I heard Toyota Malaysia plan to increase the price

• optimus on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:08 am

trd version? what’s with the sideskirting….ewww

anyway overall look so boxy, rims a bit too small…20 inch should be alrite

• BENSON 11 on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:11 am

Until you drive the gs you will know it not just a reskinned toyota. dont just look on paper lohh, see it and feel it yourself

• Lee Boon Hoe on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:14 am

The design and the looks of it is totally out compare to Kia Optima and Hyundai Sonata. I think the Koreans are going to take over on the street in Malaysia. Their cars look more stylist and elegant.

What has really happen to Toyota???? Lack of designer ????

• Nania on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:47 am

Koreans are going to take over on the street in Malaysia? I dun agree wif u, if im looking for a value for $ car, I’d choose japanese car or local made car; good looking car – audi; performance – bmw; luxury – mercedes benz; balance among good looking, performance, luxury and value for $ – volkswagen. What is the selling point of koean car?

• Cheap is the selling point….

• Drift on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:30 pm

Yes, CHEAP is the selling point for Korean car. Why? Simple…Sonata with 2 airbag, 4 speed, or even 5 speed, selling at the same price as this Camry, which one will those Koreans supporter buy? They will quietly walk in and book a Camry of course.

• OBEDIENT on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Camry 2012 vs Optima
        Camry specs released by Toyota Malaysia. Go have a look.
        Camry 2.5V NO VSC, NO Rear view camera, NO LED daylight, NO open rooftop, NO hillstart, NO memory seat etc.
        Optima offers really good specs but not value buy on Malaysians’ mind.
        Please call up KIA dealers (launched in 27 Dec) but 2012 models with ready stocks. I checked with Toyota salesmen (already accepting booking even car is not available for viewing till June) Just one salesman est 9 bookings. Multiply by no. of salesmen in Malaysia.
        NAZA KIA “greedily” priced it at RM 143,888 (Accord vTiL RM 145k). I know Accord is an older model. Which would you buy? Plus car buyers are quite pissed off by NAZA service centres!
        Too near Japs! They thought Forte is God’s answer/blueprint to KIA good sales figures. Forte SX 1.6 RM 86k 2.0 RM 98k Civic 2.0 RM 126k. Below RM 100k vs 126k = 26% cheaper! And Forte 2.0 loaded with safety specs 6 airbags, rear view camera ESP etc vs Civic 2.0.If memory selves me right, Hyundai by Sime Darby offered RM 8k during Sonata launching! BUT nothing from Optima (I agree Optima has more specs than Sonata like 6 airbags)
        Lessons must be learned by us – Launching of Camry will gain so much to irritate NAZA to lower prices with discounts or free gadgets like GPS etc in June. NAZA suka to kill off existing owners’ 2nd hand value with price reduction to gain sales.
        Design Optima is better but to Camry owners/potential owners rather sporty not business exec like Camry. So these target customers will still handover their hard earned $ to Toyota.
        I believe NAZA has to offer like KIA USA advantage assurance program solve buyers problem. example USA unemployment KIA would buy the car from owner that has been layoff. Now buyers here are concerned about 2nd hand value, high price + NAZA has to assure buyers (like buy back program 100% service by Naza with certain % depreciation of car value on years/mileage) By then I think buyers would consider Optima. NAZA can’t do it now not cause Optima CBU, maybe CKD it is possible.

• narnia on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:06 am

audi good looking? serious?

• Statistician on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:18 am

Camry owners don not even bother to read about car spec and car blogs. They only care about their business. My conversation with a rich investor from Hong kong:

Is this a Japanese car ? He asked, do not even know whether this is a Toyota or Honda or Mazda.

Yes I said

This is stylish ! He said.

He was using an E class ( which is dead cheap in hong kong) in hong kong. Of course, he get himself a Camry in Malaysia later.

• Then he should not be driving a car,

• You can probably give these Camry owners a bicycle and they wouldn’t know the difference. Yup as long as its made in japan.

I bet UMW and Toyota are laughing real hard at these so called camry owners.

• carlover on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:24 am

where’s the 2.5 Hybrid?

• hippo on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:25 am

Why 2.0 not fitted with dual vvti and CVT gear box. Even the 1.8e Altis has it and I feel that the Altis looks nicer. Even the current Camry looks nicer. This new Camry interior looks boring and not classy. Such a let down. The Kia K5 looks miles ahead

• anti-proton on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:26 am

im a big camry fan… but the 2.0 spec is really crap!! the 2.5 should be selling at less than 150k

• Costwise on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:27 am

Try to be sporty with flat roof, but with huge, in your face, chrome grill and headlight. Put on a 20′ rim, lower the ride and you have a low, low sedan Alphard. Try to shoot it a foot away from the ground, you will see what I mean. Will appeal to many, who like to think they are driving a Lexus…bet it will sell more than the 2 curvy, sexy Korean combined.

4AT…Toyota buyers would not care less. Besides reputation, quality to them mean; solidly built, comfort and super quiet cruise. They know what consumer wants. You would not caught me in one though.

• mat rempitz on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:35 am

Chris Ng,

What do i think? I think this is complete rip off from Toyota. After supporting them for so long, this is what Malaysian get? Same engine with prehistoric gearbox? Time to change Malaysian. What are you waiting for.

• Ya, time to change, change to toyota hybrid lol

• paparadzi on Apr 01, 2012 at 8:38 am

Then they should bring in the Camry Hybrid. Unfortunately there is no news in this department as yet.

• Yui Hatano on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:42 am

I don’t think the car looks great.. Noticed too much safe design cues. The Interior?goodness it was hideous. What was Toyota thinking.
    4 speeder in a 2013 car? that hit a new low man. But statistics shown the buyers are aunties, ahpeks and idiots anyway they really can’t tell the difference.

• Dato Seri on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:46 am

Same old toyota. Boring. The car comes with basic specs and claimed to be the best ever camry made? Wake up toyota or you still in shock due to the flood & tsunami……
    Those who buy this car mainly because its big & roomy and can’t afford to buy MB or BMW.

• Statistician on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:17 pm

This is because most of the people you know lacks substance:)

The youngest Dato is know is 35 and eldest is in their 60s. All the Tan Sris I know are in their 60s. Non of them visit car blogs and their way of showing off is not cars of properties anymore but sum donating to schools, which benefits the public. And yes, most of them have at least a Toyota in the house ( either alphard or Camry )

You are still here with us at paultan.org ah Dato Sri ?

• bimmerdude on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:54 am

Looks like somebody at Toyota had a brilliant idea!!! Take the previous Camry and clutter it up some, stick on some tacky chrome panels, botch up the rear light cluster and Voila! UGLY NEW CAMRY!!! Somebody at Toyota ought to get fired!!!

• DArkerMarker on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:56 am

since 4 speed auto box sounded outdated and overpriced…………that is why TOYOTA called it 4-speed SUPER.

hahahahaha……..Uncle and Auntie would surely kena conned thinking “SUPER” is really good oredi….

• tommyyeoh on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:02 am

Toyota need not spend too much on R&D and improving its specs especially the 2.0 camry as it knows loyal customers in SEA especially malaysia will continue to buy this car for the brand image it project as reliable , value for money and great resale value. But beware Toyota Company new generation buyers are getting smart and doing their research and comparison before purchasing any new car.

This camry espacially the 2.0 really a letdown , first the gearbox same old one brought forward and the design is so boring.

Anyhow people will still be queing up to buy this model. But not for me. My choice is still VW Golf GTI

• droll on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:03 am

the wheels look very odd leh. so tiny??? is this the same 2.5L mil from the lexus and mark-x but tuned differently?

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:07 am

Ancient engine + gearbox. But who cares? The buyers are old folks!

They should offer the manual tho.

• Yybbnn on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:09 am

No matter how bad looking (old tech) is, as long as is Toyota CAMRY. It will sell.

And not only old man like it, even those at their 30s will buy it.

• maaajeeedaaa on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:32 am

as always…lame Toyota….

• RedBeanBun on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:36 am

40’s:Those who are waiting to change their Camry will be disappointed, there is virtually no change compare to current model…so..

30’s: Looking for upgrade to first family sedan will now torch by Kia Optima k5, PUG508..dont forget, this group of buyers are the strongest..

20’s: early marriage 1st sedan sure wont take Camry now, all Korean 5 yrs warranty…

• any japanese carmaker like accord,teana,mazda6 their outlook and transmission still better than this camry “just change soup but not change medicine”.

• YAWNNN !!!!

• AhBeng on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:43 am

hahahahhaa! seriously?

• sharviin on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:10 am

Still want to shoot down Preve?

Boys, this is only in Thailand….. la… haven’t know the Malaysian spec yet…leh…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:43 pm

The photos are of the Thai-market Camry; the leaked brochure contains the specifications for the Malaysian car.

• RyanL. on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:13 am

4 speed for the 2.0? Such a let down. Dislike the exterior too. Dissapointed.

• Mienzz92 on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:39 am

Look so bland & ugly,still prefer the 6th gen Camry over this but don’t worry since it manufactured by Toyota sure Japanese Wannabe sure buy this maa..

• wolfsburg on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:40 am

No vsc in a d seg car in 2012… Great move in cutting cost…

• matthew on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:45 am

I heard Toyota Malaysia estimed price will be E-spec 152k / G-spec 162k / 2.5V 182k
    and for cut cost all new camry will cut VSC , wat is VSC please search at Youtube !

• anonymous on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:57 am

What’s wrong with the refine 4 speeder VS the un-refine 6-speeder? Everyone drives toyota knows how’s the toyota transmission compare to the korean’s transmission. Do you think your 2.0 L required a five or six speeder in normal drive? How about the cost to maintain the transmission? Justify by your own usage.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:52 pm

wat an idiot! If the 6-speeder is unrefined then why is the 2.5L camry using it? also all their high end lexus models?
      such a lame excuse for cost cutting is totally unacceptable even if its coming from a 5 yr old!!!

• Wazzup on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Gearbox mainteance should be more or less the same whether 4 speed , 5 speed or 6 speed gearboxes. As long as they are using similar fluid and quantity…..they are pretty much the same.

With plenty of freeways nowadays, having extra gears may help in overall fuel consumption and also better acceleration ….

• But the point here is toyota 4speeder has better fc than many 6 speeder….

• Jube-Jubes on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:32 pm

What an idiotic comment! Obviously done by something who knows nothing about cars…I think you get yourself a Proton Savvy. You look like you’ll fit in it!

• BHOOORRINGGGG

• 4 speed better than 7 speed ? Im confuse now…

• seancorr on Mar 31, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Too much wood grain for my liking but the exterior looks fine. Agreed on the old 4 gear shifter for the 2.0. Dunno what’s Toyota thinking using a 4 speed gearbox at this timeline.

Anyhow like what the writer pointed out, the 2.5 is the car to get. Toyota better throw in BT hands free, front electric seats, auto leveling and/or adaptive HID/xenon lights and most IMPORTANT of all, MORE AIRBAGS! At least when compared to the likes of Pug 508 or VW Passat, the Camry won’t feel shy.

• The two 2.0 spec version are utterly worthless. Old under powered engine with old outdated gearbox. Definitely not fuel efficient with that kind of old 4 speeder. Is it UMW trying to con us? Why can’t they brought in something with a spec that is on par with the standard from other countries? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Camry_(XV50) look at this link, the spec of the Camry offered overseas sounds so much better than this. There isn’t a single mention about the 2.0 engine with 4 speeder being offered at overseas. Why do we get crap like this. By the way, they even strip away the other exhaust and now it has a single exhaust instead of twin exhaust….

• kelvin on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:11 pm

why still 4 speed dinosaur gearbox.. damn.. very disappointed.. wasted my time to wait this stupid junk damn it..

• silver on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:12 pm

i dont think its ttoyota’s fault more like UMW where is the 2.5 hybrid. probably too expensive after tax and all …

• but the hybrid version is more fuel efficient and environment friendly… it should be able to attract some buyers. Even ridiculously expensive hybrid cars are offered here like Lexus LS600H, Porsche Panamera Hybrid S, Porsche Cayenne Hybrid. For sure there will be some demand for the Camry Hybrid but most probably the Camry Hybrid will compete in the upper market segment. Sigh, so unfortunate that we only got small hybrid cars in here like Prius, Prius C/Aqua,CT200, CRZ and Insight…

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:12 pm

the radiation must have taken effect on the brain of those toyota management ppl? what were they thinking?

• Plastic on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Can the wood trimmings be any more fake??

• Jerry on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Toyota sells predominantly in lower to mid-end of the mass market; 4-speeder allows the car to be priced cheaply.

So it’s not a 8-speeder dual clutch, but still shifts seamlessly and imperceptibly, almost like a CVT. They are good for another season until an all-new generation Camry, with a brand new chassis, starts appearing in six years’ time. (2012 Camry uses a recycled platform from the 2007 model year car.)

• Nuffsaid on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:58 pm

It’s just like a manufacturer using same chassis+gearbox with slight improvements for two continuos F1 seasons to save costs. It makes complete business sense but with little excitements.

Maybe it cannot win races, but it is reliable, easier and cheaper to maintain, and can still score some points. There’s still markets for it.

• Rulered on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:04 pm

4 speed, 6 speed or 7 speed, to a buyer’s point of view, there’s virtually no difference in maintenance. However having a 6 speed car, fuel consumption improves- at least from the current Japanese car I’m driving. I can’t understand why T salesman always use this point. I think the correct sentence should be 4 speed are cheaper to produce perhaps, anyway the 2500cc Toyota have 6 speed for a reason…..

• Gabla on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Actually the platform is exactly the same as my 2003 2.4V Camry, back then it was a really good car with VSC, VVT-i, Multi Info Display and etc. The camry is good for one thing that is reliability. The car is still in a good condition now but it’s aging.

I won’t be looking at the new camry for a replacement since it is the same car I bought 9 years ago with a new skin. I rather get an ecoboost mondeo or optima K5 since they both are offering more value for money.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 31, 2012 at 1:58 pm

It is indeed hilarious to read all these “Fools” comments, the market will react exactly opposite, Camry again would sell like super hot cake.
    Why ? Because these ” fools” can’t afford it, even a 90k+ Elantra there shout expensive, what more a Camry !
    You all should just sticked with yr cheap popper korean junk.
    Opps i forgot ! Even korean junk are consider expensive to you, then better get a used old korean junk, i am sure the lousy 2nd hand value will be so dirt cheap that even cheap skate like you all can afford.

• damn, felt sad for your parent for borning a dog onto the world.

• tunguuu on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:46 pm

people like you is even more broke to the drain. and even more stupid to be so brand blinded and taken for a ride knowingly. people here who knows how toyota is doing business regardless rich or poor will eventually talk to others who may have money to buy these cars and say, look dont be a fool in buying low specced overpriced junks.

• Megane on Mar 31, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Kegampangan Toyota terserlah di sini ….interior boring mcm gampang , looks cheap . Avoid Toyota at all costs . It’s going downhill for the last 10 years with the unimaginative design .

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:00 pm

No LED? Really? Hav to fix it ourself? Wow, Better source for China toyota LED OEM supplier n ship in for mass selling …….. Sure got biz

• shawal on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:13 pm

id go for kia optima, say whutchu want bout reliability n maintenance, my heart sings just by looking at it, my hair is turning grey just by thinking bout dis camry, lets just wait whut honda brings to d table

• Toyota give chance other comPany

• driver on Mar 31, 2012 at 3:46 pm

I hate japanese cars !!! Yes, I used to own a Honda, and it sucks as well.

Looking at this Camry, it’s like looking at OLD ZOMBIE BITCH with new outfit.
    SOULLESS!

• wahenoton on Mar 31, 2012 at 4:02 pm

wahhhh cantek nyerr
    wahhhh hebat nyerr
    wahhhh besar nyerr
    wahh wahh wahh

• This is the way ‘the most popular brand’ do business, the more popular is their product, the less value they provide to customer.

Reversal from what the korean brand is providing, the best product possible with the least money.

• Camry GOLD colour WOOD dashboard is what UNCLES dreams are made of.

YUCK!

• Yawn,…..zzzzzzz

• moron on Mar 31, 2012 at 5:02 pm

I hv been scouting for new car to replace my old gen2… but given the gov price (to protect potong) and low specs (to max profit), really pity myself for not being rich..

• same old boring toyota

• So now the question is how much is it?

• Matthew on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:49 pm

E spec 152k
      G spec 162k
      V spec 182k
      Estimed price , but now even toyota dealer and some umw manager also disappointed
      With Toyota Japan ……

• PetrolLeg on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:26 pm

what happen to Japanese makes? shaking my head and expressing dissapointment.

• Yayoi Yaganida on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Are you sure that’s the estimated pricing? goodness, Malaysian are bunch of losers.

• PetrolLeg on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:17 pm

even if it begins at RM130K for the E spec, in which I doubt, would one willing to pay for it?

Or will I look at other choices?

• Leong on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:20 am

VW seem soo yummy…rm180 for a d segment..hahahaha ..NOW EVERYONE CAN DRIVE A GERMAN!

• CKD, price increase somemore, poor malaysian..

• Well… To prevent from getting brainwashed by salesman/ hardcore+ insane fan boys, just skip every comment from Maserati/ Masked Ryder/ Hyundai De La Junk.

Only brainless people will buy this car.

• Ojan O on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Hybrid pls.. Or at least, US spec. We are not a third world country with nuclear reactor like ukraine. Tq..

(fugly punya design.. Jilaka umw, jilaka toyota.)

• Toyota Is Super Good on Mar 31, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Another piece of old technology junk from Toyota.

• Such a beautiful Unker car…..they will fall in love with the pirated wood trimmings….

• Gonggok on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:36 pm

U.S Camry is fitted with six speed auto.
    Discussion at Toyota japan
    Exec – “boss what transmission should we use for this region’s Camry, should we use the six speed auto?”
    Boss – “which region is it?”
    Exec – “south east Asia, you know, those brown people”
    Boss – “nah…the four speed is enough, those guys will anything we flog them hahaha…”

• KingArgos on Mar 31, 2012 at 7:47 pm

This is fugly. Coming Civic also fugly. Japanese is going down! And its neighbour is doing so well!

• This can’t be real, wait a minute, must be pre April fool joke from Paultan.org…haha

• jaydentham on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:08 pm

this is just plain stupid.go fly kite umw.

• Camry Owner on Mar 31, 2012 at 8:13 pm

It’s very funny reading all the comments. Let me tell you story, hope not too boring.

Back a year ago when I start to look for a car with 150K budget in mind, Camry was at the bottom of my shopping list, or almost off the list actually. And I did so thorough survey, reading all reviews across internet (including paultan’s too) and feedback from friends(who never really own camry or equivalent car) and doing various test drives of different cars. Most of the feedback I get, don’t get Camry, other than it’s the best selling car in its’ segment, no other advantage of getting a Camry. The mindset set stone in my mind so hard that I tell myself to look down at the Camry.

At the end, you probably can guess what’s really happen. I got a Camry too. Why? I’m not really sure, may be I wasn’t thinking straight then and now. Anyway, all the sudden I become one of the uncle who also drive Camry that will be laughed by others. Lesson learned.

BTW, I’m 35, 10 of my neighbours are driving camry and one of my friend is running into the same dilemma despite how badly I tried to influence him not to get a Camry.

• Moral of the story is?

• mirror on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Now here is a guy with an honest opinion.

Cheers bro..

• Yayoi Yaganida on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Dude, didn’t understand you. I had very similar problems when changing my car 2 years ago. Camry was at bottom of my list due to its crappy specs. Done lots of research and at the end I still didn’t buy a Camry due to abundance of obvious reasons. I know it a matter of choice but I think you have a weak mind.

• Leong on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Bro,well said..Year 2006..yes,that six years ago..the year I bought my Camry,don’t need much survey…Ford,Chevy,Kia,Hyundai…macam tak mau business….mazda and VW was like..non existence…..so left nissan,honda and toyota…..one glance..you know Camry offer the best deal..but that is 2006….fast forward 2012…they are giving you the same spec as the car you are about to sell…bro..sucker also got limit…like that why bother to change..unless you like the smell of new plastic and HP loan laaaa….anyway…Just dumped my Toyota for a Mazda….fully imported from Japan..loaded with airbags..hahahahaha…Also to note,most car I test drive have smooth transmission….best sekali..VW…punye cantik its drive train….and a note to end this rambling …to those who think Toyota is cheap to maintain and have second hand value…All the best does not happen to my Camry…huhhuhuhuhuhuh…

• OilChange on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:37 am

another boring person who dont enjoy life made a posting on paultan’s wall…

it is a simple anology…

why so many of your neighbours including u driving camry? becos, boring people are everywhere… cool, charismatic and exciting people are little… and they all not driving toyota…

• Kambing on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:26 pm

It’s like all the other cars in that price range easily breakdown and drop like flies with high maintenance besides Camry. I think you’re speaking for yourself and the rest of your 10 neighbours. Herd mentality if you ask me.

• If you don’t like, then don’t buy laa. As simple as that. If everybody have the same opinion, then Toyota might re-think Malaysia as a place to dumb their low value vehicles.
    Remember, WE have the POWER…

• my god!! Even Savvy have 5-Speed Auto!

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:54 pm

savvy AMT is it? that one is actually a manual gearbox with automated motors, sensors and ECU. similar to Alfa Romeo’s Selespeed and many F1 gearboxes… and also became the base for the much improved dual clutch gearbox

• michaelooi on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Looks like taxi for pimps.

The current version looks so much more better.

• PetrolLeg on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:21 pm

It’s funny that last yearmr. Toyoda himself presented the teaser that he says this will be the best Camry ever. Should take a fish and slap him!

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:58 pm

yes…its the camry ever! u misunderstood him!

best profit margin for them (TOYOTA) ever and not for you lowly brainless blind consumers!!!

• lithium on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:55 am

That’s for the US spec Camry. As usual Asian Camry gets dumb down spec.

• SaveTheEarth on Mar 31, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Where are those 2 airbags (curtain airbags) have gone? Should be at least 6 airbags rite. UMW greedy with just 4 speeds, 2 airbags, no VSC for 2000cc variant. UMW knows mostly people will go for 2000cc, what a shame. Safety features??????????? You really treat us as stupid fellow. Are you a market leader……shame shame shame.

Lexus Malaysia service center can’t cope with the demand…… Lexus Malaysia is also under UMW rite, a greedy act, shame on you.

• umw has been fleecing msian buyers long time d..from overpriced p2 to lexus..cars from japan are exempted from import duties, only excise duty of 90% which is the same rate as thai made cars..noticed dat cbu mitsu and mazda’s are close to cbu prices..i noticed it when i purchased my mazda..its says 0% import duty due to free trade agreement with japan in 2007..

• Masked Ryder on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:29 pm

All those auto mag, blog, forum, had been given bad comments on US Camry, but month by month sales figure show Camry stay strong on their throne, infact on February Camry even rank 2nd best selling vehicle of all categories.
    This has provent all those negative comment are irelavant, as they nothing but a bunch of bad mouth losser who can’t afford Camry or rival brand salesman.
    If every one here bought a Sonata or Optima, i am sure their monthly sales figure would not be such pathetic.

• Director on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:34 am

We can afford the camry but might as well we get other brand with better spec. Yes shout out loud on your resale value for now. In near future there’ll be no such thing. People will only buy new while u stuck with this rotten underspec car.

• Toyota Is Super Good on Apr 01, 2012 at 8:33 am

The US specs are different from Bolehland’s specs. You got to be a no brainer to pay RM150K for a old technology junk. Anyway, there’s lots of no brainers in Bolehland, thanks to the fear tactic on resale value by Totota and Honda sales con men.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:03 am

Dumb, US too do not have 2.0 Optima, & their Sonata have “more than 2 air bags”, ops even their Elantra have more than 2 air bags.

So Korean in Malaysia is also paria 3rd country low spec model.

• coolcar on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:06 am

To me only the sales figure matters. The comments here are mainly done by kids, a person that can’t efford a Camry or Korean car salesman. Nobody will give a damn on these comments.

• Leong on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:26 am

Yes how true,kids cannot afford a D segment car now!..but this kids already hates Toyota for taking their dad as a fool just because their dad just want to be prudent financially..but we can see Toyota popularity sliding once these kids are the majority of people who can afford a HP loan…Yes when you and me grow old….

• PetrolLeg on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:51 am

I don’t think so, i can frankly admit I’m not a kid and as a car owner of many makes, new mind you, not 2nd hand purchaser, I’m entitled give my honest comments and opinions.

Probably you’re wrong about kids, what car are they driving now? don’t be too ignorant and open your eyes on the road, kids are now driving cars with specs and functions.

Period!

• aiyo really love u la bro, never disappoints me with your stupid comments.

• Jube-Jubes on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Toyota has lost the plot. These fellas from Japan really think they can build some shitty design and charge a whole wheel barrow of money and con the buyers. They are banking on their past glory! I say get yourself a Volkswagen!

• thebugbud on Mar 31, 2012 at 10:47 pm

T has a good arsenal of car technology at their disposal. They have divided and only picking the right tech for the right market. The US, Europe, SEA, China and their domestic market.

Mostly, Camry in SEA is D segment car that given lower spec engine and transmission, and adequate equipments. The reasons can be, the target market are middle age man that need a reliable work horse that serve the purpose, sizable car to make do with appearance for biz engagement (where ppl can’t be bothered to look into engine or how many transmission speed) and cheap to run (low maintenance and etc).

While C segment car are mainly targeted for younger crowd, specs are becoming more crucial as this generation is more conscious in value for money by specs. Just take MyVi for example, it comes with SAT Nav at higher spec version. Well, a middle age biz man may juz buy a portable Garmin (and easily replaceable) and get the job done without worrying that if the SAT nav fail and will cost a couple of thousands.

Of course, the high car tax is not doing any justice to the situation and specs of such is seriously costly. But in anyway, each car will find it’s own market and of course also be mindful with other competitors.

• For the price of 2.0. you can get 2 P. Preve with more power to match…

• armandd on Mar 31, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Well, if toyota gives the vios a 4-speed auto, that is still acceptable. But this is camry, it should be better than that. It’s truly a boring car…

• Unforgiven on Apr 01, 2012 at 12:16 am

Honestly hoping to see at least 6 speeds and 6 air bags…

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:00 am

UMW = BN, so many “Good Things” has been in the past, yet people are supporting & believing in it. Typical human nature, “reluctant to change” even thought they know it’s a crab. We should support something because of it’s superiority over others not pass legacy.

Same Engine & Gear Box for 3 Generation since 2002, It’s a “World Guinness Record” & only Toyota can do it – Amazing!!!

Well Done Toyota & those who buying it, because of you, our nation will never move forward.

• driver on Apr 01, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Second your thought! Making a change require a man to step out of the comfort zone, and confront new challenges.

Only a real free man is brave enough to make a change.
      Ball’s up! Stop this bloodsucking no more!

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:11 am

Bravo !!! Both UMW & Those buying the 2.0 version has just make history!!! It should be a “Business World Record”

Same Engine & Gearbox for 3 Generation since 2002, more expensive than a German Made Passat with super low spec, China is selling at a lower price compare to the previous generation due to stiff competition.

No Wonder Malaysia is heading to become a third world country !!!

• mindfaucet on Apr 03, 2012 at 11:15 am

Bro.. Malaysia IS a third world country.. do you even know what is a Third World Country? Bashing on the third world countries without knowing what is it is not wise bro.. Google it if you’re curious.

• Sexy Back on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:14 am

Damn kow boring, tot getting for my wife…now can forget about it. I like the K5 but my wife still like sushi so much. Damn from today onward will not eat a save the money buy the new 3 series. Bye toyota!

• Director on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:16 am

They forgot to include these standard feture for camry in the spec list:

Brake: Warp and shakes after few months.
    Exhaust: Rattles after 1 year or so.
    Suspension: Wallowy and unstable after 150km/h.
    Engine: Noisy and coarse after 20K km or so.
    Audio: Sounds like mini compo.

Been there, endure those. No more camry.

• Car Driver on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:26 am

When I commented to a Toyota Dealer why Toyota Prius C needs 6 airbags he quiclky said it ts the trend now to have more airbags.

I guess he is bluffing now.. Looks like the new Camry is not following the trend with only 2 airbags.

If you feel like cheated by the price and low specs dont buy. .. All dont buy.. We are the consumer..We can dictate the market..

• Grand Marquis on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:33 am

Well who cares with 4, 5, or 6 speed, especially in an auto car. Tekan minyak jalan dah la.

When I owned a honda city 2004, it comes with 7 speeds. Guess what, I don’t even notice which speed I am in. Just press the paddle and it kept on moving. Thats all.

• someone on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:29 pm

The only matter is how much you spend on petrol every month. 4 speed auto gearbox vs. 7 speed DSG or 7 speed CVT. I think you know it very well.

• Grand Marquis on Apr 01, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Yeah. Try to compare fuel consumption between a 4 speed toyota and a 7 speed Korean car with same CC. I bet you will cry.

I use a Kia Opirus, which 3.8 V6 and its fuel consumption is worse than a 5.7 V8 chevrolet caprice. And that Kia is 5 speed while the chevrolet is 4 speed.

• driver on Apr 01, 2012 at 6:49 pm

You need to learn more about transmission, and especially how it affects your driving. Not only performance, and fuel consumption, but also your safety.

The more ratio a transmission can have, the better it is for cruising, fuel consumption, and NVH as the engine need not to be at higher RPM. It’s more comfortable as well. And this is Camry for God’s sake – a car that is supposed to be for executive purposes – involves many long distance travelling, as opposed to Viva that is actually designed for many stop-and-go.

I used to own the city, with the 7 speed. But that is not a “real” 7speed – it’s a CVT. Unless you’ve turned it on, you’ll never notice it because it’s in a CVT mode.

• If new Camry were priced at RM130,000 or higher but with 2.0E moniker THEN don’t blame UMWT since buying will encourage killing.

UMWT should only offer the entry 2.0G with RM129,999 the most; 2.5G RM149,999 if not lower since this expensive price due to tax in Thsiland for bigger cc cars.

In fact we can get less RM165,0000 for Hybrid. If you wonder why Toyota greedy; then ask your friends never buy Toyota anymore.

If hybrid RM165,000 then VW Passat RM170,888 or Pug 508 RM169,000 is better choice.

• What leaked? The specs are already in the website.

http://www.toyota.com.my/camry/

• Purchase CKD Passat for RM171,000 if we really want to teach UMWT (a GLC). The problem is many blame here and there but still buy Camry.

When you stop buying Altis- we get better spec 1.8. Stop buying super low spec Camry 2.0 they’ll offer better spec instead at cheaper or same cost

• mechanically toyota do and did produce mechanically good car but , this one looks like a changable body of an RC car. hmmm.tasteless,

• Bongcs on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:54 am

Camry suits fat old uncle

• TOM BYRON on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:57 am

Funny with all the bashers..Just get the 2.5..if you guys want 6 speed..enough said.

• PetrolLeg on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:21 pm

We are not bashers mind you! we are probably existing customers, potential customers and shoppers looking around for their ride. We are entitled to our opinion and Toyota should read all these comments, accept and see how to approach in every angle. So what if we get the 2.5? it’s just a larger set of coke and fries. but the taste and the content is the same.

As the market becomes more and more open, if you or Toyota call us bashers then that is sad and they should probably be digging their grave and spend millions and hours on their own study why they are losing market share.

Go figure! and if you’re happen to be with Toyota, then it’s kinda sad that you turn people off.

• SaveTheEarth on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Dump Dump TOM Byron, what are you talking. You act like someone who we really hate. Seem like you make things easy, not everyone can afford 2.5 which is 20-30% extra compare to 2.0. It is not Toyota doesn’t have the technology for 2.0.

• People are blinded by brand coz of its reputation. I will expect this one will sell well for those who could not care less about 4 speed transmission. Nonetheless, i personally opted for Mazda 6 instead of Camry & Accord

• Camry i Like on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:59 am

Wow…
    Lovely car..
    Correct; this is a car that drive; passion and all..

Oh Toyota; you really knows how to make car(s) that really sells…
    Good petrol and performance..
    Easy to maintain and get parts..

BEST OF ALL YOU ALWAYS HAVE SUPER 2ND VALUE above all …

I love TOYOTA :)

• PetrolLeg on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:25 pm

so fake, if you’re in the sales team, then you should feedback all these comments in the next general meeting. there will come to a certain time where resale value will be the least priority, probably that is what Toyota is targeting at, the older generation of car owners. New car owners are looking for specs, fun factor and drive excitement. It has already begun that you can see there are more Korean cars, Ford and etc mix on the road….all these cars have the least resale value, so you can probably put your pillow high up and ask yourself why? if you think you still want to bang on resale value.

• Fun factor and driving excited on korean car you sure?beautiful skin yes la…

• have you tried any korean car..? my 2.0 Kia Koup much more fun and smooth from 0 – 220kmh compared to my 2.4 accord…thanks to the 6 speed Theta II engine..

• Toyoda on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Yes, this car very ngam all ah pek n uncle. 4 speed mah 4 speed lo. Wat d hell uncle don’t bother about tech spec. As long as suit uncle status ok liao. Ngam boh all my uncle auntie fansi?

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:22 am

Looks a bit like Lexus LS but a whole lot fatter.

• rongak on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:54 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Death certificate signed by Toyota! The kimchis will eat their diminate them in 3 yrs! Mark my words!!!

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Yes !!! Lets’ make this happen -> make history repeat itself -> like what happen to Sony, what Sony is today compare to Samsung?? Boycott Toyota, they have to learn it the hard way !!!

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:06 pm

it was the same dream when first Sonata reach our shores like 20 years ago. and then in early millenium when the HF Sonata was sold at the same price as Corolla Altis..

but the reality fact is – Toyotas still has not die while the kimchis are still struggling in sales.

they even reluctant to accept trade in of their own cars unless offer a very very low value which was like take-it-or-leave-it

• Merc=Real Euro on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:40 pm

2.0 forget it… 2.5 maybe worth considering….now just have to see the pricing…

• mentari-o-korea on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:36 pm

K5 Optima 10x better!!!

• heckler on Apr 01, 2012 at 2:42 pm

at the time og my post, alreay more than 200 comments. the funny thing is that almost 100% bashed on teh 4s AT.
    Honestly, how many % of those that bash T will actually buy it.
    I think most of the ppl [uncle you may called it] dont give a damn about 4s or 2xAB
    Say what you want about the Koreans and tell me, the previous model of Sonata, how much hcan you fetch in teh mkt right now. Also, tell me how much the current 5 yr old Camry now.

• bobdbilder on Apr 01, 2012 at 5:19 pm

It is in the best interest of the seller and the financing and insurance facilities to keep resale value high for Toyota models. It is never in the interest of 2nd hand buyers. The 2nd hand market is dictated by risk management rather than actual market inclinations.

Certain brands/make models are sold and financed at the highest values as the risk of people running away defaulting on them are low (uncles can’t run). Additionally finance institutions want to make more money than if you were buying brand new cars.

Notice that compounding the issue is that 2nd hand cars have higher interest rates. So you get a double whammy; higher value of loan and compounded interests. For a ‘safe’ car. Whereas these people already made money from the new cars. They made a whole lot more on 2nd hand ones. Always saying that there is higher risk.

• Then why are you commenting on a new car thread? Go buy 2nd or old car lo, eh wait, the 4speed box on this car reminds you old car?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:39 pm

When i buy a car, i dont plan to sell it before even purchasing it…. IF you like your money so much, go buy a house or a shoplot, guaranteed to appreciate. I prefer something that give me a smile after a hectic day at work rather than more boredom…..That can never be valued with any price be it 5 years, 5 days or 5 seconds…..and that is something NO TOYOTA can give me, so forget it

• PetrolLeg on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:47 am

spot on, and absolutely true. at the end of the day, after all the hectic things you went through in the office or at your job, you’re looking forward to hop into your wheels and have some fun over it, based on this so called new Toyota, I think my face will be longer when I drive home.

• someone on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I am very surprised so many Toyota fans here. I would like to propose all to take the logical path. Firstly our car prices are not as cheap as we were told. Next road tax and insurance is another issue to be considered and if the current condition continues, we will see a price hike at the pump very soon.

With all these, do you still want to consider “bole jalan sudah lah”? The current trend is down sizing the engine capacity with turbo charge or twin charge coupled with CVVT or DSG gerabox…etc.

This year will see many new models on the road and if one is considering to buy a car now, then choose wisely otherwise one will end up having a very high running cost car. Off-course if you have so much money to spend, then why consider this car?

• droll on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:24 am

this is the reason i can’t stop laughing when i hear the tagling, “Toyota, moving forward!” hahahahahahahha. it doesn’t really mean they are improving technologically, it just means “bole jalan sudah lah” i.e. car can be driven forward hahahaha.

• maverick on Apr 01, 2012 at 5:12 pm

It makes Proton P321a looks like a gems!!

• all new 4 speeder on Apr 01, 2012 at 6:33 pm

hail to the king of 4 speeder…

• tok-kok on Apr 01, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Toyota is is the best brand in Malaysia..

I don’t care if it is fitted with a 3 speed autobox, i’d still buy lah!!

muahahaha……

• Omg, the car looks exactly the same from the model several generations ago…they r still using the same platform, engine and gearbox….Maybe Toyota wanted to beat Proton and enter the Malaysia Book of Records for longest model in production…to me its just a facelilt

• Exorcism on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:25 pm

Even my bicycle has 5 speed.

• Toyocamry on Apr 01, 2012 at 9:59 pm

At first glance i thought Paul posted the current camry ! What happen to Toyota treating us like 3rd class customer ? Throwing all this “out-dated” tech at us ? 4 speed trans ? 2 Air-bags, boring design and the wood interior is nothing to shout about. Uncle buyers now have many choices at their side, they can have German sausages, Korean Kimchi and French croissant. Hopefully the prices wouldnt be another disappointment.

• Toyota Camry on Apr 01, 2012 at 10:34 pm

Why all of you so funny? no money buy so talk non sense here?

• Oh No~~~ New camry but still using an old engine, it’s only have 4 speeds for the 2.0 model…aiks, what a shame on this….Even 2.5V model dun have the VSC/ESP where older 2.4V have it….what happen toyota????

• OBEDIENT on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Camry 2.5V 2012 Cost Build UP
    Assumption – Last Camry Thailand model cost Open Market Value SGD 26k RM 63k .
    OMV is assessed by the Singapore Customs based on the price actually paid or payable for the goods when sold for export to the country of importation. This price includes purchase price, freight, insurance and all other charges incidental to the sale and delivery of the car to Singapore. Singapore GOVERNMENT is very transparent.

Camry 2012 USA selling at 5% discount vs old model. So Malaysia imported CBU from Thailand at RM 60k.
    Let’s say Toyota Thai marked up a little 10% (UNLIKELY, anyway just a guide) RM 6k. Actual cost was RM 54k from Japan as CKD kit.
    Assuming UMW buys from Japan CKD Camry kit at RM 54k as well.

Our tax structure – {RM 54k x (Import Duty 10% + Excise 90%)} x Sales Tax 10% = RM 118,800. Estimated Selling Price RM 180,000 – Cost RM 118,800 = Profit RM 61,200 or 52% Mark UP!
    Toyota Malaysia would claimed they invested new plant, machineries, jigs etc into hundreds of millions hence profit is much LESSER after depreciation on these assets investment.

• Oh no~~~ New Camry yet using old engine with 4 speeds??? Even for the 2.5V dun have VSC/ESP where the previous 2.4V have it…..what happen to toyota???

• OBEDIENT on Apr 01, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Camry 2012 Cost Build up (specification is published on Toyota malaysia web)

Based on Old Camry 2.4 CBU from Thailand imported into Singapore OMV SGD 26k RM 63k.

Assuming Toyota Thailand mark up 10% CKD cost from Toyota Japan was RM 57k. In USA, new camry 2012 cheaper by 5%. But I just ignore this savings.

Let’s say UMW import new kit from Japan at RM 57k.
    Our tax structure {RM 57k x (Import Duty 10% + Excise Duty 90%)} x Sales Tax 10% + RM 57k
    = RM 125,400.
    Selling Price RM 185,000 – 125,400 = RM 59,600 or Cost Mark UP 48%.

UMW would claim they have invested hundreds of millions into plant & machineries etc depreciation affect their bottom line. Margin is much lesser. Up to car buyers to decide!

Why Camry 2.5V (consider highest specs in Malaysia except Hybrid) –
    NO VSC, NO REARVIEW CAM, NO MEMORY SEAT, NO DAYLIGHT LED, RAIN SENSORS, NO GPS, 10AIRBAGS, TRACTION CONTROL, SMART START/STOP, TIRE PRESSURE etc!! Simply NOTHING. KOSONG Camry 2.5V.

USA – Camry 2.5XLE selling at USD 23k with ALL safety features inc BLIS!

So many road deaths per year in Malaysia, why Malaysian government doesn’t encourage all these safety features that safe RAKYAT YANG DICINTAI lives!

(OMV is assessed by the Singapore Customs, based on the price actually paid or payable for the goods when sold for export to the country of importation. This price includes purchase price, freight, insurance and all other charges incidental to the sale and delivery of the car to Singapore).

• stupidppl on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:38 am

Either you cant read or you are plain…ahem…smart….the spec listed for th 2.5v you mentioned..those you mentioned actually exist….trying to act smart without reading…

• OBEDIENT on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Stupidppl Yes I did read the Thai spec 2.5V. There is English version on Toyota Thai website if you cant read Thais or visit Toyota Simgapore or Toyota Malaysia
        I am ahem not that smart but stupidppl these exist on USA Camry not in ASEAN. PLEASE READ AGAIN MAYBE YOU MISREAD!

Nothing kosong. NO VSC, NO REARVIEW CAM, NO MEMORY SEAT, NO DAYLIGHT LED, RAIN SENSORS, NO GPS, 10AIRBAGS, TRACTION CONTROL, SMART START/STOP, TIRE PRESSURE etc!! Simply NOTHING. KOSONG Camry 2.5V.

• alldisc on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:20 pm

err, wait for facelift to come in 2 years time than only all model dual vvti, cvt gearboxes and clever driving aid electronics?

perhaps.

• Anderson on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:28 am

still 4 speed for 2.0, No VSC, no rain sensor, no GPS, no memory seat, super low spec only have is high price and super high profit for UMW.

All the T and H brand car maker in Malaysia is super high margin and think all Malaysian are stupid and idiot.

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:54 am

If the Camry 2.4 price will be around Sonata , Optima and 508. GG la Toyota. The competitors have more quality and engine performance. Real car lover will get those . Unless you are a conservative uncle who prefers Toyota.

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 02, 2012 at 7:57 am

correction : 2.5V engine

• OBEDIENT on Apr 02, 2012 at 8:17 am

Camry 2012 vs Optima
    Camry specs released by Toyota Malaysia. Go have a look.
    Camry 2.5V NO VSC, NO Rear view camera, NO LED daylight, NO open rooftop, NO hillstart, NO memory seat etc.
    Optima offers really good specs but not value buy on Malaysians’ mind.
    Please call up KIA dealers (launched in 27 Dec) but 2012 models with ready stocks. I checked with Toyota salesmen (already accepting booking even car is not available for viewing till June) Just one salesman est 9 bookings. Multiply by no. of salesmen in Malaysia.
    NAZA KIA “greedily” priced it at RM 143,888 (Accord vTiL RM 145k). I know Accord is an older model. Which would you buy? Plus car buyers are quite pissed off by NAZA service centres!
    Too near Japs! They thought Forte is God’s answer/blueprint to KIA good sales figures. Forte SX 1.6 RM 86k 2.0 RM 98k Civic 2.0 RM 126k. Below RM 100k vs 126k = 26% cheaper! And Forte 2.0 loaded with safety specs 6 airbags, rear view camera ESP etc vs Civic 2.0.If memory selves me right, Hyundai by Sime Darby offered RM 8k during Sonata launching! BUT nothing from Optima (I agree Optima has more specs than Sonata like 6 airbags)
    Lessons must be learned by us – Launching of Camry will gain so much to irritate NAZA to lower prices with discounts or free gadgets like GPS etc in June. NAZA suka to kill off existing owners’ 2nd hand value with price reduction to gain sales.
    Design Optima is better but to Camry owners/potential owners rather sporty not business exec like Camry. So these target customers will still handover their hard earned $ to Toyota.
    I believe NAZA has to offer like KIA USA advantage assurance program solve buyers problem. example USA unemployment KIA would buy the car from owner that has been layoff. Now buyers here are concerned about 2nd hand value, high price + NAZA has to assure buyers (like buy back program 100% service by Naza with certain % depreciation of car value on years/mileage) By then I think buyers would consider Optima. NAZA can’t do it now not cause Optima CBU, maybe CKD it is possible.

• k5 owner on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:12 am

i’m proud to be K5 owner:)
    much2 proud after looking at new camry :p

• overly done chrome material makes the whole car looks crappy. nowadays, European luxury car if possible reduce the use of chrome material but toyota seems to favor it. the results to me is lousy.

• libralcl on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:11 am

From this thread I can see ppl are less to the new Camry than others make. Although both Japs and others have their own selling points (Japs => second hand value & refinement, others => more specs & bang for bucks). Just go for the test drive and feel the car. If you like it buy it no regret. As for my case I choose K5 coz I like it.

• Statistician on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:11 am

Let me make a simple conclusion here…. a lot of people complained about Camry has got lousy 4 speed transmission, no reverse camera, no VSC, not enough horse power.

I just bought myself a new phone which is Nokia X2, I bet you don’t even know what is that. It is a damn shit than lasak phone which i can throw it towards a dog if the dog is chasing me and the phone is still in a good condition after that. I phone ? Samsung ? Oh please that is for kids to do their Facebook and play games. Yes a few of the people around me are benefited by the smart phone in their business but not many.

Choose practicality and retire early. Camry is like a nokia x2 with cheap maintenance and big key board.

• OilChange on Apr 02, 2012 at 1:49 pm

nokia is a crappy phone… that is y u use it to hit the dog…

• tokmoh on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Bitch please, Nokia is used to throw at the police: https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/539769_10151439190595537_904440536_23280768_789992641_n.jpg

*troll face*

• Yeah..malaysian need reliable old tech gadget/car. Why in japan toyota put in new engine? Coz they can have big margin dumping old tech engine to asean market. No wonder toyota have the biggest cash reserve among auto company. Just wonder

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:10 am

Samsung is kid’s phone ? Retire early ? Damn, you are REALLY old !

• OBEDIENT on Apr 02, 2012 at 10:12 am

Toyota Singapore offers SGD 1,000 + 5 years free maintenance for Camry 2012 early booking promo! UMW – ZERO NOTHING!
    Singapore is just a trading company importing from Thailand – they can offer these why not UMW Malaysia?
    We imported from Thailand last time but CKD now. Surely, UMW has been looking at better margin if not why all hassle to CKD cars with high capital investments.
    FIKIRlah – a trading company with lower margin can offer these but our BOLEHLAND GLC UMW even with better margin BUAT TAK TAHU.

• ToyoCan on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:50 pm

The reason is simple – Toyota is treating Malaysian customers like a cow, milking you nicely…la ! And the best thing is many “uncles” loving it !

• Say No To Lynas on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:12 am

Last quarter of 2011 was the car market transformation started,when Naza brought in Peg 508(CBU) with full specs(europe price near to Merc C-class), then followed by VW with CBU Passat,Jetta etc.
    lots of D segment buyer were opened up their eyes with wider choice of performance specs, and also the same time malaysian driver started to realize how the T/H fooling/insulting us with great profit with compromise cars.
    Ever after that,very few new cars from T/H were seen to run on road, T/H started to panic,they resolved it by importing more hybrid cars with good spec/features-one of the most notable features were number of air-bags,minimum 6.
    Then i started to think,hmm good thing for them to learn-with so much impact from conti competitor,T/H do realise the need to change the altitude and mentality-that is the ultimate law in business-treat your clients like king!
    With the launching of this new camry,some how i think they just sabotage all previous effort,compromising all the valued features for a family car-minimum air bags,VSC, etc.
    You may bet on same group of people will still buy it disregard the features,you could be right till 2011,definitely not after that.
    Any potential buyer as a father to family,i’m sure they will behave like me-first thing to look for is the safety features.
    What so good about resale value if an accident take away your love most because of no air bag protection?
    To me UMW not only greedy but potential killer-be.
    Not to buy Toyota camry is an understatement for me,we should ban this model as it is potential harmful to life-something like lynas?!
    So country folks,if they insist they are right just because they are in power for many years and refused to change,teach them a lesson.
    lets start the tsunami of reformation-you don’t change,you are out!
    You are there to serve us, we are your boss!
    We dicide your future!
    Let start it today from camry to GE13!

• facepalmonkey on Apr 02, 2012 at 2:16 pm

This New Cammry does look SH!!!!!!T….The back look like a copy of the current Accord…….
    Now the KIA Optima really is what we call a looker!! (when compared to this SH!!!!!!T)

• Most that complained about the gear speed are right. Why on earth they are still using 4 speed for a D-segment car. They should be taught a lesson just like Altis vs Civic saga when they got no choice but to bring in a 2 litre with 7 speed gb. Until Honda or Nissan come out with a more attractive D-segment cars, Toyota will continue to take you for a ride.

• lithium on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:07 pm

hehe the 2.0 camry is not the “real” camry, it is dumb down for asian market where big car sells. the “real” camry starts at 2.5 but having said that toyota should have known better that asian car buyers are getting smarter and upgraded the 2.0 to US camry standard. i hope honda take note of this and offer a well equip new accord and not follow toyota’s footsteps. UMW should have 2 version, the G 2.0 with all the 2.5 specs except the engine and the 2.5V with even higher spec.

• Jaybond on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:52 pm

This new Camry is uglier than the the outgoing version!!!!! Not to mention the specs! Toyota was again just being too complacent , when the Koreans and European makers are offering much2 better design & features. With so many impressive choices in this segment lately, there’s no doubt Toyota will no longer enjoy the same reception as last time. Good luck Toyota.

• suitable to be an airport taxi…like oldey cedric & cressida…unpresentable looks for executive car

• The cheapest Camry 2.5 in Japan is RM106,000; while In Thailand (RM150,000 for 2.5v and RM164,000 for 2.5Hybrid- generally Thai has higher tax for above 2.0l).

If VW has cheaper variant of Passat, say 1.4tsi with 160ps sell at RM149,999 or below, nobody will give T@H a chance to screw us. New Mondeo and 508 also good contender but they need extensive 3s and more upmarket image.

Please teach Toyota a lesson they’ll remember and they’ll never shortchanged their buyers with inferior product.

Love AE86, Gt86 but hate underspecced cars in Umw lineups

• OBEDIENT on Apr 02, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Toyota salesman said Camry price tentatively 2.0E Rm152k, 2.0G rm 160 and 2.5V rm183k. More expensive than last model. USA cheaper by 5%. Now CKD more expensive than CBU. Why CKD should have savings not increase of price. Add option RM2.99k for touch screen 6.1″ review camera.
    Look at my posting on build up cost on camry. Sad day for car buyers! OPPRESSED KAW KAW BY UMW.
    The choice is yours. Our volkswagen Passat 1.8 is officially cheaper at RM175k. All Volkswagen need is to think of ways to tackle 2nd hand value issue.

• PetrolLeg on Apr 03, 2012 at 7:31 am

If I were VW I have no plans to think of 2nd value, they would probably spend their time thinking how to bring better card into bolehland. the market will change, tht’s te problem in Malaysia, all about 2nd value. People buy VW will know the fun factor is there and obviously put 2nd hand value at the least priority.

• rubbish on Apr 02, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Rubbish

• The fake rose wood woodern trim & the boxy body….also the chrome….. sure old chinaman like it very much….

• kelvin on Apr 02, 2012 at 11:44 pm

i cannot understand why it become more expensive what? 2.0G 160k.. why CKD is more expensive than the CBU? the spec is sux compared to VW.. stupidddddddd

• Toyota-San on Apr 03, 2012 at 12:31 am

UMW is indeed greedy. But who wouldnt want to make extra money?

Many people bashed and critisized but the only way to stop the trend is to STOP buying a toyota. Thats how we can make them think twice before coming up with a price and accessories that goes with it.

Same goes to our country. Dont like how it is being managed, VOTE and change it!

• PERVERT on Apr 03, 2012 at 1:25 am

UGLY!

• Faizul on Apr 03, 2012 at 8:37 am

ugly and very conservative.. imho the car only suits uncle and aunty.. even if it is kitted with trd sportivo bodykit, it will still looks old. i wonder why toyota didn’t bring the us camry into our market which looks better than this

• coolG on Apr 03, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Come on! Not again? Same dull and boring interior color combination… Disappointed. Add in more luxury & european touch please….

• justdissapointed on Apr 09, 2012 at 9:11 pm

the wood trimmings are so ugly pathetic. Why no vsc toyota? really shocked with this specs. Waited for this car but now we are just going to drop it from out list for good!. can u imagine the salesperson we called to inquire have no idea that it is not coming with the vsc.

• Not a fan on Apr 21, 2012 at 10:05 pm

The new design is SOooo VERY UNCLE LOOK! The current version is MUCH pleasing than the “New” model!

US Camry is the BEST among all!

• kumar on Jun 17, 2012 at 3:16 pm

now i know why toyota showroom the whole malaysia dont have a 2.0E or G for test drive. they scared we will find out the engine capability.

• Flyguy70 on Jun 20, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Why Toyota showroom don’t have 2.0 G or E for test drive?? Well, pls see my following comments.

Compare to Toyota Altis 1.8G spec, I think the “ALL NEW 2012” Toyota Camry 2.0G spec is way too LOW spec, OUTDATED engine and UNSAFE on less-ideal road!! Well, please see the below comparisons for the spec [pls note that despite these 2 cars is on different segment, but I’m pointing the comparison on the spec, rather on segment of the car]:

Toyota Altis 1.8G spec —– VS —– Toyota Camry 2.0G spec

1) Dual VVT-i with ACIS —– VS —– DOHC with VVT-i
    (New engine) —– VS —– (Old & Outdated engine)
    (More power & torque) —– VS —– (Less power & torque)
    (Consume less fuel) —– VS —– (Consume more fuel)

2) Super CVT-i with 7-Speed —– VS —– Super ECT with 4-speed
    (better fuel efficiency) —– VS —– (less fuel efficiency)
    (Advance gear box) —– VS —– (Old gear box)

3) Safety on less-ideal conditions (such as on rainy day, slippery road & uneven surface road)
    – with VSC & TRC —– VS —– – without VSC & TRC
    (MORE SAFE!) —– VS —– (UNSAFE!) Hope God will bless you then!

MY PERSONAL CONCLUSION: Driving a Toyota Altis 1.8G is seems to be MORE SAFE on the road than driving a New Toyota Camry 2.0G!! Yet, you need fork-out additional RM35,000 for a LOW spec, OUTDATED engine and UNSAFE “ALL NEW 2012” Toyota Camry 2.0G!! UMW TOYOTA is very “BRILLIANT” on “hiding” the above spec comparison when come to promoting this New Camry! You don’t see info of VSC & TRC in 2.5V (indeed 2.5V equipped with VSC & TRC, but not for 2.0G or 2.0E). No “comparison” info means less awareness to the potential buyer, especially those Uncles!!

Despite Camry is much better on exterior looks, but the spec of Camry 2.0G shall deserve more or less the same as Altis 1.8G since both cars is same G spec, especially the extra SAFETY feature, such as VSC & TRC that equipped in Altis 1.8G! This VSC & TRC extra safety feature might able to save your life and your passengers when you are driving on less-Ideal road conditions and on emergency situations, such as on rainy day, slippery road & uneven surface road. Is UMW TOYOTA trying to IGNORE extra safety of the driver and the passengers of new Camry 2.0G !? while put EXTRA ATTENTION of extra VSC & TRC safety on the driver and the passenger of Altis 1.8G instead!? The price of VSC & TRC is just mere few thousand Ringgit only! Of course, the rationale behind by not equip VSC & TRC on Camry 2.0G is make EXTRA profit on D-Segment car for UMW TOYOTA lah!! more UNTUNG lah!!

Well, I’m also a Toyota car owner at the moment. But to upgrade to this New Camry, I would put on hold until UMW TOYOTA upgrade the spec of this Camry or look for some other cars. Simply Not worth buying this New Camry at these kind of LOW spec and OVER-PROFIT TAKING by UMW TOYOTA!

In fact, couples of days ago, one Toyota salesman told me that there was quite number of cancellation of booking order for this Camry 2.0G. Simply b’cos the potential buyer disappointed with this LOW spec Camry. To buy 2.5V with HIGHER spec is overpriced at RM181K!

• kingsman on Jul 07, 2012 at 11:33 pm

mcb… 4-speed good toyota will die soon.
    NOW the proton car preve even better spec than the uncle mcb toyota car.

• fastsafedriver on Mar 25, 2013 at 5:30 am

I have just driven for the first time ( friend’s camry 2.4 current version) for about 800 km.. to be honest I will never buy this car. Why? Underpower for such a big car, the engine was so stressful everytime I try to overtake the car infront. The gear change is so dreadful, you can feel as if you left the gear box behind. The road handling is terrible; I never for a moment feels in total control of the car. It didnt feel right at all but I guess for town driving, its excellent. Anyway, it a horrible car to drive long distance