Foton View – 14-seater window van debuts

DSC_7634

Ah, here’s another people mover, and it’ll get 14 at a go. Granted, it’s not very sexy, but it is functional. The van with a plan is the Foton View, which was officially introduced yesterday by Dunia Prestasi Auto. The Berjaya-owned company has six versions of the View on call, of which four are relevant here, being window vans (the other two are panel and semi-panel units).

Available in semi-high and high roof forms, there are two engine options for the View, which is locally assembled at the Inokom plant in Kulim, Kedah – a 2.8 litre Isuzu-based turbodiesel with 91 hp at 3,600 rpm and 202 Nm at 2,200 rpm and a normally-aspirated 2.2 litre petrol unit offering 101 hp at 4,300 rpm and 193 Nm at 3,200 rpm, both paired to a five-speed manual transmission.

DSC_7667

The 5.32 metre-long View offers seating for 14, and features dual sliding rear doors, ABS and EBD (the ABS fact is very prominently displayed on a rear panel badge) and multiple air-conditioning vents. Speaking of air-conditioning, the control panel for that just screams Nissan Sunny 130Y!

Nothing much else to write about, save the pricing, which is quite attractive if you’re into moving lots of bodies around on the cheap and don’t really mind the form that you’re moving them in. The petrol View Semi-High roof goes for RM70,380, while the High roof is priced at RM71,105. Meanwhile, the diesel Semi-High roof is RM78,206 and the High Roof tops things at RM78,931, all on the road with insurance.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• danial on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Good for group people mover like excursion mini-bus, but 2.2 litre petrol unit offering 101 hp at 4,300 rpm and 193 Nm is severely under power to move 14 peoples!

• The other day I saw a similar looking China-made van which looked like a carbon copy of the Toyota Hiace. Malaysians who buy these China-made vans have no education on the importance of automobile safety. Worse still, I’ve seen many Jin Bei vans being used to transport school children… how inhuman. Malaysians need to learn that automobile safety is not an area where you’d want to save money on. Your life is of utmost importance, not your wallet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 20
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:05 am

When come to safety, not only Chinese makes, Juara Kampung No. 1 compact tissue box on the wheel, jaguh Kampung No. 2 crap quality car, are all got serious safety issues, which cause fatality on the road and become part of statistic collected by JPJ!

Even Toyota Camry sold in US with 10 airbag, and high spec here with 4 airbag only! You ask yourself, by EU/US/Japan standard standard, less then 5% of car on our road may meet this benchmark!

Which of Juara Kampung No. 1 and Jaguh Kampung No. 2 cars are very safe? Except export market for the latter! WTF …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • black on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:24 pm

ugly shit, i rather steal vannette pasar malam than beli kotak putih nih ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
  • Julian Lee on Jan 11, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Adidas steering wheel

• Front headlamps and grills looks like the previous generation toyota alphard !!!

• Expatriate VN on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:07 am

Typical keyboard warrior like to comment on “look-alike” thingy!!!!!

• ben yap on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:17 pm

this Foton is super funny. it is so underpowered and old tech. probably those uncles will buy to transport school kids or factory workers around and most of the time, they’ll arrive late at their destination. the aircond controls also old school type. at RM70K, this van is not worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Can modify this into alphard…more space too.

• vee-oh on Jan 11, 2013 at 5:36 pm

dont think can carry 14 people up to Genting with this power

• oh my.. lampu alphard

• Previous gen Alphard Chrome grill and inverted head lamps, nostalgic dash panel….. At least it proudly has ABS and EBD, but no….. Can’t comment much coz I dunno much bout vans
    But Chinese heavy trucks are quite good and reliable, or so I heard. But cars? Quoros aside, most mainland start up brands has still a long way to go, and there is just too damn many of them!!! But people laugh at Japanese in the 70s and Korean in the 90s. And looking at the rate they gobble up European companies like a giant unstoppable PAC-man , they are definitely coming, like it or not.

• that shows how stupid malaysian are when choosing a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • PauKaya on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:56 pm

the abandoned bast@rd child of a toyota hiace and toyota alphard that got left in china and adopted by proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Kaninabei on Jan 11, 2013 at 7:10 pm

I rather buy a second hand 10 year old Nissan vanette which is reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • the second hand market have so much better choices at 70-80k

• jacko on Jan 11, 2013 at 8:21 pm

konfirm laku di pangkor dan langkawi

• overprice this junk van. how come can approved enter to our shore?

• Leseid Obrut on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:55 am

this is based on the previous generation Hiace…

• John Ree on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:16 am

Toyota Hiace copy…

• Looks shoddily put together than the current generation Hiace.

• miskin on Jan 13, 2013 at 3:53 am

hiace+alpad

• nonce on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:50 am

I was wondering…did they licensed the design from Toyota to design this mash-up of Hiace and Alphard? I know these car companies from China are protected by the Chinese government but is Toyota able to sue Foton here in Malaysia for selling design rip-off of their cars?

• Dont talk about stupid Malaysians buying the Foton View, A stupid American bought one! Me! Check out my blog about it. I’m usin it as a camper to go around Malaysia. How is it? Ok, put new real tires on it first and put some oil additive in it for break in. Drives nice on the highway, great power steering and aircon all around. Time will tell, I did take a risk but see how this van gets to us on my blog and the back up and it’s worth a look.
    http://mycampervanmelaka.blogspot.com/p/blog-page.html

• dont simply talks bad about FOTON CHINA VANS,U PAY WHAT u gets what,think B4U LEAP!

• Roy Q on Dec 28, 2016 at 5:17 pm

dont simply talks bad about FOTON CHINA VANS,U PAY WHAT u gets what,think B4U LEAP!GUYS

• Paul Chin on Sep 06, 2018 at 7:17 pm

Interested in this Foton View 14 seater, what is the price now and how much to deposit plus how many years can a bank loan get per month installment how much