2013 Renault Samsung SM3 launched in Korea, previews facelift Euro-market Fluence

In the case of the Renault-Samsung alliance, it’s pretty much been a case of new cars being launched in Korea first, before being renamed and translated over to Europe. Which isn’t surprising, given that they’re designed and built at the firm’s Busan, South Korea plant.

The Renault Fluence is one such example. The C-segment sedan premiered in Korea as the Renault Samsung SM3 in April 2009 and as the Fluence seven months later in Europe, removing the need for a Megane sedan on the Continent.

Recently Renault Samsung launched its facelifted SM3 in Korea. It follows that its French sister, set to be attending next month’s Paris show, may very likely receive the same updates. These include a new front bumper, grille assembly and restyled headlamp fixtures. There’s also a new digital instrument panel and an electronic parking brake.

Another new toy is Smart Connect, which allows viewing of photos and videos by connecting a smartphone to the infotainment system.

Five variants are available, priced between 15.4 to 19.8 million won (RM42,300 to RM54,415). They all come with a 1.6 litre Nissan H4Mk Dual CVTC engine producing 117 hp at 6,000 rpm and 157 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The gearbox is an Xtronic CVT with an additional auxiliary gear, which Renault Samsung says is a world first.

A Renault Samsung official told The Korea Herald the company targets sales of 35,000 units per year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• KillBox1Alpha on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:24 am

Wont be long before Apple sues Samsung for infringing its patent and try to block this car from being sold in the US…..

• VoidDance on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:59 am

If they color it white or put a slider instead of a door handle, then Apple will sue. Heh.

• NissanCra2y on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:38 am

Looks like China Car. Cheapo.

• China car still ok la… As long not PROTON cars.

• assuming you really own a nissan and a fanboy..sorry to break this to you but newer nissan cars e.g almera ARE made in china.so yeah..it looks even cheapo.

u need to troll better next time boy.

• Made in China = Cheapo look? Then iPhone also look cheapo coz it’s made in China. The poster said the design look like china car, not the quality. Read before comment.

• excuse me mr. gatecrasher. you go READ AGAIN what that nissan fanboy said before you comment. the poster? what poster? LOL.

let me rephrase myself. it LOOKS even cheapo. LOOKS. get it? it means the exterior. did i ever say anything about quality? and what’s up with that unnecessary iphone comparison? are u a fanboy too? butthurt much?

• OMG….overall look nicer than P1 preve.

• Pelar on Sep 04, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Don’t be such a drip. Every country is capable of manufacturing good cars. On a side note, at the rate this is going, sushi will be overtaken by kimchi soon. Before I rub you guys on the wrong way, I have to declare that for 2 generations we have been strong supporters of T&H from Corrola DX and GL to Crown and now Camry, Vios and Prius in my family. I am concerned that nippon is becoming a land of setting sun.

• prime on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:47 am

Does it run on Ice Cream Sandwich, Jelly Bean or the plain old Gingerbread?

• RM42,300 to RM54,415

dream prices, but not in malaysia. :(

• carenthusiast on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:00 am

Bontot looks like ford mondeo.

• Damn. Cheaper than our locally designed and made Preve.
    Look at the brighter side. We are richer than the Koreans.

• alex chan on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:42 am

still kenot beat toyota maa

• GC Maxx on Sep 04, 2012 at 12:01 pm

Front abit looks like Kia K3(New forte), behind looks like Ford Mondeo…. @_@

• Wei Pin on Sep 04, 2012 at 12:01 pm

This time round I think they should use Apple OS instead!!! Cause they already knows APPLE will sue them for whatever they do!!!

• alfred weinberg on Sep 04, 2012 at 12:29 pm

this car really make me think of KIA..especially kia rio

• Renault is not a favourite brand in Msia, think they wont bring in this model. But the meter gauge’s design quit nice.

• VincyBoy on Sep 04, 2012 at 3:03 pm

I bet the apple brainless teams are currently investigating this car so they can sue it too.

• does it come with free samsung galaxy note II?
    and it wont be too long before they kena sue by apple once again :D