Volkswagen Golf GTI Black Dynamic: 360 PS!

This is the Volkswagen Golf GTI Black Dynamic. However, it is not the usual boffins at Volkswagen that added parts to the already brilliant Golf GTI.

Nine Volkswagen apprentices from four professions got together for seven months to produce this custom car. The team is made out of four women and five men between the ages from 18 to 23.

With guidance from their trainers, the apprentices planned the entire design, created the respective project plans, selected appropriate parts from the Volkswagen’s catalog, negotiated with suppliers and performed their own work on the car. And since they created it, they got to name it.

The result: 360 PS Golf GTI. The apprentices have tuned the 2.0 litre TSI engine and gearbox management to churn an extra 150 PS over the 210 PS. The engine is mated to a six-speed DSG. The exhaust system has been supersized with a 76 mm diametre pipe.

The car rolls on Barracuda ET 41 8J19 wheels wrapped with 255/35 ZR19 tyres. Stopping power comes from a K-Sport brake system with 380 mm brake discs and eight pistons. Black Dynamic has also been lowered by another 35 mm compared to the production GTI.

Also added by the younglings is a nine-speaker 1,800 watt Focal Utopia Sound stereo system in the boot. It is covered by Plexiglas with black piano finish trim strips. An Alpine sound processer, located under the driver’s seat, manages the sound system.

Another special feature is the GTI lettering in the doors and hatch, which are handmade characters. Seats, steering, door trim and roof are covered in Alcantara.

The Golf GTI Black Dynamic was unveiled to 150,000 Volkswagen and custom car fans at the 31st GTI Festival at Wörthersee in Austria. The Wolfsburg-based company has always used these festivals to unveil special car projects.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Kumar san on May 18, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Now this is a very well modified Golf Gti.It’s mods are very proportionate and not overtly done.Would love to mash that loud(i assume)360ps gas pedal though..absolutely gorgeous in my books at least.

A brilliant work project completed by these VW apprentices.Judging by the level of quality of their finished product,they certainly aren’t novices at least from whatt i see.At least there were a few ladies involved which is a nice change from the usual all guy line up.

An eye opener nonetheless.Brilliant work.

Cheers.

• So Anneh, you going to buy or what? :P

• Alpha on May 18, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Omaigod!!That speaker system is brilliant!!And 150PS over the stock??Man,some of these apprentices are gonna be the heads at VW,and hope they’ll make even better car for the future.Best of luck to them.

• TurboMan!!! on May 18, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Are you sure there are women in the team?

The final product doesn’t look like there are any inputs taken from them.

That car is filled with more testosterone than a raging male bull.

You can see some female touches on an Evoque, but this one, i cant see any at all.

• bystander on May 18, 2012 at 2:38 pm

don’t be sexist. females can also give aggressive cosmetics inputs, as well as other contributions on project management, technical inputs, testing etc.

in your world, female drivers like Danica Patrick, Sabine Schmitz etc do not exist as well.
      in the real world however, these drivers would have you peeing in your pants on a lap around the circuit if you were a passenger.

thumbs down for you!

• TurboMan!!! on May 18, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Wow!

Hold your horses guys. I’m just saying that it is a testosterone filled car compared to say an Evoque. Women and men are different no doubt. I’m not saying its good or its bad. Its just different. Do look up the definition of sexist first my friend.

Also i didnt say anything about the driving abilities of women. So don’t be a wiseass and tell me that there are great female drivers around who can make me pee in my pants.

But anyway, peace.

• Kumar san on May 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Yes bro,according to the writeup,the team consists of four women and five men.

I know it looks all testosterone,but there is female input from what i gather.

Some things have chaged over the years i guess.

Cheers.

• Do you drive a tanker…Made by hairy chested man with steroid shots. Enough heavy metal to last you till the next century.

• rally_fan on May 18, 2012 at 6:19 pm

this is not purely a design exercise.. there are many other areas that require a lot of work.. read the article properly and you’ll understand.

• Come on female also love to drive the sport car or even drive better than some male drivers lah ! no matter female or male if their driving skill is good,then considered as a good driver…

• TurboMan!!! on May 19, 2012 at 10:29 am

Haha.

Again another guy who completely misses the plot and trying to be a wiseass.

• Henry Ford the XII on May 21, 2012 at 9:35 am

Hahaha I feel you bro..

I think this is the photo of the team members (with those 4 kinda-hot-women at the front) (err.. am I stating the obvious? Hahaha)
          http://paultan.org/2012/05/18/volkswagen-golf-gti-black-dynamic-2-0-litre-tsi-360-ps/db2012au00524_large/

Putting aside the engine/brake/suspension tuning (as we cant tell apart the inputs from both gender), i think the most obvious input from the gals would be the handmade characters for the GTI lettering. Would we – guys – ever bother about this? :)

And maybe the paintwork and the honeycomb design too..

• carnoisseur on May 18, 2012 at 2:22 pm

but why????

• ah beng with some taste

• NONICKNAME on May 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

Gila kentang

• Amenojaku on May 18, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Wah, the bodypaint is so shiny!!! Can see reflection like a mirror.
    I wonder what kind of glass coating they use.

• zainal abidin on May 18, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Chris Ng or anybody who knows. How to make the paintwork as shiny as this? This is awesomely shiny!!!

• Alpha on May 18, 2012 at 4:27 pm

glass coating,perhaps??

• Not a car enthusiast on May 18, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Urghh.. please do not make your car as shiny as this one. My aging eyes are already straining from the sun’s reflection on rear windscreens, chromed linings etc. Spare me please…

• mystvearn on May 18, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Nice PR stunt from VW. On another note, 360 hp, surely will have torque steer

• jalan54 on May 18, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Well, I drove a 400++hp apr tuned golf gti before, you know what, the power delivery is damn nice and no torque steer at all.

• pelams on May 18, 2012 at 6:19 pm

black-coloured car senang kotor liao…

• maiwe on May 18, 2012 at 7:23 pm

there are countless version of gti already
    same like maiwee lol

• Jonathan on May 18, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Dat car. Beastly.

• Unforgiven on May 19, 2012 at 12:01 am

Very nice… if we remove the advantage group in M’sia, will VW bring in all the available models?

• yes but still with expensive price
      one to lose , one to replace

• Unforgiven on May 19, 2012 at 11:46 am

Sounded like the new AP king story, Rafidah/gone replaced by Muhyiddin/King.

• prebet on May 19, 2012 at 7:22 am

preve will smoke this anytime

• Preve?r u sure? if this car is just parking,then the Preve can smoke this anytime :) and Bugatti too !

• Merc=Real Euro on May 19, 2012 at 7:39 am

wow 360 ps…. i wonder if DSG can cope… stock itself it is failing…

• seriousdude on May 19, 2012 at 9:15 am

360ps fwd? or 4wd?

• kjryth on May 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm

proton preve lagi best