Shanghai 2013 Live: Citroen DS Wild Rubis Concept

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crossovers are all the craze at Auto Shanghai 2013, with BMW, Mercedes and VW all rolling out high riding compact SUVs. But let’s not forget Citroen’s handsome entry, the Citroen DS Wild Rubis Concept, which previews a SUV model for the French brand’s DS range.

The Citroen DS Wild Rubis concept is 4.7 metres long, nearly two metres wide and 1.6 metres tall, with a wheelbase of 2.9 metres, so it’s quite a substantial SUV. Exterior highlights include flashy 21-inch wheels, that 3D-effect front grille with a prominent DS emblem and those claw-shaped LED signatures. Plenty of chrome at both ends too – the tail lamps are encased in the shiny stuff.

What I find unique is that there’s a chrome bar linking the tail pipes, instead of the tail lamps. The big DS logo on the grille is also a departure from the current norm – the recently launched in Malaysia DS4 and DS5 wear double chevron grilles with a tiny Different Spirit badge on the bonnet.

The DS Wild Rubis is not as mad as what we know the Creative Technologie marque can come up with, so perhaps the design is rather close to production. Check out the dramatic video (featuring man, woman, car and beast) above, and live pics from the Shanghai showfloor below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bobo marley on Apr 21, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Citreon please stop making outrageous fantastic looking concept that they could never produce, start making car that u can profit on , too many concept car that never reach production whats for…please get into real world lah fella , your car resale value is next to nothing, to travel north south of malaysia I would trust a 15yr old toyota than a brnad new c5….anyway get real otherwise base on current trend it willl end up like saab..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Hi Bobo Marley aka Sam Loo aka Resale Value salesman,

You’re correct that Citroen makes fantastic looking concepts and you’re wrong that the concepts are never produce, an example would be the DS series. If you want to criticize a brand make sure you have your facts correct. In the real world fella, I pity you to travel North to South of Malaysia in your 15yr Toyota, but if you have to suffer in your new or old Toyota please make sure you already repair your faulty airbag and wiper following Toyota previous recall. Brudder, You already driving a Milo-Tin, make sure you’re are alive when you finish your North-South drive to enjoy your resale value.