Porsche Cayenne GTS launched – from RM800k

Sime Darby Auto Performance has introduced the Porsche Cayenne GTS in Malaysia. The model, which slots in between the Cayenne S and Turbo variants, was officially unveiled earlier this evening at the Porsche Centre Bukit Bintang.

The GTS – which made its debut in Beijing earlier this year – gets a more powerful engine as well as a tauter chassis and lowered ride height.

Its 4.8 litre V8 makes 420 hp, which is 20 ponies more than what the S has. The mill is mated to an eight-speed Tiptronic S gearbox with an integrated auto stop/start function. Performance figures for the SUV include a 0-100 km/h time of 5.7 seconds, two-tenths of a second quicker than the S, and a 261 km/h top speed.

Exterior design cues include a front-end borrowed from the Cayenne Turbo, and the GTS features frames and trim in high-gloss black, prominent side skirts and wider wheel arches as well as a distinctive roof spoiler with a twin-wing profile.

The leather in the interior, meanwhile, features Alcantara elements, and standard kit includes front sports seats with eight adjustment options.

As for handling, the vehicle’s specially tuned chassis is equipped with Porsche Active Suspension Management (PASM) as standard, and is lowered by 24 mm relative to the Cayenne S.

The base price of the Cayenne GTS begins from RM800,000, without registration, road tax and insurance; it comes with a four-year warranty and four-year complimentary service and maintenance package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Abuya on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Wow….. I mean the girl that sits in the car. But pretty sure, both car and girl I cant afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
    • AH CAI on Oct 20, 2012 at 8:55 am

i mean…fapstanstic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Porsche Cayenne Overpriced. on Oct 20, 2012 at 5:02 pm

The Cayenne GTS is US$82,000. So, that would be about Rm250,000. Even if you factor in our taxes, how does it become RM800,000 in Malaysia?

http://www.porsche.com/usa/models/cayenne/cayenne-gts/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • usually when luxury brands are your options, most of the times the final decision will be more emotional than rational.

• wacko on Oct 21, 2012 at 8:58 pm

very simple calculation;
          AP Holder Price: CIF Value@RM250,000+200%tax= RM750,000
          Selling Price: AP Holder Price+Jacked Up AP Price = RM750,000+RM50,000=RM800,000

• cayenne depreciates in value very fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • A friend of mind bought a 2004 turbo model brand new in 05, in less than 10 years, the car still in good condition, however he recently sold it for rm250k only. If I had such money sitting around, better invest it in properties and enjoy the return in 10 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Jimmy on Oct 21, 2012 at 12:24 am

There are still a lot of people buying S-class and X6, I wonder why they didn’t use the money like what you said.
          When you have reached the level of being able to own both brand new S-class and X6, your vision will be wider and you will not be talking like Mr S. Loo.
          Do all of us want to enjoy lives?

• Turboman on Oct 21, 2012 at 4:53 pm

There are many levels of wealth.

For some, a million ringgit is all he has, and buying a car for 800k doesnt make any financial sense for them.

For some, their net worth is 10 million ringgit, with more money coming from various other sources. For these ppl, 800k on a car that depreciates to 250k in 7 years ain’t gonna make them cringe.

For some even luckier ones, with net worth of 100 million, well, drive around Damansara Heights at night and u will know what i mean.

So wealth is relative. RM 700k for me is a hell lot of money. But for some, they won even think twice if it means they can drive around in a Porsche.

• exactly unfortunately some people dont understand that because the have the herd mentality and they think the next cow is only as fat as he is so the cow should only be eating as much grass as he is.

• Mario Gomez on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:34 am

Yup Turboman,you’re right.D’sara Heights is the high-class residential area nearest to KL city centre.
            Besides that,if u are a normal Pavillion shopper,you will sure find a lot of luxury cars in the valet parking area near Jaguar showroom.

• When you are in the level in buying this car mean you have lots and lots of money….so depreciation is not even in the picture. Is about life style. those concern about depreciation in this car shouldn’t have brought car at this price.

• RIFRAF on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:01 am

Ugly, la, u have to be a drug dealer or pimp to want this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • RIFRAF on Oct 21, 2012 at 10:08 am

I have seen better – both car and girl, not that special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 22, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Porsche is now targeting JinJangJoe buyers judging from the jinjangjane on parade……

• Mario Gomez on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Good news and comes at the right time!!
    Rather get this super SUV than getting those ugly limited CRV and CX-9

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 78
    • Rather get Veyron than getting those Preve
      I mean like come on, compare like with like

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
    • magpie on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:39 pm

800k vs 154k… why u no calculate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Very reasonably priced, only at around the price of S-class or X6. Better than Toureg Hybrid, the owner of which must be someone not very intelligent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • jimmy i noticed that you never fail to mention those 2 cars in any of your comments, are there any other cars in your car dictionary?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Nothing wrong with that, because S-class and X6 are the most in our Malaysia road for car that at this price range.

• Obviously, X6 is much more appealing with its muscular look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Bongcs on Oct 20, 2012 at 8:20 am

Rather eat Nasi Lemak than McDonalds

• mister potato on Oct 19, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Only $82k USD (250k ringgit), within reach with honest hard work

• Jimmy on Oct 19, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Why do you think honest hard work cannot get you an E-class every single year and it is fully sponsored by banks?

• BMW fanboi on Oct 20, 2012 at 1:03 am

Dulu masih mampu beli. Skrang genneva dah kena raid, emas sangkut kat BNM, kembara cukup la :(

• SELAT!

• Sam Loo on Oct 20, 2012 at 6:09 am

Useless piece of junk with no RV.

Better get a toyota or honda CRV.

• mistaloba on Oct 20, 2012 at 8:40 am

lol! people who can afford to buy cars like this couldn’t give a donkey’s a** about resale value lah. and another thing why bother promoting toyota or honda against a porsche? lolx2

• kington on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:03 am

You are comparing David vs Goliath.

• Please compare apple to apple lah, if I compare you to Jennifer Loo, you want or not?

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 22, 2012 at 3:52 am

Why you always like to condemn continental cars. If you don’t like continental cars, why you go and buy Audi A4 in the first place like you mention in the Camry 2.5V thread. As far as I m concern continental cars will always be better than Japanese cars in terms o performance, handling and comfort. I don’t give a heck about resale value and reliability as long as I buy the car to enjoy it for 10-15 years.

• Medic on Oct 22, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Don’t disgrace Porsche name with your T & H.These are people who eat breakfast at 5 star hotels instead of warung.RV isn’t in their vocab.

• I am a greedy person, Car and the girls I want all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • azhar on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:31 am

the legendary porsche showroom..beware of the Cayenne..it might gone in 60 seconds!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • ahmadfaris93 on Oct 20, 2012 at 11:34 am

Touareg Hybrid is a bit too expensive I think. But this one is a different story. Cayenne GTS is like for the Porsche purist that wants an SUV.

Sorry to say, the GTS is waaaay sexier than these girls. Besides, when you own the GTS, pretty sure you can get better girls right ;)

• Rose Chin…. so elegant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • You all got problem ka? Praising someone also want to thumbs down. Why you all hate her so much?

• Nice sharing…Love the red color so much…and material they use for interior make it look more elegant then previous version. just too bad d price to expensive. sigh..

• KillBox1Alpha on Oct 20, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Ugly…and Im NOT refering to the Cayenne….

• elastika on Oct 20, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Those girls are more attractive than the car, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • simply awesome….

• Pumpkins on Oct 20, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Wonder where Toon Dr Advisor not launching this Porsche kah…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 21, 2012 at 12:04 am

This is the SUV drive by the Advisor of Jaguh Kampung No. 2! And he is very happy with this.

Only blind P1 supporters are happy with crap quality car saddled with 9 year car loan!

• Alex Chan on Oct 21, 2012 at 12:05 am

hah! another crap europe car..for sure break down here and there..condirm..no resale value summore..fortuner definately better buyx100 lahh..connfirm!

• i know right, i wish all crap european car stop existing, only toyota should exist and everyone should buy toyota fortuner! the best car in the world! all the car magazine should vote toyota fortuner as best car of the century! (100 years!) maybe one day every malaysian and every human being on earth will see that toyota is a gift from god for mankind! (sarcasm)

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:35 am

You and your Fortuner again. Fortuner is a useless Suv. The money used to buy the Fortuner can be used to buy better cars at the Fortuner’s price range.

Continental SUV > Japanese SUV anyday.

• Mario Gomez on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:17 am

yes you are right.
      Even Lambo SUV and Bentley Mulsanne is a piece of crap.So I will trade in my Optima K5 with low RV and get this best car.You happy now??

• walao, 800k car no keyless entry

• Mario Gomez on Oct 22, 2012 at 7:26 am

You can get it optionally with extra cost.
      This is what I wonder,even Panamera GTS alno didn’t have this system.
      Btw,try read its brochure n search for Porsche Entry and Drive,the optional sys for keyless entry

• Diving Suarez on Oct 21, 2012 at 10:38 am

Business must be slow at Sime Barby…chics and attire from pasar malam…

• Omg.. Everytime when a nice luxury car being launched. There are surely comments like i cant afford la, oni pimp or drug dealer or cronies la.. Bla bla bla. I’ve known alot of ppl who are honest man and work hard ofcourse.. To earn a luxury car. 800k is reasonable to those who can afford S-class or X6 range. I bet when Cayenne Turbo S launched here, ppl will start bashing about it. Looking forward for those silly comments.

• RIFRAF on Oct 22, 2012 at 5:36 am

The drug/pimp comment is nothing to do with the price. The car looks too bling:bling, a base Cayenne in d.blue, with tan leather is classy…GTS in red looks too flash – no class.

• 800K, but the steering looked seasoned !
    Is It MoMo from cut-shop …

• watever on Oct 21, 2012 at 9:26 pm

for what reason buy 800k when u only can reach 110 km(top speed) in malaysia unless u want ‘ekor’ to being send by posmen

• hallo bro, RM 300 not a big deal for them who afford this kind of car ! dont put them in the same category as you where scared of getting “SAMAN” :-) .. Terasa ?? Sorry bro thats the truth behind it :-) wishing u the best :-)

• SweeJ on Oct 22, 2012 at 8:01 am

i know the GTS is more of a SUV, but for the price tag, i wonder if it includes any real off-road capabilities like locking differentials….