2014 Corvette C7 – the Stingray’s LT1 can do 460 hp

2014 6.2L V8 VVT DI LT1 Corvette

Earlier in the week, leaked brochures suggested that the 2014 Corvette C7 Stingray was to have 455 hp and 625 Nm of torque running off the new LT1 6.2 litre V8 in its coupe form, up from the estimated 450 hp and 610 Nm bandied about when the car was first announced.

Turns out the numbers are correct – Chevy has announced that the LT1 is SAE-certified at those numbers with the standard exhaust system, and with an available performance exhaust system in tow, it’s 460 hp at 6,000 rpm and 630 Nm at 4,600 rpm, again SAE-certified. Like a proud parent, the automaker has come up with a report card, in chart form.

2014-Corvette-LT1-V8-TorqueHP

At 74 hp per litre, the LT1 has greater power density than the C6 Corvette’s LS3 6.2 litre engine and even the C6 Z06’s racing-derived 7.0 litre LS7. Indeed, the LT1’s torque is comparable to the LS7 up to 4,700 rpm. The company estimates that the C7 will do the century sprint in less than four seconds.

The LT1, a fifth-generation iteration of the Small Block engine family that debuted in the Corvette in 1955, incorporates a new cylinder-head design and a new, sculpted piston design, as well as a high-flow, four-into-one exhaust manifold based on the design of the LS7 engine. The unit features direct injection, Active Fuel Management (or cylinder deactivation, if you will) and continuously variable valve timing.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MEH.

• Simon Hoh on May 30, 2013 at 9:34 pm

74hp/litre? Surely that’s nothing to shout about rite?

• 4G63T DSM on May 30, 2013 at 10:25 pm

No it isn’t. But there is a lot of headroom.

Slap on a supercharger and watch it churn out tree pulling torque.

Like any small block before it, this one begs to be modified.

I think people don’t understand this has one cam and 2 valves per cyc. It’s not a high revving motor. It NEEDs force induction to awaken it.

Knock it if you want. It’s a match to what Germans can do when they make thier own V8 6.2 L n/a engine…despite all that sophistication.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Gegary on May 31, 2013 at 10:01 am

Are these engines overbuilt strong enough to withstand the extra psi without swapping out most of the internals (titanium rods, etc)?

Also, very seldom heard of supercharged LT1’s without costing as much as a new car.

3) A lot of people just prefer performance straight from the factory without the headache of modifying yourself (Adjust fuel/air ratios, having to make sure brakes can take extra power etc etc etc etc). Also importantly for warranty. Blow the engine or transmission, you have to buy new ones since warranty voided.

• If it “NEEDS” force induction >> why the heck doesn’t the factory address this need? It so badly NEEDS it, then the factory should offer it.

• guest on May 31, 2013 at 11:01 am

Funniest comment of the day. The 6.2L merc v8 generates 500bhp+. How can this “american muscle” engine even “match” a german v8 in terms of output and efficiency?

If you think force inducting this engine will give it tree pulling torque, you should look at what german FI engines can do first. But then I wonder what metaphor you gonna use on FI german v8 engines? Earth pulling torque?

• Carl Wong on May 30, 2013 at 10:22 pm

What a beautiful cross sectional view of the engine…..

• Gegary on May 31, 2013 at 9:57 am

Performance exhaust.. adds a huge 5HP and 5Nm! About 1%.

• Johnny on May 31, 2013 at 11:54 pm

I hope this engine can fit into my Preve! lol. Then smoke all the BMW & Mercedes.

• Norman on Jun 22, 2013 at 4:03 am

Unless you’re cash rich,Nothing to do then you can consider cars above 4000cc.