Rolls-Royce Wraith name resurrected for Ghost coupe

P90110556-highRes

We’ve known that Rolls-Royce has been working on a coupe version of the Ghost for quite some time now, as it’s been spy photographer on test before. Today we find out that Rolls-Royce has decided to revive the name Wraith for the new coupe, and it will make its public debut at the 2013 Geneva Motor Show in March this year. The Wraith name was first used in 1938.

Rolls-Royce says the new Rolls-Royce Wraith will be the most powerful Rolls-Royce in history. The 6.6 litre twin-turbocharged V12 in the Ghost is already one of the most powerful BMW Group engines around, producing 570 PS and 780Nm of torque – will the Wraith take this engine even higher up the power scales?

I don’t think that would be an issue at all – the current tune doesn’t even touch 100 PS per litre, so there’s plenty of potential. Will we see at least 660 PS in the new Rolls-Royce Wraith?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Budget never enough on Jan 19, 2013 at 1:05 am

This is one of those cars that I could only admire but can’t ever afford

• babygal on Jan 19, 2013 at 10:08 am

So can u afford the GTR? ever? i dun think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
      • Alpha on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:35 am

A GTR is very affordable.With hard work,you can get it cash after just a few years of proper money saving and planning.

The Rolls Royce is for those who are lucky enough to be filthy rich or won a lottery or something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Most of us cannot afford a GTR. but ever? if you have the determination and tolerance, things will go your way, just like Alpha up here says, but unlike Alpha said, if you have enough patience, you can afford a Rolls-Royce when the time comes and your hard work is paid off.

You can’t just sit there crying you cannot afford a better car and blame it ALL on the Goverment fault but doing nothing yourself but protesting for a better Government.

“Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must Do”
        – Bruce Lee

• erm, I’ve known some realli low key business man and women who work not only hard but smart. and driving a RR phantom coupe. so whats your stories? no one can afford any car, not even cheap proton if they all keep whining about how they cant afford bla bla.

• carnoisseur on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:08 am

It doesnt matter if you can or cannot afford the car . what matters most is the passion for liking cars and that is what makes all of us here have a common interest :-)

• its ok dude, dont pessimistic. even u cant afford RR. Maybe in future u can afford a GTR perhaps? or some form of German Coupe is good enough.

• Damn Homework will take all night!

Anyways 650 bhp….that’s more than a Bentley Continental GT speed! though will it be faster? The Conti GT Speed is already quite the porky, but it is more aerodynamic ,so maybe…Love that name, Wraith.

Expect to find the Rolls Royce grill and Gothic presence to be retain. In other words, a large 2 door handsome coupe that will give some reminiscenceto a 1930s era Grand Touring Coupes like the Mercedes Benz 540K.

• Kalun on Jan 19, 2013 at 7:41 am

You don’t say Rolls Royce.
    Power to weight ratio?

• RollingStones on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:11 am

Let my alladin lamp catch that smokey ghost first for an exchange with a Wraith from RR later…

• mirror mirror on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:28 am

Nice art work.

• Black Dog on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:54 am

So much power and mostly the ‘Ahmad Driver’ gonna enjoy it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Ahmad? I don’t know of anyone brainless enough to hire a driver for a coupe.

• Ahmad? I don’t know anyone brainless enough to hire a driver for a coupe.

• Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Another gas guzzler on resource-depleted earth?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Fuel consumption is a term for poormen, environmentalists and Western politicians.
    Phantom 4444.
    Ghost 7777.
    Wraith 1313.
    Mai soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Buy proton la(wait, I know my post will get dislikes, I’m done, I’m done!)