2014 Jeep Cherokee revealed with a bold new face

2014 Jeep Cherokee-03

Jeep has released a few images of its 2014 Jeep Cherokee that will make its world debut at the 2014 New York International Auto Show next month.

A name that needs no introduction, the all-new “no-compromise” 2014 Cherokee sets a new standard with even more best-in-class capability, exemplary on-road driving dynamics, and fuel economy improvements of more than 45% versus the outgoing mid-size SUV model, says its maker.

The new Cherokee will be built in the USA at Chrysler Group’s Toledo Assembly Plant in Ohio, and will arrive in showrooms in the third quarter of 2013. What do you think of that bold new face?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Petrolhead on Feb 23, 2013 at 8:06 pm

The lights arrangment remind me of the Citroen C4 Picasso’s

• Sam Loo on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:54 am

The last Jeep Cherokee failed big time!. Now can even buy for RM3000. Nobody wants it. American brands have worst RV in Asian countries.

• Alpha on Feb 24, 2013 at 12:41 am

It looks retarded.

• philip on Feb 23, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Nice. Elegant yet macho

• kadajawi on Feb 23, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Oh. My. God.

Now I’ll have nightmares…

• AVH® on Feb 23, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Having a macho and brawny brand image like JEEP, I don’t think ‘unique’ is the first thing that come to mind, neither does ‘funky’. Well it looks like they tried to blend some of Nissan Juke, which is both unique and funky, into the design. The end result is not pleasant to my eyes . Being an SUV and American, I would prefer they stick to a more contemporary design.

This is not the first time an American SUV tried to be different and unique in it’s design, Pontiac Aztek tried and failed horribly.

• Semut on Feb 23, 2013 at 3:23 pm

nice teeth…..

• Kepala angin on Feb 23, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Hideous… Macam mamat pakai braces

• Evil skull……imagine if you are driving on a dark lonely road at night, and suddenly the face of this cars appears on your mirror…

• Grant on Feb 23, 2013 at 4:33 pm

A very good effort. Something new that might or might not catch on. At least they did it. What about our local jaguh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • ryuki on Feb 23, 2013 at 4:43 pm

It would be great if we could post our opinion/s on the subject at hand rather than going into non relevant matters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Grant on Feb 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm

It is still an automotive opinion. If I commented on politics or something then its out of context isn’t it?

• Mat Global on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:02 pm

It is not uncommon comments here lack contents and opinions are too plain and too general like talking about weather.However,it’s quite ok if just mention on the looks.
          And to cover up the the shallow write-up the ending is always the same for popularity.
          Sometimes it leads to in-fighting much away from the topic for discussions for pros and cons.

Auto review like ‘What Car’ u.k will undertake to drive the new car introduced for multiple testings over varied road conditions on hundreds of miles.

Definitely, they don’t borrow the car from showroom for ten minutes test drive and at times they choose to own the car and conduct like 20k or 40k mileage to give further comments on road worthiness.

To be fair to readers:
          -I want to hear comments from car owners
          – Or those who ve at least drive the car for hours on
          highway and secondary roads like Auto Reviews.
          – or at least your exp. on comparable unit you have.
          – or you may not own anything but ve been sitting or driving in friends or relatives car quite often.
          – or you are an auto. sales consultant in new and used car dealers.

What i occasionally do is that whenever i go overseas i always take the opportunity to rent-a- car i fancy to drive or own.Similarly, i will rent a car here if the model is available.

Hopes, feedbacks from any forms of experience and exposure can be helpful in this Blog in one way or anor.

• Sam Loo on Feb 25, 2013 at 9:57 am

You talk too much and contribute too little. Don’t kutuk our car reviewers you white bum worshipper.

• tricycle on Feb 23, 2013 at 6:10 pm

what the fxxx is going on at Jeep? the most bizarre looking car this year, losing only to the new bmw 4 series..

• the prevous cherokee was such a good looking suv, i dont know why they had to change their design language

• Perfect car for Bane (from Batman) to travel in.

• Jimmy on Feb 23, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Special, but I wouldn’t say cantiq, judging from pics. Messy in fact, the upper 2 rows of lights should be tidier like Vellfire or the rear of pre-facelift S-class.

• Jimmy on Feb 23, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Or, just make them look like eyes with eyebrows, ie the middle row rounded lamps.

• lol. whats up with this car? short vision? why eye squinting hahahaha. lame attempt

• drrif on Feb 24, 2013 at 8:49 am

Looks like a Gremlin wearing metal teeth braces – truly ghastly design

• slimershine on Feb 24, 2013 at 2:19 pm

At least not as ugly as nissan joker

• Deus Ex Machina on Feb 24, 2013 at 5:46 pm

A real rough & tumble, honest-to-goodness offroading vehicle will not have all that chrome. Unless this vehicle is aimed at soccer-moms/dads whose offroading consists of driving over lawns, in which case it’s not worthy of the Cherokee name.

• cherokee punisher, nicee

• nabill on Feb 25, 2013 at 12:41 am

plastic surgery went wrong !

• Joe Radzif on Feb 25, 2013 at 8:40 am

Teeth over a mouth…
    scary…

• Yar lo. It seems the italians are disroying the Jeep heritage….cammon Jeep.

• Yar lo. It seems the italians are distroying the Jeep heritage….cammon Fiat they have distroy Lancia with weird design. Italian might like it but the Americans might not. I read in America magazine Car & Driver the american were Flabbergasted by the design……

• Hii all,.. I read in the Car and Driver Mag The Americans are Flabbergasted by the Jeep Cherokee design….