VIDEO: VW Golf MK7’s infotainment system in action

We’ve written about the Volkswagen Golf Mk7‘s touchscreen head unit with its proximity sensor and smartphone-like interface for some time now, and here’s a video of it live in action.

First thing you’ll notice is that the touchscreen interface supports wiping gestures, so no more tapping an arrow key to scroll through the menu. Just swipe your finger across like you would on your phone, and voila. It works on the media player too, so you can skip to the part you want to hear instantaneously.

Another standout feature is the proximity sensor. As soon as the driver or front passenger moves a finger to operate the screen, the sensor automatically switches from display mode to input mode. As such, more information can be displayed while you drive, without the clutter of all available commands blocking the view.

Things to note: This video was recorded during our international drive in Sardinia, showing the 8-inch ‘Discover Pro’ model with navigation and Dynamic Chassis Control (Driving Mode Selection). Local models get the smaller, 5.8-inch ‘Composition Media’ panel without GPS and DCC, but the touchscreen interface and proximity sensor are identical to that above.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Loklok on Mar 15, 2013 at 3:44 pm

What a rip off again from the downgrade from 8″ to 5.8″… This feature has nothing to shout about since its common design platform.. Touch sensitivity is deliver from consumer electronic long long time D..

• ProDSG on Mar 16, 2013 at 8:19 am

This is why VW is the leader and trashes Perodua and Proton. The two Malaysian brands can only dream of walking in the shadows of VW.

• Self-proclaimed Sultan of Bulu on Mar 15, 2013 at 4:48 pm

My Myvi also got touch screen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Mar 15, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Good, knee airbag is included.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • rocco on Mar 15, 2013 at 7:29 pm

I went to vw Glemnarie early this morning for scheduled interval service.while i was there i went to the show room next building.no golf 7 on display.but there was 2 unit available outside the building.i saw the white and orange/red colour.but i wonder why both unit got no push start button?. Anyone can share opinion.

• MackyMac on Mar 15, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Never figured out why push start is such a big deal feature. Never found it difficult to turn a key.

Thats just me

• WINDOWS on Mar 16, 2013 at 8:43 am

Are u sure no start button? I saw all reviewer online shown there is a start button on every golf 7. Even the photo on the vw malaysia website showed the start button next to the gear knob.or maybe vw malaysia start to create different variants for golf 7? But personally i think start button make thing easier.just like when every newly manufacture car already have rev camera.once it was symbol of luxury..but now,it is essential.so i guess start button mean your car key can be kept in pocket for easy access

• Liked the older Golf better, this one looks cheap like Preve.

• youbodok on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:37 am

now where got many buttons on i.c.e, touchscreen summore, still cheap? go and get normal one lor