Ford Fiesta Beta and XTR special editions introduced in Malaysia, priced at RM92,888 and RM90,888!

Adding some spice to the Ford Fiesta range in Malaysia are two special edition variants: the Fiesta Beta and Fiesta XTR, which have been introduced and are on display at Ford’s Mid Valley Megamall roadshow throughout this weekend. Both are based on the 1.6 litre Sport trim and are priced at RM92,888 and RM90,888 respectively.

The Fiesta Beta commemorates the second anniversary of Fiesta sales in Malaysia. It’s only available in Panther Black, and features a bold red racing stripe with white outlines. Adding to the 1.6 litre Sport’s list of equipment are two-tone red and black leather-trimmed seats, 3M-tinted windows, chrome door lining, scuff plates, special carpet mats and an iPod cable. On the outside, the Beta gets a bodykit, sports decals, and daytime-running lights.

The Fiesta XTR inherits the same goodies as the Fiesta Beta, minus the DRLs, chrome door lining and 3M tint. While the Beta has a red and black theme, this one has a blue theme, evident in its twin body stripes, seats and dashboard trim. ‘Sapphire’ decals and carpet mats are also exclusive to the XTR, and Aurora Blue and Cool White are the colours on offer. Both the Beta and XTR have seven airbags.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• accordmania on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Just to clear old model with some cosmetic parts before the launch of the facelift version. Do you think it’s worth it?

• TapaC on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:55 pm

I think nt worth it…u think???

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 21, 2012 at 3:37 pm

now this is a good car.. same fast and BMW120i and BMW320i (E46/E90) and of coz faster than BMW118i.
        Ford; so reliable; where can see breakdown on roadside unlike BMW or Merc.
        Best conti in Malaysia; with super slick handling and dual clutch :)

• bongek on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:03 pm

what? same fast as e90 320i? please it can do 9.0 sec, this fiesta 9.9 sec, altis, preve, civic and forte srely smokes its ass.

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 22, 2012 at 12:25 pm

tak E90 320i is 2L 150hp..
            0-100 at 9.8 sec..
            fiesta is 9.9 sec.
            so tak de beza :)

unless US/EU version of E90 320i is 2L 170hp then that is sub 9 sec..

hurm…

• bongek on Sep 22, 2012 at 1:06 pm

dun care, 320i can tapau back because top speed is 250kmh, unlike puny fiesta top speed which is 193km/h summore has cramped cabin lol.

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 22, 2012 at 1:13 pm

u ni tahu kereta technical ke tak?
            u memang bongek as per ur nick?

altis/toyota engine is cruiser not for drag.
            even their 2L: hi speed memang comfy n jimat minyak.

preve? inspira ?
            engine x kuat beb.

civic 2L pun 9 sec lebih.
            u rasa je macam kuat coz ivtec n sound ekzos.
            makes feeling rush tapi real x de nye..

forte/elantra?
            yes on paper horse power/tork kuat but in real world x de nye.
            transmission/engine x match.

cube la pi test drive semua model u said.. this fiesta is far better.

• some guy here told us bmw 320i is better than fiesta. in your dream boy, grow up and learn fast. small b segment cars like fiesta is never meant to be compared with luxury cars like bmw. maybe you drive fiesta and smoke bmw, merc and audi too much in your PS3 lol

• bongek on Sep 23, 2012 at 12:37 am

no power la, not for drag la, just stick with your kancil la, easy. no need to test drive, even d segment car i use already lol

• why fiesta is better? you feel the engine surge? comfort wise? if you do long distance journey it makes you get tired faster than much more comfortable c segments cars. that’s why c segment cars can drag faster than fiesta but you don’t feel it fast. i request the source of bmw 320i 150hp can do 0-100 only 9.8 sec and you said no different? oh please don’t tell you just got your driving license, that’s very disgusting boy.

• bongek on Sep 23, 2012 at 9:44 am

aku tau la technical, kau tu bongek pun tak tau. only as fast as underpowered entry level bmw is not enough, how about noise level, comfort level, cabin space and boot space?

• bobdbilder on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:45 am

Kalau nak cerita teknikal; 1.6 Duratec lama BMEP=10.74bar. N43 2000 BMEP=10.77. Engine baru 1.6Duratec BMEP=11.01, hp dia rendah by 2kw tapi max pada 6000rpm. So BMEP dia lagi tinggi. Bila banding power to weight; E90; 81kW/ton. XTR; 75kW/Ton.

BMW 320i memang laju pasal power to weight ratio. Cuma, kalah dgn S4PH aku yg BMEP 11.8, Power to weight 11.8kW/ton, 110kW aje.

• bobdbilder on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:48 am

Tersasul lak
            Cuma, kalah dgn S4PH aku yg BMEP 11.8, Power to weight 91.8kW/ton, 110kW aje.

• mentari driver on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Bising-bising sini..
            ada ke Ford ke… Auto Bavaria ke..
            Apa2 brand kereta yang bayar korang ni..?

Buat buang masa je and lektrik je dok type2 buat kecoh siapa bagus…

hurm…
            apa2 pun cume kereta..
            lepas 5 tahun semua jadi besi buruk; regardless CBU ke CKD ke..

pakai.. lenjan.. buang :)

• ooo fiesta faster than civic? how come my civic easily tapau them… fast meh?

• So whats wrong with that? Ford ada minta duit sama u ka?

• accordmania on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Why you so angry? I just ask a question an give my opinion. Relax

• Tiguan on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Value for money but I don’t like stickers on my car.

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:12 pm

The 1.4 SX is value for money. The 1.6 Sedan is value for money. The 1.6 Sport isn’t. These two bring the Sport to the same equipment level as the 1.4 (7 airbags…), but add a lot to the price. But yes, if you want to get a Fiesta hatchback you’ll have to pick between the 1.4 and the XTR or Beta.

• niceeeee…
    100000000000000x better compare to vios TRD

• Ah Beng on Sep 24, 2012 at 2:52 pm

no way this crap can compare with the mighty TRD vios!!!
      this is just some cheap special edition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Vios is one of the ugliest and most ah beng car in malaysia base on my opinion. No pun intended. Not even worth comparing. Only Ah beng likes it. Once again, no pun intended.

• Looks nice, but not worth it la. And please dun compare it with vios. Downgrade standard.

• Malcolm Lim on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:33 pm

Ipod cable is a feature? Fantastic…better name 4 tyres as a feature too…lol…its funny that something small like that also consider as part of the feature difference…how much does the cable cost?

• Cute Fiesta on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Honda n Toyota syndrome detected. Someone is becoming greedy somehow.

• tungguuu on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:27 am

i beg to differ. at least this is imported plus fully specced n 7 airbags…what u get in a malaysian made City at 90k? a lever like a 1993 wira to adjust circulate n fresh mode?

• oblong on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Correct…7 airbags, TCS, ESP, HLA and all other ABC acronym…very much worth for money…

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:22 pm

But you get most of that in the 1.4 SX too, and that one is around 70k, though the best value is probably the 80k 1.6 sedan. Has pretty much everything, including engine and gearbox from the XTR and Beta, is more spacious, cheaper, and not as ah beng.

• JzHateMe on Sep 23, 2012 at 12:52 am

get a wira 1993 and a new city to try out.. oops sorry.. i know u cant afford so just stick to your wira.. pathetic fellow..

• turbioc on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:39 pm

we want it to be turbocharged/ ecoboosted, we really envy preve cfe, much cheaper, bigger summore

• nop. the new one surely will get 1.0 litre ecoboost with turbo. lower tax, fuel consump and of course turbo boosstttt so you can fly wuhuuu

• but this is the existing one, you how many years to intro new one, 4 years?

• the new one may come next yr or 2014 la. they r already planning to put the award winning puny little engine into the big daddy mondeo laa. not surprised if the engine goes into the smallest brother. even vw also took 4yrs nowadays to change to new model

• 4agze on Sep 21, 2012 at 3:03 pm

do you know the 1.0 Ecoboost needs at least ron97 to run?
      fuel efficient yes but not cost efficient

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:18 pm

It might not be sold in Malaysia though. Not even in the Fiesta. Not because it is too weak, but is the public really ready for a 1.0 in anything but a Viva? Imagine all the uncles saying “whoa buy 1.0?! Pay so much?!”. If you buy a 1.0 you’ll need a very thick skin.

• FiestaMachine on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Ford Malaysia has decided to copy our design for their new Ford Fiesta Beta. Shame on you Ford. We wanted to be different on the road and now, our exclusivity has gone. Arghh…

• what crap are you talking about?? ford copying our design? ur kidding right?

• I guess he was right. Spotted one near Damansara area the other day. Really cool design though.

• sepul on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:29 pm

they should keep the 7 airbags as standard instead of being on limited edition models

• tungguuu on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:30 am

i think the standard basic spec has 7 airbags too :)

http://paultan.org/2012/07/20/ford-fiesta-1-4-lx-manual-reintroduced-in-malaysia-now-with-7-airbags/

• ae101 on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:43 pm

congrat!! another brand in malaysia follow p1,p2,t,& h foot step.who’s next?

• calvin on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Not even a rim upgrade.. zzz

• For the extra $$$, they didn’t bothered to include smart keyless entry and push-start stop button, as available in the US ?

Pass !

• Taguchi, Masayuki on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:46 am

too expensive. but then again all non national cars are outrageously expensive.

• Whynot on Sep 21, 2012 at 1:19 am

Man price just shot up to Maximum! Why not RM99,999.99. Make people think there is a beauty Chick for a night inside when you buy it.

• cool..but just wait after election. when car price reduced.. until that not worth it to buy..

• stop dreaming plz..

• i for one am sick of paying out of this world prices for cars when there is no public transport alternative!
        so let us make low car prices happen instead doing nothing but telling other ppl to stop dreaming! who is with me?!

• breyton on Sep 21, 2012 at 8:33 am

those LED look so ah beng… must have bought those dodgy after market ones and fitted…

tasteless….

• Fredo on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:03 am

come on Ford…bring in the Ecoboost Fiesta!

• kowkowchan on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:09 am

Betul2 bloody fool punya ppl buy car will think about their pocket :
    – resale value
    – easy get cheap parts especially fake ones !!!!

Betul2 ada otak punya ppl buy car will first think about their goodself and loved ones :
    – car safety features (at least 6 airbags , ABS+ESP, at least 4 stars in the US Crash Test..etc)
    – the art of fun driving(German’s handling and ride comfort)
    – car technology (eg dual continous VVT , at least 6 speeds(better with dual clutch) , voice control..etc..)

• optimus on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:19 am

fiesta going thru mid life crisis before new facelift comes…

• fetea on Sep 21, 2012 at 10:07 am

ape laa mahal sangat harga keter2 nie

• RSwanson on Sep 21, 2012 at 10:29 am

I was at Puspakom in August and I saw this car brought in for a check. Wasn’t familiar with Fiestas so I didn’t realise it’s a limited edition. Looked good though.

• been inside one at midvalley. v nice. way better than its competitor. 7 airbagslike golf n leather are just too good.

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:13 pm

The Fiesta 1.4 SX also has 7 airbags. It costs around 70k.

• oh..look..another variant. how many for fiesta already?…zzzzzzzzzz

• OilChange on Sep 23, 2012 at 11:34 am

ford is turning to toyota strategies a big WTF of the day.

dont ford people read comments here ka?

people dont like this sort of things

people want more power…

stupid ford…

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Am I the only one thinking that Beta isn’t the best name for a car?

• GC Maxx on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:51 am

Fiesta? Just an over-priced small B segment car.. the car doesn’t come with many techs since it’s a B segment car, except the voice command thingy and its also 1 of the smallest B segment car.

• Seriously???? 90k for all those junk? When i brought my fiesta it was only 82k on the road? For 10k i can do more then these junk except the airbags la. Rather fucking sell off my car and take the 10k for downpayment on the new focus.

• Affinity_for_football on Oct 01, 2012 at 10:39 am

Don’t like don’t buy … it’s not like your dad owns form and he’s throwing away your future $$$. Get real

• lalala on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:52 pm

RM90k for a normal fiesta with stickers n useless exterior parts?

RM10k extra man, can whack a turbo inside already..

• sajer on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Too overpriced…anyway the power is in ur hand, dun know wat to do with ur money threat as ur 2nd car y not..then buy it