Aston Martin Vantage SP10 – manual for the first time

Aston Vantage SP10-01

Aston Martin is launching a special edition V8 Vantage S in Europe that takes inspiration from the brand’s successful motorsport activities in the GT4 series, particularly in the VLN endurance championship at the Nürburgring. Named Vantage SP10 after the SP10 class in the VLN series, the car has been “engineered in the style of the luxury sports car maker’s GT4 racers.”

Technically, the Vantage SP10 is almost identical to the V8 Vantage S except for its six-speed manual transmission, used here for the first time. Alternatively, customers can choose the optional Sportshift II automated manual seven-speed gearbox that was developed for the V8 Vantage S.

The 4.7 litre V8 makes 436 PS and 490 Nm of torque, and is good for 0-100 km/h in 4.5 seconds and a top speed of 305 km/h. There’s a “sensational sound from the engine” thanks to the sports exhaust with active bypass valves specifically developed for this model.

Aston Vantage SP10-02

Both the SP10 Coupe and Roadster are available in exclusive Ceramic Grey Metallic. The convertible top of the Roadster is in Titan Grey. The 19-inch cast alloy rims with V-shaped spokes are painted in high-gloss black, with matching black brake calipers.

Other motorsport inspired details include a front splitter, carbon rear diffuser and clear rear lamps.

Inside, there’s plenty of black Alcantara with silver stitching for the SP10 Coupe, while the Roadster features black leather with the same silver accents.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This is beautiful car but this car only made for 2 passenger make it worst car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 60
    • poorjuan on Feb 11, 2013 at 3:20 pm

go drive your cheap 5 seater hyundai i10 and kia forte then….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Yea, I agree. A vios or a bus would be BETTER! :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • if you are going to decide if a car is terrible by being a 2 seater, you are a dissapointment to the human race because there are other people who like 2 seaters. aston martin don’t make cars for you only…if you can spew out so much shit, show them you can design and engineer a better car.

• Hadi75 on Feb 11, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Very smart la you….by your criteria every two sitter is a worst car….maybe you should work for top gear or fifth gear…

• worst car, expensive car, but for long period got boring because only 2 seater

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
        • kadajawi on Feb 12, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Boring because only a 2 seater? Why? Not practical I can understand. But boring…

• Grant on Feb 12, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Dude, you ok or not? I am quite new to the forums here but one thing stands out like a sore thumb. Its your comments. Your comments always don’t make sense and are negative. Why? How can you arbitrarily proclaim that because Aston Martin is a 2-seater car, its suddenly the worst car out there. Do you understand the history of Aston Martin and why it comes the under Supercar category. Please brush up on your knowledge of cars and English before commenting.

• anti sakai on Feb 13, 2013 at 10:36 am

let me see, u are the same person that bash nissan gtr and praise satria neo, i10 etc like no tomorrow. hahaha so u must be spoiled primary school that have obesity problem and get bullied everyday at school. then come home just play need for speed and become keyboard warrior at PT. later homework not done and get cane from headmaster. wht a wonderful life u had boys..hahahahaha

• Lane tamer on Feb 11, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Juan, you’re a disgrace to the humankind.

By the way, please, and I mean please, improve your damn english…

• bongok on Feb 12, 2013 at 10:25 am

don’t care about manglish, my dad is tycoon lor, i already millionere lor

• Kalun on Feb 11, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Nice but the design feel outdated. They should release a new V8 Vantage replacement.

• AVH® on Feb 11, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Agreed, It’s still an amazing looking car that has aged gracefully, But that V8. I remembered a while ago a V8 Vantage overtook me on a highway: glorious, glorious sound, nothing ever comes to that sound of that V8 apart from Team Goodsmile’s GT300 racing Z4 in the Super GT, well for what I hear.

The good news is that it is that manual gearbox, I’ve seen enough review to know that Aston martin Automatic gearbox is lousy. I don’t know what is better than a RWD-V8-manual-English-sports-car. maybe a roadster version.

• Kalun on Feb 11, 2013 at 7:04 pm

They just could update the grill and the headlamp similar to AM Rapide.

That make it look much more pretty to look at.

I like it in Blue.

• nice to see. but not to buy ^_^

• Erm.. Where is the manual stick in the interior photo?

• Happy chinese new year paultan..and all chinese frens here..this is my 2nd year following your blog..keep it up with this good work!

• armandd on Feb 11, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Hmm, cast alloy wheels for this class of car doesn’t seem right…

• Jimmy on Feb 11, 2013 at 7:26 pm

The interior still has rooms for improvement.

• ahmadjohnson on Feb 11, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Good news that manual still not dead yet

• pesonze on Feb 12, 2013 at 8:57 am

why its steering look like saga/persona one?

• GT-Rider on Feb 12, 2013 at 9:35 am

Another crap..

• kadajawi on Feb 12, 2013 at 12:12 pm

MANUAL GEARBOX!

• Joe Radzif on Feb 13, 2013 at 8:21 am

Ia sangat JAHAT!!!
    he he he

I like…