W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class official exterior photo leaked, with 360 degree 3D rendering too

w222-s-class-leaked-0001

We’ve had extensive pre-launch coverage of the W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class, with our previous posts showing official pix of the interior, as well as spyshots of a grey W222 as well as a white W222. Now we bring you a single official promo pic of the car, which appeared on Mercedes-Benz Austria’s website for a short while before it was removed.

The S-Class grille is growing bigger and bigger with each iteration – after growing in size on the W221 facelift compared to the pre-facelift model, it is now even bigger on the W222. Details such as the headlamp design as well as the bumper design above aren’t something that we have not seen before on the previously published spyshots, but it’s nice to see that pesky disguise out of the way. This low angle shot of the car also makes the S-Class look far more aggressive than the cars that have been previously spy photographed that carry what appears to be the same bumper design.

Along with this little leak is a 3D rendering of the W222 by rendering store Humster3D. We have no idea right now whether this rendering is based on official information provided by Mercedes-Benz or whether they made it based on the spy photography that’s available, but it sure does look very realistic. If you need to buy the 3D model file it’s available for USD75 on Humster3D.

The new W222 S-Class is said to be scheduled for an official launch at a location in Europe sometime in the middle of this month. The W222 is said to be the most luxurious S-Class to date, having to take over Maybach’s role with multiple wheelbase options said to be in the works.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The current S-class looks better than this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Abg Long on May 02, 2013 at 7:54 am

ok ok only design. no ‘Wow’ factor to this car.. for me lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Dr Cooper on May 02, 2013 at 8:36 am

Yeah..still you can’t afford it anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Abg Long on May 02, 2013 at 10:55 am

my monthly income plus profit from my rumah sewa (3rd house coming soon!!) hmmm.. sikit lagi lah sure i can hehe. but i still don’t want this car, no ‘Wow’ factor. now my car is a perodua only :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • The back looks like Rolls Royce & Bently….front looks like Eclass. Why German car manufacturer follow VW group….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Wow cantik.

• No fog light? I thought only certain cheapo manufacturers want to charge differently accorting to spec and trim for fog light but for S Class with all wonderful safety technology there isn’t any fog light. Or S Class is a step forward where fog light is mere unnecessary?

• Foglights on May 02, 2013 at 9:48 am

W221 facelift also no foglights. It’s been replaced by daytime running light. Same goes to w212. So now that daytime running light is in the headlamps, the bumper doesn’t hold any lights anymore.

• Really? The point is if fog light is merely an accessory then why it was marketed as a safety feature in the first place and resulted some cheapo manufacturers charge buyers on fog light in their higher spec lines. E class does have fog lights so it’s confusing what does fog light function in the first place and here we don’t have thick fog but many manufacturers charge higher on fog light!

• Mr LifeIsBeautiful on May 02, 2013 at 9:52 am

Proceed with my plan to buy A8L or wait for this one first, then decide?

• Robot Boy on May 02, 2013 at 11:14 am

good move. A8L is simple yet elegant design. I even propose a BMW 7 series. even a Lexus.

• Bro, i think go A8L all the way. i have a fren who drives A8 doesnt regret buying it. A8 can easily smoke S350 and 740Li at a way cheaper price at RM660k only. while the other two will set u bak at north of RM800k.

• WTF???!! spoke the truth oso kena thumb down. Malaysian realli cannot accept comments. What a shame.

• Dr Kervokian on May 02, 2013 at 10:01 am

Fugliness personified. Peter Schreyer might just be headhunted to Mercedes

• Robot Boy on May 02, 2013 at 11:12 am

not impressed. it does not have the luxury face of the current model. interior shots are excellent but the exterior design is not good. Benz is looking their touch on design.

• i think in real life its going to look way better then the pic and 3d stuff…the pic doesnt do any justice here..to be honest its a luxury limo u cant expect it to be like a Laferrari or mclaren p1 design

• i think the design is too sporty for s-class.. no longer looks classic.

• frenzyaustin on May 02, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Great to see Mercedes change from uncle car to more “cool” style. W221 is way too boring to look at.

• Anon Kneemas on May 02, 2013 at 9:56 pm

That intersection where the headlights meet the front clip/grille meet the hood is really awkward and looks unfinished. For that reason alone, I’d buy this car only in a darker colour. But overall a nice shape, and it should look even better in AMG trim.

• NIEKO on May 03, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Thats hot ,sorry guys I always admired all generation of the Merc S Class Hu Hu

• NIEKO on May 03, 2013 at 12:58 pm

but a merc should never be in white …iam just saying