RON 97 petrol down by 20 sen to RM2.70 per litre

Fuel_Wallet_GaugeThe retail price of RON 97 petrol is now RM2.70 per litre, with the 20 sen drop from the existing RM2.90 per litre coming about yesterday.

The pump price of RON 97 was last revised on March 6 this year, when it was increased by 20 sen from the RM2.70 per litre previously. Rumours abounded about a potential increase a few days after GE13, but a check at the pump in the wee hours of the morning revealed that everything was status quo.

No change whatsoever to RON 95 petrol and diesel prices, which is subsidised by a government allowance. Unlike the regulated and subsidised RM1.90 per litre RON 95, the pricing of RON 97 works on a managed float, with pricing determined according to market forces.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hway de cruz on May 23, 2013 at 10:04 am

nothing grand, doesn’t help the rakyat at all…. oledi world crude petroleum downtrend, buang najis still not doing anything… so, nothing grand for lowering ron97

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 297 Thumb down 214
    • Guciguci on May 23, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Good news for my ferrari !! well done G!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34
    • Ahmadfaris93 on May 23, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Price increase, complain. Price decrease, complain. Malaysians are getting ridiculous these days.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 52
    • armandd on May 23, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Petrol price went up you ‘bising’, now it goes down also wanna ‘bising’? Something’s wrong with you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 55
  • taboogen on May 23, 2013 at 10:12 am

when fuel increase all bising.. when cigarette price increase.. no one stop smocking… wtf

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 9
    • even my preve is modified turbo… still use RON 95.. no difference what so ever between Ron 97 and 95 just the price..still achieve 230km/h..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 73
      • 12345 on May 23, 2013 at 1:41 pm

RON97 is for high compression engine… I always laugh when I see people pump this fuel on daily ride car and saying that RON95 is bad for the car engine,lose power,etc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 21
  • Matchbox on May 23, 2013 at 10:15 am

Terima kasih BN…ptuii…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 148
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 23, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Naik harga marah, turun harga hang ludah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 19
  • Blacktop on May 23, 2013 at 10:16 am

Ek eleh.. Sbelum PRU13 nek 20sen.. Lepas PRU13 turun balek 20sen.. Ak yg dak muda lepasan SPM pon nmpak permainan bodoh kerajaan semasa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 142
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 23, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Budak muda lepasan SPM rupanya. Patutlah otak nampak mcm kat bontot je

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 33
      • Agree with Blacktop…
        reduce 20 sen more only i tabik to u !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
      • OMG you really win with that reply. \ö/

• blackend on May 25, 2013 at 8:44 am

i oso agree with blacktop..increase 20sen before election then reduce 20 sen after election…wtf???malaysians are really easy to fool..esp those BN macai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
  • When Ron97 price down we can see this news in New Straits Times, when price up there’s no news at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 90
    • middle person on May 27, 2013 at 8:17 am

Same goes in your status in Facebook. When price increase talk until you will go bankrupt with that increment. When price goes down, no one mentioned a thing on FB….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Ini membuktikan perihatin kerajaan. Syoknya ada kerajaan yang perihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 46
  • no taboogen on May 23, 2013 at 10:55 am

Not every tom dick n harry smokes…fuel everyone need to go from a to b…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • When will we get RON 98 fuels or Euro 5 diesels here in Malaysia ? Need to wait until we flush “Najis” down the drain ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 129
    • When Najis and his crowd of clowns fall from the stage. Otherwise, lower car price, higher salary, public safety and better fuel quality are just a dream. police aint doing shit besides giving summons and bashing citizens. hahaha!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 107
    • danialm on May 23, 2013 at 11:41 am

can i flush you instead??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 34
    • check ur fact..ron95 is most common standard fuel around the world..ron97/98/100 premium fuel pretty much all country..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 2
    • mikey on May 23, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Dont be so rude.not nice..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 7
  • xsylo on May 23, 2013 at 11:32 am

Please lah don’t ask for the one that you can’t pay.. RON 97 punya price you sudah bising lagi mahu mintak RON98.. Haiya!!! x faham ni org.. I think you the one who need to be flushed to pump sump..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 14
    • KillBox1Alpha on May 23, 2013 at 12:06 pm

What is wrong in him asking for 98? Im pretty sure alot of people will pay for it….only those who cannot get 97 now complain because they have to use 95….if 98 comes….Ill be the first one to pump full tank…Im only using 97 as it is..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 98
      • koolaid on May 23, 2013 at 12:46 pm

You’re rich. I only use diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • Hi crony friends of Najis,

Actually RON 97, 98 & 100 fuels can be cheap in Malaysia if our country’s wealth were not looted by Najis’s party b’cos our country is still a net oil exporter as at now. Anyhow, in a country which claims to practice democracy, what is wrong for us as citizens to demand the best fuel at the most reasonable price. Just b’coz u can’t afford it, u end up being a sour grape, pathetic Be-eNd morons !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
    • 10 years back, I can afford to fill RON 98 petrol (V-Power Racing) for my proton saga but not now…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
  • Ungrateful mother trucker….naik salah ..turun pun salah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 17
  • Bila ron97 naik sume orang bising mcm sume isi ron97… bile turun.. sume org senyap… hehehe..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 11
  • apeng on May 23, 2013 at 12:39 pm

apabila hati & pikiran kita tahu bersyukur..pasti jiwa lebih tenang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
  • What’s the point of reducing the price when in history it has been proven that 20cents is reduced today but there will be a 50cents increase a few weeks later. In the end, still the Rakyat suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 96
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 23, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Rakyat choose cheap 95. 97 only for rich ppl. So rakyat is not suffer. Please use your mind. Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • Thankful guy on May 23, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Bro. try to be happy and thankful with what you have now. If you dont happy with this price reduction, and not happy with govt, then better dont use cars running on fossil fuel, dont use public transport and others. Better use electric car or solar powered. Before asking what country has done to you, ask your self what you have done for your country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • CommonSense on May 23, 2013 at 11:38 pm

You clearly don’t understand how “market float” works….or in this case, semi/managed float….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • At least you can balik kampung happily this coming school holiday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • The most this government will do is to play around with RON97 as that gives minimum effect to the one up there and his cronies. He can use RON97 to show that prices do come down under his governance but in actual fact it doesn’t benefit the majority of the rakyat. Same goes to the import duty reduction. Just for show only as the cars that was affected are those luxury imports which again doesn’t benefit the majority of the rakyat.
    All in all, yes, the one up there need to be flushed so that we can have a chance of doing the right thing to benefit most of us including me and you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 42
  • imran on May 23, 2013 at 2:27 pm

OK now i know why fuel price increase before GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 59
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 23, 2013 at 6:03 pm

How do you know? Rely on paultan and ceramah umum info only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
  • west end boys on May 23, 2013 at 2:45 pm

lah.harga minyak turun bising,harga minyak naik pun bising

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 11
  • Abg Long on May 23, 2013 at 2:55 pm

ok la tu minyak harga turun. bagus bagus, this is good news. now waiting for harga kereta turun :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • ah seng on May 23, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Huh? What for???

• wan abe on May 23, 2013 at 3:31 pm

semua ini poyo…orang kaya makin kaya…orang miskin makin miskin…janji dicapati…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 79
    • mat rempit on May 27, 2013 at 1:08 pm

banyak cakap budak mentah nie…kau bayar income tax ke???

• dugong on May 23, 2013 at 3:55 pm

So what? reduce prices that affect only maybe 5% population but increase prices that affects the majority 95%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • fauzi on May 23, 2013 at 4:16 pm

be ready for the strikes!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • lamanblog on May 23, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Haha. If from old time record. It reduces first, the go hike. Cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • wasted on May 23, 2013 at 5:06 pm

20sen is nothing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
  • DKMY, I pity that you do not see the big picture. You only zoom into criticizing people’s behaviour of complaining. The big picture is the lost of trust to the government. That explains why people don’t perceive anything good coming from it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 107
  • darker marker on May 23, 2013 at 5:59 pm

reduce 20sen for RON95…Can NAjib??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Polo Saga on May 23, 2013 at 6:04 pm

What’s the difference? Government increase the price before Election and now bring down the price of 20 cents, so tell me what’s the big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
  • motorhead on May 23, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Some of you must be sick eh? Minyak turun pun bising? Demamkah? Siapa tak suka boleh duduk dalam hutan. Only monkeys like to make noise. So negative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 24
  • >30 cent increase very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • armandd on May 23, 2013 at 9:43 pm

You’re so pessimistic.. It’ll only increase your chances of getting a heart attack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • nighttrain on May 23, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Thank you govt! Now we can all buy cars with 5litre engines because RON97 came down 20 cents..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • passby on May 24, 2013 at 12:11 am

yes; since Singapore registered cars pump only RON97; this price decrease does nothing for rakyat whom cannot afford anything more than the RM1.90/lire for RON95.

• abahko on May 24, 2013 at 10:27 am

based on those comments like dislike statistics, you can see quite a lot of bn running dogs in here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • armandd on May 24, 2013 at 12:04 pm

based on those comments like the ‘like’ statistics, you can see quite a lot of pakatan running dogs in here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • I think there are more BN lapdogs here by looking at the “like” statistics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
  • Blacktop on May 24, 2013 at 4:36 pm

U dont get my point here.. Do u? Whats the point of reducing the price of ron97 by 20cent if be4 the GE13 the government increase it w same value? To show te government is kind? Always look after the peoples? To prove rakyat di dahulukan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • armandd on May 24, 2013 at 8:06 pm

It’s because RON97 floats according to current world oil price.

• Yes, RON 97 floats. RON 95 also floats in a way, but the difference is that it is always cheaper because it’s subsidized. So theoretically when world oil price goes down, RON 95 should go down as well but we don’t see that happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
    • Peter on May 25, 2013 at 12:19 am

Dude, most of malaysian are using ron 95. But!!!
      It would be a good news for Ron 97!, so please cheers more la. Increase also noisy! Decrease also noisy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • kheng on May 25, 2013 at 10:02 pm

the question here is: who are the ones that benefiting from this 20 sen drop?? for sure not those driving kancil, saga etc but those with porsche cayenne, lambo, ferrari…

• mat rempit on May 27, 2013 at 1:17 pm

i think most of the people voted for the PR dogs are the ones driving the porsche cayenne, lambo, ferrari…..

• Hussein on May 29, 2013 at 5:52 am

I, myself who votes for BN even dont care about the ron97 get cheaper/higher or not cuz i have supercars in my garage(you name it)… :) i’m proud to be son of kronies :)

• Norman on May 27, 2013 at 4:06 am

Hmm ironic sial why fuel price down got involved with politic?If you think RM2.7 for Ron 97 is too expensive for u then use the RM1.8 Ron 95.Little wonder Malaysians nowadays loves politics too much till every bit and pieces of things also involved Govt..FYI I’m not pro BN nor Pro PR.Both are bullshit especially the latter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
  • middle person on May 27, 2013 at 8:33 am

strangely….I don’t see a single post, re-post, sharing, re-shared, pinjam, borrow, etc etc of this news in FB…where FB is now my main source of “news” in Malaysia…FBier, don’t la filter news, I want to know everything….by the way, Thanks Paultan for letting me know…

• johnny on May 27, 2013 at 10:30 am

this is a good move by the government no doubt.. but to us common malaysians we generally pump RON 95.. hence a reduction in that fuel type would have been much more welcome for most off us.. im from JB and by law our neighbours are supposed to be be pumping ron 97.. therefore if you look at it the people benefiting from it are foreign cars or our fellow malaysians who can afford it..

• learnteconomy on May 27, 2013 at 12:18 pm

When we demand a further reduction on petrol = more tax money being used = the ones who are paying have to pay more on tax.

• truman6 on May 27, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Reduce lar Ron95..majority ppl using it & majority ppl in Malaysia cant afford to use ron97 for their daily usage…those with rich pocket of cos will give me negative cos most of them use ron97,…

Ask boss to increase salary? come on lar, u think work as lower position can get u to salary higher to where? u think all work as senior executive like manager, directors meh? do you think a mere sales promoter in Aeon can get salary to rm1500 monthly?

politic or not, if BN were to win back rakyat’s heart, look on the majority who are the lower income ppl..

i’m sure most people in Malaysia not really hoping for lowest car price & fuel price, but only wants to live with lowered “financial problems”..

• price decrease complain. price increase complain. malaysia, full of complainers. before this, some people complain that ron95 gonna increase. well, it’s not going to in the foreseeable future. then, you turned to ron97 increasing and it’s inconsiderate for the government to do so, suddenly the price decreased. always looked for excuse to bash your own country.
    sad loh….

• Ernie on Jun 10, 2013 at 5:46 pm

I’m using RON 95 and luckily no changes for that as in increment.. If decrease that will be way better.. But i think won’t coz gov no money makan minum…