SPYSHOTS: Kia K3 to be named Cerato in Malaysia?

Kia_K3_spyshot_3

These spy photographs of the Kia K3 finally show it in Malaysian trim fully undisguised. We’ve seen the test units running around here twice before, the first time as early as November last year, mere months after the model’s global reveal. Removing the black coveralls reveals a big surprise: Kia’s C-segment contender will be badged as a Cerato over here.

We may be unfamiliar with the name but Kia has used it for a long time, tracing back to the old pre-Forte Spectra sedan and hatchback. Australia, South Africa and Brazil only ever knew the original Forte as a Cerato, and our neighbour Singapore used both nameplates and called it the Kia Cerato Forte. Why would Naza decide to rename it now? Let the speculation begin.

The white car pictured here has a ‘2.0’ badge on it, confirming that there will be two engine options on the new car. It appears to have a sunroof fitted, leading us to believe the red unit sans the black cutaway to be a base 1.6 litre model. In other markets, the direct-injected smaller motor makes 138 hp and 167 Nm while the 2.0 litre bumps it up to 173 hp and 209 Nm.

Both cars appear identical otherwise with shiny 17-inch alloys (the largest design available), LED DRLs and projector (possibly xenon) headlamps. Early looks say the Cerato will retain the Forte’s class-leading specs legacy with even more style. The local launch should be just around the corner now, and more details are sure to be revealed real soon. Just remember, it’s the Kia Cerato, not Forte.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Justin Ng on May 22, 2013 at 2:48 pm

My 2cents is that the move to change the name might have to do with “Pricing”. Perhaps an effort to distance it from the outgoing “Forte”, thus can market it as a more premium model and higher price tag. Will not be surprised to see the 2.0 model priced closer to Honda/Toyota’s Civic and Altis price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 49
    • Used Panties Sniffer on May 22, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Amazing how Kia and hyundai has literally stolen the market from arrogant Toyota and Honda. Now, every other car I see is a Kia or Hyundai. Once upon a time the arrogant Japs said no one can touch them. Look at them now, so weak and vulnerable. Koreans took 10 years to grab the same market share that Toyota and Honda took 50 years to achieve in Malaysia. So, in another 10 years time, Japs will be definitely below the Koreans.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 54
      • Forza on May 22, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Your thoughts are too simple…Yes, the Koreans are coming in strongly but you also forgot the Japanese are also upping the ante now. So it doesn’t mean the japs are sitting there waiting for the Koreans to overtake them. Look at how Mazda coming out with best design award in Europe that even beats all the European cars. Fuel efficient engine that even matched the Hybrid. To put it, the Japs have a complete and balance package as oppose to the Koreans that only give nice design but poor handling and economy. IMO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 34
        • Gotta appreciate the well thought comment.

• Only mazda? What happens to honda with civic SOHC engine, toyota with archaic engine and 4 gears and Nissan with weak engine output? Jap are suck, they sell brands not quality. Not to mention kia won red dot design through its rio hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
          • namanama on May 27, 2013 at 11:34 am

figs,SOHC engine is what Honda best for.SOHC Vtec engine optimize performance at low RPM to give better torque.You can drive your 2.0 Forte to sprint 0-100 with civic 1.8,then you know what I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Competition is good: without the korean carmakers being aggresive with excellent value-driven packaging, japanese and even local carmakers are still arrogant with their buy it or leave it attitude.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 0
      • Ya bro..your sniffing is correct. Just look at how Samsung almost dominate the mobile phone world, and what about flat screen T.Vs……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
        • dewaSemut on May 23, 2013 at 10:10 am

I am still buying Sony TV though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
          • Tau ceti on May 23, 2013 at 11:53 pm

This is called ego people who refuse change….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • namanama on May 27, 2013 at 11:39 am

Sony is my 1st option,if my budget does not permit,Samsung is way to go…if the price is the same why I would buy a Samsung anyway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • Storm on May 23, 2013 at 12:11 pm

You just mentioned. Electronics and Automobiles are 2 very different thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • U MOORE on May 23, 2013 at 3:26 pm

The idea is that Koreans wants to
            dominate…think Psy or if u dare look further up….Kim Jong-un

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 8:53 pm

WTF are you talking about? Your statement will be only correct if you are talking about the used car market.

Used kimchi salesman now dominates and stole market share from used sushi salesman because the price delta between trade in vs selling of used kimchis are so much more profitable.

We really need to encourage more sorhais to buy new kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
    • kelvin on May 22, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Make it premium, increase the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 16
      • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Make it ultra premium, then the trade in price delta will even be larger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • Seriously this car is so good looking especially in white! Nissan and Toyota still got chance to beat this if they bring the new Sentra and new Altis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Kimchis can look like Audis, but the look on the owner when they are given the trade in value will look like they just came from a funeral

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
        • Joseph Chong on Jun 14, 2013 at 5:04 pm

You are talking about current situation, which I can understand that. Trade in value is very large affect by the part’s durability , the design , but most of all – people’s choice.

Looking at those current used korean cars have very low trade in value due to their parts, their design – This shows their demand is low – no one wants them so they cant get a proper price when people sell them off.

But look at all these new models that is coming ( or even arrived ), the game will change. If there are more users than it was before , demand will go higher – hence used car price will reflect that.

• Obama on May 23, 2013 at 10:47 am

After election, changed the name, increase the price…that simple.

• u guys will eat up ur word later…

i think they will bring full spec cerato

• Matchy on May 22, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Probably because it won’t be replacing the Forte due to the price. People will think that the Forte price actually “increased” (by a large margin) if they reuse the existing name.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
  • godlike on May 22, 2013 at 2:54 pm

wow…i’m so lovin’ it
    this is what we call “tsunami korea” haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 63
  • Henry on May 22, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Nice car with nice wheels. Chun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
    • namanama on May 27, 2013 at 2:51 pm

those bling2 wheels nice?? looks like cheap taiwan made rims.

• seancorr on May 22, 2013 at 2:57 pm

I see front corner sensors and glass imprinted antenna…sweet. Wonder what else they offer on the inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 39
    • Proton Staff on May 22, 2013 at 3:07 pm

P3-22A also got la front sensor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 46
    • front and rear sensors, yeap glass imprinted antenna even on basic car, audio and bluetooth on steering control plus cruise control on mid option car.radio comes with standard usb and aux jack and in the highest option push start system and UVO…heated steering wheel, ventilated front seat..the koreans are throwing in all options..

• OMG…nice and expecting the features will be at least as good as the current 1. Really hope the price will maintain in order to kill the coming vios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • nice car but price sure will increase to premium price like altis n civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • Arun 12B on May 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm

the price of car started wit 100k only. No lower than tat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • MyDear on May 22, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Bcoz naza think rakyat to know that forte and cerato are two different product.. so they can keep selling forte..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • azrai on May 22, 2013 at 3:38 pm

My best guess is the outgoing Forte will not be outgoed. This mean the Cerato will sell side by side with the current Forte in our shore. The late in KIA’s name plate and the Forte still bearing NAZA’s badge. The price also going to be higher than Forte then. The new Elantra price can be the benchmark here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
  • sepul on May 22, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Agreed with all the above comments regarding the name.

I still prefer the Europe only cee’d though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • abahko on May 22, 2013 at 3:45 pm

ohh sexay lady…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
  • Gordon on May 22, 2013 at 4:59 pm

The rear looks like the Ford focus titanium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • there’s a lot of interior photos of this car on the internet. Lots of improvement but still plasticky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
    • Danel on May 22, 2013 at 5:25 pm

By looking at pictures you know it’s plasticky..

Powderful u are..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
      • I own one and I did not find it any plasticky say than Vios..don’t make a comment until you see one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • RakyatMalaysia7 on May 23, 2013 at 10:02 am

Vios G n preve CFE are sure to be more plasticky than forte 2.0 n 1.6 sx,coz i’ve been inside those 3..even non-partisans will say the same

• So,,…So only la. No WOW factor here!! kinda boring design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 36
    • Dugong design is so futuristic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • rookie on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:33 am

You’re right!! Dugong has conquer the sea now. God how I miss those sharp edge fierce design with power of shark..my father’s generation are lucky to live where the car are built with power and design.

• Enthu on May 22, 2013 at 5:23 pm

A 1.6NA C Segment on 17″ wheels?
    As expected, all show and no go for this Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • car-taker on May 22, 2013 at 5:32 pm

So which one you guys think will happens?
    1.Reduce forte price and cerato takes its position or
    2.Forte price will be same and cerato takes higher price

I hope it’ll be no.1, more choices for people

• Hyundai De La Junk on May 22, 2013 at 6:19 pm

No need to dream 1.6 will be 99-100K while 2.0 will be 118-120K, insider had already reviewed the price in many website, is no secret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 11
      • meng meng on May 23, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Does’t matter can wait till offer.

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 8:58 pm

With the poor quality of design compounded with ultra low quality of local components and tidak apa attitude of workers, this car will even be worse than proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • sick&tired on May 22, 2013 at 5:45 pm

forte will compete with city/vios whereas the cerato will compete with civic/altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Hyundai De La Junk on May 22, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Cerato will compete direct with Elantra as the price bracket is the same, Forte is no match for Vios nor Almera, as those can sell by 2-3K/month while Forte merely 500-600/mth totally no match.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
    • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 8:59 pm

1 year later, Vios/City can still get at least 90% trade in price.

Kimchis, you will be lucky to get 50%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • lolzer on May 24, 2013 at 11:38 pm

I believe you have personality conflict here. If you want them to buy kimchi, you won’t talk bad about it right? So now, you want your 2nd hand car business doing good or not? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • loaded with features but dead boring to drive….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • Dob168 on May 22, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Nice..Cerato name not that bad but Forte name not better either..By the way, i hope there’ll be blue color..It looks sporty in blue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • there is blue color option offered in Saudi, in fact if you check out all the car reviews all models featured are blue..

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Whatever the name, kimchi used car fella loves sorhais that buys them brand new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • dont like this design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
  • Proton staff on May 22, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Wait for Proton Preve MC lah. Updated with better specs. Harga pun mampu milik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
  • NwarE on May 22, 2013 at 7:29 pm

If use Kia Cerato/Forte K3 also good one.. Like hthe Optima K5

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Man, trade-in value of Optima more kerlian than Sonata, eventhough its the same car by DNA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Fahmi on May 22, 2013 at 7:38 pm

1.6 with 138 hp and 167 Nm ? Good enough, ven Civic 1.8 have 141hp and 174nm torque… Even the 2.0’s have 173hp and 209nm torque is close enough to Ford Focus’ 170hp and 202nm… If specs and price is good, sure to be a nice buy… Need more brand power though….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • jeremy on May 22, 2013 at 8:28 pm

I highly doubt that will bring the direct injected engine to Malaysia thanks to our fuel quality (Euro 2)….expect the same engine as the Forte

• namanama on May 27, 2013 at 12:19 pm

it’s only on paper,mate.things different when comes to reality…

• Davincci on May 22, 2013 at 7:50 pm

k3 need to improve its handling in order to compete with Japanese car, as well as its engine, Korean car famous with its design, in terms of engine smoothness Japan car still is better reliable

• After owning this car for 3 weeks I can say the engine is smooth..it features drive by wire technology which I am not sure even Corolla has now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • namanama on May 23, 2013 at 2:36 pm

You can give whatever name for tech,but for handling my dad 18years e30 far better and fun to drive.Obviously this car not for enthusiast.for girls to be specific.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • kongkh on May 24, 2013 at 11:41 pm

e30 already dinosaur age car la, not babe magnet. They will appreciate new car more, even if it’s only a proton! Haha!

• namanama on May 27, 2013 at 12:21 pm

haha..bring it on!let my dad e30 smoke your KIA!

• 1.6 98k +- Rm1000
    2.0 118k +- RM1000

got this from a salesman.

for those who want to buy the current forte, better get it before stock finish. since the new model won’t enjoy the same price/feature ratio

• Zend3r on May 22, 2013 at 8:10 pm

2.0 will go for around 118k

trust me on this

• jeremy on May 22, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Heard the price will be 98k for 1.6 and 118k for 2.0…big jump in terms of pricing, that is why they are changing the name from Forte to Cerato…to differentiate and make it more ‘premium’ than Forte..with that price, expect a lot of sales for the 1.6….those considering the 2.0 previously might just consider the Civic 1.8 or Civic Hybrid with that price….

• armina on May 22, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Now owned kia forte 1.6 its nice to drive , if i got more income sure i will buy this kia cerato for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Check out the trade in value of your kimchi first. Your jaw is too lightweight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
      • But my 2003 1.8 altis traded for 28K why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • d way im on May 26, 2013 at 11:54 pm

if u want high price after sell,u hve to buy house n land…haha..if u buy ferrari n try sell it..u got a different n lower price after sell it…all car models drop the price after sell..

• eroul on May 22, 2013 at 9:46 pm

I already owned forte 2.0sx and its no doubt most powerfull car in its segment.. Truthly its Naza make brand “Kia” worst in this country.. But in europe Kia its the No 1 people car choice.. No 1 .. Its korean car! Think about that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Bought the car in Saudi 3 weeks ago for SAR57k. 1.6L with 6 speed cvt slush box. Basic car option which comes with steel rim and cap. The picture shown in mid option car here which has 17″ alloy wheel but still with 1.6L..no 2.0 here. 3 engines are available according to Kia 1.6, 1.8, and 2.0 but somehow in ME only 1.6 is offered. In some market they called it K3 only..here it is always Cerato from beginning. It is a world difference from the model it replaces..personally I prefer Cerato than Elantra although they share same platform. The rear end can be confused with Focus. My second Korean car after Hyundai Matrix in Malaysia and I must say the Korean has come a long way..Proton has a lot to catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • ben yap on May 23, 2013 at 9:43 am

Paultan.org not geo-block? can view all the way in Saudi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Harris on May 23, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Wherever I go always view paultan. Europe, middle east, africa, asia, south America..

• Jamie on May 22, 2013 at 10:26 pm

The 2.0 Cerato is definitely a powerful package compared to Civic & Altis. Expect this car to literally smoke the T & H’s. For such performance, I doubt anyone will complain about the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Stuart on May 22, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Many like you are still thinking the more power means faster car and do you wonder why Korean cars fuel consumption are so high until they lied about it http://articles.latimes.com/2012/nov/08/business/la-fi-mo-autos-hyundai-fuel-economy-lawsuit-20121108?

European cars and even recently Mazda Skyactiv are focusing on reducing weight AND have a very efficient gearbox to increase fuel efficiency AND to assist the engine in achieving better acceleration. That’s why Korean cars are beauty without substance. A car is much much more than being beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
      • namanama on May 27, 2013 at 2:37 pm

nice article to read.all KIA fans should read.hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • ItsaLie! on May 28, 2013 at 10:26 am

I think there are more manufacturers out there who are caught lying. Not just Hyundai or Kia, really want to share then please share all the articles and not just the one favourable to your comments.

• namanama on May 29, 2013 at 10:49 am

it’s a KIA post,so stay in track!

• ItsaLie! on May 29, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Then don’t bring up other cars at all. Focus on why you think it’s bad and don’t even bother to bring up other supposedly better design!

• namanama on May 31, 2013 at 11:53 am

compared on price tag so I should bring whatever car in the price range,so why you so butthurt so much?oh i get it,coz’ you just a blind KIA supporter!

• namanama on May 27, 2013 at 2:35 pm

nice try jamie!

• meng meng on May 22, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Hummnn….
    Between focus and cerento…
    Hope the 2.0 rm 118k is est. Price.
    Actual price will be lower.

• now waiting new corolla, 2014 mazda 3 and 2014 lancer. hoho.

• rookie on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:13 am

If I keep waiting for “next year new model”everytime, then I will not buy a car forever.

• frenzyaustin on May 22, 2013 at 11:56 pm

For fun driving: Ford Focus
    For Blink Blink: Kia Cerato
    For low running cost and low profile: Honda Civic
    Mazda 3 and Toyota Corolla Altis is not included as they are 1 generation behind these car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • ben yap on May 23, 2013 at 9:41 am

Civic low profile? People respect you more with a Jap car compare to Korean or Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
    • yimtg on May 24, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Driving Preve is better than a Focus. Why? You have to test it yourself. Enjoy.

• i live in miri and always see the current cerato,(brunei plate), it just exactly same with kia forte

• V12Kompressor on May 23, 2013 at 12:55 am

perhaps the Forte is to stay as a lower and more value for money model and the Cerato continues on taking on the big guns of Civic and Corolla?

• Forte lover on May 23, 2013 at 1:26 am

I already own a 2.0 Forte for 2yrs ..so far everything’s perfect..no complains at all…I will use for 3yrs n replace with this new model…love Korean car….very nice to drive loh…

• Pengguna Bijak on May 23, 2013 at 7:45 am

Let us sing this together:

“Bye bye Preve…Bye bye”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • gOOsh on May 23, 2013 at 8:34 am

Kia/Hyundai is rapidly moving forward with their competitive products… but as of now, not really admire to have one…

• 4G63T DSM on May 23, 2013 at 9:16 am

Looks like the Cerato will move upmarket. Perhaps NazaKIA will retain the Forte in 1.6 and drop the 2.0 but in reality there is not much breathing room with the Rio nudging up 80K

The Cerato will likely start from high 90s to 120, closely matching the Elantra given that KIA typically comes with better equipment.

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Move upmarket?

“Poor soil will never be able to to lifted up the wall”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
  • Ha Gnih on May 23, 2013 at 9:39 am

The Japs can not be complacent with their products anymore. They need to be more aggressive than ever to rival the Koreans. I must say Korean cars these days are so comfortable. The K5 is really a head turner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on May 24, 2013 at 12:11 am

The K5 will be a head spinner, coz you will need lots of feng tau yuen after you get to know the trade in value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • Anti Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:45 am

Plan to book one !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
  • torque on May 23, 2013 at 11:35 am

Looks like naughty S60 R-Design bumper

• namanama on May 23, 2013 at 2:45 pm

ahh..come on! 118k for KIA??Seriously?? please la NAZA,please do some homework..people who buying KIA is for their value for money,not not handling/performance.the price should be lower than Civic/Focus.for the price 118k,if im the buyer i would spend my money for Focus,superb handling&performance.

• Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:06 pm

You can get a 14 month old 1.6 Forte for RM50k, my best price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Unfortunately preve (6 airbags( with superb handling beat focus in terms of safety in aussie ncap rating. Betterwait for preve hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • namanama on May 29, 2013 at 10:52 am

forte&preve both also crap.one bad handling,one poor quality…

• Maserati on May 23, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Oh no! Not one of these junks again! Come on lah KIA,pls buck up on your refinement.Enough of giving us nice looking cars but totally no refinement inside.I drove the old Forte 1.6 and wanted get out as soon as i sat inside.So cheapo looking and the engine is probably the worst I have driven before.When you push it,it just refuses to move!

This car is only worth RM 60k.Anything more than that,and nobody is gonna buy this trash.Until KIA gets their drivetrain and engine refinement right,nobody is going to give them any respect!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
    • David D on May 23, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Dude, my money, my decision. It’s a good car although it has some more to improve, but then again, because of its predecessor, Malaysians took notice the improvements non Japanese brands had done.

Secondly, its not the owners of this car that will lose respect, but you yourself, Maserati a.k.a ‘Mamapapamsia’as per your Low Yat forum username, who literally insults people for their choices. So what if i bought a Subaru or a Ford? Im stupid? No, im just the consumer who wants more for my dollar paid. Simple as that. Like how i value safety, stability, and technology more than just resale value or image. Like why im looking at an Inspira, Cerato, or even the Focus as my next car.

Last but not least, you dont own a Korean, instead driving it only for a trip, so, my advice to you? Shut up if you only have nasty words to say. This is a blog to enjoy cars, not a manhood measuring contest, you wealthy, arrogant prick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on May 23, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Maserati, let these sorhais buy them brand new and lose an arm + 2 legs when the sell. No need to be so “ho sim” one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
      • David D on May 23, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Sam, id like to see the look on your face when a car slams your Camry by the side. Talk about being in a bodybag as your incompetent head hits the front of the car due to the lack of side airbags. Resale value, by then, is worth nothing. Oh, and FYI, im making plans to change to a low-value, safety features packed car that would save my life, as i value my life more than resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
        • namanama on May 27, 2013 at 10:54 am

well,camry is better build car,good handling.It’s a fact.Its just not handsome as K5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo on May 24, 2013 at 12:09 am

Kimchi kwai tai in the middle of the road has a higher chance of ending up in a black bag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
        • SAm Loo sucks on Jun 06, 2013 at 11:38 pm

you and your sitnking mouth go inside black bag first la! ppl discusingg about cars here (new Cerato) and your haters comments are damn annoying!

• wendy on May 24, 2013 at 8:57 am

Nicely said david, I feel u.. I myself saw my fren passed away in xcident when his car roll and the driver’s side door hit a tree.. He drove honda city.. How I wish the car got curtain and side airbags.. From then on.. I only look cars with atleast 6airbags and tcs.. Regardless the RV.. RV is nothing when it come to life..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • preve hatch will have those 6 airbags and ECS. can’t wait it to be launched

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • namanama on May 27, 2013 at 11:00 am

In high speed nothing can save you,knows your cars limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • anti_jap_car on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:47 pm

few cases shows Ferrari driver was safe after high speed accident.

Japs car just simply over priced. The more ppl said the gov suck the tax, the more they contribute by buying the japs car …

coz …. highest tax they suck from japs car

• wendy on May 24, 2013 at 9:01 am

Nicely said david, I feel u.. I myself saw my fren passed away in xcident when his car roll and the driver’s side door hit a tree.. He drove honda city.. How I wish the car got curtain and side airbags.. From then on.. I only look cars with atleast 6airbags and tcs.. Regardless the RV.. RV is nothing when it come to life.. Some more.. Driving T&H.. U hav something else to keep in mind.. Thief will always be at your back bcoz of the RV.. So less RV the less miserable u are when u want to park your car when u want to go to the bank.. I would prefer to own a car with the worse RV.. I know even if I forgot to lock my car overnite..the car will still be there.. Try harder Sam Loo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • wendy on May 24, 2013 at 9:04 am

Some more.. Driving T&H.. U hav something else to keep in mind.. Thief will always be at your back bcoz of the RV.. So less RV the less miserable u are when u want to park your car when u want to go to the bank.. I would prefer to own a car with the worse RV.. I know even if I forgot to lock my car overnite..the car will still be there.. Try harder Sam Loo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on May 25, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Its ok to be in the state of denial while you currently drive a rotten cabbage.

Sell if off and you will break free from the 2nd class feeling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • Daniel on May 24, 2013 at 10:54 am

Come on, buy the car you like..
    talking about resale value??? get a proton saga, save a lot and you won’t lose that much compare to cars above 100k..

• the car look kinda huge. almost same size as the red inspira/lancer on the right

• Kia_die_hard_fan on May 24, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Brunei already launching this model few week ago. high spec auto (17 inch wheel)- B 28K..low spec auto just 26 k.. still waiting for manual model..

• kiafancl on May 25, 2013 at 12:07 am

Keta Jepun sekarang boring. Dah la design entah hapa hapa macam selulit pun ada aku tengok. Ada yang macam dugong la, lampu macam mata terbeliak la, tak senonoh betul la designers tu. Hilang selera makan aku tengok keta buruk macam tu. Patut kena pecat je. Jual mahal tapi design macam harem. Dah la spec hancur, enjin dan gear zaman batu orang lain tak pakai dah, diorg masih nak jual lagi kat Malaysia. Ingat duit orang macam daun je ke bole kutip-kutip tepi jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • namanama on May 27, 2013 at 11:02 am

Ya those Kia fit your 2nd class minded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • ItsaLie! on May 28, 2013 at 10:40 am

So choosing a car that is expensive means you are 1st class minded? Those who refuse to accept change are the one who best can be described 2nd class mentality… people want more value for their money, not some hardcore supporter judging people base on their car choices.

• namanama on May 29, 2013 at 10:30 am

118k for korean car value for money???ahh come on..for God sake please read St comment below.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • ItsaLie! on May 29, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Learn to read, i say people want value for money, i did not once said the KIA is value for money, if you can’t read a general statement and take it as it is then i suggest you learn some comprehension skills. My point being nobody deserves to be judged based on their choice. You must be driving a really exotic car then Mr. 1st class minded.

• ItsaLie! on May 29, 2013 at 2:30 pm

I agree with ST’s comment, which is why people will be more careful when buying cars here in Malaysia. Who doesnt want more bang for the buck? People have different priorities when it comes to choices, some wants more space, some wants cheaper price for more accesories, some want RV, some want driving quality and the list goes on. So don’t go around condemning people about their choices, if you are rich and can afford a performance oriented or luxury car then good for you. Everybody is different, don’t force your ideas unto people.

• namanama on May 31, 2013 at 4:49 pm

1st comment.Please dont be like politician lah spin here&there,you’re commenting on KIA post and talk about value for money,and 118k is not value for money,i repeat its NOT VALUE FOR MONEY ok!…Grow up please.
            2nd comment.Indeed,people are free to choose according to their needs.But this junk KIA things dont have everything that you mention for 118k!There’s lot of choice out there.look at the ST post,u already knows what bang for buck is.I will not condemn if the price range is below 90k where it should be…118k is hell expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • would like to hear feedback from you all sifu, C-segment which one has the best handling? preve, cerato, civic, altis, inspira, lancer, elantra, sylphy, jetta, focus, 408, mazda3, kizashi.

just talk about handling.

• reader on May 27, 2013 at 4:54 pm

i still prefer the current forte, it looks nicer than this new forte

• stothehtotheatothec on May 27, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Regardless. If cerato priced around 70k-90k++ its a good car to buy. Else might as well consider buying Vios – City – Mazda 2 – Rio – Or Proton/Produa instead.

• rgshow2k on May 28, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Like it so much ! if compare to the spec with others I should say Cerato will be the best in class. furthermore, KIA has improved a lot in term of hp, consumption, comfort level and put in more gadgets.

Worth Buying.

GUYS stop talking about the RV !!!
    those who are still keen on T and H please think twice and go ahead if you got enough money I your pocket for the higher spec like KIA Cerato.

just my 2 cent

• Look at other countries,
    http://www.motortrend.com/cars/2012/kia/forte/

Kia Forte 6 speed price is USD 16,000 and K3 still around USD 16,000. http://www.kia.com/#/forte

Only Naza is greedy and think Malaysian are stupid by changing the name and then charge extra. If naza already profit when selling at 99k and now selling new K3 for 120k, that’s instant profit of 20k !!!!

Europe price also didn’t increased. Let’s see if really people are dumb or clever..

Look at Nissan almera, cheaper price but the company Net profit more than doubled… http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kenangaresearch/29704.jsp

Let’s see if NAZA is clever or people are cleaver.

• ItsaLie! on May 29, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Sadly not many people realise all these underhand tactics if they have no access to outside information. But in general, cars in Malaysia is definitely higher than alot of other countries.

• It’s gone a be taxi in jakarta
    http://oto.detik.com/read/2013/04/25/141846/2230339/1207/kia-cerato-jadi-taksi-transcab

• Jamie on Jun 18, 2013 at 1:25 pm

I really don’t understand why is fuel consumption & RV such a big issue for everyone. In my case, my company provides me with a Shell card that has no cap for amount pumped. Problem solved. When it comes to RV, true it does lose its value faster than most cars out there, but who cares, I’m gonna pass down the car as a gift to a younger bro or sis when the time comes to buy a better car. I’m definitely getting the 2.0 Cerato, it’s a beauty. For all those anti-Kia fans, seriously start living life n not spend ur whole life thinking about FC & RV because those 2 are non issues at all. It it really is, then might be better off to just ride a bicycle everywhere.

• Truth on Jul 07, 2013 at 11:56 am

Korean technology in engineering is still way behind the Japanese.