Maserati Ghibli teased ahead of Auto Shanghai debut

maserati-ghibli
UPDATE: We have found what looks like leaked official studio pics of the Maserati Ghibli, from Czech car site autoforum.cz. They are all the way down – click to view

Maserati has teased a new car called Ghibli online. “A new page in Maserati history. 10 04 2013 – revelation pictures release” is the only statement alongside the new car’s grille and trident logo, but there are no such things as airtight secrets these days…

Ghibli is an old name used for Maserati coupes (last heard in the 90s with Biturbo engines) but this round, it will be stuck on a four-door sedan, or super saloon, as Autocar UK puts it. It adds that the Maserati Ghibli will rival the likes of BMW’s M5, Jaguar’s XFR and Porsche’s Panamera. Developed alongside, the new Quattroporte, the Ghibli is meant to be a smaller, more sporting sibling.

The rear-wheel drive saloon (AWD will be available) is rumoured to available with a twin-turbo direct-injection 3.0 litre V6 and a 3.8 litre V8, both from the new Quattroporte, but with less power than the limo. There will be a diesel option too, and it could be a highly tuned variant of the 3.0 litre V6 turbodiesel found in current Fiat Group products.

We’re expecting to see more of the Maserati Ghibli tomorrow (10-4-2013) before touching it in the metal at the upcoming Shanghai motor show, so stay tuned.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Summicron on Apr 09, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Even the name “Maserati” sounds so damn sexy.

• The headlamps that connected to the front grille & the gear knob remind me of bmw 3-series

• Jaybond on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:10 pm

This could be one of the most eagerly anticipated car this year, the car that could shake up the German establishments in the executive luxury sedan segment(after the Jaguar XF)….

• mystvearn on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:30 pm

I don’t see any totoro there:P

next, maserati pierrott, maserati gonzo, maserati UFOtable :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh on Apr 09, 2013 at 11:33 pm

I see what you did there :P

I wanna maserati kyoani kekeke :P

• Imagine Maserati I.G, Maserati J.C, wait….Maserati Gainax, that’s not a bad name at all, Gainax, and if there is relevence it would be EPIC.

Only some people will understand what we are talking

• Sam Loo on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Ugly car. Name also tak ONG. Gibli….wtf. No resale value.

Only BN cronies will buy this kinda car.

The moment it leave showroom, price will drop by 70%.

What’s more, italian car reliability worse than i kena magnum 4D.

• SamTowTruck on Apr 09, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Wow. Good for my business. Please encourage malaysian to buy this guli…oops i mean gibli.

I will park my tow truck at the next traffic light after the showroom. They will need my service.