Toyota recalls 2.7m cars due to steering, water pump issues – 2 units of 2nd gen Prius in Malaysia involved

Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) has announced that it will recall 2.7 million cars worldwide because of separate problems with the steering and water pump systems. The voluntary recall affects nine models, including the second-generation Prius hybrid.

Cars brought back will have their steering intermediate extension shaft replaced. Due to insufficient hardness treatment of some of the extension shafts, the splines that connect the extension shaft to the steering gear box may deform if the steering wheel is frequently and forcefully turned to the full left or full right position while driving at slow speeds. This deformation may create increased internal clearance and the splines may eventually, over time, wear out.

The other issue involves the electric water pump for the hybrid system. The pump circulates coolant through the hybrid components. There is a possibility that the electric motor installed in the water pump may stop functioning, leading to illumination of various warning lights in the instrument panel. In limited instances, the electric power supply circuit fuse may open, causing the hybrid system to stop while the vehicle is being driven.

No accidents due to the above issues have been reported.

In Malaysia, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) released a statement saying that it that had received confirmation from TMC that there are two units of the second-generation XW20 Toyota Prius (the current Prius is the third-generation) sold in Malaysia involved in the recall. Besides these two units, which owners will be contacted by UMWT, no other Toyota and Lexus cars are involved.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Turboman on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:25 pm

2.7 million cars involved. But only 2 in Malaysia?

Hmmm. What are the odds. Sounds fishy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Most likely there are two units of the 2cd gen Prius sold here through UMW officially( not grey imports) or there are just 2 recorded second gen Prius sold and registered in Malaysia. Only the 3rd gen Prius was introduce here officially, the 2cd gen Prius was never in Umw Toyota catalogs ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • alldisc on Nov 15, 2012 at 3:39 pm

1 unit belongs to UMW themselves for their internal R&D and training department. nothing to worry.

• sama sama on Nov 20, 2012 at 9:30 pm

To think that Malaysians still trust Toyota when their cars are actually quite inferior quality compared with other Japanese, Koreans and German cars. Why la like that one, Malaysians?

• Meanmachine on Nov 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Looks like Proton and Perodua are almost perfect…no frequent recalls…ha.ha.ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
    • Darren on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Or maybe they do not want spend that kind of money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Doesn’t mean there are no recalls, the products are perfect. Everything in the world is flawed including you and me. The question is HOW MUCH ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • i’m sure there’s sarcasm in Meanmachine’s comment. :)

• Perhaps. Nonetheless, sarcasm doesn’t work very well on the internet, it’s just too ambiguous.

• question is, how much sarcasm? lol

• Expatriate VN on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:32 am

For Jaguh Kampungs to recall their products like failed power window, door handle, etc. They are as good as dig their own grave as far as profits is concerned!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • MoFaz on Nov 15, 2012 at 3:55 pm

proton give lifetime-warranty for their power window now. is that digging their own grave?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Expatriate VN on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Remember their life time warranty for power window come with “big string”, also for new car only! Try and dare to recall all old model Waja and other models – immediately next year financial report cliff fall to big RED!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • oblong on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:41 am

Power window problem is peanut compared to steering or water pump problem which is big no no…

• MoFaz on Nov 16, 2012 at 10:05 am

ya ya, go defend your beloved Toyota. just last month they recalled 7.4 million cars due to faulty window switches.

• "great_job" on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:41 am

recall again? seem they also cannot give quality product to their customer worldwide.
        if i’m not mistaken, toyota also recall their cars for power window issue. toyota dont even dare to give life time warranty because thay know their power window also hv problem and they dont want to bare the cost later on.
        lps tu wat kempen recall..konon2 baik hati la nak ganti barang yg mmg diarang tahu rosak..ptuih.

• heppy puppy on Nov 15, 2012 at 12:58 pm

WHen you make as many cars as Toyota, statistically for sure the number of recalls is significant, but the % of total production is small.

If you only make 250,000 cars a year, your 100% recall rate will still be numerically smaller than a 1% recall rate by the big players.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Potibala on Nov 15, 2012 at 9:07 pm

Proton engine is the most reliable and economical ever being produced in this century hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • let me guess, one of two is in pusat sains negara. LOL

• mp_drucker on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:25 pm

aiyo, ciak lat. Toyota also have quality problem ar? cannot be lah. Come on Toyota fans, come and shoot with your M16, this is not true, it must have been fabricated to tarnish Toyota image. There must be some conspiracy planted by secret agents in their factory to sabotage Toyota. M16, M16 come on!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 17
    • Tolala on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Bro, they paiseh la. Vios also can say until like the best car in the world, now no face to come out, better keep quiet lo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm

So Mercedes does not look into the issues in their vehicles sold?

• Hidup Saga on Nov 14, 2012 at 9:47 pm

i love toyota.. they care about their customers.. even the old customers..
    not like proton, the proton worker pakat with the 3rd party to earn my money… !
    DRB Hicom! do something!
    I have made complain to proton i care. hope to get official comment from ur officer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
    • joseph on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Nowadays TOYOTA can no longer keep quiet about flaws and defects in their cars anymore.
      TOYOTA is moving FORWARD >>( FORWARD towards more defects or selling more flaws cars )

Gone are days whereby TOYOTA is built to be cheap price , cheap spare parts , reliable with milo tin body.TOYOTA could have defects in their old cars too and just because no one knows how to make a complain and to who >> everyone thought TOYOTA is reliable >> hell not

Present customers especially the USA customers are smarter and their governmental agencies are effective, TOYOTA defects free problems cannot be escaped as everyone is watching TOYOTA and big brother is watching TOYOTA closely.

Never a fan to like any TOYOTA car as it is a bread and butter brand only . Nothing to shout or love at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • crown athlete on Nov 15, 2012 at 7:20 pm

haiya joseph…if you hv money buy a high end toyotas like century, celsior, crown, aristo, markII, cresta, windom,etc..and they are not bread&butter brand as you claimed..probably you drive vios or corolla only meh?…

• can’t accept the fact? ever wonder why they never sold vios or avanza in UK?

• Abuya on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:51 pm

You lie…. proton i care will assist you once you make complaint. We can give official comment. Provide your full name, your car reg number, time and day you make a call. All call are being recorded 24h,360d.

This thread is about Toyota. How odd you pop up and said proton? By the way, when proton make recall, you said no quality. When Toyota do that, you said Toyota care about customer.

We had done something. But you had done wrong and lie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Hidup Saga on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:30 pm

The main situation is the Proton Service centre at Bandar university pakat with 3rd party workshop.

And… I have recently post the comment before i post a comment up here.

Proton i-care is being helpful so far, has been following me up. Case still under investigation.

• why does this comment get more dislikes than likes.. cause he/she loves toyota? cause he/she said a teeny bit of problem with Proton?

• Hidup Saga on Nov 15, 2012 at 4:09 pm

it’s true story.. the situation occur at proton centre at Bandar University, Seri Iskandar Proton Service Centre @ Petronas.. The malays there pakat with 3rd party chinese ah beng work shop.

• icecube on Nov 16, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Dude…..make it straight.The problem with i-Care? or the problem with the guy at Servis Mesra? or the problem that lies in you? Anyway,shouting here will not solved your issue.Nobody can help you , except you yourself or the i-Care guys.

• Hidup Saga on Nov 16, 2012 at 7:26 pm

complain made to Proton i-Care.
            Hope I-care can take action on the ‘Servis Mesra’ at Bandar University.

• nobody likes disobedient customer.. remember mcd incident..?

• Recall once after 7-8 years can consider good or responsible car maker…but frequent recall is called problem maker.
    Toyota seems recall to frequent already… and people start doubting for their quality including me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • gen y on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:44 pm

No one single car manufacturer can guarantee their cars are 100% trouble free. Even 80 years old Toyota still got problem and they will continue to have. So toyota fans should realize this and avoid bashing others. Same to kimchi & conti fans. Be professional when sharing views.

• jens lehman on Nov 14, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Ayyo, toyota got problem ah? How come, people say toyota car is the best. Uncle Sam Loo, how bout the RV? Let me guess, in m’sia RV never drop meh, although toyota sell junk

• Aiya, coz they try new technology mar.. Toyota should always give us 4 speed box and old engine. Never break down, maintenance easy, spare part everywhere, best is that earning margin for UMW super good. Toyota salesman super like.

YES, I AM TROLLING. MEOW~

• Proton/Perodua cars are perfect? you kidding me!!! Go check how long is the faulty check list upon receiving new Preve in lowyat forum!

They dare not to recall simply because they don’t have enough money to support the recall.

So… driver die driver punya problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • brother_lu on Nov 15, 2012 at 12:52 am

Dear sam loo,
    frankly we have been missing you, please contact your nearest UMW 4S centre to arrange a for service checkup for your Prius. This is just a routine checkup to further enhance your driving pleasure and “RV” sentiment. But make no worries cause its done for free, yes you read correctly “free”.
    Thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to see you soon.
    UMW Toyota
    Moving Forward-sloooowlyyyy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Expatriate VN on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:34 am

Are you sure or not? Your offer for “free” are limited to steering and water pump systems only!

• Expatriate VN on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:38 am

This is part of Corporate Social Responsibility by Toyota! Also part of long term or life time manufacturer-customers relationship in term of produce good quality/reliable car at lowest market price. Way forward Toyota …… you are one of the best car manufacturer in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • MoFaz on Nov 15, 2012 at 3:49 pm

wow.. you put nice words for Toyota, but i’m very sure your words would be 100% the opposite if this post is about Proton. prejudice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Expatriate VN on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:21 pm

…… Because this jaguh kampung no. 2 action is 100% opposite compare to Toyota, so I in no way prejudice but comment objectively!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • "great_job" on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:55 am

for toyota fan like you..what can i say..
          u r still prejudice..
          but hey..nowadays..toyota = no quality..
          sorry to say

• MatLimMutu on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:40 pm

CSR????? WTF.

• Six sigma my ass.. Recalling millions of cars within 5 years does not show quality but greed. If Toyota sells software or application it’s ok to release and fix later for bugs, but for cars it’s totally different. Problem with steering is no laughing matter. I don’t see Honda recalling its cars by the millions. Back early 90s Mercedes tried to capture the world auto market by producing its Merc at cheaper production . They tried assembling it outside Germany.. The project failed miserably due to recalls and low quality. Merc quickly shut down almost all its outside production and decided to remain locally made even at a luxurious costs. They were lucky that their brand name wasn’t affected terribly.

Toyota should get an award for brand that produces the highest number of recalled cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • AsapHitam on Nov 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Recall is toyota…. toyota is recall..

• Toyota / Honda / Nissan / Mazda recall is deemed CSR & but if it’s Korean / Proton / Perodua car manufacturers, the cars (products) are crap, low cost, badly manufactured etc.

Such is the simple mindedness of M’sian car consumers.

You can take the Ah Beng out of new village but you cant take the new village out of Ah Beng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Nov 15, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Regardless, toyota is still the best car manufacturer in the world! You guys are just jealous. This shows how much toyota cares abt its customers & continues to provide reliable supports. Good job toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • you are the only toyota die hard fan here

• brother_lu on Nov 15, 2012 at 8:11 pm

yes we are very jealous because UMW Toyota have some kind of magic potion to mesmerize Toyota owners(vios/camry) into believing every crap coming out in their CSR program. Those magic letter somehow manage to create a smoke screen to cover up a global product recall that may effect the safety of our car. but anyhow this potion only infected malasysian.

p/s;that letter above is a sarcasm. read “RV” and Moving Forward-slooowly

• I buy Toyota because when there’s a problem, I am certain I will be called instead of me chasing after the SC for problems that never admitted …

• Turboman on Nov 19, 2012 at 4:17 pm

So toyota is god right?

If toyota is behind wayy the technology curve of its competitors, u say “save the best for last.

If toyota has recalls, u say “i will be called instead of me chasing after SC”

Seems like toyota can do no wrong then. Bloody idiots…

• Expatriate VN on Nov 15, 2012 at 10:23 pm

I am envy of what Toyota achievement, even to deal with their shortcoming …… good job T, you deserve my respect despite in my lifetime until today, I never own any of your car.

• the greed toyolta on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:51 am

now every year toyolta got recall…u call that reliable?

• "great_job" on Nov 16, 2012 at 9:50 am

nop…hell no..
      something wrong with toyota nowadays..or perhaps since long time ago but ppl didnt realise.

• alldisc on Nov 16, 2012 at 12:11 pm

the reason Lexus was so successful in 1989 in USA was because of this recall process, involving cigarette lighter in the LS400.

the recall does not necessarily means change, but rather to inspect and making sure its function well.

the good news spread and the rest is history with BMW and Mercedez struggling to shift new cars and created many new models to woo buyers.

Merc used to have only C,E,S, SL and GL before creating A class, B, ML, R, SLK, CLK, CL to compete with Lexus IS, ES, GS, LS, RX and LX series while BMW increased their model range from 3,5,7 and 8 (replacement for 6) to 1 series, X5, X3, X1, Z series and 5 GT.

• TOYOTA. As usual. The usual ship crap cars from them.

Unreliable, shitty design and very old technology

• MatLimMutu on Nov 16, 2012 at 5:41 pm

Toyota = Crap

• Honestly Toyota produces good quality cars in the past 20 years. KE70, AE86, Hilux 2.4D even their KC30 which now we still can see on drag race and drift cars. But after that, they kind of put their mind on business where they minimize the durability and safety of their vehicles and earn higher profit margine. I am here not to critics but let us put a review on what toyota vehicles compare to others. As I having my research with puspakom, I notice that toyota vehicles are usually lack of technology compare to other models. Not only that, taking toyota hilux for example, chassis frame and chassis body are small and thinner to other models. Parts like drive shaft, ball diff, shock absorber are less durable compare to hilux sr model. The front radiator frame are much thinner compare to other model as well as small impact crash could easily damage the engine. About technology, commonrail system use by hilux is 1998 design which is non piezo-electric injector so this makes hilux injector problem are very common. 1 injector spoil, recommended to change all which cost total of roughly RM12000 and above. So to me, RV here are not we should see if we buy this to keep. Unless you maybe buy this and sell it 3 years later. The tail section is much higher than frontwhich cause the weight distribution not balance and usually tail are lighter. Every component is like ‘that will do’ with no guarantee until problem occur and people complaining then they make recalls. I have friends who complaining their conpany trucks with various model, hilux is most problematic and high maintenance cost.

• kenny chan on Apr 29, 2013 at 7:46 pm

one of these prius is in setia alam it is red in colour.