AES cameras vandalised in Perak and Selangor

jenoptik-stc

Not everyone is happy with the government’s new Automated Enforcement System (AES) to nab speedsters and rule breakers, but some have took their displeasure beyond mamak shop talk. Bernama reports that four of seven AES cameras installed in Perak since October have been vandalised.

Perak Road Transport Department director Ramli Awg Seberang revealed that the four vandalised AES cameras were situated at KM 205.6 near Kamunting, KM 373.2 in Slim River along the PLUS North-South Highway, Sungkai (Route 1 trunk road) and Jalan Pasir Putih in Ipoh.

“The cameras were either damaged or splashed with paint. We have categorised the cases as serious vandalism,” he told reporters during a briefing for government agencies, NGOs and the media yesterday. Ramli added that the private companies that had installed the cameras are also responsible for their maintenance and repair, and they had lodged police reports on the matter.

The acts of vandalism did not happen just in Perak, but in Selangor as well. Sepang OCPD Supt Imran Abdul Rahman told The Star that cameras located at KM 301.6 of the PLUS highway near Sungai Besi and KM 6.6 on the South Klang Valley Expressway highway were sprayed with red paint.

Read more on the AES here, or click here for our post with the full list of camera locations. Just type “AES” into our search bar anytime you want to access our AES posts. Drive safe!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• its funny how the article talks about AES cameras being vandalised and ends with a link to all the location of the cameras =P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
  • LebatkanRambut.com on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Then to fix it, use duit rakyat or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • frenzy on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Finally, those thugs know what to break

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
  • Ariff on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:32 pm

it is enough to show that people didnt like AES but government still not understand it..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 9
    • FiziLem on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Wow if that is your argument, so ‘the people’ must also hates public phones, public toilets and even traffic lights since all those public property became victims of vandalism by the so called responsible ‘rakyat’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 97
    • thayanand on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:59 pm

since when the govt understood what we wanted?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 6
  • critic_A on Dec 13, 2012 at 3:40 pm

this is year 2012!! GOV around world should hav increase the speed limit! 110 km/h 20 years ago is nothing in 2012! raise it to 140 km/h at least i would say!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 18
    • hway de cruz on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:18 pm

u can see cement trucks, tour buses, school buses, interstate buses, 1 ton lorries all flying at 110kmh
      and they do so cause AES only start taking pictures above 110kmh… so, what purpose does AES does? the ministers involved got use brains ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • AES should never be part of a private company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 5
  • Benjamin on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:00 pm

If the government’s true intention is on reducing accident rates, I propose that the government to convert the fines into community service. 1 summon = 3-day community service. Fair?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 2
    • support ur suggestion 100% but some Gov supporter would never think so.. all they wan is money…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
    • my man, you should be a minister!!! i dont think they have ever thought of that. you should get your ideas heard to the top people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • MikeMare on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:30 pm

They should do something with the under the table money when getting driving licence if they are really serious about this

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:40 am

You should sit in MOT and sack all those other idiots…..

Singaporean speeding like no tommorow. I wonder did they pay the fine ???

• mystvearn on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Gomen all about money. AES all about money. In UK before speed camera got warning, then when you almost reach camera another warning sign. The camera box itself is painted florescent yellow and people will slow down. It is about slowing down at accident prone areas-never meant to make money

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 2
  • twincharger07 on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:33 pm

If the government is really worried about accident statistics, government should allow cheaper sales of safe, reliable cars on the road, not casket on wheels that been forced through our throat all these years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • "great_job" on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:11 pm

you see what happened to reliable car like BMW, merz, VW if they crash at highspeed?? semua jahanam.

so it’s useless to have even free reliable car if driving ‘macam sial’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 51
      • Carlos Ghosn on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:44 pm

I agree with twincharger07. This is a fact. A car equipped with abs and ebd + traction c is real plus to safety of a car. It is not expensive this type of technology but due to protection from the Govt for Proton it has become insanely expensive to keep this a standard feature where in the west it is compulsary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • twincharger07 on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:01 pm

I see much much more people jahanam in local cars rather than BMW or Mercedes in Malaysia. Almost every accident pictures you see in newspapers belong to local cars. How you explain that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
          • khairulx19a on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:27 am

becoz most malaysian people only afford to buy local cars…

• Just compare the market share of local cars and luxury cars, then you will know why more local cars being jahanamed….

• Rob it like atm machine instead, it cost half a million

• Expatriate VN on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:47 pm

AES vandalized! This is poor reporting, especially the one located in Selangor is illegal in the first place! Any damage to the illegal structure can’t be treated as vandalize!

I did not agree with any rule breaking, but the AES in Selangor deserved it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
  • XZROA.com on Dec 13, 2012 at 4:52 pm

The people are angry because the AES system is run by a private company. When we are fined RM300 more than half of the money goes to them and not to the government. So according to capitalist, aim for more profit, so need to fine more people. Who to say that after the election this company will go on a summon frenzy… they already claim that every month now they can get RM50k…. just wow! So around 166 people a month are suspects of the vandalism.

Another issue is I get people who says that they are fined by AES but when they go to PDRM, they cannot pay since it is not in the database yet or something like that. Apparently you have to pay at JPJ :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
  • lappa on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:02 pm

This should not have happened~~!!
    Even though I hate AES and don’t support AES,however the camera shouldn’t be vandalised. You have to remember that the government buys the cameras using the rakyat’s money!! Rakayat = Us. Rakyat’s money = Our money. That means if someone was to vandalise this stupid system..THEY SHOUDN’T. RUGI DUIT JE BELI~~!! when someone vandalises this machine, that means the money we paid to the government just flied away~~!!

Understand??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
    • We can’t expect people’s action when they get angry with something. As we can see, the locations of the cameras are mainly outside of Kuala Lumpur, there will be many angry “orang kampung” who are raged with this AES which gives them a lot of trouble at their normal routes.

Therefore, as the saying goes, “Sekali orang kampung mengamuk, padah akhirnya”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • vandalism is an obvious sign of how much the ppl is opposing the government.

• NeedForSpeedUndergroud_V2 on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:05 pm

blood sucker … AES can really decrease number of accidents?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • "great_job" on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:14 pm

yes..because ppl will slow down at that area (accident area)…kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
      • polo saga on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:17 pm

and then speed up after passing the AES spot, idiot.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • mondeoman on Dec 13, 2012 at 6:25 pm

speeding is not the only cause of accidents!

1) have you come across some pea brain minded drivers who never signal when overtaking.
        2)have you noticed the major accidents recently killing almost all in the family happen because of lorry/heavy vehicles parked in emergency lane?
        3) are the motocyclists subjected to AES summonses too? Its been proven that motorcyclist contribute to most of the fatal accidents. How the AES camera ‘catches’ the speeding mototcylist?
        Why only cars are shown in AES sample photos? How the camera ‘catches’ the motocyclist?

many more questions in my mind…and
        SPEED DOES NOT KILL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
        • theOnion on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Let’s join hands and oppose AES!!
          In fact, we’re starting a petition to nullify/cancel all speeding/run-red-lights summons. Starting with my own neighborhood, where my children likes to cycle around in. We wanna put big signboards “Kawasan Bebas AES/Undang2” (in all 3 languages) so that people know it’s a law-less area.
          There are a lot of other causes of accidents, we CAN’T UNDERSTAND WHY the effort to tackle these two major causes! Who cares if AES is really proven effective elsewhere or if it ONLY punish the BLATANT/BLIND outlaws?? I can’t take this profiteering so I attack the AES cameras instead.
          Our group is also looking for talent to write letters to Family & Friends of Accident Victims (FFAV) explaining our petition’s legitimacy. Any takers?

• mondeoman on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:18 am

On my weekend trip to Penang, I saw of overladen lorries on the PLUS highway and Penang bridge.

Just wondering why cant they (the authorities/plus) stop the lorries from entering the bridge and highways?

A month back, a lorry overladen with plywood turned turtle near Slim River towards KL (I was driving towards Ipoh), the result is a 10km long traffic jam and more accidents because of the traffic standstill.

Years of driving, seldom I see people light up the hazard light during slowdown or sudden stops, what I see normally are drivers light up the hazard light for wrong reason i.e. during heavy rain!

oh..I can just pour my comments out against AES! :)

• Random on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Jeremy Clarkson(n.d.) ” What cause your life isn’t high speed, its the sudden stop that takes you away.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • theOnion on Dec 15, 2012 at 8:45 am

Great quote, Random!!
        (But ah, how do we get to “sudden stop” in the first place?)
        Now we can all speed away, ignore the big AES signboards and speed anyway, tailgate the slow cars in front…as long as we don’t do any “sudden stop”, we should be OK. Of course there’ll be nothing on the road in front that’ll cause us to suddenly stop! Not unknown road conditions, not accidents and of course not the courteous Malaysian drivers’ driving style.
        For so long I’ve always believed the physics law (momentum = mass x velocity). Now I’m liberated!!

• Your blood won’t be sucked if you don’t break the rules….

• polo saga on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:17 pm

i’ll pray the two AES subcontractor will close down soon and lose hug sum of money!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • longkai on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:50 pm

they collect money frm ARROGANT, SELFISH ERRANT drivers maa. i dont mind at all. wakakaka..

• what a rebel.

• KillBox1Alpha on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:55 pm

It’s quite retarded to put AES system on roads with 80/90kph speed limit. Whe you overtake most of the road hoggers and lorries at this limit, sure kena tangkap la…real dumb la..

Either remove them or increase the speed limits, 80kph or 90 kph…even 110kph is out of date…most cars dont even start to cruise at 120kph these days..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • correct. my car 1st gear alteady reached 90kph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Changkat Jering to Kuala Kangsar trunk road, mobile AES deployed at area with speed limit 60km/h!!!

pity all the kampong folks that went through that road

• You will know what is speed limit if you go Australia…

• thedevilmustbecrazy on Dec 13, 2012 at 7:27 pm

you know, i totally support the implementation of the AES not only because i drive a 12 year old Iswara that doesn’t go more than 100kph, but I think it’s about time to discipline Malaysian drivers. Remember, this is Malaysia, not a third world country, so to keep up the standards, we need well mannered drivers on our roads. For those of you who wish to drive fast, say at about 160 to 200pkh, I have a suggestion: bring it to the well-built Sepang F1 Circuit! If that’s too expensive, then you just can’t afford to drive fast, so shut up and don’t do it on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 53
    • KillBox1Alpha on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:00 pm

“12 year old Iswara”…that’s why you are so bitter..

no one is talking about driving 200kph….we are talking about speed limit upped to 120kph…modern cars have no problem attaining this speed….it’s your problem youre driving the Iswara…though its you choice…but dont expect others to do the same

if anyone wants to drive at 200kph….you can put a speed limit of 10kph…it will not stop them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Random on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

For your to keep up the standards, first world countries doesn’t really have a speed limit of 110km/h on a highway :S Germany have no limit, UK have 80 miles, at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • How about Australia? Most road speed limit is below 100….

• paparadzi on Dec 15, 2012 at 12:54 am

I think most freeways are either 100 or 110 km/h there.

• Irfan on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:24 am

Usually 100 km/h for freeways and highways in Victoria. Same goes to freeways in Western Australia but 110 km/h in non-build up areas.

• keluangman on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:38 pm

your intentions indeed are NOBLE, but your bliss ignorance is enriching the cronies my friend. Traffic light YES, 3 lane highway 80kmh speed limit NO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • dugong on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:59 pm

In Selangor, AES is illegal crony company that illegally erect unapproved structures anywhere they like. Just like illegal Ah longs and Pimps putting posters everywhere as they like.

thedevilmustbecrazy, if i come your hse and build a toilet for my dog in front of your gate without your approval you like or not? Then when you remove my dog toilet i make police report say you vandalise my property issit? Use your brain la!

• theknight on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:44 pm

look at germany, no speed limits. so they are not well mannered drivers? not all of us can afford a Iswara. we cannot keep on paying for repairs for a 12 year old local coffin. we can afford better cars that are up to the standards. have a nice week ahead!

• critic_A on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:51 pm

this is the very reason y u still driving an Iswara~~~

• keluangman on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:36 pm

Illegally ERECTed AES cameras without the local municipal council should be brought down. This newspaper report is akin to ahlong loan shark poster reported to be vandalized. Coz in the 1st place already illegal to be there.

Anyway the AES camera belongs to who? Private company, JPJ or Hak Kerajaan Malaysia? If belongs to government why the AES company go and do report police? That means it belongs to AES Sdn Bhd and Beta Tegap Sdn Bhd, private company. Friends and comrade, you know what this means and where it stands, if you know what I mean….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • bagero on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:54 pm

Stop the killings, Support AES!!

ps: I’m looking forward to see any of those who against AES died in accident becoz of speeding..
    then I will laugh on his grave and say padan muka!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 49
    • kukubird on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:22 pm

Oh, and when those of you who support AES get into an accident and die, i will come piss on your grave :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • theknight on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:45 pm

you need a bicycle then.

• aku sokong mystvearn

Quoted;
    “Gomen all about money. AES all about money. In UK before speed camera got warning, then when you almost reach camera another warning sign. The camera box itself is painted florescent yellow and people will slow down. It is about slowing down at accident prone areas-never meant to make money”

in fact, better to fix the potholes on the road then surely i will pangkah them during GE :)

• kroni mia equipment rosak satu… potential thousands gone… categorized as serious vandalism…. company responsible for maintenance and warranty make police report when they need to do maintenance? this is hilarious… dun they ever make any risk calculation? maybe they did and dun care since they will suck the peoples money anyway… kroni forever kroni… not even 1 heaven u deserve to be in…

• Micheal on Dec 13, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Support AES sure support BN rite?

• Longkai on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Cars nowdays are designed for speed to lure ppl to buy the car with anticipation they might involve in accident so they are equipped with loads of safety features to protect the passenger alone. then who will protect poor ppl in small crappy cars or in a used old car with rotten chasis? this is meant to reduce fatality in road accident. UNDERSTAND children???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Alien on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:25 am

These “wealthy” people that can afford high speed car with those safety gadgets think in an event of accident only they are involve. So to those who can’t afford this type of car when accident occur this “wealthy” people will say “peduli apa pasal korang yang naik iswara/kancil” as long as i’m save. I think this is the other way to say what Longkai want to say.

• _xXx_ on Dec 13, 2012 at 11:27 pm

there should forsee all these…where’s the fence? why the cams are positioned so low? Hullo this is Mesia, hooligans are everywhere…

• mat steady on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:10 am

aiiyyaaa..gomen2..cuba dengo pendapat rakyatler..dari abihkan duit rakyat beli AES baik gune duit repair jalan elok2 !!!!! menyusahkan org aje..dah dekat pilihanraye ni buat hal pulak ye…

• Base on comment here, AES should never been implemented. But does everyone here knew the main intention here. Maybe if close relatives of commenters here died because involves accident with a speeding car then you will change ur mind. Thats mywish

• gOOsh on Dec 14, 2012 at 9:44 am

i just got a “love” letter from JPJ asked me to pay summon of RM300 before 4th Jan 2013 for overspeed at near putrajaya… :(
    poor me as rakyat…

• AESdanger? on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:24 am

Hey, any of you guys saw the AES along the NS highway? the one right before sungkai exit?
    i was driving the other night when it flashed to take picture of the car overtaking me… the flash is very very bright.. anyone experienced that before? i was momentarily blinded.. perhaps somebody should look into the dangerous aspect? a few of cars on the left actually jam braked from the shock…

• AESdanger? on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:25 am

Meant to add, it seems that on roads where theres no street lamps, the AES flash is indeed very very bright… feed back from some of my colleagues.. apparently just not the NS highway.

• AESdanger? on Dec 14, 2012 at 10:29 am

and guys… just drive carefully… why vandalise the cameras when in the end its the people’s money that would go into the repairing and cleaning “fee”
    i dont want to pay 50k just to repair printer. imagine the AES.. would cost even more..

• cinnoa on Dec 14, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Rather than spending a lot of money in AES,our “lovely” gomen should look into :
    1. Schedule & proper road maintenance – those potholes seem like nobody business + no strict enforcement towards those bulls**t contractor who know to dig the road but lousy in maintain it back.
    2. Review our Automotive Policy – provide better spec of cars to our people,cheaper and reliable

They should think us – rakyat not their own stomach

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 15, 2012 at 2:14 am

There is no problem with the cameras, they really do stop people speeding and generally breaking traffic rules. But there needs to be some transparency and accountability to go with them. Where does all the money go? And are they actually there to make roads safer or are they set up specifically to trap motorists and get the most money possible out of them?

Also, they have to make these cameras more visible. Then I can be sure that they’re not just after my money. The implementation of these cameras need to be reviewed as well. I live quite near a traffic light AES camera, and while it has certainly brought a welcome end to light runners, it has also nabbed people who’ve stopped just past the white line. Now while that is technically breaking the law, I don’t think it’s worth slapping on a RM300 fine, is it?

• they should have bomb it instead of vandalising it hahhaha, so happy to see this reaction from the RAKYAT. cheers

• cardreamer on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:28 am

If ever of you ever get stucked in a town because there are no proper or even any traffic sign?

I just did last week at Taiping! I am not used with this ‘tourist’ town, driving at night and get lost! Every time i reach a juction, there are no sign of which way the roads are heading to! And this is also true in Ipoh itself..one can easily get lost getting out from ipoh towards north or south..no sign of ‘south’ or ‘north’ out of Ipoh! if you are heading to penang from middle of ipoh, you would not know where to head to!

The same goes to our traffic light systems…in a straigt roads with series of traffic lights…hardly we can have a rightly set up lights that will turn green on time so that a straight moving vehicle need not stop at every junctions!

And they can solve this simple things but yet thinking about ‘speed kills’! and spent hundreds of millions for that?! Think people! They are threating the sindrome rather than tackling the root cause of bad habits and rough driving malaysians!

Speed alone is not the main cause of accidents. It must be with some other root cause, ie sleepy and bad condition car.

I have no problem is these cameras are installed at junctions or places where people cutting lanes..but catching people at a three or four lane roads at 70 or 80km/h is too ridiculous and ‘mala fide’!

The G should employ our officers to be competent trainer and do campaigns everywhere, be a high intergrity officers who would talk nicely and educate users more rather than showing their power with rude manner and worst still with hidden intention, you know what i mean. Putting up cameras and try to solve iccident issues by looking at ‘speeding’ alone is too naive and ‘kerja senang’.

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Malaysia should’ve just make highways like the autobahn in Germany, no speed limit apart from the “recommended” 130kph. So at least on long journeys you can go so fast.