First photos of W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class facelift

These are the first pix of the upcoming W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class facelift, which have surfaced online today. Expect an official reveal really soon. Both the sedan and wagon models are shown, and there’s also one shot of the interior.

As expected from the teaser video shown earlier, the split headlamp design has now been fused together to a single unit. The shape of the headlamps reminds me of the W220 S-Class, but it has alot of light bars internally to replicate the twin-headlamp shape of the pre-facelift model. These light bars function as daytime running lights, so there’s no need for DRL Lights on the bumper.

The most significant change for the side is the removal of the hump over the rear wheels. The side view is alot more streamlined now. There are two shoulder lines, with one going through the door handles and another beginning from the rear tail lamp. Both of them run parallel along each other on the rear door.

The tail lamps have also been revised to use light bars for illumination, replacing the previous individual LED illumination.

The touring model in this initial photo set shows a much more aggressive face than the sedan, so this could be what the facelifted AMG Sport Package looks like.

The interior photo is also in this small set so please enjoy the pictures below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Trinitrotoluene on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Ah pek’s car.not much design improvement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 96
    • Still better than Toyotapek.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:07 pm

Toyota now losing marketshare a lot because their cars, pay so much also, got no basic safety features. Toyota Camry for instance, cost a whopping RM180,000, but don’t even have VSC (ESC). That is why the RV of Toyota is so bad now, people don’t know what bad surprise they are going to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Toyoda on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Hi Sam loo. I saw your other comments in polo r column that you think Toyota has a very good RV. Are you a hypocrite or just plain confused?

• Sam Loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Sure or not? Any stats to proof your statement?

• Anonymous on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:50 pm

This was what you commented in the other post:

VW in Malaysia is nothing but an overpriced car. In oversea, VW is a common brand, same status as Proton in Malaysia. But in Malaysia, people buying VW think they are in the same league as Rolls Royce. Getting a Toyota is a better buy. Good RV!

Here’s the proof and the link http://paultan.org/2012/12/12/volkswagen-polo-r-wrc-street-220-ps-240-kmh/#comments to your comment, Mr. Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Everyone know every import cars r overpriced so not only VW…they r just feel proud of their VW coz their cars are more airbags and better looking than some sushi ! RV?used Merc or VW GTI r better rv than any Toy…

• stranger on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:32 pm

make sure you can afford before complaining

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 14
    • Still prefer double headlights but the new led lights r eye catching !

• Chris on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:03 pm

eerrr…why does the headlights remind me of Transformers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • kingston on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:12 pm

liked how Mercedes managed to keep the double lights effect from the older e classes, and the front end is alot more fierce than the current one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • VoidDance on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:13 pm

WTH? This really looks like a China made clone or something. What happened to MB?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 44
  • NISSpengAN on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:14 pm

ah pek car more lasting use than ah beng car loh .ah beng car (BMW)use sekejap sudah kena ‘B’anyak ‘M’asuk ‘W’orkshop loh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:07 am

But both is no match in quality to the mighty Camry! It can last a lifetime!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
      • So-hai Sam loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:23 am

Ppl like you cannot afford will say their own car the best lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo…..ur Camry technology only able to be match with Mercedes 199X technology….don’t talk nonsense here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • Sam Loo Jr on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm

When Toyota launches new tech in their cars, its tried and tested for years. Not like germans, hi-tech but low reliability. Same for kimchi cars. Thats why they all got very poor RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
      • MrBmw on Dec 12, 2012 at 6:27 am

But the Mercedes gives you better driving pleasure luxury features, and have adequate safety equipment than you bare spec Camry with no ESP.

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:19 am

Our Camry buyers have good driving skills, we do not need unnecessary features like ESP which only cost an arm and leg to repair/replace when it breaks down. That’s why maintenance is much lower and RV is the best in class!!!

• vee-oh on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:44 am

uncle sam, this new facelift no RV..design too boring

• Simon Ng on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:51 am

My W124 is 26 years old. And my dad’s W123 is 30 years old next year June. Both of my family Ah Pek car is probably older than many of readers in this blog.
        I presume you drive a Camry, how old is yours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • carnoisseur on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Mercedes cars are hardy and long lasting , that is why they are still in use as taxis’ in various countries . I dont have a merc but i have mint condition 628csi which is 28 years old and i love it

• Sam, if you are driving your father’s toyota camry 2.4. Don’t bother telling people about this and that.

• Darren on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Hmm…nowadays no more toking long lasting dy…all got shelf life…facelift…how to long last?? But I personally like bmw f10 than this cuz it’s more “ultimate driving machine” and buying new bmw no need to think Banyak Masuk Workshop :)

• Imranh on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Sam loo never ride a german car, thats why he said camry is good. Poor boy…

• Sam Loo Jr on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Imranh never ride an alphard before, thats why he said german is good.
          Alphard’s magic ride is even better than overpriced RR Phantom / Bentley!

• Jason Wong on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Obviously this guy has never driven a Mercedes before.

• MrBmw on Dec 21, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Agreed, those who have driven Mercs before know that it drives and handles way better than a Camry.

Also what intrigues me is when Sam Loo is comparing the Alphard to a Rolls Royce Phantom / Bentley.

Get real Mr Sam Loo, The Alphard will never match the first class ride and comfort provided by the Rolls Royce Phantom/Bentley Mulsanne.

• What ever design Ah Peks still will buy…because of the Star!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Warranty Confidence. on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:16 pm

No matter what said about Mercedes, at least they give 4 years warranty. Respect to Mercedes. Why BMW only gives 2 years?
    Already the Japanese have upped their warranty to 5 years to keep abreast with world standards and demands but BMW still gives 2 years or a measly 60,000KM.

Surely if a car manufacturer is very confident of their product, they don’t mind giving a longer period of warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Donovan on Dec 12, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Bro. Better read the FINE PRINT what 4 years (Mercedes) and 2 years (BMW) warranty provides. 1 has to pay for service, another no need. 1 has warranty for parts, another no need.

• Okay, thats ugly to my eye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • Jimmy on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:23 pm

5-series is cantiq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • Ah pek design worst improvement. Worst headlamps and the wagon is ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • I personally am not liking it, reminds me of Mercedes benz of the early 00s, like the previous gen C class. gives me more reason for a 5 series F10 or the more expensive CLS.
    Looks more curvy and softer than the pre-FL, makes you appreciate Honda’s effort more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • It turns out I’am one of the rare people who dislike the improvement judging from the international websites. So I decided to look at it longer, the curvier front intakes and rounder lights still dose’t fit the original sharpish edges of the car body eg: rear quarter window and the pillars. The thicker rounder grill also dose’t help it.
      So I’ll be sticking to my original view of this car. The headlamps does look futuristic though. Stunning as it may look, I fear that this design will age very quickly.

• stranger on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:37 pm

I would buy 5 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • haiya on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:37 pm

when was the last time mercedes won some major awards compared to BMW?

• Dr Rif on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Boring, boring. All premium saloons right now are boring. 5 series, E-class, A6, S class, 7 series, A8 all boring. Last innovative design was previous shape 5 series. Even new CLS is not as fluent as the old CLS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • The 6 series gran coupe is quite something though
      But most people dose’t have the financial backing for any of the cars you listed , and its still a More interesting car than what most of us are used to .
      And if those cars are boring, name something in its price range or segment that’s interesting.

• dugong on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:44 pm

I agree! the E60 still rules!! F10 looks abit distorted and this w212 real lights look like a rip off from the e92 tail lamps. Audi all looks the same and lexus GS looks like shit.

• I like the E60, although being a controversial design, there are those who thinks it’s over design.
        But the F10 is a handsome car, yes agreed it’s distorted. But the GS looks like shit? Can’t disagree since it’s your opinion though I find little wrong with the GS.

• why mercedes…y

• Personally, the general design for W212 is disappointing. From rear angle, it resemble a Korean car, and the general design is more suitable to the 60 and above. The facelift improves a little bit though… but not much..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • crank on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:12 pm

F10 Pleaseeee. I feel the 212 like got some design problem. The rear end looks better but still not appealing to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • PauKaya on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:13 pm

german camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • zawawi on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:25 pm

look great

• RedBeanBun on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:38 pm

no matter 5 series sell like a hot cake…common Daimler…u can do better than this..

• helmi on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:44 pm

kereta orang tua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Interesting that Mercedes took the effort to redo the rear 3/4 bodywork.

• dass G on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:17 am

Before you guys spitting ill of the car, test drive the E250 AMG.
    Then ya’ll will know the inner beauty of the car!
    Try it first before the cock talk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • hasan on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:40 am

new headlight look like the previous s class.mata kacang punya stail. dislike.

• CarManiac on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:41 am

That’s absolutely amazing..

• So-hai Sam loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 1:24 am

No wonder everyone driving audi now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • ftenzy on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:16 am

Too disappointed with the design, A6, 5 series and GS make it much better

• shawal on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:04 am

merc is playing the cutting cost game too like bmw
    same bumper ….only silver bits placement to differentiate trim levels… well played …

it looks like an A-class 1/2 cut though…
    Pre-FL E-class 2nd value still maintain then…

• Joe Radzif on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:10 am

Ngantuk….

• Audi is a new trend. Merc and bmw become NORMAL car today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • alfredweinberg on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:25 am

the headlamp’s design looks similar to volvo style ..

• MatLimMutu on Dec 12, 2012 at 10:55 am

hmm.. design wise, thumbs down.

• The headlamps lack of character compared to the pre-facelift.

• pomen keto on Dec 12, 2012 at 8:39 pm

all talked about looks..nobody mention about the technology inside..sigh!!

• nkzklia on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Every people like different taste. Some like fat women, some like thin one. So, car taste also different. Tengok poket, tanya selera. Jepun ka, german ka, korea ka, italy ka, british ka or malaysia mari.

For me : Merc in my mind. Drive first then comment.
    cuma ongkos nya tak cukup.

• Anon Kneemas on Dec 12, 2012 at 11:20 pm

I prefer the pre-FL front clip but the FL rear quarters and taillights. The FL front clip is a little too busy/gaudy (especially in Sport trim with that Taiwan-knock-off-star-in-grille treatment) and doesn’t gel well with the clean lines on the rest of the car. Also the grille opening shape looks too ovoid. Early reports seem to indicate the next S-klasse will have similar design language *sigh*

• Afifah Munirah on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:43 am

Niceee carrr~

• poor design from mercedes, not much improvement

• warlock on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:34 am

The reasons I bought a BMW was because the merc E series is just not it for me…i think the round lamp in the late 90s was better :) also BMW is the ultimate driving machine…hmm off topic

But don’t know if you wish to hear the truth about merc latest model… Gacelift or not, it just to boxy and ordinary looking..sorry if you don’t like to hear but at least that’s one view on the car. Therefore I pass on this one and wait for the next E seris or C series new models in 2 to 3 years time perhaps to see what mercedes would come up with..

• MrBmw on Dec 16, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Agreed, I still prefer the W210 E class design as it was one of the best design among all of the E classes by Bruno Sacco. The design looks timeless back then and still looks better today than both W211 & W212 prefacelift or facelifted models..

• The old model with round heads lamps still look long lasting..

• Misai on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Ahhh still save money save money & hope my merc dream to come true 1 day :)

• The design has again move towards luxury instead of sporty in the preface-lift. The new design still does not overtake the current 5 series, where the lines are smoother and elegant.